Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 26 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Fit! I wanted a pressure mounted gate that would fit a 55" opening to contain my 2yr old. I have purchased and tried several different gates and I like this one the best. Setting it up was easy- took only minutes. It is not different than any other pressure mounted gate with a door. You have to tighten the bottom and then tighten the top so that you leave only a small gap where the gate closes. The gate looks slightly croocked until it is installed. The one hand opening is a little ackward at first cause you have to push a lever back then pull the handle up but all the adults are now able to use 1 hand to open it. It does not auto latch or close so you have to be diligent about doing that but it is very secure once closed. Most wide pressure mounted gates I have encountered only allow you to add 1 extension to each side of the gate so beware that you can't endlessly extend a gate to fit any opening. This gate is no different. The description says it will fit openings up to 58" but if you go to the Regalo website, they sell 24" extensions for $24.99 so if you get two of those you can actually fit a max opening of 82" (base gate extends up to 34"). To clear it up this gate with all three extensions in the box allows the gate to reach a max of 58" total. Great gate would defiantly recommend. 02/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awsome Gate We purchased this gate to contain our new puppy.. Puppy is a Black Lab/American Bulldog mix.. yes, he's a beast... 28 lbs at 12 weeks old. That being said, I needed a gate that would hold up to that force of nature. I also needed it to be a spring mount since I was placing it up against my kitchen cabinets and I didn't want to screw into them. I (a woman) put this together with a minor amount of help from my 4 year old who basically just had to hold two sections in place while I tightened the gate. It went up in about 15 minutes... I have since placed my entire body weight (which we won't discuss) up against it and it didn't budge. It has also withstood the force of the beast... the kitchen is now known as Puppy Jail! Overall.. this is a very nice gate and I'm very happy with the purchase. The jury is still out as far as the dog is concerned! 07/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great baby gate Very sturdy. My husband installed it. Wasn't quick, but wasn't too complicated. Drilling into the wall makes the gate very sturdy. Other gates are always slipping down, but this one isn't going anywhere. With the extensions the total width is 58 inches which is exactly what we needed. The lock on the swinging door is tricky at first, but now I'm used to it and it's easy. Very satisfied especially for the price. 04/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great! I purchased this gate because I have a wider doorway that is a weird size to find a gate for and this gate works great! With the door my 3 year old cannot open it and my youngest daughter cannot crawl into the kitchen. Works great and easy to install! Would definitely recommend. 03/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great gate for our dogs I almost gave this a 5. We have a 54" opening that we needed to gate for our dogs. This gate has worked out well, especially considering it was like one of the only ones that I could find that could get wide enough. It's very nice looking also. We don't open and close it every day, though, only when we go out. It seems like the more extensions you put on, the weaker it will get. I don't think I would use it for over a 54" gap. Every once in awhile, we have to push it back straight with our foot. Very happy overall, though. 11/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good We searched high and low for a gate that would fit a 65" opening and not require hardware to be mounted. While we had to order a larger extension directly from Regalo, this gate was able to give us the desired coverage that we needed. My husband had no trouble installing it and it went up quickly. We did the shipping directly to the store and it took FOREVER. I would say that the shipping method was the least satisfactory part of this purchase. The extension from Regalo was shipped directly to our home and was here at least a week before the gate made it to the store. Being that this is the first gate we have every purchased the only other dislike so far is the width of the door. Maybe all doors are like this??? This gate seperates our two living rooms and we have to carry loads of wood through the gate for the wood stove. It is a very tight fit for me as I am short and making sure I clear the gate is annoying. Overall, the gate is doing its job right now and my little one isn't pulling on it so I cannot atest to the beating I'm sure it will get soon enough. 10/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great gate but... This is a really great gate that stays in place best with the wall cups. It works great for my 18 month old son when it's just him. The latch is easy for an adult and really smart 2 1/2 year olds. I had this gate for less than 48 hours and my daughter (the 2 1/2 year old) had figured it out. Now she can let her brother out whenever she feels like it, which is most of the time. I really like this gate and it worked great for BOTH my kids during the first day, but don't let your kids watch you figure out the latch, they will catch on. 03/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by used on a 44 inch opening good gate Works well. We have the extentions all on one side that makes it a little wobbley. But it does it's job! There is an option to screw in these "holders" that keep the ends in place so they don't move on the wall or baseboard. We chose NOT to use them ( because what is the point of a tension gate if you have to screw something in lol) We did keep them just in case they were needed or we thought it wasn't stable after a while. We have not used them as of yet, and I do not think we will. 12/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best gate on the market! I admit it was a little expensive,, but by far the best gate. I had an oversized hallway to block off to keep my child who is two , out of my kitchen. I've bought and used other gates at other times and would have used one of the others again, but none of the others expanded as wide as I needed. I found this one and was very skeptical thinking it would be flimsy due to the distance. I was wrong,, it is very sturdy and I've actually caught her more than once trying to climb it, it never once fell over. The latch mechanism is the best I've seen on a gate so far, very solid also. Way too tricky for a 2 year old to figure out, but not too complicated that a 4 year old couldn't work it without difficulty. As my boy had no problems learning how, i think He learned how after 2 tries. All in all, if you have a larger than normal area to secure off and have the money available, buy this one ! You will not regret it. 11/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gate! I love this gate! I did tons of research before I chose a gate and I was really excited when I found this one. We have a 49" opening to our extra wide stairs and traditional gates were too small. This gate is perfect! We did not have to use the hardware mounting option because it was sturdy enough to be pressure mounted only. We also only used one of the extensions--the 12"--but I feel like it would still be pretty secure with all 3 of the extensions if you needed them. The only problem I have with it is that the door is extremely narrow. Honestly, it's not THAT big of a deal for US, but I could see some larger people having difficulties getting through the gate, so that is something to think about. The latch on the door is very secure. It is easy for any adult to open but would be difficult for a child. Like I said before, it is sturdy. My 11 month old son constantly goes over to the gate, pulls up on it, and tries to shake it, but it holds strong! 07/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Perfect! For our 46" hallway on the first level, this gate is perfect. I didn't want to mount it permanently, so the tension mount has worked out well. We don't have a toddler to contain; 2 pugs instead. The 'door' on the gate works well to let them in/out of that part of the first level. Appearance is OK - outweighed by the benefits it provides. Also, shipping was quicker than expected. 07/12/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does not reach openings 70 inches wide!! If you see in the description it says the gate expands to 58", and below that it says included are 3 extensions. Added altogether it should add up to 70 inches wide right?? Wrong!!! This gate came up short by a long shot and i'm so aggravated i have to keep searching for a gate that is long enough. 01/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by After trying other gates thay broke after a few days, so we decided to try these and they are indestructable 10/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product goes beyond expections great price very happy with this gate 09/27/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by dont buy it It is a piece of junk ,especially I ordered longer gate which is assembled from few pieces and is so flimsy and unstable that I returned it next day ,very bad construction and also opens only to one side and lock is too much ,save you some time and get "dream baby" brand - very nice and solid 09/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extra wide gate The gate looks very nice when in place. It is quite capable of keeping our dogs in one section of the house. We will soon have a new little baby boy, so when he gets old enough to navigate on his own, the gate can help to keep him out of danger when we need to work in the kitchen. The gate's "door" is a plus because my pregnant wife can easily open it to go to another room. This gate is perfect for wider doorways. 09/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Gate for Wide Areas My son did pull this gate down on top of him the first day we had it up. It serves it's purpose if you get it tight enough. It's just hard to find a firm gate for wide areas, this will work, just not perfect. 08/31/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent gate We needed a pretty wide gate and didn't want to spend $100+. This one works and my husband was able to put it up on his own. It doesn't seem incredibly sturdy though. If my 4 year old yanked on it hard enough I think he could bend it or move it. 08/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This gate is perfect. I needed a extra wide gate making it a challenge to find one at a retail store or even on-line. Among the gates I did find, this was the best for the price. It was exactly what I was looking for. It will take two people to set it up, however it was easy and had it up within ten minutes. I would recommend this product to anyone and would purchase it again if I had a need. If you haven't ever used the Walmart order on-line program, it is easy. Order on-line and have your order ship to your local Walmart store at no charge.....Melanie, Euless, TX 08/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We bought this gate to use once in a while to block 2 two year olds from the porch to the swimming pool, so we have only used it once, but it was Very, Very Easy to set up and take down. Saw no problems or anything to complain about. 06/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by only thing I wish the walk thru part was a little wider, but its a great gate. 02/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by worked as advetrtised. I have had it up for 2-3 months with no problem and and found it easy to install. 09/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super easy to assemble. Recommend reading (& following) the installation instructions. Very pleased with the gate. 08/23/2011
1-24 of 24 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew474
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp