See All Reviews
Hamilton Beach Walk 'n Cut Can Opener
Hamilton Beach Walk 'n Cut Can Opener
$19.94
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $5.05 (20%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 305 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wise choice I've had my can opener for about a month now and still haven't had to recharge the battery. I am in love. It replaced an under the counter space saver opener. I didn't expect the power this little opener has. Always trusted the brand name. Unlike other big names, Hamilton Beach has not yet scrimped on quality parts. Don't feel like I went wrong buying a more expensive brand. Only gave 3 stars on features as it is just a basic opener with no additional features. 10/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I purchased this can opener to have another cordless. I had a slightly difficult time positioning it on the can at first becuse I am used to the Gizmo. But after 2 or 3 times, it is very easy to use and opens cans faster than the Gizmo. Only complaint is it is very loud, but agian, it just takes getting used to. If you are looking for a cordless can opener, this is a good choice. It takes up very little space and I like how the cord attaches to the back intead of having a base unit. 10/03/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great can opener This can opener is easy to use, recharges itself, and is portable. It opens small and medium cans easily but has to work at opening gallon cans. Great value and very easy to use. 11/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better option for an electric can opener After my under-the cupboard electric can opener of many years finally died, I had a really hard time finding another one. I ended up opting for a basic electric can opener that sat on the counter top, but I really kind of hated it. I didn't like that it used up space on the counter, and it wasn't strong enough to open larger size cans (like spaghetti sauce) unless I held it down. A big hassle. This Walk 'n Cut can opener really solved all my problems. I love that it's cordless! I charged it up the first night we got it, and after a few weeks of use, it's still running on that first charge. I love that it easily fits in a drawer, and I like that I can use it anywhere, especially near the sink to drain cans or over by the stove when I'm cooking. Even though I loved my under-the-cupboard can opener, that really wasn't an option to move it to different locations. I know some reviewers mentioned they found it hard to use, but I haven't had that problem at all. It took a few tries to get it on right the first time, but then it was pretty simple to see how fit on the can. It works great, and I've loved it. I'm hoping it will last a long time! 10/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product. works well and creates no sharp edges. 12/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only opener for those with arthritis When I tool it out of the box and was able to use it immediately without charging it first. With my arthritis crumbled hand it was a wiz to use. It fit into the palm of my hand, click on the lip of the can and push gentlely down, let it run by itself then off came the top. Easy as can be. I love it. 11/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Woreked for 2 weeks! I bought this can opener for my wife and it worked for 2 weeks before stopping in the middle of opening a can, and that was it. Won't work, won't charge, won't do anything!!! 11/29/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for physically impaired I bought this can opener thinking it would make opening a can easy. I couldn't be more wrong. The thing is impossible for me to use. I cannot push the activating arm down to penetrate the lid. Definitely not for the physically impaired. 02/03/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST HANDS FREE CAN OPENER THIS IS MY SECOND ONE, BROKE THE FIRST AND HAD TO GO IMMEDIATELY TO REPLACE IT. WORKS GREAT WOULD RECOMMEND ANYONE THAT NEEDS A NEW CAN OPENER TO CHOOSE THIS ONE. 11/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This opener does the job and looks good too. Went to open a can with my old hand crank can opener and it wouldn't turn. Somehow the gears were stuck. What sold me on this model is the reviews and the sleek look. It is a tool that I think looks great next to my Keurig and my knife block on the counter. I've used to open several cans and it does a fantastic job. It takes a couple of cans to get used to getting it hooked on but once you have the hang of it the thing is a workhorse. I am so glad I picked this up. I think I may give them out as Christmas presents. My parent's have been fighting with a manual piece of junk for years and I think that they will love this as arthritis relief. 04/23/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Complicated This can opener is cool but hard to figure out how to use. We got it for our 93 year old aunt because she doesn't have any strength in her hand. We showed her how to work it, but she can't figure it out. 11/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good I bought this can opener 2 weeks ago, when I was looking for the "as seen on TV" one, that I am glad I didn't get because is getting the worse reviews. I liked the possibility to recharge it, not just having to keep using new batteries all the time, but above all now that I have used it several times, I like how easy is to operate, I read how difficult is for some people, that there is a trick... perhaps there is, I do not know, what I know is that since the first try, it worked great and I am very satisfied. 02/27/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Happy! I have arthritis in both my thumbs very badly so having a can opener that is easy to use is a good thing. This one is not easy to use at all. It will not pierce the can easily and pushing the handle into position is almost impossible. It actually takes 20 minutes or more to get it to start and by that time my hands are in pain. I do not recommend this to anyone! 08/31/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doesn't help my situation Got this on a friend's recommendation due to increasing weakness in my hands from arthritis; thought it would cause less hand stress than my current traditional can opener. I also liked the small size compared to electric openers I've had in the past. The concept looks great, but apparently is better in theory than in practice. I've used it three times since I purchased it a couple weeks ago. Every time it was a trick to get it started, and doesn't seem to be getting easier with practice. One time it stopped several times going around a 29 oz. can, though used it right off the charger. Another time, I had a great deal of difficulty lifting the silver part to get it to release the top of the opened can. It's hard to say whether the product is flawed or simply that the ergonomics of the design are difficult for my particular weakness. But there's no point in switching to an electric opener that's just as- or more- difficult for me to use than what I have. I emphatically don't recommend this for anyone with hand pain or weakness. I really didn't want to go to a larger electric opener that will take a lot of counter space, but altogether this opener caused more hand stress and discomfort than using my manual opener. It's going back. 04/15/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by no problem My wife wanted a small opener that didn't have to be on the counter all the time. It takes a few tries to get used to it, but it works good. It's nice and small that it fits in a drawer and out of the way. I have only had it for a few weeks but it got a good work out over the holidays. I shopped around and found out it was on average $12.00 cheaper then othere stores . 12/27/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly designed can opener My Black & Decker Gizmo failed after about 10 years. I loved it and had no complaints with it. Because I could not find another one I purchased this Walk ‘n Cut can opener thinking it would be just as good as the Gizmo. I find the Walk ’n Cut can opener an awkward shape to hold. It has no mount to use as a regular can opener. It is extremely noisy. It does not puncture the can very easily. The cutting lever is difficult to remove to clean. The cutting lever is too short making it difficult to push down while holding the can opener. I do not recommend this can opener. Although this is a very poorly designed can opener, it does open cans. 02/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Handy Gadget We purchased this can opener to replace our old Black & Decker cordless that had given us years of excellent service. So far we're quite please. It does exactly what it's name implies - walks and cuts like a champ. The walmart.com shopping website couldn't have been any easier. The price was great and the delivery was SUPER quick (within a day or two of placing my order). Overall - very happy with this item and the whole shopping experience! 02/03/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not happy! No problem with the ordering or shipping. Quick and easy shopping at this site. The product itself is a piece of plastic junk! The top lever is plastic, feels like it will break at any time, and it is so slick that my thumb just slides off. I have beginning arthritis and that was the whole reason for ordering this; I have trouble turning the manual openers. Even if my thumb did grip better the cutting blade cannot make the entry puncture to even get started. I had to pull out my manual opener to pierce the can and then attach this one, with great difficulty and juice spilling all over, to get can opened. Once this opener attaches to the can and starts working it is great, but getting to that point is more trouble than it is worth. Planning to return it and keep shopping for one that is better designed for arthritis sufferers. 12/08/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Useless This thing is about as useless as milk producing organs on a boar hog. I got it mid week and plugged it in for 24 hours as it said ti do. Last night, I tried to use it the first time. Twenty minutes into it, I finally got it to start opening the can. Half way around it died. There was a tiny dent in the rim of the can that stopped it. Finally got it locked back on and started to get it to open the can. Tonight, I spent 15 minutes trying to open a can of peaches. It never would lock on and start. The main problem with this thing is that the cutting blade is too close to the body of the can opener. There is not enough room for the blade to connect with the can. When you close the handle, the blade is on the outside of the can. This can opener has a new home - my trash can. I would not recommend this to my worst enemy. Don't waste your money on it. 12/12/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Little Opener Once you get it on the can and started (which can be tricky*) it just buzzes around the can and does a perfect job. It is really perfect for large and tall cans. *The technique we have learned is to use two hands initially to place the opener on the can and then with both thumbs push down on the blade until the motor starts and thats it!! 12/28/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally a Replacement for my Gizmo I used my Gizmo for years and loved it. At first it was just for cuteness, then for the ease with big cans, then for convience on the road with limited space for such a thing as an electric can opener. Finally for the pop top cans, which I don't like because it's always cumbersome digging the contents out with the left over lip. It did a great job of opening the can as a normal can opener function. When my Gizmo bit the dust, I was dissapointed I couldn't find another. I used the new style that cuts around the top of the can, but I didn't like the sharp edge left on the can and it didn't work that great on the pop top cans. It would catch on the pop top and get hung up. So I went back to just a plain can opener. I happened across this can opener and tried it on my dogs pop top can food for the first time this morning. As far as I'm concerned it worked better than the Gizmo. Even the Gizmo would catch a little at times, but it always got the job done. There was no catching on this opener. It's like it was designed with pop tops in mind. Does it deserve all the high marks with just one use. Don't know yet, but right now I'm thrilled I've got something that works on the pop top cans. 06/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing This little gadget is so great and it does run around the can just as advertised. Even my husband thinks this is super and it allows me to open cans without having to holler for his help. 07/28/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by ny elderly Mother had difficulty gettig it to work This seemed like a neat little product, but it was heavy (tipped over the cans) and tricky to manipulate. There seemed to be some sort of "trick" to getting it to start properly but neither myself nor my 84-year old Mother (for whom it was purchased) could consistency make it work. Unfortunately it needs to go back for a more conventional and straight-forward style. On the plus side, once it finally started to take off around the can, it was quite fun to watch! 01/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works well, especially for #10 cans. A little hard to get started cutting but works really well once it is started. 11/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by so far so good I have only used it once so far, but it seems like its going to work out. My other half makes a huge batch of spaghetti sauce a couple times a year, and opening those large cans doesnt work so well with the traditional electric can openers, so i thought this would be t he easy fix. I have only used it on tuna cans so far, and it works well on short cans too! 12/13/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointing I will never ever fall for the cute little can opener again. Performance at best is iffy. I ended up having to use a knife and elbow grease to open my cans because it would jam up (?) and just stop working after only putting a slight hole in the can. The metal part would fall off most of the time, too so that didn't seem really safe. Please save yourself the trouble and get a regular can opener - never had these problems with a good old fashioned can opener. On a positive note, I was able to get out my frustration by chucking it out my kitchen door into the woods! 11/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not good Very difficult to put on ridge of can and almost impossible to push down the lever once you have it positioned. 04/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use A great little can opener. Light weight and easy to use. Works well on short cans or tall. 07/28/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love it works great ! I saw some reviews that people were not so happy with it I had not one problem at all just lift handle up pay attention on how you sit it on the edge of can and squeeze handle down and walk away when done lift handle and throw led away :) 11/27/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hamilton Beach Walk n Cut Can Opener Bought it, charged it, kept thinking it was not charged as it would not work on any can. Well, no power when you hook it on the can, take it off and it is fully charged. Emailed HB and they would not stand behind it. Trying to find the rect to return it back to Walmart. Of course, you expect a can opener to work. Right? Durability? Can't tell, have yet to open a can. Had to buy the OLD FASHIONED CAMPING OPENER. After 40 years or more of an electric or rechargable one. The PITS! 11/24/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T08:28:57.351-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_305, tr_305
  • loc_en_US, sid_14320938, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 285 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew284
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp