See All Reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 47 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My game arrived on time (tuesday July 27). If you don't need all the extras that the special edition has (for $100), this is perfect. You even get two trials for sc2 and wow. Runs smoothly on my computer. And yeah, recommend it to anyone looking for a new game ^.^. Working on the campaign/playing multiplayer. 07/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! Was worried that it wouldn't be worth the wait since the first one was so long ago, but I'm having a blast. A lot of people have complained that they're having issues with it crashing, but I have had no issues at all on a 4 year old computer. I also have to laugh at the guy who was complaining that there's not LAN. Ridiculous. With the online option you can completely bypass the need for the LAN and play with your friends anyway. I recommend this product to anyone who enjoys strategy. I even like the fact that it links through battle.net so I can talk to people in WoW while I play. Thanks Blizzard! You rarely disappoint. 08/02/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worked on my computer. I purchased this product 2 weeks ago and I was amazed with how beautiful the game looks on my computer. It runs with no issues. The person above that spent 1500 dollars on a pc should spend about 150 more for a new OS. Nothing works right on vista! I've had issues with all of my games on vista pcs. I didn't give the game a 5 because of LAN. I think they've done this so in the future if the game is popular they can charge for online play. Aside from that the game is beautiful and I don't even have the min req for a game card. Laptop the game is installed on... Windows 7 4 Gb Ram 2. ghz dual core amd athalon processor Radeon 4600 video card. Horrible video card and it runs great on low settings. I haven't tried it on medium or high settings. I always run games on lowest settings. I have a 500 dollar Gateway purchased at Bestbuy back in Feb. Check out the specs of that laptop if you would like to compare it to you machine to see if it can run on yours. Cause its a very low model laptop. Purchased mainly for school work! 08/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Starcraft II review This really is an enjoyable game. Yes, you do have to be connected to the internet to play it for multiplayer, but you don't have to be for the single player campaign. It has an offline mode that you will not receive achievement points for while playing in. As always, read the product specs to make sure that your system can run it before purchasing. I have an older custom built pc that still runs it fine on low settings. 12/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Might be a great game. I'm having trouble determining if StarCraft II is a great game. My son won't stop playing it long enough for me to ask. :) 06/02/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by great game,too high of requirements I bought this game the first day it came out and was surprised to find that my computer couldnt run it. I meet all of the required specifications and the game loads up however my graphics card is top quality so the game runs unbearably slow to the point I cant even play. YOUR COMPUTER NEED A GREAT GRAPHICS CARD TO RUN THIS GAME, OTHERWISE DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME. GEFORCE 9500 OR BETTER RECOMMENDED TO RUN ON LOW SETTINGS 08/09/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by No Lan Party The game is good, but I bought it thinking Lan Party. 01/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Followup Great game, great story. No glitches so far, and Battle.net is fantastic. More or less a really polished and streamlined version of the first, but that happens to be what I wanted. Complaints like no LAN are kind of silly these days, and based on the merits of the actual product I give it five stars. 08/04/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hours of nothing we loved starcraft 1 it was so much fun and were expecting so much fun with number two but if you dont like online use while downloading then dont get this game while trying to dl it we had to get online and because of the speed of our internet it took 12 hours to download all the patches we needed for the game and when you want to play the game you have to get online to log into the game what ever happened to games you downloaded to your pc and just playing them without internet?! 10/06/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hoe Things Change I bought this game as a preorder [Full Version box set]. I went through the annoying system of creating a Battlenet account to play the Solo version of the game. For a long time I would play with no more hassles than the occasional server down time [makes a solo play part useless]. Well today Blizzard has REEVALUATED the product decieding it is a STARTER version ,and has removed Solo play alltogether. As well as haveing limits on Player vs Player play. All I need do is BUY another game to get access to what I PREORDED in the fist place. Since they can make you pay AGAIN ,for what you bought when ever they deem I suggest you avoid ALL BLIZZARD games. 03/17/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hum.... No LAN? Really Blizzard? This is garbage. The End. 07/30/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good until... about halfway through the game it would run pefectly, then begin to bug and crash like a decade of production and beta testing didnt happen. I spent around $1.5k on my comp for work/school/games so there's no issues with meeting the pre-reqs. Now im stuck $70 in the whole for a game that cant finish. For those interested, these are my system specs- ------------------ System Information ------------------ Time of this report: 7/29/2010, 07:47:24 Machine name: New-PC Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack 2 (6002.vistasp2_gdr.100218-0019) Language: English (Regional Setting: English) System Manufacturer: alienware System Model: Area-51 7500 R6 BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9400 @ 2.66GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.7GHz Memory: 4094MB RAM Page File: 1630MB used, 6769MB available Windows Dir: C:\Windows DirectX Version: DirectX 11 DX Setup Parameters: Not found DxDiag Version: 7.00.6002.18107 32bit Unicode 07/29/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by My son has waited a long time for this game...we even waited to get his gaming computer because of the demands this game imposes...he has a 2TB HD and the top of the line NVIDIA video card...the game crashes a lot, and we know it is not our computer...our computer tech installed the computer (he has been in business since 1987), and installed all the necessary drivers etc., and the computer runs top notch on everything else...we contacted him and he has experienced the same problem with this game crashing with a few other clients, and his own son. The game content is absolutely awesome, and the graphics are outstanding...now if Blizzard could get this problem fixed, life would be wonderful! 02/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this for my son who is 15 and he plays it all the time. The first day I had to kick him off of it just for him to get up. It also comes with online parental controls. Awesome. 12/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This game is amazing!! All RTS fans, it is a must have!! 11/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great game Twelve years after the original StarCraft "zerged" its way onto computers, Blizzard's sci-fi strategy game finally receives its sequel with Wings of Liberty. Once again the game features three rival factions: the gritty, gutty terrans; the slithering, swarming zerg; and the psionic, cybernetic protoss. The single-player campaign focuses on the scrappy terrans, led by Jim Raynor, in a narrative spanning 29 missions. To help those new to the StarCraft universe, a number of mini-games are included to introduce key tactics and strategies. While the presentation has changed, Wings of Liberty's mechanics are similar in design to the original StarCraft, relying on the traditional real-time strategy framework of resource gathering, structure building, and unit generation. New troops, ships, and technology are included for each faction, as are an assortment of tweaks and upgrades to familiar faces. Also IMO the person that spend 1.5k on a "Alienware Area-51 7500" that OEM Dell Based Pc Came with Microsoft Windows XP Professional, And we all know OEM software is all junk, also going from OEM to a Clean install with propriety Hardware will mess any Pc up, You Probably have some Driver issues causing It the "bug up" If Interested My Specs are as follows, It is a 2X HD 4870 512mb DDR5 CrossFireX System Running All Liquid Cooling Manufacturer Me =) Model GA-MA790XT-UD4P (Motherboard) Total amount of system memory 12.0 GB RAM DDR3 System type 64-bit operating system (Win 7 Pro) Number of processor cores 6 Storage -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Total size of hard disk(s) 838 GB Disk partition (C:) 28 GB Free (122 GB Total) Disk partition (D:) 28 GB Free (244 GB Total) Disk partition (E:) 57 GB Free (100 GB Total) Media drive (F:) CD/DVD Super Multi Light Scribe Disk partition (G:) 130 GB Free (373 GB Total) Graphics -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Display adapter type ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series DDR 5 Memory Total available graphics memory 6911 MB Dedicated graphics memory 1024 MB Dedicated system memory 0 MB Shared system memory 5887 MB Display adapter driver version 8.881.0.0 Primary monitor resolution 1920x1080 DirectX version DirectX 11 2 Years old and Didn't have to wast 1500 on it, Home Built, Display cards Might be old But run any game Highest res and detail. No Point Spending $300 Each Card for only 50 MHz And more ram Just add Another card for $50. yea Its cool the new cards have 4 gigs of ram but en-less you use Auto Cad Everyday its Pointless. Anyone Trying a SLI or Crossfire Setup Make Sure your power supply is up to the task. Im adding a 3rd Card since I do heavy Encoding and Decoding.. Pc use's more power then my toaster keep that in-mind Before you think you need A Uber Gaming Pc Fyi 900 watt + req Running 3 Cards I use a 1200w.. No need for Heater on cold nights =) 09/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great game Great game but make sure you have 3-4 days to install even with high speed you have to download almost 7gig of content. Its confusing to get to the right page for the download to start and you will find yourself getting kicked off the main download site after a few hours. Make sure your activation code is in the box before leaving the store. Ours had the code stolen and we didnt find out until getting home 30 mins away. 08/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Strategy Game Starcraft 2 is one of the most mentaly demanding strategy games you can play. It takes skill, understanding, and hand eye cordination unlike any other game. Though it may take a while to get used too you will find after getting the hang of the controls and counter concepts of the game you will not want to stop playing. 04/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Game I played the original Starcraft and Brood Wars expansion many times when I was a kid, and spent hours watching my dad play. I love how they improved on the game. I will warn that you only get to play through the Terran Campaign. Blizzard will be releasing expansions for the Zerg and Protoss campaigns. You can still play those races in multi-player mode. There are also numerous fun custom made maps with their own rules, my favorite is Nexus Wars. 03/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Insane Amazing compaign and multiplayer that will keep you engaged for years to come. This is the first of three Starcraft II games to come. The new battle.net system is great as well, makes connecting to friends and checking out player information really simple and fast, in addition to many other features such as replays and matchmaking. If you enjoyed the original Starcraft, you will LOVE this one. 03/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent graphics Awesome upgraded since part one. VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 01/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Starcraft 2 Great for fans of real time strategy. 12/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by We did have some loading problems. This was a gift for my grandson. We did have some problems getting it loaded. then it seemed to be slow and sluggish after loading. I left before he did start to try to play it again. He was very anxious to get this game and was disappointed when it did not load as usual and run. 12/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I cannot compare this game to its predecessor, and therefore I look at it not as a sequel but as an entirely new game alltogether, so I began playing this game with no expectations. I just picked this game up a few days ago for the first time, and was surprised to see that the design and structure of the game doesn't differ from the designs in Warcraft 3 too much. Of course the theme of the game is completely different, but I feel like the basic structure of how the game runs and how things work around the game are very similar, which for me is a good thing because I personally liked warcraft 3, and I still play it from time to time. I think anyone who enjoyed playing warcraft would enjoy this game, because it's very easy to get the hang of how things work and is just generally a lot of fun. 11/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by StarCraft 2 This Game is Awesome and the price was affordable and fast Delivery 10/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow - what a game This game is very challenging and the graphics are top of the line. However, it is not quite as straigt for for moving in and out of levels. But, this is an excellent game and I would recommend it to anyone 09/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by What it was meant to be The game is true to its roots. That will be the first noticeable distinction you find when you play it. SCV's still harvest minerals (the equivalent of funds and resources needed to create units) conveniently next to Vespene geysers (providing the fuel needed for the more intricate units) and you still have your marines, medics, etc. This is not a weakness, however. When you have a foundation as rock solid as Starcraft 1 then all you can do is go up. And up it goes. I was not a Starcraft veteran. I have played the single player and multiplayer, but by no means am I a guru. I was the first to fall during a zergling rush. Yes. I was one of them. The dreaded noob. I was the one that had favorite units based on aesthetic appeal and was sad when they died. The single player, in that sense, was perfect for me. The drama and intrigue of an epic space opera was utterly delectable. Three unique races, cunning twists, a grand scope of power. For any who do not know, the Protoss are the elves of space, the Zerg are the tried and true bug-like aliens, the Terran's are the adaptable humans. EACH race has unique and utterly COOL units. Each race has professional voice actors, which brings another point. The production values for this game are magnificent. When you pay sixty dollars for a game this is what you expect. Sweeping score, full voice acting, pacing that leaves you clicking for the next mission hungry for more. The game is a clear breeze to the finish, challenges making you want to rise to the bar. The final mission was so epic in scale I was swept away in the final victory--A victory that leaves you feeling satisfied, but ready for the expansion pack. Lots of loose ends are tied up, lots of unique liberty's are given just for the single player games (fully supported and REAL units you can't get in the multiplayer, ridiculous upgrades for the existing units). Plenty of options and customizable paths are provided. Creative resources are given that make the game at the end truly your own creation. This is a worthy successor on a firm foundation. 09/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bundles of Fun I had the chance to play this game before I bought it. It was everything I wanted and more. It has a really fun campaign and the multiplayer is really fun and user friendly. If you have played Starcraft in the past and liked it then you will love this game 09/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Game This is even better than the original game (which I was a fan of). The story line is great. The multiplayer is easy to learn but hard to master. Make sure your system meets the recommended system specs, not just the required ones. If you computer has some age on it, blow the dust out. Overheating could be an issue, since this game really strains your system while running. 08/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best game ever Saved me 10 bucks to order it from Walmart compared to off of Blizzards own site and it even arrived after just 3 days though it said 5-9 days on the order. Good job Walmart! As for the game itself it is everything you would expect and had anticipated - just awesome. 08/18/2010
1-30 of 40 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew368
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp