Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 16 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Product! I bought one of these from Sears/Kmart online and have been using it to bake just about everything from donut holes to bread balls (DELICIOUS, but I used gluten free recipes instead of the ones in the manual)to meatballs (NOT A RECOMMENDED CHOICE FOR THIS APPLIANCE). The meatballs were also delicious, but the grease from cooking them in this machine was spread all over the counter afterward, and the machine took a long time to clean. I would have liked it to have had a timer and an automatic off when done switch instead of having to pull the plug to turn it off. Incidentally, the filling injector was found in the back of the styrofoam packaging packed inside a plastic bag. 11/18/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Larger Cake Pops Than Starbucks The thing I was wondering about most when I was researching which Cake Pop Maker to buy was whether I wanted the product that makes 12 smaller cake pops, or this Nostalgia Electrics product which makes 6 larger cake pops/donut holes. Well, it turns out that this product's cake pops are much larger than the ones in Starbucks (just as a point of reference). So, I kind of wish I had gotten one of the brands that make the smaller sized cake pops. The cake pops that this maker creates seem almost twice as large as the Starbucks ones. That makes them kind of heavy for the sticks to stay in place really well sometimes. Anyway, I picked it up today, so, of course, I had to try it out right away. I wanted to make cake pops that are similar to the ones available in Starbucks right now. I used brownie mix to make my cake pops, and coated them with the meltable vanilla "chocolate" from the WalMart baking aisle, and rolled them in crushed peppermint candy. I haven't tasted them, but I baked the brownie pops for 10 minutes each (filling while unplugged as instructed on a YouTube video), and they seemed to come out a tad over cooked on the edges, and possibly a tad undercooked in the middle (the sticks had trouble staying in on some of them even though I coated them with icing first as the YouTube video suggested). I think having smaller sized cake pops would eliminate this "cooking all the way through" problem. I hope this review helps people who are wondering about size reference before you choose a product. 12/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice product! I've used the donut maker twice. Once for glazed donuts and once for cake balls. I found you do have to turn the balls over to get them to bake the same color on both sides. Wish it came with a tool to turn them and wish it had a timer but for the price a nice product. Fun and tasty! 08/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did NOT Work!! I was so disappointed when I got this. It was missing the little injector thingy and the first time I used it, it got so hot it burned them within seconds and then the lights shut off and it stopped working. Taking this back to the store. Very Unhappy!!! Nice concept but don't waste your money! 11/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by On sale at x-mas time, great price! makes uniform cake balls. Filling cake batter to top of baking hole will make huge cake balls. only fill half way to fit better on a stick. I turned my over to get an even cook look, just used a chopstick. Came out great. only issue is the latch in the front of the machine that should lock down when cooking, most of the time, it just catches and its a real effort to fully close it. Great fun! Novelty item, i don't expect it to last with continual use. 01/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Way better than I expected This little machine is so much better, and far more usable than I imagined. It goes beyond just a cake pop and donut maker. We've made things like brownies, cornbread, and cookies in it as well and they all turned out great! The cookies were the packaged refrigerated chocolate chip cookie dough type that aren't meant to rise so much, so they didn't turn out round, but we knew this would be the case. I'm going to attempt to make eggs in it by cracking an egg into each well. I'm fairly certain it'll work, and they'll turn out like a soft boiled egg. I can make 7 eggs at one time if it works! Other ideas are round corndogs, pancakes, muffins, biscuits... the possibilities are truly endless. The foods we've tried so far cooked quickly and perfectly. We did take the advice of other reviewers and flipped the unit over about halfway through the cooking process to get a uniform round shape. Easy clean up and fun for the kids too! We love it! 01/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun for everyone. I purchased this for both my daughters-in-law and they love it. I purchased one for myself at the same time. Lots of fun decorating cake pops and making chocolate covered brownies. Can't wait to make donut holes! 01/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Purchased as a gift. Toddler learning tool working wonderfully. 01/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I find it a little hard to open when hot. Easy to use, daughter wants one now. 12/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Purchased another brand that was defective (not Walmart) returned for a full refund then decided to browse walmart.com This was a xmas gift for my son's family. I am happy to say that they love it and think it is much better than the other one that was defective. They like the larger size and have made many batches. My granddaughter is very excited about making more for valentines day. I have also purchased many other products from Nostalgia electric and everyone without exception loves their gift. I would recommend their products to everyone. 02/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I just bought it today! I loveee it! Defiantly recommend to anyone and everyone. Good idea for kids! 12/26/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Plastic Odor Problems This 'baker' is adorable & we were so looking forward to using it. Major problem tho! The unit still smells like plastic when it heats up. The first 2 times of use, the doughnut holes smelled & tasted like plastic. We had to throw them away. Now we tried it again using a chocolate cake mix. This batch was better - the cakes didn't taste like plastic, but the unit still has a horrible plastic smell. Because it is so easy to use & I think it a great idea, I am plugging it in & spraying baking oil on it; then I will wipe it down & replug over the next few days. Perhaps this will solve the plastic odor problem. If not, I'll have to return it to WalMart... 02/21/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I expected I thought this would be great because I didn't need to heat up the kitchen with my oven. I was wrong. It gets way too hot and burns a ring around the middle of the balls. They do not cook evenly and if you fill them so that it fills the ball space they come out looking more like eggs. I think the regular cake ball pan might be a better idea. I also planned on buying the donut maker too but now I'm not sure if I should. 01/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by dose not do what it says it will very bad luck with it will return it to walmart 12/13/2011
1-15 of 15 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw287
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp