See All Reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Excellent Product If you have an older vehicle that the battery keeps dying on then this is just the product that you need or you can use it most anywhere that you can put it into the sunlight. Totally worth the money and the speed of delivery was great. 08/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product I bought it to maintain my car battery when I don't use it. So far all tests that I done to SBM confirmed that it delivers what promised. Under direct sun the output is over 20 volt and without sun just around 13 volt. 04/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Battery Charge From Sun The Solar Battery Charger, keeps lawnmower battery topped off and easy to put slow charge on car battery. 08/15/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Save your money! I bought two of these for two different cars that aren't driven much. The first one quit after 3 months and the other was dead right out of the box. The specs say that the maximum operating environment temperature is 170 degrees F. I'm thinking it gets hotter than that on my car's dash. I wonder about the one that lasted just 3 months. Did it get too hot? If so, that's no so good for a SOLAR panel! I'll add that this panel was always handled with care as I have a background as a technician in aviation instruments and sensitive medical equipment. 06/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I already own one of these and decided to purchase another... They work great.... 09/17/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gets the job done If your 12 volt battery has a battery drain over a few days; this could be a remedy for you. There is a tiny blinking blue light when the solar panel is producing a charge. It works on cloudy days as well as sunny days and has the option of alligator clamps to hook it to the battery or it can be plugged into the cigarette lighter. 10/03/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Incomplete Description The included accessory plug is useless in most vehicles unless you leave the ignition switch in ACC or ON position. Either approach will result in aq dead battery. Owner's Manual does not address this problem. The only way around the issue is to clamp directly onto the battery which is somewhat inconvenient. I would not have purchased the item is the description had identified this issue. The producer (Sunforce) failed to take responsibility for the incomplete (misleading) instructions, but linked me to a plug that they offer to solve the problem -- on a larger capacity (ie more expensive) unit. Therefore they knew of the problem. 10/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what the doctor ordered... This Coleman 2W solar battery maintainer appears to be a good deal. In full sunlight it produces a bit over 20 volts with no load, which should be enough to generate a charging current but not enough to overcharge a typical car battery. I plan to keep an eye on the target battery. Although the unit isn't hermetically sealed, it came inside a nice fairly heavy clear plastic enclosure, which I was able to easily modify with some silicone sealer to be well sealed, and I was able to mount the unit inside the clear plastic case on the outside of the storage unit where I park the target vehicle. I got a short extension cord from Radio Shack and used it as parts to make a longer cord to reach from the unit's cord to the battery. Easy peasy. 12/16/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Colman 2w solar maintainer inefficient.... Does NOT supply enough wattage to maintain a 12 volt battery not in use. 06/06/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for The Price But....... BEWARE! This 2 watt unit is great for inside car not outside. It’s not weather proof. In addition there are series issues with the way the quick connect plugs are wired by the manufacturer. They have wired the positive lead to the bare exposed pin of the quick disconnect plug, therefore, if you unplug the quick connect plug before you disconnect the battery clip or 12V plug inside your car you may blow a fuse if you touch the exposed pin of the quick disconnect plug to any metal inside or outside the car. In addition if it’s the battery clips that you are using there is no fuse to blow and the clip wire will burn up in a puff of smoke. This is a bad design by Coleman. This really needs to be fixed. In addition the new Coleman 2 watt units manufactured now do not have a flashing blue LED to say the panel is outputting voltage. I find that to be frustrating as I like to know at least the panel is working. Please bring that back Coleman. The LED only uses a minimal amount of power and I would gladly sacrifice that to get the blinking LED light back. 11/10/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by just what intended for works perfect. wanted to keep my plow truck battery up especially sitting in the bitter cold. before it would die after a couple of weeks of extreme cold without use. no more. starts right up thanks to this charger. 12/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Free! power of the sun Great way to keep your lawn tractor, motorcycle, boat batteries fully charged. hook them up put the charger in the window and always ready to go! 12/14/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by battery maintainer As I just received this in the mail not but 2 days ago. I haven't had it long enough to tell if its really going to work,so wil keep this link on file to check back in. The only real concern I have is the booklet that comes with it to explain how to hook it up to your car either with the included 12volt adapter or the included battery cable, it does not however tell you, how to tell if its working. The little blue light blinks in shady to moderate light going to steady light in stonger full sunlight, I belive this info needsto be added to the booklet that included with the battery maintainer. 11/21/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charged! This solar charger keeps my work truck charged, just by sitting it on my dash. Solar for a great price! 11/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good little charger Worked good got it a day earlier that promised 11/13/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not sure if it's working most of the time, I have had it for two weeks. Right out of the box my kitchen lights activated the unit causing the blue LED to flash. Out in the sun it only flashes sometimes. Thought it stopped because the battey was charged and the 'overcharge' protection kicked in, but the battery was only about 50% charged. It's hard to get the LED to flash to let you know it's working. I need to get a volt meter to check what it's actually doing I guess. I'm stuck with it now so I'll try and figure out how to best make it do what it's supposed to do. Not really impressed being it is a 'Coleman' brand item. 02/10/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by DOA The cord's insulation was "disintegrated" upon arrival 12/03/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by not worth buying. It's cute, the blue LED works great but it won't keep an auto battery charged, just a cheap toy. 10/23/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two Watts ain't much Two Watts of solar ain't much power. You gotta know what to do with it. I am using this little panel to power a (2W) five inch muffin fan in my shed. Works just like I thought it would. Sun's out the fan runs. No sun the fan shuts off. Doesn't cool the shed much. But it does move the air around. Total cost was about $20. No outside wiring. And it runs for free. Walmart sold this solar panel for $12. Couldn't resist. 10/04/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not working as advertised... for cars at least. I bought this unit to keep the battery topped off on a car that is not driven very often. The previous battery in the car was recently replaced, so the issue was not that I had a battery that cannnot hold a charge. I had made several attempts to confirm correct attachments and even checked for electrical shorts in my car. This panel would not keep the car's battery topped off. The panel sits on the dash where it gets direct sunlight throughout the day. The only reason I didn't give this panel a 1-star rating was that I was able to find an auxiliary use for it. With a modified switch and capacitor I was able to turn it into a mobile uninterrupted power supply. 01/26/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by solar charger Hooked up easily........not sure how it will work, but since it is a Coleman, it should be fine. Looks like it is made well. I just placed it behind the rear seat under the window. If it does the job, it is well worth the price of a dead battery. Considering buying a second 12/10/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Ideal This item has saved my battery. I was told about this item by AAA. I do not drive alot and I have to replace batteries. Bought this at a super good deal. I can not name the large auto shops but got this for almost half of what other dealers wanted for it. This is wonderful . Easy to install and nice looking. I only wish I had known about it a year ago. 11/03/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product This is the second one I bought. While the 2W solar panel won't top off the battery, it does keep the car battery undischarged. That helps to prolong its life and ensure the car can start the next morning. It is quite easy to use. Especially if the car has powered lighter socket when the car is off, like mine does, you can simply plug it into the lighter socket and leave the solar panel on the dash. 10/21/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great item, good price When you have one of those battery drain issues, this solar trickle charger is just the ticket to eliminate premature battery replacement or expensive diagnosis of an illusive minor voltage drain that can easily occur from literally hundreds of circuit points in any automotive system. Plug this device into the auxilary power outlet or clip it directly to the battery and when light hits the solar panel the trickle charge begins to maintain an already charged battery. Note: If battery is low or dead, first charge it with an approved battery charger. 10/07/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Maintains Battery. Slow charge maintains battery for future use. 10/05/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solar Battery Maintainer I got this to help keep my battery charged, since I don't drive it a lot. It works really well and I would recommend it to anyone. 06/09/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by output is good I seeing 19 volts when there is sun I noticed a difference in my battery and starting everyday, first couple of minutes my alternator is not running as much. 01/23/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by coleman solar trickle charger truck is not used much so this should keep battery charged 12/18/2014
  • 2016-02-10 T05:06:54.538-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_15063010, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-29 of 29 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw457
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp