See All Reviews
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 14 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome I bought this game on 11/26/2010 for my Older Son and he already passed all the levels. He told me that if he Loved it for his Nintendo DSi XL, that he'll love it even more for the Wii that I recently bought him. 11/29/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Fun yet... In this sonic adventure eggman tries to capture the mysterious aline race of wisps. Sonic rescues the wisps and in turn the wisps lend their powers to sonic. This game has high replayability and never gets old giving a great value. Jam packed with creative levels and extra little mini game type things. But at the beginning of the game they show an extremly nice looking cut scene yet even half through game I haven't seen another one like it. It was dissapointing to me to know that they could have made them look nice, yet were lazy and didn't. Additionally the actual gameplay graphics haven't changed at all from the last sonic game like this, sonic rush. Again dissapointing. Yet the new powers put a fresh spin of the calssic high speed running up impossibly big loop-de-loops. Wich of these classic cincepts runs strong in this game and was highly anticipated after the disastrous sonic free riders. And this new game is more challening and you won't find your self holding down one button watching the scdenery fly by. Appropriately challenging, fresh concepts, nice gameplay, yet the lazy graphics brought it down a notch. But I would reccomend to the casual gamer or any sonic fan. 12/18/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by A video game that's as quick as it's hero. SONIC COLORS is a 2010 release in the Sonic the Hedgehog game series. It is fun to play, but is also very short and will leave you wishing for more. The gameplay is pretty difficult, but I completed the main storyline on my second day, and as I consider myself an average video gamer, most people should have an easy time with this game. PLOT: The evil Dr. Eggman(Robotnik) has built a giant amusement park in space to make up for trying to take over the world (and nearly causing its destruction) so many times. Or so he says. Fortunately, Sonic the Hedgehog, (who can run faster than the speed of sound and is the hero of this video game) doesn't believe Eggman has had a change of heart and heads to the amusement park with his two-tailed super smart fox friend Miles "Tails" Prower to tear the place up. Soon they see two ditzy robots named Orbot and Cubot trying to capture aliens called Wisps for some reason. After scaring off the robots, one of the Wisps merges with Sonic, startling Sonic some. Sonic then seems to gain a 'new power'. Before the third boss fight, Sonic and Tails are assaulted by Eggman, who shoots an energy beam at Tails and uses mind control on him. Fortunately, the mind control machine runs out of fuel quickly and Tails snaps out of his stupor (apparently with the strange withdrawl effect of his nose hairs tingling). Sonic then races to save the universe from Eggman's newly revealed diabolical plot with the support of Tails and the help of the Wisps. GAMEPLAY: The levels are fairly hard and may possibly take multiple tries to complete. You also get to use the powers of Wisps, which are as follows: White Wisp-boosts tension gauge Red Wisp-double jump, blast when charged Orange Wisp-launch up, then drift down slowly Yellow Wisp-drill through soft soil or water Cyan Wisp-aim at then ricochet off objects Violet Wisp-suck objects into a black hole The boss fights are fairly hard but follow very simple and easy to memorize patterns, being set not only so that the attaks give fair warning, but also so that, for example, if the first attack is attack A and the second attack is attack B, it would follow a pattern such as AAABAAABAAAB.The 1st and 4th bosses are highly similar, as are the 2nd and 5th and 3rd and 6th bosses. The game is shorter than what most people prefer, but is a great way to kill time. MISSIONS: In each area are three missions, one that's unlocked after the first Act of an area, one that's unlocked after the second Act, and one that's unlocked after completing both of the other Missions in the area. These missions are given out by nearly every recurring friend of Sonic imaginable, even including Blaze(who is from an alternate dimension) and Silver(who is from 200 years in the future). Missions are all very hard, and will probably take several tries to complete. 06/12/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by My stepson is 10 years old and is crazy about Sonic, so I ordered online and had walmart send game to his home in Waterloo, Iowa. I wanted to surprise him. I thought I was giving him a cool gift, but when I spoke to him a few days after Christmas, he told me he had "beaten" the game that it was too easy, so now it's just laying around in his room somewhere. 01/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Game! Sonic Colors is awesome! After already playing through all of the Nintendo Wii's version, I thought of what to expect. In the DS' version, the gameplay is solely based entirely on high-speed 2-D platforming. One thing I really like about the DS' version is the option to collect the seven Chaos Emeralds. You can get said gems in the Wii's game as well by collecting a lot of special "red-star rings" unlocking secret optional levels, but the DS' lets you do it in a way older Sonic fans know best; by finishing the stage with 50+ rings to reach "The Special Zone." Beat the three challenges in each Special Stage, and you get a Chaos Emerald. When you reach the end of the game, there will be a total of eight Zones for you to go to, but seven of them will have a box on the DS Top screen where they describe each Zone; this box will have a Chaos Emerald in it if you already collected the gem in that Zone. You can still find Red-Star Rings in the DS game, but their use is for unlocking concept art in-game, as well as music in the Sound Test. Also, if you see a new in-game "Event" cutscene, CGI or otherwise, you can see it again on the Event screen. The storyline in the DS' game is more straightforward and not humorous like the Wii's game, but I managed to still get a couple laughs from some of the Events. If you've already played Sonic Colors for the Wii, you'll already know what Wisps are, if you didn't, Wisps are aliens of different shapes and colors which help the player in various ways; the DS game has two Wisps unique to the DS game, one of them you get early on turns Sonic into a fireball that can jump as many times as you want in the air, with 4 others also seen in the Wii game, 6 altogether. The 6 "Zones" you can go to will let you use white Wisps for Sonic's Boost move, and two different Color Wisps, so when you find a new colored Wisp, come back to an earlier Zone and see if it can help you find the "Red-Star Rings" or get an S-rank high score, which yields 3 Extra Lives. One last thing I will point out in the DS is the option to meet up with Sonic's old buddies for simple missions on certain parts of the overworld map. For example, you can find Amy Rose in one Zone, who wants Sonic to collect 200 rings before time runs out. Believe me, it can be easier than it sounds. However, some missions have simple objectives but CAN take several minutes, like with Shadow and Omega's mission later on, where Sonic has to reach the mission's big "Goal Ring" before time runs out. The time they give you will never be enough, so you'll have to help Sonic collect lots of clock-item-capsules to increase the amount of remaining time. The difficulty is good too, it starts off easy, then gets harder as you go, even for a skilled player like me. I can say a lot more about the game, but I will save it for the consumer to see for his or herself. You can take my honest words for it, but it's best that you buy it for yourself and see what it's like. I can assure you though, if you're a Sonic fan, either old or new, this game should not disappoint you. 10/19/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by site to store The game is great. My son loves it. The only thing I did not like was the site to store shipping. It took way too long. I ordered this on January30th. I was supposed to get it no longer than the 12th of Feb. I was finally able to pick it up a week later. Next time I will pay for shipping and recieve my product on time or sooner. 02/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Purchased for my 8 year old grandson for Christmas. He was so excited when he opened it. The price was higher than some other places, but what convinced me was the free store delivery or the $.99 charge to your home. That famous toy store, (the one with the "R" in it) charged me $12.61 for a DS game that cost $9.99. I gave them a piece of my mind, and learned my lesson. Good Bye to them, hello to Wal Mart. I just wish Wal Mart would offer buy one get one for half price. That would be a big savings since I have 5 grandchildren to buy for. 12/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great!!!!! my 6 year really love this game easy to follow along. 12/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great gift it was a birthday gift for my 7 years old nephew and he loved it very much 02/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by fun game Awesome game if you are into Sonic 01/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by my 6 year old grandson loves it give your grandchildren what they ask for; excellent gift 12/31/2011
1-12 of 12 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw498
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp