See All Reviews
Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron
Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron
$29.97
List Price: $34.88
You Save: $4.91 (14%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 82 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Straightener I have the thickest hair and it hard to find the best straightener. I always used my sisters in law Chi straightener since it worked good but I would not spend over $100 for it. I purchased this yesterday and was a little worried about how it would worked. This does heat up pretty fast on 360 and works great. My opinion works better than the chi, does not gri your hair and make that "thunk" noise when clamped together. The features are great has a lock and the digital timer. Very light weight in my view. My hair is really soft and has been like this for the last 8 hours. So for the price of this, you can still afford to buy all the hair products instead of a professional straightener. 10/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by African American LOVE IT! I'm an African American female with non-relaxed hair and i ABSOLUTELY love this flat iron!!! I couldn't ask for a better product ESPECIALLY for the price! 450 degrees was what caught my attention. My CHI is going back to the store as soon as I find my receipt! lol 01/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for African American hair I love this straightener. I am in school to be a cosmetologist so I come across a lot of professional and non-pro flat irons and i have to say this one works just as well as a $180 flat iron that is obviously much more expensive. What i do recommend as a future professional is if your hair is thick, wavy, or kinky to glide it down from root to ends a little slower, this way your hair should straighten in 1-2 glides. 12/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this flat iron! I have been on the market for a new flat iron and I am so glad I came across this one! I tried a few brands now and I was ready to splurge on a "better" one but now I don't have to. This iron is very light and has good temp. settings. It leaves my normally dry and coarse hair silky smooth and gorgeous! My hair is very thick but with this iron I only have to go over it twice tops. It is great for making curls as well; I have gotten many compliments. The price is great too, can't beat it. Thank you Remington for making such a great product. 02/28/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by It was O.K. for very thick hair I liked the color and features, but I did not like the gap in between the plates! It may work if you have thick hair, but as far as I am concerned there should not be any gaps between the plates. It took forever to straighten. I do not have anything against Remington, I believe they make quality products. I had been using a Wet-to-Straight for a while and it did not have any gaps between the plates. I bought a new one only because I needed to upgrade to a 1" versus a 2" and also because I heard it is not good to flat iron your hair when wet, even if the iron is designed for that. For those of you who have a Wet-to-Straight out there, do not worry! Just use it on dry hair for less damage. I really liked the features on the new Pearl, digital flat irons, but next time I will take it out of the package before purchasing. If I plan on purchasing online, I will personally look at it at the store then make my purchase online. For example, the New Remington (Anti-Humidity) has plates that close all the way. Also look for gaps at the end of the plates that may catch your hair and pull. A good flat iron should have no gaps in between the plates, they should be the "floating" type and also they should have no gaps at either end to minimize catching and pulling you hair. 04/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeper Had this for a few months...def much better then my old straightener...(wet to straight) I was hesitant at first but im overall satisfied that i got it. It heats up quick and doesn't take long to straighten ur hair. (and i have long hair) its a good buy if ur not looking to spending too much i would recommend this. I was worried about the button location but i havent bumped it yet...and i am usually not the "taking my time getting ready type" im the 10 min gettin ready bc thats all the time i have kinda person. haha 05/16/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Best For Thick Hair Let me explain the low ratings. This product is definitely best for someone with thick hair, as many love it. But if you have relatively thin hair (like myself) that isn't naturally straight, though, I wouldn't opt for this straightener. The plates do not close all the way, leaving a gap, so thin hair just kinda slips right through, taking much longer to straighten. It is beautiful to look at, and light weight, though... 07/03/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Quits working after a few months I bought this product 3 months ago & one day I turned it on to use it, the second I started using it on my hair it shut off. Thought maybe I accidentally hit the button so turned it on & tried again. Same thing. Even tried it a third time. I am not happy with this product at all. I have used hair straighteners for quite a few years everyday so I've had quite a few different ones & this one is by far the worst. 11/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT FLAT IRON 4 DRY CURLY HAIR!! IVE ALWAYS BEEN SKEPTICAL ABOUT DRUGSTORE HAIR STRAIGHTENERS. SO I USED THE CHI TURBO FOR 4 YEARS UNTIL IT GAVE OUT. IT WAS GREAT! BUT ALSO EXPENSIVE AND A BIT HEAVY. SO THEN I PURCHASED THE CHI NANO FROM A LOCAL SELLER..USED THE IRON FOR LESS THE A YEAR AND I JUST NOTICED IT DAMAGED MY HAIR REALLY BAD! NEEDLESS TO SAY IM THINKING IT WAS A FAKE:( IM GETTING MARRIED SOON SO CUTTING DOWN ON EXPENSES I READ THE REVIEWS FOR THE REMINGTON & THOUGHT WHY NOT!? SO I BOUGHT IT TODAY FOR $40 ITS ***AWESOME** IT LEFT MY HAIR SUPER STRAIGHT, SHINY AND SOFT! & THATS CAUSE I HAVE REALLY CURLY FRIZZY DRY HAIR! MY HAIR LOOKS 10X HEALTHIER! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! :D 03/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORKS GREAT BUT NOT FOR LONG so i got this hair straightener and it works great. it heats up fast and works great. i have semi long hair and with my last straighter it took me 45 minutes to straighten my hair but this one took 15 minutes. results were great my hair wasn't frizzy and stayed straight all day. now for the DOWNSIDE it just stops working. out of no where it just gives out. i take care of my things and it just died. it you want a straightener that lasts for 6 months then get this one. now after only a few short months and maybe 60 uses i hace a staightener that doesn't even power on. very upsetting since the product does a great job when it does work. 11/05/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by I Got this as a present. And at first i LOVED it. And i have had it for about 2 months now. And The other day i started straightening my hair, and the screen on it just went blue. and it wont work anymore. Im not sure what happened. It worked GREAT then just quit. I've taken really good care of it. So im not sure whats up with it. 08/10/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by not as good as I read.... Theres sooo many good reviews about this, and when i first got it and used it I liked it too but after using for about a month, it started not working as good. I bought it on Jan 21 2011 and it is April 16 2011 now and it quit on me as of a few days ago. It turns on and warms up then shuts off as soon as you start ironing. Maybe I got a bad one but I am very disappointed.. 04/16/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by NOT GOOD I am not sure if I got a bad one but i didn't like this one at all. First the plates did not come together all the way. It didn't straighten my hair all the way. The top and the bottom got really hot and it was hard to hold for a long time. Mine wasn't any good so i had to return it. 01/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Straightener!! I have used the Chi in the past, and I actually like this straightener better. My hair stays super straight all day and feels so soft. I highly recommend this straightener. 11/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST Flat Iron Ever! After reading countless reviews about this product, I finally decided to pick it up at a nearby Walmart for around $37. I have quite a good ammount of hair that's pretty wavy. I had the Vidal Sassoon flat iron for several years, but it just didn't seem to do the trick. After testing it out on my hair, I have to say; it beats the CHI, Babyliss, and all of those other expensive brands. It leaves my hair silky smooth and pin straight (how I like it to look). I can truely say that even though a straightener is on the more affordable side, doesn't mean that it isn't a great one. 11/13/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by DONT BUY THIS! Ok i bought this product in december. It worked great in the beggining and then i got really tired of it.. My hair actually leaves marks on it..like on the side it starts to peel off. and today it finally stopped working. what a piece of junk. i am really dissapointed and i highly dont recommend it..i like the inside plates they were really smooth but i hope to get a chi. i hope this helps 05/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT, LOVEIT, LOVE IT I have crazy thick curly/kinky hair and this has been by far the best straightener I have ever used! ! ! ive tried them all this is even comparing this product to the Marcel flat iron, and Chi… Ill never switch to another product and for a ¼ of the price , I Just cant believe it.. I feel like everyone should own one of these! ! ! 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING I just bought this straightner at my local store(I advise everyone to check their stores for this before online. I only paid 12.50!). I have had Remington before and it just didnt do it for my hair. Well this one works wonders! I love this and have never paid less than 20 bucks for a decent straightner. 09/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by PERFECT STRAIGHTENER well i just bought this straightenr today(: and i thought it wasnt gonna work the way i wanted to but wen tried it with my hair it worked better then my sisters 100$ one!! and it only cost like 30$!! it works great and it heats up in like 8 seconds! it really is worth 30$ u should get it!! 08/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love IT I'm not really great at doing anything with my extremly thick hair - but this straightener is easy to use. It straightens the worst kinks out of my hair. I can even flip out the ends on curl them under with the straightener. It heats up super quick and the swivel cord is a must. It was five dollars less on walmart.com. 06/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!! My husband bought me this straightener as a Christmas present (beings my $100 straightener didn't last longer than a year) and all I can say is I absolutely LOVE this straightener!! I have thick frizzy hair but, this iron leaves my hair straight and sleek ALL DAY LONG. I could not ask for a better straightener. I used to always think the more it cost the better the product. I guess I thought wrong because this iron works better than any of my previous irons! 12/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by good as chi this hair straightener is as good or even better than the chi. It straightens my wavy thick hair quickly and it stays straight all through the day! it beeps when its reached the desired temperature and it has lit up numbers that tell me the temperature! why spend as much money for a chi or GHD if you can have this wonder worker? 11/18/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't purchase! I bought this straightener because of all of the great reviews, hoping that I would be another lover of the product. It heated up quickly and was very easy to figure out, but it got caught in my hair, breaking it, and didn't close completely. When I took a closer look, the plates only touched at the tip! It didn't do a great job of straightening my hair, and the only way I could get the plates to come in contact with my hair was to squeeze really hard, which hurt my hand. I gave this straightener 3 stars, however, because it seems to have worked well for others. I am going back to a $20 straightener. 05/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty Straightener I got this for my sisters birthday and according to her it is pretty and works great!! 11/29/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love the product since I don't like too many chemicals in my hair to straighten it. 07/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best flat iron I've ever had! I flat iron a lot of natural hair, and it does wonders! 10/27/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not for Worldwide Voltage Just bought this to use overseas and I'm stuck with no curling iron because unlike the packaging said it does not have dual voltage. Should have looked at the reviews first. 10/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I loved it! I had this straightner for 2 years and I loved it! all my friends would want to use it! It just stopped working last week. 10/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT Worldwide voltage!!! Just bought this flat iron today because the package said worldwide voltage, which to me should translate to "dual voltage". Got home, opened the package and saw that the iron is only rated for 120V. Read under the FAQ's on this site that it is in fact not dual voltage and that Remington is working on updating the packaging to reflect the fact that they do not make dual voltage units anymore. Returned the flat iron to the store right away and got one from a different company that was actually dual voltage. 09/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loving it so far! I love this flat iron!!! However after reading some of these reviews I hope it last longer than a few months. Though for the price and the results from using this flat iron I can see why so many go back in hopes that the second one last. If there is a problem I hope they can fix it because I am loving this product!!! 07/27/2012
1-30 of 81 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew300
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp