See All Reviews
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 29 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Go Ahead - Take A Shower If you are recovering from surgery and you have a cast on your foot or leg, you can assure your surgeon that your cast will be bone dry when you shower. This Carex Cast Protector is a large foot shaped plastic bag with what looks like a small hole in the top. But the hole is surprisingly elastic. It's easy to stretch over a cast but snugly seals to your leg above or below your knee. DON'T BE FOOLED BY OTHER MODELS. This one really works! 12/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way better than plastic bags! I bought this based on other good reviews to help after foot surgery. The first time I took a shower after the surgery, I was home alone. I couldn't twist my leg into a position that didn't hurt to reach my toes & didn't think the cast protector would work. The opening is so small & it just felt like it would tear if stretched enough to go over the cast. So I just used a plastic garbage bag but it is such a pain! A couple of days later, my husband offered to help put this on. I was still skeptical but figured it couldn't hurt to try. Wow--way better than a plastic garbage bag. After a few days, the pain in my foot doesn't stop me from putting this on by myself. I keep wondering how long it will continue to stretch without tearing but I'm 2 1/2 weeks post surgery & the cast protector is hanging in there. Even if it gives it up before I'm done with the cast, I would buy another. It covers my leg up to my knee--my legs aren't tiny & it stretches with no problem. Makes a difficult time a little easier! 09/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant surprise I was hesitant to order this product when I first saw it. It looked kind of cheap, too simple, and was so inexpensive that I questioned it. A previous customer's review convinced me to try it, though, and I'm so glad I did. The design is simpler than another cast cover I had experience with, but it actually works better, and the elasticity of the opening has held up very well, and kept my cast dry every time I've used it for the past few weeks. 04/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great protection for showering with a leg cast I am 6' 5" and wear a size 15 extra wide shoe so you can imagine the size of the cast following Achilles surgery. I was wrapped up to just below the knee and the opening of this protector fit over the entire cast and then snugged up against my leg allowing me to shower without any water getting through. I have used this a dozen times so far and it works just like it did the first time I used it. I not only would recommend it, I have recommended it to others needing foot or lower leg protection in the shower. Great product and very reasonably priced. 07/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by a excellent purchase was easy to put on and off, kept foot and leg dry while in the shower, a good price from walmart compared to what it cost from other stores. 05/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works like a charm I had read some of the previous reviews that didn't rate it very well. I am here to tell you that I have used mine now three times without as much as a drop getting in. When we first opened the package we thought that the hole would not stretch big enough to accommodate the cast... no problem. 03/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by fit my swollen casted leg and kept it dry! Great design worked repeatedly well. 09/05/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great! Bought this for showering after foot surgery. Have used it several times and it continues to work beautifully! Stretches great over the cast and still keeps the water out at the calf! Well worth the money! 05/10/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works better than I expected! I was worried that water might leak.....nope! 11/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A lifesaver! Simply put, this works. It looks cheap and the cost was definitely inexpensive, but it's way better than I expected. It's very easy to use and keeps my leg and foot completely dry. I actually expected I may be throwing this away after a few uses or at least after my cast is off, I now don't think so at all. At this point, I've used it about 20 times and it's showing no signs of wear. This is definitely a great buy and if you're in a cast, it's a must have! 10/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Can not put in without help VERY DISAPPOINTED with this product especially after reading so many great reviews. My son has cast to his knee for broken ankle. The hole is obviously tight to prevent water from getting in, however it's so tight it needs to REALLY be stretched to get over cast which he could not do himself. We happened to have OT working w/him when it arrived and she even tried putting on and it because she had to almost shimmy it over cast it was super uncomfortable to my son causing pain. We are going back to tape and bag so he can do that himself, just not as nice looking. WOULD NOT BUY!!!!!!!! 01/23/2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by I returned this product The hole looks so small and I felt that if I would try to put it on it would rip. It looks cheap and I shouldn't even have purchased it to begin with.. So I went down to the local medical supplies store and bought one for $20. 06/01/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I am sorry to say, a useless product I purchased this product to protect my foot/leg after surgery. Was happy when it arrived, till I saw the poor quality it was. The slit in the plastic material was smaller then my youngest grand child arm. there was NO way to keep the product up on the leg. All it was this piece of plastic with a very small slit to try to fit over a huge cast and NO lock to keep protector from falling down the leg and wetting the cast.. This was total disappointment!!!!!! 09/15/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by cast protector i could not get it over my cast 11/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great You can use it over and over 03/18/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great! I was skeptical that this product would actually work, but based on the positive reviews and the inexpensive price, I decided to give it a try. I am so glad I did! I am in a cast up to my knee and have been using this Carex cast protector for 4 weeks now. My cast has never gotten wet and the cast protector is still good as new. The hole at the top does look small , but it stretches to go over the cast and once over the cast the elastic band holds it snug against your leg, preventing any water from getting on the cast. So much better than trying to attach a plastic bag. I would definitely recommend this product. 10/28/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is awesome This cast cover is awesome, goes on easily, keeps your cast completely dry. Such an amazing product for the price. So nice to be able to shower without worrying that your cast will get wet. 06/10/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great cover this really keeps your leg dry in the shower it's great 06/05/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yes I can shower The stretch cast protector really worked. I did use a dry cloth to wipe off the moisture after the shower and then remove them it seems to work very well for me. 03/02/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by cheap but works Have'nt used enough to say how durable it is,but it has kept my cast dry so far. 01/06/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by safe way to take a shower with a cast I was afraid to try it at first. I am so glad I ordered this product. It has a small hole at the top. It stretches easily over cast. It is so nice to be able to take a shower without my cast getting wet. I would recommend this product 11/19/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by worked well worked well, but sort of a pain to put on. opening stretched much better than expected upon initial impression, but still quite difficult to get over cast material without damage to cast protector. sealed well. have only used twice, so not sure how durable it will be in the long run. 09/11/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looks cheap, though great product. I was tired of using bags, and going through so much tape. This product was at the right price so I bought it. Way worth the 11 dollars I spent on it, if I needed to again this would be the product I would use over and over again. 02/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect after surgery I bought this to use after surgery. I was nervous that the splint would get wet but it stays completely dry. It is affordable and works like it says. Would definitely recommend it! 12/31/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This worked great. I had foot surgery, with a large wrapping on my foot. My foot fit right in and was tight around, just above the knee. I can't get mt bandage wet, and not one drip leaked in. The only thing my Dr. warned me about using one of these, is that it could be slippery. I did not have a problem with that. I did just start using this, so will have to see how long it holds up. 04/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did not think it would work because of the picture The picture was misleading because it does not show how it works. I thought maybe I would have to hold the bad when showering. But the bag has a opening that streatches like a rubberband. Then fits around your leg. The plastic feels thin but it works. Also It says it lasts the life time of the cast but I think it depends on what kind of cast you have a have a total foot cast that is a little sharp and pokey. Do not put your nails close to the plastic use just your finger tips. I like this cover and will buy another. Just in case. 02/08/2013
  • 2016-03-24 T09:08:46.749-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_29, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_14668633, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-27 of 27 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew507
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp