See All Reviews
Aroma 20-Cup Fuzzy Logic Programmable Rice Cooker and Steamer, Stainless Steel
Aroma 20-Cup Fuzzy Logic Programmable Rice Cooker and Steamer, Stainless Steel
List Price: $49.99
You Save: $13.07 (26%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 209 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gets the job done & more I bought this rice cooker for the price and the few features that I thought that I needed. After using it I discovered that it was capable of much more than steaming and cooking rice. It could be used for preparing oatmeal and other grains, making soups, and as a slow cooker when using the keep warm function. Gets hot enough to sear meat before steaming. Hot enough to bake cakes and breads (turn over once). Just monitor cooking times and adjust as needed. As a basic fuzzy logic cooker I think Walmart sells this unit at one of the lowest prices available. Cheaply priced -- without being cheap in quality. The pros: Great rice cooker for the budget minded. Cooks white and brown rice to near perfection without burning thanks to the fuzzy logic micom. Steams like a champ with adjustable timer. Timer begins count-down only after water has reached proper steaming temp. Brown rice starts cooking after a temporary pre-soak. White rice function is good for reheating also and for making breads and cakes. White rice function is good for making steel cut oats to chewy and creamy perfection. Brown rice function will cook steel cut oats to soft and creamy perfection. I've not tried to cook Barley or other grains. Outside surface remains fairly cool to the touch. Long-ish cord. Easy to clean non-stick pot. Light weight and easy to store. Not overly large. Makes enough rice for an army... Cons: Some scorching (not burning) has happened to my sushi rice but unrinsed long grain rice has only slight discoloring of the bottom layer of rice. The keep warm function might be a little too hot since it tends to dry out rice too quickly after only 30 minutes. Lid cannot be removed for easy cleaning. Steam tray (white) stains easily from carrots and dark greens. Non-retractable cord. Could use a simmer function. All in all this is a relatively multi-purpose cooker that I recommend to anyone -- even those on a tight budget. 12/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A fun and very useful appliance! I received this as an early Christmas present and I have had so much fun with it! It makes excellent rice, much better than my stove-top efforts. I do believe that rinsing the rice is one key to great rice. I've had less browning on the bottom when the rice was well rinsed. Other than plan rice (I mainly use Jasmine) I have used it to cook Jambalaya and to steam chicken and sausage. I have also baked a cake in it, and have included a photo of the finished product. (recipe came from the Aroma website) I just followed the directions on the box for a vanilla cake mix, poured it directly into the rice bowl and used the "white rice" setting. I checked the cake and it wasn't done so I pressed "white rice" once more. After that it was finished and came out light and spongy. I later tried a chocolate cake mix in which I added a box of chocolate pudding mix and an extra egg, as I do when I bake a cake in the oven. That was a mistake as it took *way* too long to cook - over 2 hours. But still, it turned out fine and everyone loved it. There were some odors in the rubbery seal that lingered after cooking the jambalaya, but they did not seem to permeate anything else I've done it it. I just read a tip to put a box of baking soda in the cooker when it's not in use to absorb odors and I plan to try that. All in all I'm very happy with this product. I think for a "fuzzy logic" rice cooker the price is excellent. It seems very well made and sturdy and I love the black and stainless steel design. 12/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I have owned many rice cookers. Aroma seems to make the best ones at reasonable price. This one is much better than the Oster rice cooker (I paid $32 at Macy's) which does not cook rice properly (compared to this one) and died after 2 years. Overall I am happy with all the features it has and simple operation. I will try the brown rice next time. 08/23/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Aroma Rice cooker query The cooker cooks rice very nicely but i dont know if my piece is defective but all the starch water comes out through the steam hole up on the lid and collects there. when you open the lids the starch water spills and makes a mess. Did any one else experience this problem? 03/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Cooker! Best I've Ever Owned! I like the fact I can choose what kind of rice I want it to cook. I mainly use the brown rice button. Sure it scorches a little but I don't mind that at all. To me it makes the rice better. It does not burn the rice. I use Jasmine Brown Rice. I normally fill it to capacity. It comes out about 1.5" from the top. No steam over spill on the top either. I love the side draining cup for condensation. I agree it is a challenge to clean the lid as it's not removable and it has the permanent silicone seal. With a little scratcher & dish soap it comes clean. P.S. Thanks Dad for ruining my old Ge cooker by pouring the rice in it without the black liner LOL! I love this logic cooker. If you want great brown rice! Get this Cooker already. 04/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Lose Weight Cooker! I absolutely love this product! Since my son has a Bachelor's Degree in Kinesiology and is a certified personal trainer, he recommended I get a rice cooker. All the research and affordability that I wanted I found in this cooker. My son only allows me to eat brown rice and all I do is cut up all different veggies and put it in the top steamer tray. I than wash the brown rice so it doesn't get burned and than add the water and rice to the bottom pot. Push the on button and than the brown rice button and it cooks itself perfectly! As soon as I smell the veggies cooking, I prepare a few skinless chicken breast in a frying pan with water and seasoning. Already started loosing weight and just love my little, "Cooker." 07/24/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does What It's Meant to Do Read all the reviews here on and other websites and found this particular cooker had about 97% positive reviews. That was good enough for me to buy this for my wife. She has been wanting a Rice Cooker for awhile now, but she was going to get the cheaper one that didn't have the steam try or was as big. This cooks perfectly each and every time and while haven't made a stew or soup, very pleased with it at this time. Have been using it at least 3-4 times a week with no problems. Definately recommend to family & friends. 12/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This appliance is great I got a very similar model "Aroma" rice cooker for my son and daughter-in-law for Christmas that they absolutely love and use at least every few days. They have made rice, soup, stew, beans, and about every other one-dish meal you can imagine in this rice cooker. After listening to them sing the praises of the "Aroma" rice cooker I decided I wanted one and have not been disappointed in the least. It makes two to twenty cups of white or brown rice to perfection and this particular model even has a "slow cook" feature on it. Now I can get rid of that other brand of slow cooker that I wasted my money on because it cooks too fast even on low. Don't walk, run to get this rice cooker because you won't be disappointed in the least. The only reason I gave it 3 stars instead of five on durability is that I haven't had my rice cooker a year yet so I can't personally speak to its durability. However, if the model my son and daughter-in-law has is any indication of its performance then I'm in for many years of use. 06/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Rice Cooker I bought this rice cooker because I am now feeding my dogs rice instead of dog food. I use this every other day. I cook brown rice. First, it is a good idea to rinse the rice. Put the rice in the pot, pour water on it to cover, swish it around with your hands for a minute, then pour the water out. Then put in fresh water. Two (2) pounds of brown rice, fill the water to the 8 cup water mark, turn it on, select brown rice and it's perfect in 1 hour and 15 minutes. Second, make sure the black steam reducer on the INSIDE connected to the lid is in place and on tight. This prevents the too much steam from coming out and collecting on the top of the lid on the outside. After I cleaned the cooker once, I forgot to put this steam reducer back in, and this problem occurred. The lid CAN BE REMOVED -- with a screw driver. There is a screw under the lids hinge on the outside above the clear water condensation trap. Remove the screw. GENTLY pull off the black part of the water condensation trap. You'll see two L shaped pins that hold the lid on. Pull them off and the lid comes right off. I put the L shaped pins back on and replace the water condensation trap and the screw while the lid is being cleaned so I won't lose them. Hope this helps. P.S. It costs a little less to feed my dogs brown rice and boiled chicken than expensive store bought bags of dog food, and it is much healthier. I know exactly what my dogs eat. 04/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding product Seldom have I found a product that works as well as this one: large capacity, easy to use (even for me and I am not tech savvy), easy to clean, and excellent results both steaming veggies and cooking rice. The only slight drawback would be if you have a tiny kitchen; you can't get large capacity and compactness in the same product. 10/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect rice; easy to use; great purchase! I had a more basic rice cooker before, which I wore out. This one doubles as a slow cooker. It is extremely easy to use. The rice turns out perfectly every time. I like that the lid snaps down and it can be carried by the handle on top for easy travel. The large capacity makes it a good choice for pot luck parties. There are two small pieces that come off to be washed: a vent piece and a condensation catcher. They keep the cooker from making a starchy mess when cooking. They are easy to clean and taking them off makes the main unit easier to clean. This rice cooker also looks great and is cool to the touch when it is cooking. 02/26/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Reasonable Price, Poor Performance We bought this primarily to cook rice although the other features are nice I've only used this to cook rice and steam veggies. No matter what I do the rice ALWAYS browns on the bottom. It's not inedible but it is a little crunchy even if we serve it immediately after it's finished cooking. I always rinse thoroughly, I tried soaking for 20 - 30 minutes, using extra liquid and I've tried spraying the bottom with Pam, everything the instructions say to do to prevent the browning and nothing works. I would not recommend this to anyone for cooking rice which is what it's supposed to mainly be for. As far as steaming veggies I find it to be a lot less cleanup to just use a stove top steamer. I'm really disappointed with this product. 03/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rice cooker for Rice Lovers This Item is perfect for making rice, I tried to make perfect rice for years, but when I purchased the Aroma rice cooker the rice comes out perfectly just like a Restaraunt would make it, if you want perfect rice everytime you cook rice I recommend this Product you can't go wrong. 01/25/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely love, love, love this rice cooker! So much so, that I had to buy one for my daughter. Bought the "Ultimate Rice Cooker Cookbook" also from Walmart and found out you can use this rice cooker for so much more than just rice. Would recommend it to anyone! 01/03/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a mess The cooker cooks rice fine, but with a big problem - All the starch water comes out through the steam vent on the lid and collects there. When you open the lid this starch water spills allover the place and makes a big mess.Also its very difficult to clean this one. 04/17/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Entry Level Rice Cooker With a Design Flaw The ARC-150SB Has a few nice features: 1.) Versatility- Can be used to cook rice, porridges, even as a substitute slow cooker. It can also be used to steam fish, dumplings, and vegetables. 2.) Attractive metal exterior 3.) Affordable 4) Easy to clean This rice cooker is functional and stylish, but it has it's problems. 1.) Impracticality- The appliance has a large capacity, much larger than what your average American family will consume in cooked rice in one meal. 2.) The pan is too thin 3.) The cord is not detachable or retractable The pan has caused me to not like this product much. While it functions, it functions poorly. Using a thin pan surely reduces the cost of the appliance, but it also shows in rice prepared in this appliance. Rice on the bottom of the pan will burn or scorch, becoming crunchy. While some cultures like this, the presence of burnt rice means product is wasted if making things like onigiri. Brown rice is especially susceptible to scorching, and no one I know enjoys burnt brown rice. Tips: 1.) If you ever lose the rice paddle, the best substitute is a bamboo wok spatula. Wood will not marr the non-stick coating and you can easily reach in to get rice. If that's not around, any wooden utensil will do in a pinch. 2.) Read the directions, especially on simultaneous steaming of food and rice cooking. You need to time things tight or else you will have steamed food. And over-steaming anything is not at all tasty. 3.) To reduce the aforementioned burnt rice from happening, some people online have suggested a light coating of spray-on cooking oil. 4.) Wash your rice. While you might want to skip washing brown rice or pre-washed rice, any other rice should be washed to help reduce starch. To wash the rice, remove the pan, put in uncooked rice, and add some water. Swirl the water in the pan with your hand and when the water looks white, dump it out. Repeat this process until the water becomes clear. Dump out the remaining water and fill the pan to the proper cooking level and return to the appliance to start the cooking process While I would not suggest this particular rice cooker to anyone I know, it is a functioning rice cooker and will do the job (just somewhat poorly). It's okay, but definitely not the best. 05/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rice came out perfect! I'm Thai but ironically I'm horrible at making rice, both in a rice cooker and especially on the stove. The 2 times that I have cooked rice in the aroma 20 cup fuzzy have been great! Rice came out perfect so I'm very happy with it so far. I also made japanese curry and sukiyaki with it, didn't get as hot as I would like but then the primary function is a rice cooker. Recommended! 10/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great! I got this rice cooker and was a little apprehensive because I wasn't familiar with the brand. I shouldn't have worried. It has been great. The rice is perfect and fluffy every time and it is extremely durable. We have been very happy with this purchase. 10/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two Thumbs up! Really is a good value product, advanced features for little investment. Feeds a family of 10! 09/11/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by not what described on website bought at store and brought it home and started making rice then read directions, this is not dishwaher safe and it does not have the sensor logic that walmarts website description says. will be returning it tomorrow. if you don't care about the dishwasher part I will say it does make very good rice, i will buy the next step up in aromas line ARC-2000ASB that is for sure dishwasher safe. 01/20/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product. Great Value! Works Great! 11/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice rice cooker/ steam pot you dont want to miss I recently ran across this rice cooker when I was looking for one to purchase,i can tell you ,this is as good as gold,steam rice perfectly, it even cook stew perfectly.i will buy one moore 11/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic rice cooker & steamer for great price Out old rice cooker burns the rice and is getting very old. So when i started looking at fuzzy logic rice cookers, the price was usually around a $100 on up - not now, no way until I checked Walmart and found this Aroma 20 cup fuzzy logic programmable Rick Cooker & Steamer. Used it three times and love it. Great value for the money and a great machine. Directions simple, the Aroma cook book you can order could be clearer on directions for complex meals. 07/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rice cooker I love how it looks and I love all the features of my new rice cooker/steamer. Very easy to use and I love the fact that it beeps when its finished so you dont have to keep checking on it. I would have liked for the lid to be removable for cleaning but its not a too big of a problem to clean,just would have been better. 10/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE LOVE LOVE I used my rice cooker for the first time today and it came out simply perfect! 10/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST APPLIANCE EVERRRRRRRR! My only complaint is that it does not have a removable lid to put left overs in the fridge like my other smaller version, so I've been using the pyrex containers, If I am being lazy I just put a plate or aluminum foil over the pot. Other than that the rice comes out perfect! I don't even use the measuring cup, I put 2 cups of rice and fill to line #2, press white rice, done in about 40 mins or so. Most of the time I will put 2 cups of white rice(rinse till water runs clear), fill the water to line #2, add 2 cans of red beans(rinsed w/ no water), 2 packs of adobo seasoning(makes rice yellow/orange and taste), sometimes I put a table spoon of tomato paste, some salt maybe a teaspoon? I just add a little salt and taste the water make sure its not too salty, about 2 tablespoons of olive oil, with no extra water added, press white rice, done, Rice and Beans son! I've even done rice, beans, and raw chicken cutlets cut into litttle pieces, comes out perfect. Arroz con pollo!!!! I've used it to cook pasta and beef but make sure you brown the beef first! I've cooked Goya Lentil soup(just follow directions in the back of the Goya bag) with chopped potatoes and copped hardwood smoked sausage, I just slow cook it for like an hour or two till everything is cooked, if it gets too thick you can just add more water just like the directions on the bag say do to... I'm getting hungry! I LOVE THIS THING!!!!!!!!!! lol 07/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Value for Money Its a basic rice cooker, which does what is expected. But the problem I faced on most of the days is, that the rice gets stuck to the bottom and starts getting brown because of the heat. I did not face this problem in the previously owned Panasonic Rice Cooker. Other than this problem, this one is a fine rice cooker. 04/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by have two now I purchased the smaller unit 1 year ago was so satisfied purchased larger one. It is easy to clean and works & cooks super. I use both units more or less daily. I make everything veggies, meat and rice. You wanna know easy....this is easy, removes error especially with rice cooking but makes potatoes off the charts. Investment is small returns are large. A working woman's best friend, user friendly, diet friendly and allows you to do other things without preoccupation with whatever you are cooking in the Aroma. Did I mention easy to clean? Get it you will not be sorry one bit. 02/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great so far.... I will say as of right now I have only used this to cook white rice. It cooks well and easy to it you will not regret it. Couple of things though to keep in mind: 1. Top is not clear so in order to see inside you will have to open it. 2. It is a pretty big size cooker, so make space somewhere for it. I say this because I had an old black and decker and this takes up more space. 12/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this rice cooker rocks! This rice cooker rocks the Casbah! I've never been able to cook real rice properly before, either it was undercooked or turned into MUSH! with this rice cooker your just pour in the rice, then pour in the water right behind it, close the lid and hit the button! it beeps at you when it's done, and when this cooker tells you it's done the rice is PERFECT!!! Only thing is I've only had it a few days and have only used jasmine rice imported from Thailand, no experience with other rices. I started to get this smaller rice cooker but for just a little more money you get this awesome cooker! I highly recommend it! 03/05/2011
  • 2015-11-25 T05:21:01.382-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_209, tr_209
  • loc_en_US, sid_14321181, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 183 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.