Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 31 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice size, love the split I wasn't sure how we would like having the split cage for our guinea pig, but it has worked well. He does his "business" on the one side with the bedding, and it is an easier cleanup. One downside to the material of the flooring is that it seems to have been stained by my cleaning up a urine spot with a vinegar/water mixture, but just where the spot was. Love the high sides on the bottom, it keeps stuff from spilling out. It's a great size and the guinea pig is happier! As far as the price, I feel that all of the small animal cages are overpriced, but this one seemed like a little better deal. Plus, I had a gift card for Walmart, so that kind of sealed the deal for me. 08/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Happy The Midwest Guinea Pig Habitat is absolutely wonderful. I divided the habitat into a Kitchen/Bath and a big "living room" so to speak. The kitchen/bath is about 2 square feet and the living room is 6 square feet. Both rooms are the perfect size for my guinea pig. At first I put bedding in the 2 square foot area and left the 6 square foot area without anything, but it began to stain badly and I had to clean it twice a day. Now I still have bedding in the small area but now have a flat peice of fleece, so now its perfect. This cage is a wonderful size for one guinea pig. I would recommend something bigger for multiple pigs. Also I recommend to not leave any of the cage bottom bare because it stains easily. 12/18/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for 2 pigs Easy to assemble, good size for 2 pigs, has multiple openings making it easy to clean and feed. Only drawback to this habitat is that the bottom material is very hard to clean. I use the Care Fresh paper bedding so it keeps the bottom fairly clean, but, it does stain. Also, the divider does not make a difference in where they go potty so don't let that be a selling point ! Overall I am very happy with my purchase and my pigs love all the extra space ! So much nicer than the overpriced, plastic, too small cages at the big pet stores. I would definitely buy another when needed. 05/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best ever!!! A++++ this is the best cage of the world!!!!, easy to clean, open and spaciousy, perfect to put outside on your patio and stay protect from cats!!! WE LOVE IT!!!! 02/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Livin' Large and Lovin' It! I searched a long time for a larger guinea pig cage that wouldn't break the bank and this cage is perfect! Large, pretty easy to clean, and the price was great. The only draw backs are the little latches on the top of the cage don't seem as strong as I would like them to be. The guinea pigs love it, and the little ramp between the sides is a favorite when they play. 02/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great buy! My son and I had read dozens of reviews on various guinea pig cages. For what you get, this is a great value! Our baby guinea pig had been given to us in a 10-gallon fish tank, so 8 square feet of space was quite an upgrade! She loves running around, and once she figured out the ramp, is running over that, too! The cage was very easy to assemble (my son put it together) and I haven't had any problems with cleaning it - I highly recommend it!! 01/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it:D i was hesitant at first to purchuse this, due to the fact that i didnt want the flooring to get stained, but after i got it, i loved it. it has lots of space for my hedgheog to run around in. She loves it and so do i! i would defintely reccomend this for anybody. even though i do not use the separater in the cage, it is still lovely and the size is perfect! My hedgehog loves it and i enjoy seeing her just have fun and simply run around in this large play area! 01/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by plenty of room for 2 or 3 guineas When I received the box, it looked smaller than I had expected but when I opened it, the cage turned out to be huge. This was great since I wanted plenty of room for my two guineas. I ordered 2 because I had both male and female guineas. It also can be used as a "L" shaped cage to give extra room. Another plus is that you can close off a portion for cleaning or separating the pets. I really don't like the idea of a canvas bottom because it makes it hard to move if necessary. But in my opinion, that is the only drawback. It is worth the money. 02/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My cavies love it! It came in just yesterday. Barely took any time to put together. My guineas starting popcorning when I put them in it. Plenty of room for them to play in. They still have to figure out the bridge between the big open space and the eating and bathroom. 07/24/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does it's job When coming to move it; it's very flimsey. I put a 3' x 5' piece of plywood under it. I then put it on top of an old desk. You don't want this on the floor especially on the rug. I never knew how messy 2 G.P.'s are and how expensive they are for upkeep. This pen is the best out there. I looked everywhere. It took us 15 minutes to put it together. Cleaning every other day is a must. The Pig's are fun and talkative. Buy the pen. 08/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome home for your piggies I love this habitat! And so do my guinea pigs! I've had it for over 2 years now, and there is more than enough room for my two boys, even after putting in beds and hideaways for them. I keep the lid halfway on so they can have their privacy, but also so I can have easy access to feed them. I like that you can open the doors for them too, so they can come and go as they please. It's easy to assemble and disassemble if need be. Also easy to clean. My favorite part is that my guinea pigs feel safe there. They love their home and seem happy there all the time! (it's also harder for dogs to get into vs other cages, if you have the lid on and all the doors closed, just fyi). I highly recommend this cage for your cavies :) 11/14/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good as it looks The Habitat is a good size and looks good. Unfortunately, it has no bottom. The cloth liner covers the bottom but you need something hard to lay it on. I used a 2' x 4' piece of plywood. It is hard to clean out. First you have to unsnap, take it out, then wash it outside if you want it really clean. The instructions are to remove just the dirty section each day then clean the entire habitat once a week. I have two guinea pigs and they wet everywhere each day so the once a day is a total clean up. It would be easier if the bottom were hard plastic. 06/17/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just right for Pair Large easy to maintain enclosure at good price, modular expandabilityexpandability a plus! 01/12/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spacious Very easy to put together! My hedgehog loves all the extra room it gives her to run around and explore! My only complaint is the top grate is a little wonky, and it is a flimsy cage, but it's good size and great for my little Hedgie and all of her toys. 11/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Cage! I still can't believe what a great buy this is. I'm a first time cavy/guinea pig owner and after researching how much space a cavy needs, I decided to give this a try for our little rescue girl, and I'm more than glad I did! Every other cage out there is too small and pricey but this is perfect for the price. I love how you can purchase another cage to add on for more space or if you have more than one cavy. Definitely a must-have for any guinea pig owner! Also, three-day shipping rocks! 11/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The product arrived just two days after placing the order. The cage was simple to assemble. The little piggies scamper back and forth over the ramp as well as using the underside of the ramp as a hiding place. 02/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Guinea Pig Retreat This is great space for my sons' guinea pig. My 8 year-old put it together in a few minutes with ease. I dropped one star because it is a little flimsy. If you want to move it, it may fall apart. It is sturdy in place with the guinea pig in it. 12/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pet Cage Great Guinea Pigs Habitat. They love it. 11/03/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works well for 2 Guinea pigs So far this is working out well for my son's 2 new Guinea Pigs. We line the bottom with a puppy piddle pad and newspaper then the appropriate cage fill so that we do not have to wash the liner as often. Water bottles we purchased hang with no problem. The GP's got the hang of the little bridge quickly and sometimes enjoy hiding under it. The top works good for keeping our dogs away from them but is sometimes a little frustrating when the securing clips catch when you don't want them too - but better to have them than not. 08/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent guinea pig habitat. 02/19/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Flimsy Cheap and flimsy. The metal frame was bent. Not very sturdy, once you have it together, it's a pain to move since the bottom is the canvas. 12/02/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Why you should not buy this Product!!!! You should not buy this product because my little piggies chewed a big ole hole in the canvas that is not even water proof. So to fix it me and my dad had to build a wooden bottom and spray with non toxic liquid resistant spray so now it is worth the $52. That is just my opinion so if you want to buy it that is fine with me I'm not stopping you. 11/26/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not so great. The cage is much larger than the ones we've had in the past but the canvas is a disaster to clean. The information explains that it will be easy to clean because the bedding is on one side an the guinea pigs will also go to the bathroom there. NOT TRUE, there are droppings all over the canvas. I don't even know where to begin cleaning. I'm thinking about throwing it out and using my old cage. Not worth the money! The hard bottom cages are much easier to maintain. 01/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cage! This cage is absolutely great. It was very easy to put together and my guinea pig loves all the extra space. She started popcorning once I placed her in there. Its also very easy to clean. Instead of bedding, I use newspaper to line the bottom and throw the paper away daily. I use a pet safe cleaner to wipe up any mess that has gotten on the liner. 03/01/2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Millie loves it the cage works great , miMillie loves the space it gives her and she is learning to use one side as potty area. She not has the ability to run and jump. The only problem I have with it, the cage is not really sturdy so I had to zip-tie it for I would feel more comfortable. But over all great cage and easier to clean them my old one. 12/23/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Guinea pig habitat Working great. The right size for one so far easy to keep clean. Mr Nibbles loves it. 07/09/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Product makes it easy for my 7 year old daughter to interact with her Guinea Pig. Only drawback to this product is you cannot make a second level which would not only create more space for her Guinea but save floor space as well. 08/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love, Love, Love It and so do our Guineas! Just received it today put it together in a flash. I moved our two Guineas to their new home and they were instantly happier! They are now more active and have plenty of room to roam. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a large cage for their Guinea. 09/07/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T07:22:09.067-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_14317992, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-29 of 29 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw306
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp