Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 66 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Problem Solver When I received a blu-ray disk player for my birthday I was happy to learn that I could watch an unlimited number of movies from Netflix, which I subscribe to, with no increase in rates. Not being very computer literate, I went to a nearby electronics store to find out how to do this. They told me I needed a "bridge" of some sort, to receive the signal from my computer. Three rooms & a hallway seperate my computer from my High-Def. TV & Blu-Ray player. They said a WII or Play Station would work. I have neither of these & no desire to purchase one. When I saw this unit in a Walmart ad it was the answer to my problem & very reasonably priced. Installation was so easy even a senior citizen like myself could do it. I have Wi-Fi using a high speed cable modem & NetGear router & they connected with the push of a button on each unit. Movies run flawsly & having the computer turned on is not necessary. I absolutely love this product. 12/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by it has exceeded what I was hoping for. I was not sure if I could even set it up but it was so easy to do that even those that are not what we call computer savvy can do this. 09/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Internet Adapter Pros: Very easy setup, works as advertised, can be used to convert many various cat5/6 wired network devices to Wireless-N. I use it on my Samsung Bluray player with Netflix and Pandora and it works GREAT! Has no trouble picking up through the wall between my entertainment center and my office where the wireless-N router is located. Cons: I thought it was a little pricey, but am still glad I bought it. 01/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by For anyone with the need to convert wired ethernet to WiFi, you can't go wrong with this neat little package. I needed to connect my DVR to my home network. Wiring was out of the question due to distance. Luckily I have WiFi, but my DVR only has wired ethernet. Enter the Netgear WiFi adapter. It was very simple to set up as compared to others I have used in the past. Within 5 minutes of opening the package it was installed and working. I also didn't have a power outlet available, but there is a feature on this little device that works flawlessly. It can be powered by an available USB port on my DVR. If you have the need for conversion to wireless, this device is hard to beat, and the price is below other devices in it's category that have less features. 05/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product with simple setup I bought this to use with my dishnetwork receiver and it works great. It also was very easy to setup. 03/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product, very easy to set up! 06/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home WiFi Excellent for internet TV and net flix if you use a dvd player with netflix and wi fi capabliities! Great for the price. 03/24/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wasn't what I needed I purchased this so I could watch Netflix on my family room big screen. Regretfully, it was not what I needed. It didn't say in the product description, that the TV needed to have wifi already. Mine does not. I thought this product produced wifi capability without all the cables/wires. I think I would recommend this if you DO have a wifi TV that has a bunch of wires and you want to get rid of the wires. But I cannot be sure. It will be returned to WalMart today. I hope the return goes well. 12/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does work well !!! No other Wifi adaptor does the work well of converting Wifi to Ethernet/USB better than this Netgear Universal Wifi...Now you can easily connect your Old electronics to internet without having hard wired internet wiring next to it.....works well specially for non-wifi printers....now keep your printer anywhere and print wireless..... But this is expensive....with tax $50 or more....Amazon sells a lilttle cheaper....But other cheaper options which I tried are just too hard to setup compared to this Netgear which was very easy to setup. 01/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great! This works great! I have a Sony blue ray player that has no wi-fi built in. In order for me to use this with my player I had to plug the adapter into my router first to configure the adapter to use with my player. Easy. 06/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this to use with my Samsung Blu-Ray player. As I use an encrypted wireless network I first had to connect it to my PC's ethernet port, enter my encryption passcode and then checked that it connected to my network. Once that was done I simply plugged it in to my Blu-Ray player and before I could check to see if it was working my player announced that a firmware update was available for downloading! After that completed I activated some other features on my player and sat back to watch streaming BBC News. An excellent product. Easy to set up of you READ THE INSTRUCTIONS. My only gripe is that the price seems a little high. If it was below $50 I'd probably buy another for my old Amiga computer instead of having to keep moving it between devices. 02/25/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by defective Did not work upon arrival, red light (LAN) no matter where I put the adapter. After googling I see it is a very common problem with this model. Guess I should have googled first,lol. 06/06/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not good for long term use I have purchased three of these over the past three years. They all lasted about a year before needing to be replaced. They work great, and easy to use during the year. I don't think I will be using it again. 05/05/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by delivers as promised Extended my wifi got my smart tv fully charged 04/25/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by att 2wire modem/router owners dont buy this wont work with att 2wire router modem. tried to use with a Belkin router would not stay connected I returned for refund at local store 01/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plug and Play All I did was to take it out of the box, plug it in, press the button on the side, press the button on my Wi-Fi router, and began to wirelessly stream music to my receiver. The only thing that this device lacks is an on/off button. That's a big disadvantage when dealing with electronics. 07/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I needed! I am using this to provide a WiFi connection to my Sony A/V system, which has a TiVo and a BluRay player plugged into it via ethernet cables. The Netgear WNCE2001 is supporting all of it flawlessly. Setup was fairly straightforward, although I did have to reset the password on my router after the WiFi connection to the WNCE2001 was established. 04/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Works great. No issues and simple to use. Connects my blu ray to my wireless network everytime. Cost effective and cheaper than recommended product by Toshiba. 02/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does what it advertises... Purchased this to connect a Brother DCP7065DN printer to network. Printer was in a separate room and grew tired of dragging out CAT6 cable. Setup took maybe 5 minutes and works just as stated. If the price was cut in half I would purchase a half a dozen just to have for other components that are wired that do not need a gigabit connection and do away with some line clutter. No problems with it all to date. 01/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good products - works! I bought this adapter online to connect my Brother MFC printer (which has an ethernet connection) wirelessly through my home network. It worked flawlessly out of the box. All I did was connect it to my laptop, made sure it was connected - then connected to my printer and it worked and is still working. The distance is limited, but seems similar to my wifi extender. The distance is at least 30 feet on a straight line. It is refreshing to have something work out of the box! 08/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy setup and works as advertised Compact, easy to hook-up. Acquired router automatically. No problems at all and has worked flawlessly. 06/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by netgear is the apple of home networking perfect, got this to work with my Yamaha A-3000 reciever to access the internet radio and such with 1 less wire yamaha sells an adapter to this for twice the price 05/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the second time I brought this item, it is easy to setup, and works great, with my computer and directtv reciever. Would buy again if I need another one. 11/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works fine I have it connected to the Ethernet port on my Samsung Blu-Ray player. The only glitch is that I seem to need to reset my wi-fi router before streaming a movie from Netflix through my Netgear adapter. If I do not do this, the red light on the Netgear adapter indicating a poor wi-fi connection eventually comes on before the movie is over, forcing a pause while the streaming data is buffered. Any tips on how to cure this would be appreciated. 03/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Boooo! I was SO excited to see this in the store, EXACTLY what I needed rather than having to buy a WiFi blu ray. I have WiFi set up in my home with a Netgear router but I could NOT get this adapter to connect...at all. Called Netgear support and still could not get it to connect, we were on the phone for over an HOUR! (GREAT customer service support, btw!) I don't know if I just happened to get a defective one but I ended up returning it. I may try and purchase another one and see if that was the case...cuz after reading everyone elses' reviews, it should work easily! 05/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by wi fi adapter I own 2 and they work great. Even on different floors in my home with the router being at a distance and several barriers between. 02/23/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to set up I had one of these before but was refurbished and did not have the netgear GUI after several attempts to get into the adapter to set up new settings after router change I could not remember how to do it and it would not connect like the netgear instruction pointed to. The new one works as it intended and was a breeze to set up following instruction. It is very lightweight and compact hides on top of my DVD player. I use it for my Pioneer receiver to receive internet radio, has good range and streams well. 02/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It just works! I needed to attach an older Mac Mini via WiFi instead of CAT-5. This just worked right out of the box. Still working fine. 05/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great . Easy to install. 05/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the coolest gadgets I own I was looking for a way to connect my Ethernet-only BluRay player to my home network without spending a Saturday running cable through the walls to the other end of my house. Presto! Enter the Netgear Universal Wi-Fi Adapter! I plug it into the BluRay player, I follow the very simple instructions for connecting to my D-Link router (note the different router brand!) and I was up and running with no delay and no confusion. I have been running with the adapter for about two weeks now with no issues. I think I need a couple more of these just because they are so darned clever! 04/20/2013
  • 2015-10-12T03:04:57.649-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_66, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_14550215, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 59 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.