See All Reviews
Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 10 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to install and use. I was concerned about the banister mount - thought it would not be very secure - but works like a champ. Easy to install. Looks good. Great value. I was also concerned about opening and closing the gate - wasn't sure how easy it would be (the more complicated the less likely to be closed when it should be and the more likely damage would occur) - but it's very simple and easy to get used to. 04/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Purchase This is a great gate. If you do not have a stud inside your wall, you will need some anchor bolts. My husband purchased some at the local hardware store. It's easy enough for my 5 yr old to operate, and sturdy enough to keep my 12 month contained. The only disadvantage is that it doesn't close automatically. Other than that, it's a great purchase! 05/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does the trick This product works great for my stairs and it doesn't damage my banister. The instructions are a little hard to understand, but the final product is great. I wish is was a little easier opening the gate; in order to open it you have to lift the gate up and slide it to the side. Otherwise, I am very satisfied with the gate. 04/28/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by The following is my true opinion and is only that, my opinion, it may differ from yours or anyone else's. The quality of the gate itself is fair but the hardware is severely lacking. One strap broke while trying to pull it tight enough to secure it to the newel post. Needs additional or larger straps, and associated parts, on the hinged side. I could not us it because the handrail on the wall as in the way. The width is adjustable but I could not see how to lock it at the desired width. The instructions referred to lettered parts but there were no letters on any of the parts, had to figure out what parts were what on my own. It is over priced, I thing around $30.00 would be right, not $52.00. If my friend can use it and wants it she will pay me for it, otherwise I will return it. She will have to call the company and request a replacement strap, and maybe an additional one. 06/26/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hassle to use.... The latching mechanism is a total nightmare. Forget about opening and closing with one hand, this gate is a total pain to try and latch. Mounting is fine, parts are fine, install is easy. OH, but wait, you actually have to USE the product. Ya' right, good luck. DO NOT buy this, you will regret it. 07/01/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Unhappy I purchased this gate because I have a 1 & 2 year old. I looked at many gates and read many reviews. This one seemed the easiest to put up and easiest to open/close. Well, that is not the case at all. It was difficult to attach to the railing (it took forever to get it to stay) and if you don't have both hands available forget about opening/closing it. Which makes it hard when you are carrying a child. You need to pull the gate up in the middle while clasping the handle to open the gate & the same to close it all that while you are trying to get it into the holes to latch it shut. For the money I am very surprised the gate is so terrible. We threw the box out so we couldn't return it. All & all I would not tell anyone to purchase this gate. We are extremely dissapointed. 06/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works just as I thought it would. We installed this gate at the top of our stairs to keep our dog confined to the upstairs rooms during the day. It was pretty easy to install and fits well as pictured. I like that it swings all of the way open against the wall so that it can stay open when not in use (which is all of the time that we are home). 11/06/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great idea but not easy I loved the idea of the gate being installed with the decorative post on one side so decided to give it a try. It was very time consuming installing simply because there are many options in the instructions based on what type of installation you'll need. The way the gate closes is by putting the bottom piece/prong into the hole and the top one is the same; therefore, once the bottom is lifted into the part, we have to pull a little to get the top prong to come over to the opening of the top hole. It's difficult to explain; therefore, that should tell you something. It is very difficult for my 8-year-old to close/latch shut. 04/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works really well and the look is neat and clean! Only negative was like many others who bought this product is the condition of the packaging. The first one was damaged and I had to return it for another. But it looks great works great! 07/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does its job I bought 2 of these gates to put at the top and bottom of the stairs in our new house. Since we have 3 young children and another on the way who are not used to a 2 story, I wanted something that would help slow them down when it came to the stairs. This gate works like expected. It was a little tricky to install but the adapter straps for the banister worked like a champ. It can be a bit tricky to latch especially one handed but nothing that can't be overcome with practice. My 6 1/2 yr old can work it while my 2 yr old can't which is how I like it. I would recommend this gate if you want something economical that works. 10/29/2011
1-10 of 10 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.