Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 137 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by MY FIRST SEWING MACHINE.......I LOVE IT THIS IS MY FIRST MACHINE. I DIDNT EVEN TAKE HOME EC WHEN I WENT TO SCHOOL. I HAVE HAD IT ABOUT 3 WEEKS. ALREADY I HAVE MADE ME 3 WESTERN SHIRTS AND MY 5 YEAR OLD GRANDSON A WESTERN SHIRT. I AM NOW DOING A FLEECE JACKET FOR MY 10 MONTH OLD GRANDSON. I WENT AHEAD AND BOUGHT A LITTLE NICER MACHINE WITH MORE CAUSE I WAS AFRAID IF I BOUGHT ONE WITH LESS STITCHES, I WOULD HAVE SAID LATER I WISH I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN THE OTHER ONE. LOOK, I PROMISE YOU I HAVE NEVER SEWED A STITCH IN MY LIFE. MY SISTER IN LAW HAS SHOWED ME THE BASICS. THE BOOK THAT CAME WITH IT IS SO EASY TO UNDERSTAND. THE THREADING SYSTEM AND FAST BOBBIN IS AWESOME. THIS MACHINE IS ABSOLUTELY AWESOME. YES, I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS MACHINE TO EVEN A BEGINNER. 10/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful sewing machine!!! I love this machine!!! I had to replace my old 20+ year old Brother and I really agonized over this decision. This machine is even better than I ever imagined! It was a great value for the features. My favorite feature is the needle up or down button. With one touch of a button the needle will go up or down! The best part is that you can program the machine to end in either a down or up position. For me, I have it programmed to be in a down position when I let up on the foot feed. Wow, is that a great time saver! No more having to manually put the needle down to keep my material secure when I'm going around corners or need to shift the material. It also will sew without the foot feed but I haven't tried this out yet since I do mostly small items. This machine is quiet compared to my old machine. This would be an excellent sewing machine for a novice or expert!!! 12/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by terrific! a happy purchase! I haven't really sewn much in a number of years, but to do some home projects and blind stitching a new machine was necessary. I checked online and in the stores. The project runway 5500 machine was very interesting but more than I wanted to spend ($135). A few days later the 6000 turned up on the Walmart website. This model has all the same stitches and just about all the same accessories- feet, etc. for a fabulous price! I tried using it- it's a breeze to change stitches and feet and wind bobbins. It runs smoothly and quietly even over multi-layered denim. The instructions for the auto needle threader were a little off (unclear illustration) but I got it on the third try- not really terrible. By the way, I called Brother USA before I bought this machine and this model is in fact newer than the project runway editions (only a few months old). The outside of the machine is sleeker, but the motor is essentially the same. I would give the machine 5 stars instead of 4 for durability, but I haven't had it long enough to Know. However, fit and finish are fine. Walmart is great with shipping. Very dependable and very fast! 12/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sewing machine I love it...very easy to use and all the features are great, especially how it threads the needle. 12/06/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by first machine I like the sewing machine. A little light duty for me but hey I'm a guy, I won't be sewing dresses with it(well, maybe? I am a single dad of two girls). the features are good and easy to use. the setup was easy as well. the more I use it the more I like it other than aside from white the only color on the thing is pink! oh well. I know I'm out of my element here. 01/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Machine This is a great machine! I have never sewn before, but my 9 year old daughter and I decided that we wanted to start. I read many reviews and settled on this machine. It has been a great purchase! We have had it only for two weeks but have really enjoyed it. It has a great instruction manual, is easy to set up and use. Again, I don't sew and was able to use this machine right away. My daughter jammed it once and using the manual, I was able to fix it myself - easily, without frustration! I would recommend this machine to anyone who wants something easy to use and not be troubled by complications. I really like all of the options and hope to use more of them as I become better at sewing. It is quiet and light weight as well. I really like it and definitley recommend it! 03/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sew easy I originally bought a Singer basic model but quickly realized it did not do enough of the basics for me. The Brother machine does a lot more for not much more money. I am glad I purchased the upgraded machine to get the additional stitches. This machine is also much quieter. Adjusting the type of stitch, tension, etc is also easier. I just started sewing a few weeks ago and have already made pajamas for my whole family, a dress, a skirt and a "Super Puppy" cape for my dog. I am excited to start a new project on this sewing machine. I would recommend it for a beginner as well as someone who is a bit more advanced. I am happy with the product, especially for the price. The same machine sells on the Joann website for $299. 08/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Look for the bundle if you need a craft table I love this machine! (at the time it was $150 now it's $135) I bought it with the Sauder Sewing and Craft Table ($119) in a value bundle through walmart. If you type in Sewing Table and Brother 60-100 Stich Computerized Sewing Machine Value Bundle ($199) it will show up otherwise it doesn't. If you want both it saves you even with the lower price about $55 and the craft table is a lot nicer than I had thought it was going to be-I really love that too. So if you need both I think it's a good deal, but it won't show up unless you put bundle in. 07/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by No more tangled bobbin! I love this machine. I've used it a couple of times now. It is sooo much better than my mom's 10 year old denim and silk machine that I had been using. That machine was so frustrating. The bobbing kept getting tangled, urggh!!!! The bobbin on this has not gotten tangled. It is much easier to set the bobbin in as well. The other one had one that you had to put in under the machine. I've sewn through 2 layers of felt and a layer of pho thin leather and the machine didn't have a problem or get tangled! I have also used the overcasting foot to mimic a surged edge. It looks like it was surged. I also like that you don't have to use the foot petal. I thought I would want it, but I like the push button sewing much better. So far this a great machine. I've had it about a month. The greatest thing about it, is that the bobbin doesn't get all tangled up! 08/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brother 60 stitch sewing machine I was concerned because this machine is not real heavy. I was very happy to see that it still stitches regular and intricates without jumping around on the table. All the stitched that are available on this machine are easy to select!!! AND perfectly stitched. My first sewing machine was a Brothers, and I am very pleased to see that quality is still with a Brothers machine. For all the stitches and uses you get with this model, the price is quite amazing and affordable for all. I have spent thousands of dollars on machines and sewing, by far, this is the best value I have found. I am very pleased with Brothers quality after all these years. 03/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by good value I bought this machine as a 'spare' for our weekend home. I am satisfied with it EXCEPT for the fact that the directions for the automatic needle threader ARE EXTREMELY POOR and I have been unable to use this function as a result of that. However, the machine itself works well and I would recommend it. Brother would do well to IMPROVE the instruction manual ... If I was not already familiar with sewing machines, I would have had difficulty threading and filling the bobbins using the instructions provided in the manual ... 02/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine for old and young! I bought this machine for my 10-year-old daughter. She knew I was getting a sewing machine and wanted her own so she could sew with me. Although I love spending time with her, I was a little worried that most of my sewing time would be spent teaching her and easing the beginner's frustration that we all went through. She had no problem learning how to use it. She went through all of the billions of stitches without ever wanting me to even look... I have to admit, although my machine is a higher-end brand, this machine sews just as well. In fact, I find myself asking her if I can borrow it while my machine is busy embroidering. I would absolutely recommend this machine for any age and any experience level. The diversity of stitch choices, the ease of use, and the quality of the machine make it a perfect choice for everyone! 01/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought for mygranddaughtervery easy to teach her how to use it, makes me want to sew again. 08/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Nice ( Brother ) Love this machine.. I know nothing of sewing and this was easy for me to operate.. Ive altered 2 pair of pants and a sweater so far... some how I broke the needle and was worried about how to change it.. but no worries, I changed it out in a matter of a few minutes...I would recommend to this BROTHER to anyone.. : ) 01/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by small creations I create clothing for ABJDs (asian bal joint dolls) and I must say that this machine has handled everything I have thrown at it so far. It works on a small enough scale for me to make clothing for 11cm tall (at most 5 cm around) dolls and have it look properly scaled, yet strong enough to make jeans and cloth props for my tall (70cm head to foot ) commissions. 10/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy with it so far.... I haven't tried everything on it yet, but it was east to thread and soooo quiet (compared to the 40+ year old model that quit). I am very satisfied so far. 02/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this machine and used it once. It worked very well but was way more than I needed. I took it back and will buy a smaller less complicated one. 12/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Christmas Gift Walmart saved the day. Bought the wrong sewing machine sent from Costco. Discovered it did not have the right start/stop function or sewing speed button and only discovered it one week before Christmas!! It was to be a gift to a young sewer from Grandma. Help!!! Checked out Brother machines and found this 60-stitch had just the right settings and just the right price--on sale!!. Walmart said they could have it site-to-store in two days, just in time for Christmas. Really?? I was skeptical. YES. Walmart came through--the right machine just at the right time. The young sewer is thrilled and sewing away with just a few minutes of help. The start/stop needle function and sewing speed function are ABSOLUTELY IMPERATIVE to have. Great machine, great value, great fast service. Thanks Walmart for saving Christmas day. 01/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this machine I bought the Brother Sewing Machine for my wife as a gift. She had been asking for one for a while. As soon as she got the package, she opened it, set it up and got to sewing. She LOVES this machine. It works well on all types of fabric, from gauze-type material to fleece. The variation of stitches and speeds, as well as the automatic bobbin threader and the attached needle threader, are amazing features and really get the jobs done. We will be staying with Brother for our sewing needs. 10/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value, amazing machine I love this machine! I have been using a 31 year old Kenmore from Sears, which although is still a great machine, I needed an upgrade. This Brother is amazing..I love the stitch options, the fact that the various feet were included and the durability. I would have bought the bundle package, with the sewing table, but I didn't have room at the time. Amazing value :) 09/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent machine for beginner I haven't had a sewing machine in over 30 years. I have trouble threading a needle and sewing a button. I mended several items today and believe I am actually going to buy a pattern and make something. Great price, great machine. 08/18/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by good value Plenty of stiches but very light weight. Complicated to thread. setting stiches is easy with computerized panel. 05/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great sewing machine. I love this sewing machine, to easy for use, beautiful stitch, good accessories, it ran alone you don't need use the pedal and the manual instructions is very helper. I'm very happy. 10/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! This is a great sewing machine. I am a learning how to sew and was able to finish some curtains. They look great! The machine is easy to use and lightweight. I would definitely recommend this sewing machine. Great value also! I bought it with the sewing table package available on-line only and paid only $200 for both! 07/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome machine! This is my 1st ever sewing machine and my 2nd time using a machine and I had it up and running in no time and even made my 1st outfit the same day it arrived. It's so quiet I can use it even when my toddler is napping. I never thought sewing could be so fun and easy, I'm loving this machine! 07/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really liking the machine so far... I've been sewing for about 45 years, and this is the best, smoothest machine I've ever had. It takes a bit of getting used to with the "new-fangled" gadgetry, but I'm liking it! 07/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Very Good Sewing Machine I have had this machine for about 3 weeks now, I sew regular items and rag quilts. This is a good sewing machine for the beginner or the pro. I would reccommend it to anyone. It was all the different stitches you would need, for regular sewing, decorative sewing and buttonholes, etc. If you need a new machine this is the machine to buy. I have not had any trouble with it, it has speed and sews like I want. 04/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love not having to use the foot pedal I haven't had much time to spend getting to know the machine yet but I love the decorative stitches that I have been able to use . I especially love the automatic start and stop and the automatic needle up/down function. I bought this as a bundle with the table so the final price was just $119. It is not possible to beat that price for a new computerized sewing machine. 04/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine for beginners! Wow, I ordered this machine on a Tuesday and it was delivered on Thursday! Thanks for the fast delivery. Great sewing machine so far. Does everything I need it to do and more. Easy to follow instructions; has a lot of stitches - probably more than I need but it will be fun checking them all out. This machine is great for beginners. The only negative things I would mention is it seems a little lightweight, not sure how durable it will turn out to be and the light on the machine isn't very bright. Other than that I'm very happy with it. 04/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond my expectations I first got a Singer for beginners. It didn't work well and had problems. I read reviews and it seems that this was the one that abt 99% of the ppl who reviewed it gave it 5 stars. I have to agree with everyone else. It does so much more then the singer, and has so many more stitches and foot plates. It is self threading which for someone who as gone over their 50th birthday, is loving. The bobbin placement is wonderful. on top vs the side. the foot peddle plugs into the machine seperate of the power cord. Get this and you will not regret it 02/13/2011
1-30 of 120 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw493
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp