See All Reviews
Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 52 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will last a lifetime, heavyduty. We bought for cub/boy scout campouts and home use. It comes with a small cookbook to get you started. It is already pre-seasoned so you can take it right out of the box and use it. Which is great! However I did lightly grease the inside of mine with cooking oil before I used it the first time just to make sure nothing would stick. It worked great. Nothing stuck. However we did accidently burn something while cooking in it later on. We didn't have our heat regulated right but I just used a scraper and most of it came right out. I waited until it cooled and put water inside the dutch oven to soak the rest and it came right out after just a short while of soaking. I don't think you can hurt these ovens unless you drop it or maybe put cold water in it while it is hot off the coals. It is pretty heavy. I'm glad I didn't get a bigger size because of the weight and also I don't think we would need a bigger size. I bought the 12 inch(8 quart) deep dutch oven and we have a family of four plus give or take a few neighborhood kids at every meal and we have more than plenty of food using this oven. I always rub a little cooking oil all over the oven once it is clean and I am storing it away to keep it nice. It has care instructions with it. Very easy to take care of. 10/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for outdoor cooks The cast iron cookware turns out the best food ever, from main dish to deserts. The little book that comes with them makes you a perfect cook, and tells you how to care for them. One tip I learned is if you need to reseason put it in your oven and use the clean cycle, it works great. 06/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by cast iron dutch oven Great for frying and cooking outside. The pot is large and heavy. Has handle for easy transport. Heats well with cover. My husband loves to use it. 09/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lodge Dutch Oven Absolutely the cheapest place to purchase the real thing. Walmart rules with their free shipping to the home. Christmas will be very rewarding and affordable this year. 10/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT! HAD IT 2 WEEKS AND ALREADY USED IT 3 TIMES. 2 CAKES AND COWBOY STEW. ITS BETTER FOR STEWS BUT DOES GREAT ON THE CAKES. THE SHALLOWER OVENS ARE SUPPOSE TO BE FOR BREAD AND CAKES BUT IF YOU USE ENOUGH HOT COALS (ON TOP) IT COOKS JUST AS GOOD IN MY OPINION. I'M LOOKING HARD AT THE L12CO3 AND L14CO3 TO USE FOR BISCUITS, ALTHOUGH THIS ONE WILL COOK THEM. COOKING RIBS AND CHICKEN BBQ TOMORROW NIGHT PER THE INCLUDED RECIPE BOOK. YOU WILL ENJOY IT IF YOU LIKE THE OUT DOORS. I,VE ONLY USED HARDWOOD COALS HAVEN'T USED CHARCOAL. DOES TAKE TIME TO GET COALS BUT WHY SUCH A HURRY. L.C. 11/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good quality, preseasoned and good instructions. This is the best quality Camp Dutch Oven I could find and the price at Walmart could not be beat. We used them for a campout the week they were received and the raves were out of this world! Cooks even, food was done to perfection and easy cleanup and seasoning. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my 3rd dutch oven and the biggest one. This is my 3rd dutch oven and the biggest one. Lodge has never let me down. I will be using this a lot this summer for campfire stew, and baking biscuits. Take care of your cast iron and your grandchildren will be using it, that is how I got started, some of my cast iron is more than 80 years old and made by Lodge. 03/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heavy Dutch Oven!!! The 8 quart dutch oven by Lodge is HEAVY....and well made!!! The lid is very thick and designed to support the hot coals on top for more even cooking. This is a large item.... with "feet" to support the cookware in a open fire pit! Bear in mind that this is for OUTDOOR USE and is NOT intended to be used for stove top OR oven cooking. Use a regular dutch oven if that is your intention. I would HIGHLY recommend this item. Based on the construction, I'm sure that this will last for OVER 100 years.... 09/15/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for camping - plenty of good recipes, too! This is my second Lodge dutch oven. We use the smaller 4 quart for small meals and desserts, and the HUGE 8 quart for roasts, stews, chili, etc. Unit comes preseasoned - ready to use out of the box. Easy to clean and care for. Will certainly last a lifetime, possibly two! This is the type of cookware that gets passed from generation to generation. A little expensive compared to others, but well worth it. 05/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome cookin' We used the 8 quart and a 6 quart for a week of camping. Did some stacked cooking as well as just using them separately. The food was awesome. Even my finicky 12 year old was impressed with the stew. She want's us to make it that way all the time now. Clean up was easy, and you don't have to use very many coals for most meals. I think our food bill was a little lower than the last time we went camping. 07/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I needed This is a deep 12" Dutch Oven that has a capacity of 8 quarts. Lodge quality, made here in the USA and comes pre-seasoned. As a camp cook for many years, I have come to appreciate the Lodge brand of cast iron cookware. Pre-seasoned means you can start cooking with it pretty much right out of the box, but They recommend you rinse it out first. Instructions are included. The book says you can feed 12 to 16 people with this pot, but from experience, I would say 10 to 12 HUNGRY people would be about right. I just got this particular pot, but it replaces another deep 12" dutch oven that got loaned out and has not returned home yet. I have a group to feed in a week or so that will need to use this pot and if the other one finds its way home in the meantime, I'll have 2 of these pots (I am a camp cook, so I have several different sizes of dutch ovens and they all get used). 10/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Perfect Size The Lodge 8 Quart Cast Iron Deep Camp Dutch Oven was the perfect addition to my outdoor cooking gear. It's the exact size I needed for my families favorite outdoor meal, slow cooked beer roast. It's also great for doing whole chicken and making enough stew, chili, soup etc for our family camping trips. I have used other brands of cast iron cookware but nothing beats Lodge for quality. When I found this Dutch Oven at this price I could not believe it.If you can find this Dutch Oven under $80 buy it, you wil not be sorry. Remeber to put cast iron cookware in your Will because it will last for generations. 10/12/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good dutch oven Had to return the first one I ordered thru Amazon due to poor quality, then I ordered same item thru Walmart.com. Box arrived at site-to-store busted up, and the top rim of the dutch oven had similar problems as the first one ordered thru Amazon! The black surface coat is not solid around the top, and brown rust/oxidization can be seen... Over all the dutch oven (despite shipping box) arrived in better condition, and we look forward to years of use with it. 03/05/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by dutch oven good This was a gift for my son, who seemed happy that he can now make stew when he takes his sons camping. 01/03/2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by lodge field guide to dutch oven cooking Lodge field guide to dutch oven cooking says " Make sure the lid fits level on the pot" if you can push down on any edge of the lid and the other side raises. Do not buy that oven" Lodge camp dutch oven cooking 101 says " A little play in the lid is acceptable,but wobble may let heat escape,increasing cooking time,and creating poor temperature control inside the camp oven" Mine slightly comes up on the other side when pushed down. Personally i think it will be fine and i'm very happy with the quality ,price and service i got. 01/18/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Geat Dutch Oven Great product and made in USA. I am a great fan of outdoors and when hungery, cooking outdoor comes next. I have tried cooking in my fire pit before but nothing tasted better than cooking in this Dutch Oven. This pot retains heat, and as result it cooks completely delicious meals. I have seen many cheaper Dutch Ovens in stores but I had my eye on Lodge Dutch Oven, since I had been researching on the net for some time. Get one, you will be happy you did. Walmart was amazing in handling and delivering it timely. 10/19/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A classic dutch oven This is the dutch oven standard. Walmart offers this US made cast iron work horse at an attractive price. It is excellent in all ways. It's new so how can I rate durability? But the ones like this I have used in the past have lasted many years in my commercial kitchen where they get daily use and abuse. 09/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just as expected The lid fit tight, casting was perfect, and the seasoning was just right. I would recommend lodge cast iron products to my family and friends. 06/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by if your into camp cooking you got to get this a great oven, already had a 12'' & 14'' reg. Lodge oven, been wanting a deep one, really cool being seasoned ahead of time, cooked a soup the very next day after getting it, American made, you'll never go wrong with it, great price Walmart & shipping !!! 11/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by trust the name Exactly as ordered. Worked great, no problems. Fast shipping. 06/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good American made product If you are looking for a good pre-seasoned oven this is the one for you. I just got it and have already used it. Like all of Lodge products, it is high quality. I already have two ovens but needed/wanted a larger one. Buy this one, you won't be disappointed, no comparison between this one and those foreign made. 08/14/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Just what I wanted 06/20/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lodge 8 qt deep camp dutch oven -- good product As is the case with other Lodge cast iron, this dutch oven is well made and a good value. Because of the weather, I have not had an opportunity to use this, but know it will perform well. 10/27/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value Good value. A gift 10/24/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by camping gear This is a very good quality outdoor cooking pot. Yes, I would recommend this to a friend. 06/14/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lodge 12" Dutch oven Good price, free shipping. Awesome!!!! Dutch oven just right for my use. Bigger ones are to heavy. 02/20/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent dutch oven. Superb seller. The dutch oven is made of quality cast iron. It is heavy and will endure years of use. This was purchased as a wedding gift for a friend who saw the value of such a well made product. The seller was superb during this purchase. 02/05/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great ready to use out of box ,holds heat well 01/16/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Origional non stick and made in AMERICA This size is perfect for roasting a couple of chickens or a large roast of beef. It will work in the oven as well as outside over a bed of coals. This is a high quality cast iron Dutch oven and is made in the United States of America. Mine came with a small book of hints and tips for cooking with cast iron and a few recipes to get you started. This is a great buy. 01/15/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's a LODGE, of course 5 stars. It came with no shipping damage, so the quality of Lodge cast iron prevails. It is, I believe, the only cast iron Dutch oven maker, which is Made In America. It is my third piece of Lodge iron. 01/14/2015
  • 2016-03-24 T07:23:03.973-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_52, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_14550449, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 47 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew387
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp