See All Reviews
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 580 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by hp printer bought it for occasional printing as we are not a big printing family. was impressed that it already came with ink. was a little dejected that if you bought it IN STORE you had to buy the USB separately. come to find out i shopped online and the USB came WITH the printer. so i bought online and shipped to store. this printer takes up little space which is also a + because in our house our home office is a rolling desk/nook in our kitchen, the printer can easily fold and go wherever we need it to. the eco friendly bag that comes with it easily stores the computer paper & supplies that are needed for the printer. it has the power to do bigger jobs also. it can print out 60 color 4x6 photos in under 4 mins. 04/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very convenient I bought this as a back up printer for a network printer which sometimes fails to respond. Constant updates and constant hassles are a thing of the past with this simpler and easier printer. At 1/4 the price, this one does the same job and I can not tell any difference in print quality. 10/15/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the price I bought this to replace an old HP 722C, for which HP no longer makes parts. Since I don't print much, I didn't want to spend a lot. I've printed about 50 sheets so far, and they look better than my 722C ever did. We'll see how it holds up over the long haul. Downsides? You get reduced capacity print cartridges with it, so if you print a bunch, figure on replacing them fairly quickly. And, as others pointed out, you will need a USB A/B printer cable (if you don't already have one). This is how HP keeps the price dirt cheap on this model. If you need a USB A/B printer cable, there are two on this site from Belkin: 6 ft. (under $5) and 10 ft. (under $10). Order the length you need with the printer and then you won't be running around town later. Note: The cable will probably arrive separately. Mine arrived a day after the printer. If you have zero patience like my wife, then you may want to buy a cable locally ahead of time, so you can set up the printer the moment it arrives. A final note: The set-up instructions don't tell you that you need to align the print heads - and maybe it's not necessary. I did it anyway ... it's fast, takes one sheet of paper and the directions walk you through step-by-step. That ensures you're getting the best quality possible from the start. 12/23/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good basic printer great price Very good basic printer with advantage of cheap cartridges. These cartridges are refillable making a better buy. Quality is pretty good. I am using the printer to make transfers for my art work. Hook up was easy and operation simple. 10/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by HP Deskjet 1000 Printer I can't express how pleased I am with my printer. I had a larger printer/scanner/fax that I could never get to work right and most often felt like throwing it out of the window but since I got my HP printer I can print anything, anytime with no hassles. It works like a dream and I would recommend it to anyone. 11/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A++++ PRINTER My all in one (very expensive) printer broke on me suddenly. I took a chance a bought this printer for $29 at Walmart (It's also at Staples and Office Max for more $). And I could not be happier. This printer works better than any expensive one I have ever had. First off, it prints FAST! Secondly, it was inexpensive. Thirdly, it is slim and modern looking. Lastly, the ink jets are the cheapest on the market. I would highly recommend this print to anyone who can not afford to spend a lot and wants high quality for a cheap price! PS: Does not come with a USB port. 06/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Can't Beat the Price! When I got a new PC with no more parallel ports to accommodate my previous printer, I went cable shopping for an parallel/USB adapter. Best Buy had nothing and recommended a new printer, but prices started at $130. Went to RadioShack for a cable check and they too suggested I replace the printer... and suggested for my volume, to look at WalMart. Went online and was thrilled to see the HP model at less than $30, with the appropriate cable. Set up was a breeze, print quality is great and for my print volume, this is perfect. Can't beat the price, especially for a name brand printer. 03/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by the best printer I have owned alot of different printers, but this is the best. The only complaint is you can only copy from your computer, not from hard copy. 12/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Customer This Product has surpast my expectations It is a very quick and easy setup and is very easy to use. The output is very quick and very sharp with near laser output on its black output and high resolution on photo output as well. I would recommend this printer to anyone in the market for a home printer and it is very affordable for what you get. Plus the cartridges are also affordable as well for when you have to replace them. 11/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Printer For A Low Price I already own an all-in-one printer, so I bought the HP 1000 as a backup printer. I installed it onto the computer in my bedroom. So far this printer has worked just fine for me. The paper prints out real fast, and the documents look great, doesn't look as if they were printed from a cheap printer. And the replacement inks are not expensive. Right now I'm loving this little printer. So glad that I listened to all of the good reviews and purchased it. HP did us right by this one. 03/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by HP Printer This is my first experience with a HP product and it has perform beyond my expectations. I was told by a friend how nice and easy their products are to download and use. the value of saving that pay for cartriages is so much better and affordable than my last printer. 12/02/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth it. My husband and I bought this in January for school. After barely being used, it no longer prints and doesnt want to feed the paper through... Im very disapointed and would not recommend this printer to anyone who actually needs a good quality printer. 05/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by HP printer hangs too often My Dell computer running XP with updates is a good machine. I've had a couple of other printers that had died so picked up the 1000. The HP software loads lots of junk with the general load which I did not realize until this week. I've had the printer for 4-5 months. It hangs all the time and won't clear or stop the document in the MS software. At times I have to turn the printer off, reboot the computer and the document prints after reboot. Sometimes it does not. I have reinstalled the software 4 times with no improvement. I"ve had this problem since I bought it but figured it was something minor and I could figure it out. I could not. The printer was such a pain I brought it back to Walmart and left it at the return desk with my complaint. I did not expect them to give me money for it as it was months since I bought it. I just wanted to get rid of it and I figured they should know someone was unhappy with the printer. The print quality in B&W was fine and the same with color although a bit thin but it's not a high end printer and I'm using bottom of the line paper. All in all the print quality is fine. The software stinks i.e. harrasing ad ridden add-on. The print driver also stinks -- hangs up all too often. It was a big mistake to not return it right away. I would not recommend it to anyone. 04/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent value, great product I love this printer. After going from a very expensive and complicated printer, I'm thrilled with the simplicity of this one. Even though the price was less than $30, the print quality is better than I ever expected. I have limited technical knowledge but this printer was even easy for me to connect. Amazing! I ordered it on line and chose home delivery. It came quickly and was packaged well. You can't go wrong with this printer. You'll love it. Ordering on line from Walmart is the only way to shop! 10/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good, economical, dependable basic printer. Have always had an HP Printer and my printer of 8 years died. I was looking for a printer to fill just my basic print needs until I decide to trade up on my 8 year old desktop. Read reviews on other brands and once again the best deal appeared to be this printer and I have not been disappointed. The package deal of getting the adapter cables also made this deal even better. 06/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by The HP Deskjet A perfect printer for the price. For a basic printer it was fabulous! Shipped with both cartridges and the software was easy to install. It prints beautifully and found myself to be very pleased! 01/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by HP Deskjet Printer I took it out of the box. Connected to usb port. Installed with the product cd. And it was off to printing. It was a great price. The only drawback is since it feeds from an angle at the back of the machine if your printing reams of paperwork you will be filling the slot more often. I use it at home and it is perfect for normal usage. The print is clear and sharp. And also includes color as well. 03/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cost less than my old printer ink cartridge! Love my new printer, I was shopping for refill ink for my Lexmark. The HP 1000 printer was $10.00 less than one cartridge of ink. It was easy to set up and ready to use right away. 02/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by HP printer This printer is a very good value for the money paid. It was as cheap to buy the printer (including color and black ink cartridges) as it was to purchase refill cartridges for my old printer. Shipping was fast. 10/22/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by PIECE OF JUNK Ok i bought this printer not only once but twice!!! First time i had it for only 2 weeks and it stopped taking the paper in and would not print! So i exchanged it. Here it is 2 weeks later again and does it print? NO! It will not take the paper in so im returning it for a refund and going with something better. DO NOT BUY! 05/18/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Seemed like a bargain I checked out all the printers on the site, and noticed that most of them had a lot of features that I didn't really need. I only need a printer to print text documents. So I figured, I would go with the least expensive. Well I didn't know, and I don't think it was clear at purchase, that HP requires a special USB cable. You can't use a standard USB cable. Their's has a strange sort of female ended square. And it is even more frustrating because the directions for set up specifically state, first...DO NOT HOOK UP USB CABLE. It is the last thing they tell you to do before the onscreen disc set up. It's almost like they are tricking you to get the whole thing out of the box, set up, and then you find out you cannot use your printer. So I had to order the special cable from HP and with tax and shipping it cost me $19. My bargain, no frills printer ended up costing more than a printer that had tons of features. I'm waiting for the cable, so I haven't hooked it up yet. I can't talk about how it runs, yet. I was really disappointed 12/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Faster than expected This HP printer is much faster than my 4 year old HP printer and is cheaper to feed (i.e. ink). It comes with 2 ink cartridges, black and color, but does NOT come with a cable to go between your computer and the printer. So if you don't have one you'll have to buy it separately. 02/02/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by ink usage The reason I bought was price. However what you dont know is that ink usage cant be changed. Therefore more ink is used. I would not have purchased if I had known that fact. 01/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by i just wanted a printer to print coupons. this was a great value for me. it was cheap and does what i need. i am very pleased with it. it has paid for itself by 4 times. 06/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Meets the need It was a great price and easy to set up. Print quality is good. 01/23/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst printer ever!!!!!!!!!! Have had hp printers and have never had a problem with them...perched this one looking for an inexpensive replacement to an older hp printer had it less than a month when it stopped pulling the paper through....brought it back and exchanged it for a more expensive but better quality hp printer...have had no problems with the replacement. 08/12/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Piece of junk Worked fine the first couple of months then began having trouble with the paper feed. After four months wouldn't feed any paper at all. Printer was only lightly used is reason It also began printing documents with only half the typeface showing but that was only intermittent. I bought such a cheap printer but even after light use, black printer cartridge was 75% gone. price of replacement cartridges is steep. 02/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good for the value. 06/12/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by not bad it works good its nice for the money to do taxes ; school projects light stuff like that i had no worrys with this printer .... it prints clean .. its not bad at all..... 01/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by bought for skool and $$$$$ very easy to setup need to buy usb cable if u buy the printer doesnt come with 1 good for the money if u want speed i think u should get a higher modle because it does print a little slow but i dont min d because all i use for is school work. has a high quality print and ink is very cheap to buy but ink cartigaes are small i do not recomend for a small business use 12/30/2010
1-30 of 493 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw502
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp