See All Reviews
Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360)
Call of Duty: Black Ops (Xbox 360)
Price varies by store.
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 459 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by improved Two kids can play on line at the same time, no more fighting on who's turn is it 11/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Human being best Friend-by a beta tester I tilte this review a human being best friend because it includes the follwing: New Modes •Combat Training - Multiplayer matches with a friend at home and AI controlled enemies. •Theater Mode - Record your gameplay from anyone's or anything's perspective for all to see. •Wager Matches - Four Free-For-All game modes. ◦One in the Chamber - One bullet in the chamber, a knife, three lives, and instant kills. Players receive a bullet after each kill. Players: 6. ◦Sticks and Stones - You got a Crossbow, a Ballistic Knife, and a Tomahawk. Kill players to score points. Get Tomahawk kills to reset enemy scores to zero. Good luck. Players: 6. ◦Gun Game - Kill to upgrade your weapon. The first player to use all weapons wins. Get stabbed with a knife and you're weapon will be "demoted". ◦SharpShooter - Everyone uses the same weapon for a period of time, once the time is over everyone swaps weapons again. Every kill gets you an extra perk. Playlists •Choose in which map to play next. •Core ◦Team Deathmatch - Straight up Team Deathmatch on all maps. Use teamwork to kill enemy players and reach the score limit. Players: 6- 12. ◦Mercenary Team Deathmatch ◦Free For All ◦Domination ◦Ground War ◦Search & Destroy ◦Capture the Flag ◦Headquarters ◦Demolition ◦Sabotage •Hardcore ◦Team Deathmatch ◦Search & Destroy ◦Free For All •Barebones ◦Barebones Team Deathmatch ◦Classic Team Deathmatch - 3, 5 and 7 killstreaks like Modern Warfare 1 and World at War. •Prestige - Prestige players only. Create-a-Class 2.0 •Your Perks determine your character's appearance. •Rank-Up to Level 50.* •Ten Custom Class slots to use, of which 5 are locked at the beginning. •Prestige, makes a comeback.* •Callsigns/Playercards are back, which means so are Titles and Emblems. •See your stats with each individual weapon. •Emblem Creator - Place your own custom emblem on your Callsign, and eventually your weapons. ◦Spoiler •All purchased emblem images, backgrounds, and layers remain through Prestige. One of the few things that do. •Facepaints ◦Clean ◦Stalker ◦Crom ◦Highlander ◦Sidewinder ◦Mantis ◦Militia ◦Apache ◦Sandman ◦Zulu ◦Blitz ◦Commando ◦Tundra ◦Banshee ◦Dutch •"My Playercard" ◦Edit Playercard - Personalize your Playercard. Unlock and purchase new images and layers for more customization. ◦Clan Tag ◦Challenges - View your current progress across all categories of Challenges. ◦Combat Record - View a breakdown of your online career. This includes Weapons, Killsreaks, Contracts, and more. ◦Leaderboards - View the all-time, monthly, and weekly rankings. Compare your own rank against your friends or the world. ◦My File Share - View and manage your File Share slots. ◦My Recent Games - Browse through up to 100 of the online games you played in the last 7 days. ◦Community - Browser the world's Films, Clips, Screenshots and Custom Game Modes. ◦Prestige Mode Perks •First Slot - Blue Tier ◦Lightweight - Move faster. ■Pro: Quick aim after sprinting. ◦Scavenger - Pick up ammo from fallen enemies. Replenish lethal grenades. ■Pro: Extra magazines. ◦Ghost - Undetectable by the Spy Plane, and the Blackbird. ■Pro: No red name or crosshairs when targeted. ◦Flak Jacket - Reduces explosive damage. ■Pro: Reduced fire damage. ◦Hardline - Killstreaks require 1 less kill. ■Pro: Roll for a different Care Package reward. •Second Slot - Red Tier ◦Hardened - Bullets penetrate better. ■Pro: Bullets do extra damage to aircraft and turrets. Reduced flinch when you are shot. ◦Scout - Longer hold breath. ■Pro: Reduced sniper scope sway. ◦Steady Aim - Increased hip-fire accuracy. ■Pro: Faster aiming down the sights with non-scoped weapons. ◦Sleight of Hand - Faster reloads. ■Pro: Faster aiming down the sights. Does not apply when using a Sniper Rifle. ◦Warlord - Equip two attachments to your primary weapon. ■Pro: Equip two attachments to your secondary weapon. •Third Slot - Green'ish Tier ◦Marathon - Longer sprint. ■Pro: No falling damage. ◦Ninja - Silent movement. ■Pro: Move through enemy Motion Sensors and Camera Spikes undetected. ◦Second Chance - Pull out your pistol before dying. ■Pro: Use equipment while downed. ◦Hacker - Ability to detect equipment and explosives. ■Pro: Hack enemy killstreak/equipment and booby trap enemy Care Packages. Invisible to enemy Motion Sensors. ◦Tactical Mask - Reduces effects of flash and concussion grenades. ■Pro: Night Vision Goggles. Killstreaks •3- Spy Plane - Shows enemies on mini-map. Can be shot down. •3- RC-XD - Remote controlled car strapped with explosives. •4- Counter Spy Plane - Temporarily disables enemy mini-map. •4- SAM Turret - Airdrop a placeable SAM Turret that destroys aircrafts. •5- Care Package - Airdrop a random killstreak or ammo crate. ◦Grim Reaper - aka M202, multishot incendiary rocket launcher. ◦Death Machine - Chaingun/ Minigun •5- Napalm Strike - Airstrike that covers an area in napalm. •6- Sentry Gun - Airdrop a placeable Sentry Gun. •6- Mortar Team - Target three locations to bombard with mortar strikes. •7- Attack Helicopter - Call in a support helicopter. •7- Valkyrie Rockets - Launcher with remote controlled rockets. •8- BlackBird - Shows both enemy position and direction on the mini-map. Cannot be shot down. •8- Rolling Thunder - Carpet bombing airstrike. •9- Chopper Gunner - Be the gunner of an attack helicopter. •11- Attack Dogs - Attack dogs that hunt down the enemy players. •11- Gunship - Pilot and attack helicopter. Weapons •Assault Rifles ◦M16 ■In game Screenshot 1. ◦Enfield ◦M14 - Semi-Automatic. ■In game Screenshot 1, 2. ◦FAMAS - Fully Automatic. ◦Galil ◦AUG ◦FN FAL ◦AK-47 ◦Commando ◦G11 - Burst Fire. Possibly "Classified" ■In Game Screenshot 1. •Sub Machine Guns ◦MP5k ◦Skorpion ◦MAC-11 ◦AK-74u ◦Uzi ◦PM-63 ◦MPL ◦Spectre M4 ◦"Classified" •Light Machine Guns ◦HK21 ◦RPK ◦M60 ■M60 w/ ACOG Scope. ◦S63 - "Proof" •Sniper Rifles ◦L96AW ◦Dragunov ◦WA2000 ◦PSG-1 •Shotguns ◦SPAS - SemiAutomatic. ◦KS-23 ◦Olympia ◦Ithaca/Stakeout ◦HS-10 - "Proof". Compare to KillFeed. •Pistols ◦ASP ◦M1911 ◦Makarov ■ADS View ◦Python ◦CZ75 •Launchers ◦M72 LAW - Free fire or vehicle lock-on. ◦RPG ■ADS view ◦Strela-3 ◦China Lake Grenade Launcher •Special ◦Crossbow ■ADS View ◦Ballistic Knife Attachments •Assault Rifle ◦Extended Mags - Larger magazines. ◦Dual Mag ◦ACOG Sight ◦Red Dot Sight ◦Reflex Sight - Replace the Iron sights with a precision reflex sight. ◦Masterkey - An underbarrel shotgun attachment. ◦Flamethrower ◦Infrared Scope ◦Grenade launcher ◦Suppressor - Invisible from the radar when firings, reduced muzzle flash, but shorter range. •Sub Machine Gun ◦Extended Mags - Larger magazines. ◦ACOG Sight ◦Red Dot Sight ◦Reflex Sight ◦Rapid Fire ◦Suppressor - Invisible from the radar when firings, reduced muzzle flash, but shorter range. ◦Dual Wield •Light Machine Gun ◦Infrared Scope ◦ACOG Scope •Sniper Rifle ◦Extended Mags - Larger magazines. ◦ACOG Sight - Enhanced zoom ACOG sight. ◦Infrared Scope ◦Suppressor ◦Variable Zoom •Shotgun ◦Dragon's Breath •Pistol ◦Upgraded Iron Sights - Upgraded iron sights for better aiming down the sights. ◦Extended Mags - Larger magazines. ◦Suppressor - Invisible from the radar when firings, reduced muzzle flash, but shorter range. ◦Dual Wield - Ability to hold this weapon in both hands. ◦Full-Auto - CZ75 only. ◦ACOG Sight - Python only. ◦Snub Nose - Python only. ◦Speed Reloader - Python only. Weapon Camos •Dusty - Example •Ice - Example •Red - Example •Olive - Example •Nevada - Example •Sahara - Example •ERDL - Example •Tiger - Example •Berlin - Example •Warsaw - Example •Siberia - Example •Yukon - Example •Woodland - Example •Flora - Example •Gold Sight Reticles •Dot •Semi-Circles •Line w/ Dot •Circle •Smiley •Arrows - Horizontal •Arrows - Vertical •Arrows w/ Dot •Bones •Burst •Circle in a Circle •Circle w/ Dot •Circle w/ Crosshairs •Circle w/ inner Line •Circle w/ Outer Line •Circle w/ Arrows •Circle w/ Triangle •Outer Crosshairs •Small Crossairs •Large Crosshairs •Diamond •Diamond Outline •Heart •Radiation •Skull •Square •Square Outline •Star •3 Dots •Treyarch •Triangle •Outer Triangles •X •X w/ Dot •Yin & Yang •Colors Available ◦Green ◦Blue ◦Purple ◦Teal ◦Yellow ◦Orange Equipment/Other •Lethal ◦Frag -Anti personnel explosive grenade. ◦SemTex - Sticks to target before exploding. ◦Tomahawk - Deadly projectile that you an throw and retrieve. •Tactical ◦Willy Pete - Creates a smoke screen. ◦Nova Gas - Start with two gas grenades that impair movement, blur vision, and cause damage over time. ◦Flashbang - Start with two Flashbangs that blind and deafen the target. They also stun Equipment and turrets. ◦Concussion - Start with two Concussion grenades that slow and disorient the target. They also stun enemy Equipment and turrets. ◦Decoy - Start with two Decoy grenades that simulate gunfire and radar indicators. •Equipment (Place using ^ key) ◦Camera Spike - Camera view replaces mini-map. D-pad toggles on and off. ◦C4 - Start with two remote-detonated explosives. Detonate with the clacker or by double tapping X/□. ◦Tactical Insertion - Place to create your next spawn point. ◦Jammer - Place to scramble enemy radars within it's radius. ◦Motion Sensor - Place mobile radar to see enemies withing it's radius. ◦Claymore - Explosive that is triggered by proximity. Maps •It has been confirmed that on launch there will be 14 multi-player maps at launch. •Radiation + - Black Ops vs. Spetznaz •Launch - ??? vs. Spetznaz •Summit- Black Ops vs. Spetznaz •Cracked - SOG vs. NVA •Kowloon - SOG vs. NVA •Havana - ??? vs. Tropas •Array - ??? vs. Spetznaz •Crisis •Firing Range •Grid •Hanoi •Nuketown •Villa •WMD 11/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it I bought this for my boys. However, my husband and I also play it. We are thinking of getting another one because we have 2 xbox(s) and this games allows 2 players to play online at the same time. This will allow our family of 4 to have some online gaming fun and give us more screen room. Great game too many features to list!! 03/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Black Ops fun GREAT fun, my son and I love playing this. 12/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent this game is by far the best Cod yet. first off to the few people on here that are not happy because this game is a little like WaW then please look at who made this. These are not the creators who thought bringing a tactical nuke into multiplayer was a great idea. Treyarch has put a lot of thought and listened to the community unlike infinity ward. I have had more feedback from the support team here than in MW2. Yes tdm games spawns are not the best right now but treyarch has a full team just working on fixing the multiplayer issues. Unlike mw2 i have not seen a glitch yet. compared to infinity wards modder glitchers and 10th prestige lobbies this game is much cleaner and user friendly. Also kill streaks do not add to your killstreak total they have taken this away so u actually have to work for it not just lay down and gain more. I love the currency system it adds to things you need to do to improve your looks or your weapons 11/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool Game This game rocks! If you like COD you will like Black Ops. Great graphics and complex challenging scenes. 12/21/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by My adult kids play this via the internet with family. It's entertaining and alot of fun. 05/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breakdown Here's a simple breakdown of this game. Campaign Pure adrenaline, heart-pounding action. Unlike previous Call of Duty titles, this has a much easier into to get right into the action of the game. Beating the campaign will unlock a Zombie map, but I'll get to that later. In this story mode you play as Alex Mason; reviewing his encounters of Vietnam and experiencing them. You do everything from taking out people with a crossbow to driving a boat and a helicopter. Multiplayer 1. Combat Training Combat training gives people that don't have xbox live a kind of live experience. You can set difficulties of bots to play against. Combat training is much different than Live though, in aspects of player skill. 2. Xbox Live The main reason to get the game for most people. This has to be the best first person shooter game I have ever played. a. Wager Matches Wager matches are pure thrill. You put up bets of your CoD Points to win or lose Points. b. Straight Live Live is amazing, you get to have all the fun you want, or can throw the controller through your television. I'm not going to give everything away, what's the fun in that? But the first perk you choose determines the look of your character. ZOMBIES! What's better than battling the undead? NOTHING. I bought the hardened edition of this game to get the extra zombie maps. It was well worth it. The first map "Kino der Toten", translated to Theater of the Dead, is a fun, yet challenging map to play on. You're not going to make it out alive, so it's best to go down shooting. Well, hope you enjoyed the review. Enjoy the game! 12/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by dont pre-order the game is great. i love it. But i pre-ordered this game here on walmart.com two weeks before it came out. the site said i would have it at my doorstep the day it came out. however it didnt even ship until a day after it came out. I bought a copy at kmart insead and i tried to cancel the order because it said it was still processing but it shipped the next day anyways. the game came out 2 days ago and it still wont be here for a few more days. when it gets here i will have to make a trip to walmart to return it. very very frustrating. will never buy on walmart.com again. 11/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for online starters... This COD is going to allow a skirmish online play to allow first time Online players to get a feel for the online experience before even getting online. Plus, allows you to test your weapon and attachments. For the COD: MW 1&2 gearheads they've changed the level unlocks to a currency based upgrade system. You earn money in matches that you use to buy upgrades, also you can wager on matches. ALSO:::: There's word that you will be able to record online matches and save clips of your favorite kills.... Storyline will probably be killer as it always is, definitely a must have for any gamer Online or Not. 10/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Game for a Great Price. Excellent Game. Has a excellent story line. I received the game on November 8th in the mail. That's right I received it the day before it was released! You cannot go wrong with Walmart.com! 11/24/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not what I expected I loved Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 but unlike a lot of other reviewers I will not compare this game to MW2. I did expect more from this game from the videos of this game before it was released but none-the-less it was a good game. Multiplayer lags at times and takes a long time to find a open game to play but other than that it great gameplay. Single player, I can't really rate single player at this time since I have not finished it because I have it on Veteran Difficulty to get my 60 dollars worth but so far so good. All-in-all I have to give it a 4 1/4 out of 5, singleplayer is good so far, Multiplayer lags and is slow but still fun, I would recommend this game, so if your reading reviews to see if you actually want to buy this game than my answer would be YES get this game ASAP. :) Happy gaming. 11/24/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 World at War 2 It should have been called WAW 2. The earnings system is neat but it reminds me World at War. I really expected more from the game. There are great weapons and attachment choices! Zoombies is always fun! The game is a good overall value if you liked WAW. I was a huge MW2 fan and expected it to surpass MW2. Not so much! They need to bring back the Infinity Ward developers and try again! 11/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good game This game is so awesome, we had to put a time amount on it, so that all 3 of the boys would get the chance to play. 01/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My son loves this game! There's not much I can write about this game but I can say that my son enjoys it so much that he barely comes out of his room! It was a Christmas present and I'm sure the newness will wear off...hopefully soon! He loves being able to play it with his friends as well. Walmart had the cheapest price going for a new game. 01/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Either you will love this game or hate it. I have mixed feelings of COD Black Ops. Its a good game dont get me wrong. It has decent graphics, fun online multiplayer, good story mood, but in the end something is missing. But my suggestion is just give it a chance and you might enjoy it. 01/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Game Kids go crazy for this game. 11/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by what's there to say, the game speakes for it's self....great,great,great....thank you x-box... 07/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST.GAME.EVER i got this for christmas and the zombie mode is awsome!!!!! the champain is long and epic. this is my first cod game and the xbl is awsome i love the custimazation 04/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A TRUE CALL OF DUTY 7 GREAT GAME OVERALL. But it's basically the same thing as the last 3 games in the series, save some bells and whistles. Black Ops is the smoothest most precise FPS out there today. And that probably won't change till the next CoD. I really would have loved to see them bring back vehicles in online multiplayer, but oh well. Currently HOOKED on Headquarters on XBL. Just like every call of duty before it, I'll be playing only this game until the next one comes out in November. The best overall addition to this game is being able to play 2-player in online matchmaking, great for having your buddies over and playing. If you played and liked any of the last 3 CoD games, this is a MUST OWN. 03/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by FRIGGIN SWEET sooooo realistic graphics are amazing great gun selection amazing multiplayer. no gamer collection is complete without black ops 01/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Daughter's Favorite Game I purchased this game for my Daughter for Christmas and she has been unable to pull herself away from it. I ordered it online just a few days before Christmas and was surprised that it arrived almost overnight. I was so thrilled as she was wanting this game and with the excellent customer service and shipping, I was able to make it happen. 01/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by COD black ops ok call of duty black ops, pretty good game i must say. the campaign was one of the best i have ever played in the Call of Duty series and maby any other game series. the graphics are not bad they are better than World at War but not as good as Modern Warfare 2 but they are not bad on an HDTV i play in 720p and the game looks good. Zombies is ben improved buy a lot. Zombies= alot of fun. now on to the Multiplayer, if you are looking for a game to top MW2 there is no game yet to do so.( and im not a major MW2 fanboy) but, with all the problems MW2 has i can say that Black ops is a nice break form MW2. the Multiplayer feels like the original Modern Warfare the customization is good but its not that big of a deal gameplay is fun and BALANCED wich is a nice change. there is no quickscoping wich is cind of sad but then again its nice to not be yelled at for "Hardscoping", an other thing is that there is no Dangerclose wich is nice and i have to say i havent ben 'Noob Tubed" once wich is just amazing. Treyarch has a good base to start from and im hoping Black ops 2 will be better MW2 or maby even Modern Warfare 3 if there ever is one. the final word, Call of Duty Black Ops is a sold game and you should pick it up and give it a chance. 12/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Game!! Yes this is different then Modern Warefare 2 but in a great way. Give it some time and it will grow on you. Walmart did a great job getting this game to me on release date. Thank you Walmart!! 11/13/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Treyarch dropped the ball By far the worst call of duty! On line gaming is terrible, servers disconnecting, hosts changing constantly. Weapons are ridiculous. If you choose to actually aim weapons, you will not have a chance. If any of the people playing this choose a military career, they will be greatly disappointed that they can not run through firing weapons to melee an enemy. 12/11/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Research Black screen bug before buying The game is very good up until the point where the screen goes black and you can't proceed. There is a nasty bug in the game during the mission where you are targeting buildings for the air strike. There are a number of postings on the internet about the problem (since November 2010) but when you contact the developer of the game, they act as if they don't know anything about it. If you restart the level and press the X button on the controller about 20 times at a specific point in the game, this has been reported to get you by the issue. This hasn't worked for me and I'm sick of games that are released without making it through basic quality control. Especially since you can not get a fix for the issue if the work around doesn't work for you. The issue is reported on every gaming system version. Research the issue before buying the game so you know what you are buying. 01/09/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't be fooled by the hype Don't be fooled into thinking this will be a great game just because it has Call of Duty in its name. it's not. This game is pretty much the same CoD game you played last year, and the year before that, and before that. The formula hasn't change much. You still pick your perks ( few new ones) your killstreaks (few new ones and most are useless) and head off with the same guns yo used last game. The graphics are actually worse then they were the year before and the game just feels boring compared to past games like MW2. the only redeeming factor for this game is the campaign; which in my opinion, is the best yet. You play as Mason, and all you know is that you have been kidnapped and you're being interrogated by mysterious figures. You go through past events in masons life such as an assassination attempt on Castro or escaping a Russian prison. All in all this game is average. nothing really stands out except for wager matches which kind of add to the game, but not enough to warrant paying a full $60. If you have to play it, I would advise that you rent it. 12/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Video Game This was a great gift for my father and son. The graphics are amazing and can say it is one of the best Call of Duties in the series. Can't wait for the next release. 12/09/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Singleplayer is great, sensational and somewhat confusing at times but it is still THE best campaign I have played since Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare. Now onto the multiplayer, Multiplayer features all new Wager match game modes and a all new Theater mode where you can watch all of your recent games or record a funny or stupid clip from that same game. Wager matches are where you wager your CoD points(Or Call of Duty currency) and play against other players in various wager matches. Multiplayer itself is pretty awesome, some of the maps are greatly engineered and just plain out awesome. Now if it wasn't for the mediocre hit detection, overpowered weapons, screaming 10 year olds, and "camping" (or sitting in long places for long amounts of time) to gain their higher killstreaks. Perks are basically the same from Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 with a few new perks that could help/or not help so much. Treyarch has also introduced a new feature to Black ops multiplayer, this refers to your guys "creative side", its a new emblem creator! Yes 12 layers of pure awesomness that you could put into your very own emblem. Your emblem is what people will remember you for, either they will remember it when they kept killing you, or the other way around. Zombie mode was a type of Co-op play introduced in Call of Duty: World at War where it pits 4 friends in a never ending zombie apocalypse. You could buy weapons off the wall with the points you earned killing zombies or you could save up and get the "mystery box". The mystery box has weapons that have higher rates of fire and damage to help you and your comrades survive for as long as possible. But on the other hand, zombies does have its flaws too, with the annoying "Migrating host" every match, the lack of hosts with good connections cause the people in the game to "rage quit"(getting mad and leaving) zombies hitting you once and you go down. But overall, despite this games flaws, this game is highly addicting and I play it everyday! 08/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good my husband and i bought this game for our son and he loves it and we can not get him off of the game till its time for him to get some sleep and now my husbands plays it when he have time and can get the game lol 03/31/2011
1-30 of 257 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew485
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp