Rated 2.2 out of 5 by 43 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very cheap, and totally unreliable My brother and his wife invited me to go camping with them. They said they had just bought a camp stove, and that I wouldn't need to bring mine. Yes, there is such a thing as wanting to save some money if you're on a tight budget, but sometimes you do get what you pay for. This camp stove was a complete JOKE! Just like others had mentioned, it worked fine the first time we used it. After that, it worked very inconsistantly. The burners wouldn't stay lit, and when they would finally light, the flames were inconsistant. One minute the burners would barely hiss and you couldn't even see the flames, the next minute, WHOOSH! All this without making any adjustments to the control knobs. It finally quit working altogether. At first we thought maybe the propane tank was empty. We swapped the tank with a new one, but had the same problem; We couldn't get it to stay lit. So we settled for potato chips and cookies instead of a cooked meal. I'll take my old, trusty Coleman gas camp stove any day over this piece of garbage. I'm glad this was just a simple weekend camping trip, and that we brought snacks along, otherwise we would have been very hungry. My advice is when it comes to camping gear, don't go with the cheapest thing you can find. Spend the extra money and invest in some reliable gear. 07/11/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does NOT work!!!! Purchased this stove for our camping trip today to replace the 30+ year old Coleman stove that I had trouble lighting. Upon my wife's suggested I tested the product. I could not get it to light. Followed the instructions to the letter, but still no flame. Decided to try to clean the old Coleman. After cleaning, we have a WORKING 30+ year old Coleman camp stove. Do not purchase the Ozark Trail 2-Burner Camp Stove. 07/16/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Buy! Bought this stove for a camping trip as our sole cooking source. Took it home, threw out the box and packed it up for our trip. First time I tried to use the stove it wouldn't light, no matter what I did. Luckily there wasn't a burn ban and we ended up cooking on an open fire. Now I'm stuck with a brand new stove that won't light. Very undependable, piece of garbage. Don't Buy It! 07/13/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by very bad product lighted well the first time and never work again! after a exchange for a new one, the same thing happen again! don't buy this stove, you will regret it especially if you depend on it in a remote place like me the first time! I had to build a fire everyday to cook! 07/04/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk Had the stove ready to go in the camper for 2 months, never took it out of the box until we went camping last week. Set it up and used ONE time, after that it would not work, pretty much ruined our camping trip as there was no Wallmart around to exchange it! DON"T BUY IT!!!! 07/06/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Waste of money. i read the reviews and decided to take a chance anyway. Took the family camping this weekend. what a big mistake. I hooked up the propane tank and tuned it on to test before I began to cook dinner. It turned on with no problem. I turned it off to grab the pot and when I returned to turn it on, it wouldn't turn on. I tried turning both knobs, put a different propane tank, disconnected then connected again and nothing. Never turned back on. Pay the extra $20 and get one that works. We ended up cooking the food on the grill. 04/03/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by So far so good Well, I've owned this stove for a few years now, but when camping, I usually either go out to eat or cook on the fire so it was used for the first time this weekend. I forgot how fun and convenient using a camp stove can be (it is worth the extra bulk) and I plan to use it, or at least bring it as an option, on most of my future camping trips. I hadn't read the reviews and came on here expecting to write a terrific review: -Worked perfectly, lit easily, burned HOT- it boiled water faster than my home stove let alone any camp stove I've ever used. -It is a little flimsy, the metal feels thin, but that didn't seem to effect the performance. -Used it for 3 meals, so I am still on the first tank of fuel so I can't really address its efficiency yet. -Even though it is years old, it has only been used one weekend so I can't really address its durability yet, though the flimsy/cheap materials make me wonder on this point. I was going to give it 4 stars (perfect, even impressive, performance, docked one since I have long-term durability questions based on the cheap materials). Then I came here and read 13 1-star v. 3 4-star and 3 5-star reviews- that is 6 good reviews to 13 terrible reviews. That has me worried and for the loss of peace of mind I docked it another star. Before reading these reviews, I was impressed and I would have confidently brought this stove with me on future camping trips. Now, I still plan to bring it as long as it lasts, but I'm thinking about buying a Coleman or another well-rated camp stove to bring as a back-up for WHEN this one dies. My dad had a Coleman liquid fuel stove for 30 years which worked perfectly, though he finally sold it at a garage sale since he doesn't camp anymore. I know people with decades old propane Coleman stoves that work fine. Those I know I can trust, but it is too bad when you can't trust what you have to work. I checked "no" for recommend to a friend. Before I read the reviews, I would have checked "yes" based on my (limited) experience with it so far (in fact, earlier today I suggested it to my dad should he ever decide to get back into camping). However, the reality is, I would also consider the other reviews and with 68% of the reviews being horrible, with consistently the same issues, I really doubt I would ever suggest this to anyone again (even if it never gives me an issue). 07/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product and works great. No complaints. 07/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thin durable This is thinner than most other dual burners out there. I like this one because it is thin and has a lot of cooking power. We have fried with this using a heavy pan and had no issues. Only thing missing is a flame starter/clicker. 07/06/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful, do not buy!!! My husband and I bought this stove last summer, used it once or twice. Went to use it this weekend and I remembered how much I disliked it. It takes FOREVER to cook something.... It's ridiculous. You would think with all these bad reviews they would fix it or quit carrying it. So, we are now in the market for a new stove... Don't waste your money on this, spend another $20-$30, you will be glad you did.... 05/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worthless garbage My husband and I are hardcore campers. We bought this to replace and old camp stove. The price looked really good so we bought it. We used it 4 times on a 3 day trip, and were very disappointed. The burners did light fine, but one kept going out. We would have to relight it multiple times when trying to cook. It was not a wind problem, it just wouldn't stay lit. Second issue we had was that one burner cooks at a different temperature than the other. It was just cheap stuff, and we decided to return it as soon as possible and get a Coleman. 05/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stove we just bought this camping stove and used it , its a great stove for the price !!! i have no idea why so many bad reviews about this camping stove ..the one we bought works perfect we also bought the coleman 5' hose to connect to a 5 gal. propane tank , the coleman hose fits the ozark trail stove 04/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Compact and easy to use Doesn't take up much room and works almost as good as my gas stove at home. Flame control is very consistent. Had pancakes for breakfast all 3 days of our camping trip and none of them were burned! 09/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I guess I have been lucky with this product, seeing all the negative reviews. I use this product all the time for camping. It has always worked and worked well. I have used it from the beach to the high mountains. It has not failed me. 09/03/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by unreliable product I am very disappointed in this product. We purchased this stove last summer for camping. It worked fine. It was kept very clean and repackaged for the next trip. We took it camping this week and the burners would not light. We tried several propane tanks and chekced the gas valve, but it would not work. Thank goodness my friend had an extra stove. I would think carefully before buying this product. 08/21/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Regualtor pipes fail quickly. We used the Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove on one camping trip. Then, we planned to use it for 6 days in Yellowstone. We tested it before we left. By the time we arrived in Yellowstone, the regulator pipe failed. We purchased another Ozark Trail 2-Burner 20,000 BTUs Propane Camp Stove without the wind guards at a local camping store. It lasted 5 days. The regulator pipe failed again. The paperwork that came with the stoves said "DO Not return to the store". So, we called Ozark Trail. They weren't any help. Thankfully, we were able to return the 2nd stove to the local camping store, and Walmart refunded my money for the first. I'm glad I had my little electric hot pot to back up my TWO Ozark Trail stoves. 06/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 4 years and works like new I've had no problems whatsoever with my Ozark Trail burner. It sets up and lights very easily. The flame adjusts just like the one in your house, but this does not self ignite. It folds into a small suitcase shape, holding the propane attachment inside. It's four years old as I've said, and maybe they've changed the design or builder, by the looks of these negative reviews. I don't know. But I've always found Ozark Trail gear to be no frills functional equipment. It's good enough for me. 02/14/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible - Be WARNED!!! This product worked ONCE!!! 02/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cheap I bought this home and tested it. No problems out of the box but when I pulled it out a month later to go over my pre-camping checklist, it didn't work. I went and got a Coleman and it works fine. Spend the extra money so you won't be stuck. I've had other products from Ozark Trail and they are fine but the stove is a no go. 10/26/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Short Term use only! We have had the product for about 1-2 years, but only had used in about 10 times (if that) when day 2 of our week long vacataion sent us scrambling to the store for another stove..the Regulator would not work. We take very good care of our equipement to point it still looks brand new and ensuring proper usage and safety, yet it will be sent to the scrap pile. I have tried to find a part..no luck ANYWHERE.. Ultimately will be shopping elsewhere for a new stove, if your gonna sell a product, you should have a place to get replacement parts without hassle I was even willing to pay for it but now...not so much. 10/16/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT BUY We bought this and took it camping piece of junk didn't work. Luckily I had cans we warmed in the fire. 07/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product good price I have been using this camping stove for the last 6 months or so and was looking for an additional one when I came to this product page. I'll actually buy in the store this afternoon but was just doing some online browsing and was surprised to see the rating. I have no problems with the product and for my second one will likely buy the same one again having already suggested it to others. 12/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best Used this ten times for camping and tailgateing. 10/25/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT BUY, THIS IS A BIG WASTE OF MONEY We went camping and used it for three mornings it was great while it worked. however... on the 4th morning it would not release the proprane. i read that someone also had a similar problem... i also tried to change the tanks out but no luck. we thought we were getting a great deal but i guess you really do get what you pay for... what a waste of $$ 09/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I bought this as a gift for my daughter. She is very happy with it. It works better than she expected. 08/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stove!! I bought this stove for our 5 day camping trip and was kind of concerned about all the bad reviews.This stove worked exceptionaly well all 5 days. We cooked on it 2 meals a day with 12 of us camping.So i think it is a great stove for the price. 08/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by worse garbage on the market Don't buy this item. Worked two times on our camping trip. The next morning went to start up for breakfast with hungry grand kids and no start up. Exchanged out the propane bottle thinking it was empty and still no go. After a few minutes we decided to pack up out gear and head out of the woods and hit McD's. Our trip was 10 days long and because our stove stopped working we also lost all the food we brought for cooking. Do NOT BUY. NOT WORTH THE MONEY! 07/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I should have read the reviews!! Yup you are right.... bought it last year and kept it for a year... used it for the first time and it worked wonderfully well.... until the last day where it broke down and would not light anymore.... I borrowed one a few years ago and thank goodness it did not break when I used it... Parts for the regulator is 13 plus S&H when a new one costs 35... 07/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Looks like a Coleman but doesnt act like one Initially I was very pleased with this stove. It worked great the first time out. However, after about 3 uses the plastic nob on the regulator broke. The unit still worked fine, but the burners would blow out and sputter. The tank would freeze up. Its just not worth being disappointed when you're camping and cant make breakfast. Reliability is worth spending a little more for. If you can't afford a new better model, check garage sales, ebay etc. The point is, this unit just isnt worth the hassle and grief it will give you on your camping trip. 07/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 it has been said before bought for camping...tested before we left and it worked fine. Got out to our camp and it wouldn't light. Luckily someone else had a burner we could use! When you are camping, undependable equipment is a no-go. Spend the extra money to get a better stove! 07/09/2012
1-30 of 42 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.