See All Reviews
ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike
ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike
$245.96
List Price: $375.00
You Save: $129.04 (34%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 57 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Well worth the price for a spin bike I am an avid rider, and was a former certified cycle instructor. If you are a beginning rider or casual rider at home, this is a great spin bike for the value. If you plan to ride more then 30-45mins. and more the 4 times a week, I would invest in a higher grade commerical bike, but otherwise this bike will meet your needs. It has nice tension control, steady balance, and little comfort features like a water bottle holder and cages. NOTE: No clips for this bike, if that is what you want you need different pedals. The seat is a standard road bike seat, some people might want to replace or add a gel cover if you aren't use to a hard seat. I read one review that said the person fell off the bike backwards and it tipped over, I don't see how that is possible unless you assembled the stand backwards (the wheels to move the bike go in the front), all the weight is on the front, you would have to work hard to tip it over backwards. Great bike for the price. 11/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cheapest bike does not mean worst one out there! I tried spin bikes that costed twice as much as this one and I was even more impressed by this one. The ride is very solid while the others were less stable during heavier pedaling. The price of this bike was the clincher. Why pay more for something else that isn't built any better than this one? Another thing, it is also quieter than other bikes I have tried. Great deal! 09/21/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by I really, really want to like this product, but .. I really, really wish I could rate this bike higher than a 2 but I just can't bring myself to do so. First the good. • The bike was really easy to put together except for the seat. Absolutely no directions on how to mount the seat. • The bike is very sturdy. • I really do feel like a get a good workout on the bike. I sweat like crazy, that's for sure. Now the bad. The very, very bad. • The seat. I ride a road bike so I'm used to small seats, but the seat that comes with this bike is horribly uncomfortable. I had to invest in a padded, gel seat cover just so I could stay on the bike for longer than 10 minutes or so. • The noise. OMG. The noise that this bike makes is somewhere in between an angry, 200 lb. bee on steroids and a fog horn that constantly blows. Watching television (or at least trying to listen to it while watching) is impossible. To make it tolerable I have to listen to my iPod at top volume. That pretty much drowns out the noise, but whatever is causing the noise causes the entire bike to vibrate so even if I can only sort of hear the noise (because my iPod is cranked to ear splitting level) I can feel it. Once in a while I can find a sweet spot on the resistance knob and the noise will die down to a loud hum (which would be perfectly acceptable and expected). If I try to change the resistance though, the sweet spot will have more than likely disappeared when I try to find it again. I cannot believe that of all of the people who have posted reviews here, very few of them mention having a noise problem. I called the toll-free number on the owner's manual about the noise problem and although the representative that I spoke to was very nice, she had absolutely no idea what could be done to fix the problem. I am still debating whether or not to try to return this bike. I really have no idea how that would be done - it's very heavy (a good thing) and would be impossible to put back it the box for shipping or for hauling back to Walmart. While I do feel like I get a great workout on this bike (like I said before), the negatives are really difficult to over look. I'm very disappointed in my purchase. 04/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Spinner for Price. My husband and I are very pleased with our purchase. We have been pricing these kinds of Spin Bikes for about 4 or 5 years and couldn't justify spending over $800 for one. He used his bike trainer and was happy with that for a while but then he wanted to try looking again for a spin bike. We came across this one on Wal Mart and decided to try it, the price was right for us. It arrived in less than a week and was very easy to put together and set up. Doesn't take up a lot of space either. It's quiet compared to his bike trainer. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles that some bikes do but to us that just ramps up the cost. Pro Form is a good name in exercise equipment, we have several pieces of this brand in our exercise room. I would recommend this product to anyone wanting a basic spin bike to work out with. 11/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior bike One gets a superior workout on this bike. I replaced the original seat with a more comfortable, wider seat. I am on the short side and have made all the adjustments I could make, but I still find the bike is too high for me. I'm 5' 2". I love the bike. I'm so happy I purchased it. 11/22/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 A GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY GOT THIS BIKE ABOUT TWO WEEKS AGO. ROAD IT ABOUT 8 TIMES SINCE THEN. IT'S BY FAR A GREAT BIKE FOR THE MONEY. NOW IT MAY NOT BE THE SAME QUALITY AS YOUR RIDE AT YOUR GYM. IT WILL GIVE YOU ALL THE WORKOUT YOU CAN STAND. BUY ONE AND SEE. 09/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike Purchased two of these for my wife and I after reviewing exercise bikes on the web. This bike has the look and feel of much more expensive bikes, was easy to assemble, and gives us a great exercise. So many of the reviewers stated that the seat was uncomfortable, so we went ahead and ordered a wide gel seat. Though we haven't used the stock seat, it looked to be well padded and a quality seat. I think that anyone that hasn't biked in a while, will have a two or three week transition to any seat as we did. We found some bike videos on the internet that are taped from various bike ride's throughout the country and have enjoyed biking to these videos while enjoying the scenery of places like the pacific coastline, Yellowstone, Blue Ridge Parkway, etc. We chose Walmart's free shipping to the local store because we knew that if the product didn't meet our standards, we would have been able to take them back to the store for a full refund. We may add a computer later on that will give us some feedback as for time and distance, but for now we have enjoyed our 30 minute sessions at our own somewhat leisurely pace. Overall, a great product and I would consider ourselves very satisfied customers in regards to this purchase. 02/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Schwinn Incognito.... During my Division I College hockey days, I would ride a Schwinn spinning bike very regularly. Being half the price, no sign of any weakness, smooth, quiet, and just as sturdy as a 700 dollar Schwinn spiinning bike....this bike is amazing. Comes with a 90 day warranty and a five year warranty on the frame. Bike comes assembled except for the handlebars, seat, and two horizontal balancing plates. I assembled it by myself in 10 minutes and rode like a mad man for one hour trying to find something wrong. The only problem I have is that the handlebars are a little loose now, but that can be remedied with the proper tools. Not sure if you can beat this quality for the price. I recommend that you buy some grease and some nail/screw glue if you want to really prepare your bike for the long haul. 01/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value This spinner is attractive, built solid, gets high reviews everywhere and looks like it'll last for years and years, an excellent value for such a low price. Easy to assemble and made-in-the-USA! I'd recommend adding the Cateye Velo for a low cost basic speedometer/odometer device. Walmart made the ship-to-store delivery option super easy. For a great low impact cardio workout at this price, the ProForm 290 is highly recommended! 01/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value I did a lot of research before deciding on this product. For the price you really can't beat the quality of this product. Definitely a great piece of equipment. I purchased this to use at home and also picked up a heart rate monitor to maximize my work outs. Now I can squeeze in a good cardio workout in less time than it takes to drive to the gym while in the comfort of my own home. I am very satisfied with this product. Assembly was easy and quick. It's an easy machine to operate and a couple of minutes on YouTube will show you how to properly setup the bike. I would definitely buy this product again. 01/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the Price I just bought the ProForm 290 SPX Exercise Bike. I am loving it! It was very easy for me to put together by myself. It is very easy to adjust the seat and handle bars. The brake works great and it is fairly quiet when exercising. The seat could be a little more comfortable, but then, I have not ridden a bicycle in a very long time, so it will take some getting used to. I did purchased a padded seat cover that helps. Overall.. This was a great buy and it will last me for a good while : ) 04/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased This was my first online purchase at WalMart. Everything went smoothly and shipping was free. I assembled this bike with no problems in about 40 minutes. It is very sturdy, I like to stand up while riding and you can dial up the resistance and stand up on this bike with no worries of it tipping or being unstable. Others have commented that this bike is noisy. I would disagree. I tested others before buying this one and I consider it to be very quiet. Overall I would rate this very good, and a great value at $299. Others I tested were at least $100 more, this one is more solid, quiet and stable. 01/13/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Chain is Noisy! I was excited to get the bike home and set it up to ride. The setup is very easy and the bikes appearance is modern and appealing. I saddled up and began my ride. Click, Click, Click went the noisy chain. You can forget about "running" on the bike, the sound of the chain will make you think that it is going to break. I returned the bike and bought a more expensive model with a belt instead of a chain. I am happy to have a nice quiet ride. :) 04/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent bike for the price I have been going to spin classes since 2001. I have belonged to 5 different fitness clubs up and down the coast. This bike is as good or better than the bikes I have used in a professionally led class. The people who complain about the seat are just plain silly. I never had a comfortable spin bike seat. It is not meant for sitting on the whole time anyway. Spin bikes are made for cranking up the tension and standing up to pedal part of the time. I have also invested in a gel seat in the past but didn't find that it helped all that much. For people who complain about the noise...REALLY??? Every spin class I've been to has been extremely noisy and is the reason the instructors wear a microphone and blast the music. 01/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for price I love it. Spinning is my favorite form of cardio and with my hectic schedule, being able to hold my own private spin class whenever I like is priceless. I have been doing some homework while riding and had to get a cover for the seat because my tushh was starting to bother me from sitting on it for long period of time. It isn't as quiet as I was hoping it would be but all in all great value for the price. 04/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spin bike A really nice spin bike for the price. I've used ones in health clubs and this one rivels any of them. Easy to assemble, very stable and comfortable to sit on. Lots of adjustments to fit you well. We are enjoying the rides..... 04/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Bike I ordered the bike online after reading reviews by other people. I was a little apprehensive. I went and picked the bike up and brought it back to my house. I wansn't sure how the assembly of this bike would be but it was fairly simple. There were only a few parts which needed to be put together. Total assembly time took about 20 minutes. I've been using the bike for several weeks now and love it. When I can't get to the gym or its snowing and cold outside this bike gives me the cardio workout I need. I love it and would reccomend this bike to everyone. 02/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for the price! I ended my membership at my gym and wanted a spin bike that was just the same. This bike is even nicer than my gyms. I did my research and looked for a month. And this bike was by far the best deal. Other sport's store's carried this exact same bike and wanted 300.00 more for it. I've used it and love it. (The seat's a tad hard not to comfortable but that's an easy & cheap fix) 12/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Exercise Bike I am happy with this bike. It gives a nice ride for the money. You do have to get used to the "weighted" wheel at first if you are not used to a spinning bike. You will either have to use the brake or just slow down slowly. In other words, the pedals do not stop instantly since the weighted wheel has momentum. Two things I would improve: One-the brake is in an awkward place. It gets in the way when I am getting off and on the bike. Two- the seat is really uncomfortable. You will probably want a better one. A good exercise bike for the price. 04/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great decision I bought the bike because jogging was beginning to bother one of my knees. I did a lot of research because I wanted something well constructed without spending too much. I was willing to pass on fancy features. After 3 months of heavy use I conclude that the ProForm is likely to give me many years of additional use. It rides smoothly with very responsive tension control ( please note that instructions recommend the tension be tight when the bike is not in use ). Some have commented that the seat is uncomfortable. This is a common complaint with many exercise bikes. I have gotten more used to it and for periods of time I sit up straight in the seat while pedaling to shift weight. I'm not mechanically inclined, but was able to assemble bike with minimal problems by following the clear instructions. The only time I ran into a problem was when I didn't read instructions carefully about screwing in left pedal. I paid $300 for the ProForm, which I think is an excellent price for something of this quality. Please note under "specifications" the weight and dimensions of the box if you decide to pick it up at store. You will probably need an SUV or truck. 03/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stationary bike, exceptional value Purchased this bike after reading many reviews about many products, as well as trying out several in the stores. This bike (to me) is virtually identical to any bike priced under $900. My ideal bike, a Keiser M3, costs around $1500, and is obviously in a different league, but this certainly meets all of my needs. I've been using for 4-5x per week for the last 3 weeks, and have no complaints. Solid construction. Fairly quiet (though, obviously, magnetic resistance with eddy currents would be quieter). I haven't had problems with a loose seat or handle bars (as mentioned in other reviews) once tightened properly. My only complaint is the lack of a computer, but for what you pay, I don't think there is a better value. 02/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Must experience I read the reviews before I purchased this and I am glad I got this. The seat is the issue..*-*..but it is soooo worth it. This is a beautiful looking machine..It rides well and its QUIET..simple to put together, done within 15mins and I can't imagine why anyone would buy a different bike. You will not be disappointed!..It looks and rides like it cost $1000!. 01/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 A good buy I purchased this bike based on others reviews and everything they said was spot on. It is a great value, the bike is solid, easy to put together and I get a great workout on it. My two main draw backs are hard seat (easily fixed with a gel cover) and the red stop bar in the front. I don't believe this problem can be fixed short of hacking it off. The reason I don't like it is because when I am pedaling standing up (as you do in many spin classes) that bar is very close to a part I would rather it not be. I imagine it is not a big deal for taller folks, but at 5'4", not so much. That being said, overall it is a great value and I would recommend. 01/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by ProForm 290 SPX Spinner Great bike for the money. Beginners may want to add a gel seat. 12/15/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by piece of junk Not functional. Has a chain and only one speed, the chain slips off the gears immediately when I try to ride it. Tried to fix it by calling the number in the instructions, wound up talking to nordic trac who told me they would ship me replacement parts. That was 3 weeks ago and this piece of junk is still sitting here useless. 05/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This bike is very much worth the cost. Love the option to move the seat up or down and also forward or back. Its quiet, efficient and gets the job done .... nice work out. Only negative is the seat comfort. Just get a Cloud Nine Gel seat for around $25.00 and you are good to go. 02/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Worth The Money!!!! I am a very active person who enjoys running, walking and spinning. I really wanted to purchase a bike for home. It took several months before I decided on this one. I was comparing retail bikes to the ones at the gym that I ride for spin class. This bike is by far better than the ones in the gym. It is sturdy, smooth and can handle a beating. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking to spin at home. It was very easy to assemble as well. This bike is like a $800 - $1,200 dollar bike for less than half the cost! If you are looking for a bike...I think you've found it! Happy spinning! 03/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Spin Bike I have a love for spinning. This is the first bike that I've bought but have used many different types of bikes over the years at fitness centers. I would rate this bike as high as those commercial bikes and even higher than some. This bike was very simple to put together. I would recommend this bike to anyone who wants to bring spinning home. 01/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well made bike The spinning bike was easy to put together and it's very well made for the money it cost. I have enjoyed it and have had no problems and it's been over a month 12/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great home spin bike After looking at a lot of bikes online over the past few years I saw the $ and review on this bike and took the plunge. I assembled in about 30 minutes which is amazing for my mechanical patience! Handle bars are a bit wobbly and haven't figured out why but overall it's a solid bike with the heavier flywheel compared to some "home" bikes. Seat is a bit stiff and i have ordered different pedals for my cycle shoes but overall this is a very cool spin bike. Shipped securely. 12/27/2010
1-30 of 53 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw296
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp