Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 306 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use! Purchase came BEFORE scheduled date(s) :). Very easy instructions & use. Performed exceptionally well...had medium soft set ice cream in a short time...look forward to trying ALL the recipes that were included :). Exceptional value for the price and you get a FULL 1/2 gallon of ice cream for your money, not the ''faux gallon size'' that is now available at the grocery store...gone are those days when you could purchases full pounds, gallons, etc....now everything has been down-sized & you still have to pay full price. You also have the advantage of knowing & being able to pronounce the ingredients of the products you ingest...no additives :). 12/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, economical freezer We made two freezers the first weekend- Chocolate and Vanilla. The recipes were really good. The book says not to fill the canister more than 2/3 full, but you can go to about 3/4 without overflow. 07/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Ice Cream Maker After reading a few reviews I decided to buy this ice cream maker and am glad I did, becuase it works great. I'd like to address some of the issues the other reviews had. 1) Ice cream comes out like soft serve. I'm. Not sure if people don't read instructions, but it very clearly states that the ice cream will come out that way and will need to be in the freezer for 4 hours afterwards. Even my ice cream cookbook (which is not associated with the ice cream maker) states that all of the recipes need to frozen for at least 4 hours. 2) The ice cream maker is loud. It's a metal cylinder scraping against ice, so it's going to make noise. Overall, if you read the instructions and use common sense, you shouldn't have any problems with it. 09/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome machine. Best ice cream EVER! I bought this for my kids. I was considering a higher priced machine until I saw the reviews on this one. And did I ever make the right decision! It is AWESOME! Got here FIVE days earlier than expected and ship to home was ONLY FOUR DOLLARS! I just can't believe what I got for the price. I'm just amazed with it. After using this machine and seeing how good it is if I had to pay twice as much to get this machine, I would. It only took 35 minutes to make one batch! I have NEVER made ice cream before. Our very first batch of ice cream turned out perfect. We used the very first recipe in the booklet that comes with it but it called for chocolate and we wanted vanilla so we substituted and it was SO good! I can honestly say it is the BEST ice cream I have ever had! My mother said the same thing too. Everybody loved it.We had 6 people and 3 of them had 2nds, my son, he had 3 bowls. And that didn't even take half the ice cream. There is still quite a bit left! And the container is designed so that you can use the canister to store your ice cream in. We plan on making a batch every Saturday.I highly recommend this machine! If you get this machine, you WILL NOT be disappointed. 05/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Love it My 9 yr old daughter bought this with some of her Christmas money, and she absolutely loves it. The price was very good, and it couldn't be easier to do. Homemade ice cream is soooo much better than any store bought ice cream. My daughter loves knowing she can make any kind of ice cream she feels like eating and looks forward to making up some of her own flavors. 01/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ice cream recipes great too! I purchased this electric ice cream maker to make my own ice cream with real ingredients. I am very happy with my choice of this compact maker. I've had a manual one in the past and found the hand churning a chore after a while. The Nostalgia Ice Cream Maker works very well, just as described, by following the directions as given and using the recipes included as your starting point. The ice cream comes out creamy, has a thick consistency right out of the machine and tastes like the best store-bought minus the gum, fillers and E stuff. I do slightly cook the egg base before churning as suggested in the recipe booklet. I find the directions true and the machine auto stops when done after about 30 minutes. The noise is like that of any mixer. The ice and salt layering is easy to do. I usually add some of both once during the process. Since it makes a gallon of ice cream and I like to vary flavors, I divide up the soft ice cream into 4 parts after churning to add flavors and mix it up, one with peppermint candies, one chocolate chip, one pecan etc. To get really hard ice cream, it goes in the freezer for about an hour. It keeps easily a week or more, if not eaten up before then. 12/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT! You must get this! It makes the best Vegan Ice cream. I made coconut Pineapple ice cream for my family and I thought it would not have a great consistency...turned out it was marvelous!! I would definitly recommend you getting it. The only draw back is that it is bulky - the bucket but look at it this way, atleast its a pretty color.... Now I dont have to worry about store bought ice cream and all the stuff they add in it. All you need is Icre cream salt, Ice and electricity...off you go to great tasting ice cream 10/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and works like a charm! I purchased this ice cream maker to replace a more expensive electric/manual model by the same manufacturer but the wooden bucket would not seal and consistently leaked so I returned it. This cheaper model ice cream maker was half the cost and was better constructed with a durable plastic tub and quiet motor. It makes ice cream in 25 minutes with perfect results and is a bargain buy. 10/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great for homemade ice cream We bought this ice cream maker to make sugar-free ice cream. We have only used it once so far, but the machine worked fine making the ice cream. We had tried the kind of makers that use a frozen bowl instead of ice, but that one didn't work very well. The bowl didn't stay cold enough to freeze the mix. So, we went back to a regular style of machine with ice. The results were just what we were expecting too. We had also looked at the makers with the wooden buckets. Those were more expensive though for the same size machine. We like the plastic bucket with this one because cleanup was very easy - just rinse the bucket out. Another nice feature of this machine is the clear top to the canister. It allows the ice cream to be seen while it is mixing so you can have a better idea of when it is done. The only part we wish would be better is how the motor mounts to the bucket. It fits into two slots on the top of the bucket that can be a bit of a challenge to insert. Otherwise, we really like the machine. 06/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT! I gave these to my sister-in-laws for Christmas last year and they loved them so much that I decided to get one for us! LOVE IT! Simple recipes and easy to use. I have ice cream in about 13 minutes :) 11/12/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for first-time ice cream makers; fun to have! Got this on a great deal. For $20, you can't beat the value. Ingredients may not always be cheaper than buying ice cream, but when cream, half-and-half, or whole milk are marked down at the grocery store, I pull out this fun toy. The ice cream from the recipe booklet included is very creamy and just tastes more "real" than store-bought ice cream. It is simple to throw together, although it does take a little longer than I thought. For a custard-style recipe, you have to cook it, then chill it, sometimes overnight, then churn it, which also takes a little longer than listed. And I have found that I have to replace some of the ice after it breaks down, or else it never seems to thicken. But once you figure out a few tricks, it is great fun to have. My only real complaint was that the instruction manual did not match what was in the box, like parts and features. But I figured it out--not too hard. 02/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Ice Cream Maker! I had 2 expensive ice cream makers prior to this one and neither of those produced ice cream. I am so happy with this one...it's easy to use, it's ready in 30 mins and the ice cream is delicious. Best ice cream maker ever! 11/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works just as good as the old one it replaced I bought this as a Christmas present for my dad. One of the grandkids dropped his old one and broke the motor. My parents had been looking for a new one to replace it, but were disappointed multiple times with the overpriced and cheaply-made ones that are available nowadays. This one was not only budget-friendly, but it worked just as well as the trusty old one, AND it's cuter! Mom loved the blue color and the old-fashioned logos. The motor works great. As usual, the ice cream freezes soft, so you have to freeze it yourself if you want it firm. 01/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by DELICIOUS!!! This is the first time I have EVER made Ice Cream by myself. Usually my Dad or Husband are the ice cream makers. lol My husband's Aunt gave me a custard based (I recommend custard based recipes) Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe and I made it last night and let it sit in the fridge overnight. When I got home from work tonight I took the canister out of the freezer and the mix out of fridg and started it up. It took over an hour; but as stated I am a novice. It was very easy to use and turned out a top notch batch. It is a nice looking machine and isn't at all as noisy as others I have been accustomed to. Why waste $200+ on one of those wooden ice cream tubs when this one does just as good! 06/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anyone could use it just follow the directions the freezer worked great the ice cream froze wonderful was easy to use and easy to clean up 11/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nostaligia icecream maker Bought this on sale so the price was good otherwise i think it is on expensive side. I cqnnot think of anyone using on daily basis. I bought as fun for the kids. Everythig is plastic so handle gently and with care otherwise if something breaks it will be useless. So for durability can't say as I have used only once and owned for a week that how ling the motor will last. There is on ON/OFF button so just plug and it starts. Comes with a booklet having some recipes. We used the first, the simplest to ckeck the working and how the icecream would turn out and it was all good. Use the guidelines for ice and salt and setup and have fun. It takes 30-40 minutes of running time and then freeze the icecream for harder consistency. I believe anything could be made. I make mango milk shake and kids love that so next time after crushing the mango with milk I will put the mixture in this and make an icecream. The motor turns the canister not the dasher, so it produces more sound when the outside canister rubs against ice and salt. If it is the otherway, I think the noise could be reduced. In this icecream making keeping the contents cold is the key so use real cold ice and water mixture to keep the icecream cold while churning. We all liked the icecream and kids loved and gathered to see the whole process. Fill the bucket with ice according to the volume in canister. Have fun and enjoy home made icecream 12/14/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Large Ice Cream Maker We thought we were buying a large Ice Cream maker from the size pictured of this item. We were surprised to find out it isn't all that large at all, the outside contain is large because of the amount of ice needed to make this item preform well. 6 to 8 bags of ice for each batch! We would ad there is nothing quick about this process, after reading the instructions we are really disappointed about the time required to make a single batch of ice cream. We will NOT be recommending this product to anyone, & may I ad we will probably not use this product all that often. We were thinking this would be a cheap easy way to make large batch soft style ice cream around the home for family & friends. However we found out it not only is an expensive endeavor it takes a long time to produce a little more then a quart of ice cream. Additionally there weren't even recipe's included in with the instruction pages. 04/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for both KIDS and ADULTS!! There are many ice cream makers on the market. I chose this one as a birthday present to a kid based on the reviews I read online. It was a great choice! The very first batch turned out great, and everyone was pleased. The process was easy and so was cleanup. I think it will be used frequently. 04/09/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Doesn't work well I have been making home made ice cream for years. I previously had a Dolly Madison ice cream freezer that I loved. After many years of use, the motor burned out. It would take only about 30 minutes to make a 4 quart freezer of ice cream. This Nostalgia Electrics went for 2 hours and the motor never did stop to let us know the ice cream was done. When we decided to unplug it and take the ice cream out, it was like VERY soft serve. We used the same ice cream recipe and did everything we usually do. We tried making 2 different batches with the same results. 06/15/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quiet Operation, Efficient Design The motor head's arms have tabs that interlock in the ears on the turquoise tub. Efficient design! I put the freezer in our kitchen sink and plugged it in. It ran quietly. Be sure to layer ice and salt. I used ice that I froze in plastic gallon paint buckets I had cleaned out. Ice-picking the ice in the buckets (I used two for one freezer of sherbet.) worked for me. Use a quarter cup of Morton Ice Cream Salt (in a box at Walmart on the sugar/salt aisle) on top of each quarter fill of ice for even freezing. Be thankful that you are not dealing with an expensive wooden bucket that is heavy and whose wood will shrink so much that soaking it in water is necessary to re-swell the wood so it will hold the brine. The parts of the Nostalgia Electric Ice Cream Freezer are easy to rinse clean and store in the colorful shipping box. Good instructions are included. 09/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by ice cream maker my girlfriend lives in colombia and i send it its a hot country !well they dont have this product at their homes , everybody loves it and thanks so much they love it! good choice!mores kisses and hugs my mother in love its so happy and every kids from their neiborhood ,its a simple way to do it follow indications and you`ll love it like i do too so i will buy one more for chritsmas.thanks so much very nice and simple machine to use it!five stars 12/03/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Waste Your Time. . . I was really excited to get my ice cream maker, and after reading the excellent reviews I was sure it wouldn't let me down. . . . Unfortunately it did. After mixing my ingredients together and following instructions very carefully I plugged it in and excitingly watched as it started to churn. My excitement was short-lived when after a whole minute it ground to a stop and smoke started coming out of the motor! Not wanting to waste all the ingredients I had just mixed together I blew on the top to cool it down and after 5 minutes plugged it in again. And the cycle continued. One minute of churning, stop, smoke, rest for 5 minutes, start again. Sadly I will be returning it. It's possible I may have just got a lemon, but I really don't feel like taking a chance on another one. 03/11/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nostalgia I chose this maker as my first ever ice-cream maker. Could not wait to make some home made ice cream for my family! The kids had a lot of fun with the look and ease of use. The instructions said the machine would cut off in about 30-40 minutes. After an hour of two kids watching, drooling and questioning "when is it gonna be ready", I decided to turn it off as it looked like it might be ready anyway. It was really yummy and the texture was perfect. I will just have to pay attention to the time each use and manually shut it off. The motor got really hot because of the over use. I am gonna keep it - too inexpensive to complain about an issue with a simple fix. 08/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for the money Works great, ice cream is delicious. Just keep an eye on it so it doesn't overchurn, or the ice cream can seperate and it tastes a little off. Otherwise, family is very glad to have and having fun experimenting. 06/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great ice cream maker. This was our first time making homemade ice cream. It was so easy with this machine. The end (chocolate ice cream) product was excellent! It might have helped having my grandmothers recipe too! :) The only concern we have is that there is no fill line on the canister, so we had to measure where 2/3 full would be and make a mark ourselves. Also, make sure you use the 3-4 cups of salt like the instructions call for to get the creamy consistency. Enjoy! 07/29/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good ice cream maker for the price I looked at the higher price Ice Cream machines and decided to purchase the little blue machine because I will probably only make ice cream a few times a year and did not want to invest a lot of money. This little ice cream maker worked great for me and my husband. 07/29/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use I've used this twice since getting it 3 weeks ago. I used one of the recipes included for the peanut butter ice cream. It was great. I've had an issue with it not stopping after around 30 minutes like they say, but I'm always right there, so I stop it myself. I thought the issue might be that I didn't use enough ice or salt, so I used more the second time. The ice cream did thicken more that time, but the machine didn't stop itself. To me that's not a huge deal because I make sure I'm right there in case of ice jamming, etc. My kids love the homemade ice cream. Does it save money? Maybe because you are making a gallon. One thing for sure is that you know exactly what's going in it and you always have the option to find other recipes if you want to make it healthier. 07/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great ice cream maker and a very affordable price. When making ice cream for first time, this product worked flawlessly. Ice cream turned out great and motor handled the load easily. Price was very affordable and I would say this is a great product for making homemade ice cream. It took about 25-30 minutes of run time to freeze well, and like any homemade it was a little soft and needed to be in freezer a while to firm up. 07/14/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good quality for the price Machine works well. Wish there was an on/off switch instead of unplugging it and plugging it back in. Have made sorbet and sherbert and it worked very well. 09/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ice cream froze in the time the directions indicated, and the motor was very quite. 09/04/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T09:32:39.173-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_306, tr_306
  • loc_en_US, sid_14506042, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 266 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw317
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp