See All Reviews
Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3)
Call of Duty: Black Ops (PS3)
Price varies by store.
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 287 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Christmas Gift This was a Christmas gift for my husband who just got a PS3 a couple months ago. Many action, first person shooter games give him motion sickness but this was one that didn't. As far as the game itself I've never played it but my husband has played it multiple times since receiving it and really likes it. I ordered it from Walmart.com and it came within a week, the time they said it would come and did come before Christmas. Would buy again and recommend. 01/01/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Black Ops the game is really fun. It provides hours of fun including multiplayer, zombies, and campaign. The graphics were not as good as i thought they would be. Overall its is a pretty good game 11/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy I ordered this online for my boys. They play two player . Nice to see them working together on the missions. The graphics are great on our 55 in flat. Keep Gaming!!!!! 12/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Fun!! Great Single Player Campaign, but we really play it for the multi player. The multi player is more balanced and allows for anyone to pick it up quickly and to fully customize and take ownership of their character and guns! Great game very fun! Can't stop playing it! 11/23/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Decent Game I bought this game for my 13 yr old daughter for Christmas. She loves the game, and the graphics are fantastic. Howver, she did "beat" the game rather quickly. Both she and my husband play the game on-line now. I see them having many, many entertaining hours on-line. I would like to point out that the rating of "M" Mature is definitely warranted. You can turn on the violence and language filter, which I would recommend if you will have little ones running around while the older ones play. 01/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Black OPS game for PS3 My son requested this game for christmas. His friend had the game. He plays it everyday. He loves it! 01/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Good game. Good weapons and attachments. some good killstreak rewards. not long enough kill streak. Really short campaign but good game. 11/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great game!!! My grandchildren love this game. They play it as much as they are allowed. 11/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great i really think you should buy this it is an amazing game way better then the rest of the call of duty series the currency system is great also there are way more attachments to all of the guns and decent graphics 11/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by My kids got this game, and have not stopped playing it since..It is a war game with zombie like creatures..multi players ... It does have violence ,blood and gore...So, definitely consider that when thinking about purchasing this game.. 02/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Game I bought this game for my fiance. They wanted $59 in the store but I found it on site to store for $49. Using site to store, the shipping was free and it got here in time for Christmas. The game itself is amazing. I'm not much of a gamer and I enjoy playing it. My fiance is normally a PC gamer but he's caught onto the PS3 version pretty quickly and has even stated that he thinks he likes it better on PS3 than he would've on PC. Overall great buy and great service. 01/05/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Major Disappointment.... This game is really like a $60.00 map pack for World at War. The game play is exactly like World at War......terrible graphics, irritating lag time, and unrealistic kills. They even recycled many of the sounds and effects from World at War. The campaign mode graphics are awesome, but if you enjoy the online game play like I do, I would suggest renting this game and trying it out before you buy it. If I could take this game back for a refund, I'd do it in a second! 11/10/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Bit Disappointing I am disappointed at how short the campaign is in this game. I played online MP and Zombie first and started playing it the day after I got it and played for 3 hours. Then the following day it was all over after playing it another 3 hours. I was like "That's it?" Looks like the COD franchise is slowly drifting away from the good 'ol days when they used to offer great and satisfactorily long campaigns. Also, the story is kind of out of line from the title "Call of Duty" as this one has been an almost complete transformation from last year's overt military story and the previous titles that preceded it. The plot is more like something that comes out of a Hollywood sci-fi director's mind rather than one that comes out of a war director's ideas. I thought we're gonna experience Cold War's field wars like the Vietnam (there is at least one chapter on it but that's all) and the Korean Wars. Instead, we were treated with a sci-fi inspired and historically distorted campaign. But compared to last year's MW's campaign story, Black Ops appears to be the better one (MW1's story is still the best COD story, followed by WaW imho). As for the graphics, I honestly think that Treyarch just copied and pasted character models from their previous game, COD: WaW. Infinity Ward does a better job in character designs than 3Arc. It is also worth mentioning several framerate issues in the game, both MP and SP modes. Online MP and Zombie mode? Well these is where 3Arc and their new game shines. I seriously think this is the one game that offers the best bang for the buck. Hours and hours of MP and Zombie fun will surely keep you indoors throughout the whole winter season ;-). 3Arc did a good job on the new MP modes in addition to the traditional ones. Beware though of some performance issues and these are widely known throughout the CoD community (just search online for further info). These issues, however, don't render the game unplayable. It's just kinda frustrating from time to time. Overall, this could have been a perfect game if it were not for the short, "meh" campaign, some graphics issues and a little bit of performance red flags online. 11/29/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible This for me is quite possibly the worst game ever. Graphics are the same over and over again for the CoD series. The campaign was boring and unoriginal, with horrible friendly AI, and extremely high damaging enemies. The online is absolutely TERRIBLE though. Campers hide in every possible corner, every player either quickscopes or uses the Commando, AUG, or FAMAS. There are always 2 or 3 people throwing random tomahawks in the air, hoping to get a kill. It is impossible to play. The only thing remotely good is the zombies, and they're pretty much the same thing as in WaW, and you have to buy any new maps. I hate this game, don't ever buy it. 05/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! This game rocks! Very fast shipping, I even got a a price reduction. 11/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Game of the year Black Ops has got to be the greatest game for 2010. Playing this game online is super fun, and know you can just about customize everything. You can customize your gun, make your own personal emblem, and even place it on your gun. Black Ops is a huge improvement from Modern Warfare 2, I would highly recommend this game. 11/14/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by This game's online is broken, story makes no sense As a regular player of the COD franchise I was very excited for this title. When I received it and played the singleplayer I quickly realized that this was an epic fail of a game. Yes they threw a lot of great things into the game, however, the singleplayer story is rediculous nonsense that doesn't make any sense as a story AND multiplayer is BROKEN! This isn't me and any individual connection. This is everyone across the spectrum literally having 80-90% of games being excessively laggy, disconnecting, party retention issues, and other SERIOUS bugs. I am also a trophy/achievement hunter and this game even has glitches that prevent getting the game completed on Veteran. I really thought this would be a rock solid game but it is just a dud! 11/22/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Will ruin your PS3 Loved the game for 2 months and then it killed my PS3. I noticed the game freezing very often. Then, it got to the point where I could not play ANY game on my PS3. After some investigation, I found that many others have the same issue. The game is so in depth, the PS3 can not keep up with all the data and details of the game that it kills your hard drive. Don't get this game until they come up with a fix for it. Google it and see for yourself. 01/23/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Black ops is a flops!! This game is just like World of war. The weapons are not realistic, the graphics are not as good as you would think. The online game play stinks. I'm a big COD fan, but this game is not a good installment to the franchise!! Wait for price drop!! 11/14/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst CoD game of the series I purchased this game not long after it came out because after listening to all of the statements about the game and after playing it for a few hours, I was disappointed to see that this game was very poorly designed compared to CoD: MW 1 & 2. I did not find much interest in the Zombies minigame or the online multiplayer, either. 10/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This game has very realistic graphics. My son and his friends love to play it. He loves that he can also play with other players on the internet for a new challenge. This game is on the expensive side, but it was easy for him and his friends to navigate and learn how to play. 01/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This game rocks! The split screen option is a great addition to this game which allows another player to play on the multiplayer games with you on the same system. Several new features like having to buy your upgrades and wager matches and challenges make this game a little different from the other COD games. Graphics are great but a little different from the modern warfare games. (I would rate the Modern warfare graphics just a little better, but not so drastic as to discourage purchasing this version of the call of duty games.) Buy it and you won't be dissappointed! 11/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Action! We bought this game for our son and he loves it. Great action, he can play with all his friends. 11/11/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Black Ops is a dis-appointment This game should never have been released! Very poor online, (multiplayer), performance. In time, Treyarch may fix the many issues with this game, but for now, it is a mess. As usual, buying from Walmart online was smooth and care free. It is the game that is a huge let down. 11/26/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Its a fun way to burn some time. Not as good as MW2 and too many issues with Muti-player games. 11/18/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by More of a Gray Ops Where did the Infinty Ward guys go? We came to expect ground breaking leaps from them. This one is a let down. 11/24/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit disappointed with the game playability. There's quite a bit of issues with frame rate and match making quality that has made the game incredible frustrating to play. Every multiplayer match has lag issues even when the connection is very good. The sound of the weapons are pretty bad, (they sound like those metal noise maker that has a handle and you spin- like a rattle) and the recoil on some of the guns make them pretty useless. But the concept of the game is good and having zombie mode makes the game a bit more fun (even though I never had a opinion about that mode). If you've ever played Call of Duty World at War the game play feels the same. The one thing I did enjoy was Combat training. Combat training allows a new player to fps learn how to play multiplayer by going up against the computer instead of real world players giving them a chance to learn the ropes, especially by allowing them to set the difficulty challenge and progress to be a better player. Combat training allows player to rank up and unlock weapons and do everything that you can do in online gameplay. Though you need to be connected to PSN in order to play this option. Overall I think the game can be fun, once the developers fix the frame-rate issues and the lag and match making (something they've acknowledged on their forum) and the different modes they offer will have players playing this for a while. 11/12/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by >:o the campaign mode was great but the multiplayer just didnt do it for me. the graphics and sound were terrible and unlike many others i rely heavily on sound when playing a game like call of duty. the servers are terrible as well. game freezes and takes a long time to join lobbies (and yes my wireless network is good and secure, i'm running linksys E2000) so now im back to mw2 until mw3 comes out. 01/16/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the money!-_- I think this game has ruined call of duty and infinty ward is 1 million times beter. This game to me is worth about $30 not even. I would just wait for the next call of duty. If you to ask me a couple questions or if you want the game from me add me as a freind on the psn network then we will talk. 12/20/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by my son loves the game. he spent his time at home playing the games with his friends. that what thing i like about that he stay home. 02/15/2011
1-30 of 158 total reviews
2 3 4 5 6 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew396
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp