Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 146 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by great I have been looking for a nice comfortable cruising bike for sometime and this is it. I have had many bikes over the years and this is the most comfortable one that I have ever had. No more hunched over feeling. The self locking seat was great, no more having to find a wrench to adjust the seat as needed. 05/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my bike I have a $350 Beach Cruiser that I like to ride but I wanted a bike with gears to use for exercise. I am female 5'8 and overweight at approx 260 lbs. I got this bike for exercise. I love it, it rides smooth and is very comfortable. I did switch out my beach cruiser seat and put it on this one just for added comfort. This bike is solid and works great. I now ride it everyday and down to my Weight Watchers meetings ! I bought it already assembled so not sure how long that would take. This was a great purchase ! 03/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by No Regrets I was floored at how fast it arrived. I ordered it Saturday evening on Memorial Day weekend & received it that Thursday. I had expected w/ the weekend + holiday on Monday that it wouldn't even get looked at until Tues or Wed., delivered sometime the following week. VERY PLEASED! As for the bike itself, LOVE IT! It's more than I expected for less than $100, plus, to have it shipped at no cost to my home, so I didn't have to figure out how to pick it up in my car w/ my 3 kids in tow. I use it a lot to pull my children's bike trailor with no problem. The main reason I chose this bike over another on this site & one from another site was b/c this one had multiple gears, whereas the others were single speeds. Not until I read a reviewer talk about the lack of gears on the other one, did I realize that most lower costing cruiser bicycles don't have multiple gears, which helps for both comfort & to pull the trailor depending on load & minor hills in my town. I feel like I'm a walking billboard for this bike since I've ordered it. The only 'issue' I have with it was getting used to the suspension on the front wheels. I didn't realize they were there & everytime I got on the bike it felt like the bike 'sank', like when the tire is under-inflated. It was all a matter of getting aware & used to my 1st bike in 15 yrs. 06/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike I wanted a simple bike that would replace my old Scwinn tank which is in our AZ winter home. I've ridden that bike for 35 years! This one filled the bill nicely. The 7 gears are easy to use and adequate for what I use this for. It feels safe and comfortable like the old Schwinn. It's lighter weight, and therefore easier to pedal. It was the perfect solution. Going to buy my husband the men's version for father's day so we can go riding together. 06/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike for a a plus size lady! :D First of all I am a overweight young lady. I am about 5'6 and weight about 260lbs. I have been looking for the right bike that will fit my frame and bring a comfortable ride. Well i defiantly found it through this bike. When i purchased it the sales associate put it together and let me sit on it as he adjust to my comfort. i made the handle bars come up so i could have a straight back. This defiantly brought a more comfortable ride.The 7-speed gears are a plus when going up hils and even on a steady path. The seat is nice and comfortable. But i should say that your butt will hurt a little after ur first ride but it defiantly goes away when you continue to ride. I ride my bike every other day to my gym or wherever i feel that i dont need to waste gas in. Its convient and fun for me and it even has a stylish look to it. 08/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value and comfortable ride. A highly reccomended bike. My husband and i purchased the Next Avalon cruiser bikes (mens and womens) to use for days out with our children which we also purchased the Schwinn double trailer with stroller capability. I would highly recomend these bikes and the trailer if that's what you looking for. The bikes came disasembled and putting them together was SO easy. The frame, back wheels, gears and brakes where already assembled in the factory all that was needed on both bikes was to put the front wheel on, attach the handle bars and adjust to your comfort, put the saddle on and tighten. The only tricky part was assembling the front brakes. If you have never assembled the V brakes go onto you tube and watch a demo you'll have it done in minutes. You'll need a 5mm and a 6mm allen key and also a 15mm wrench for tightening the front wheels for assembly. The ride is very comfortable with the 3 points of suspension ( front, back and under the sadle). It only comes with 7 gears but that's all you need. Gear one is easy and gear 7 provides plenty of resistance for speed. If you didn't know how much this bike cost and you took a ride on it you would think it was a high end cruising bike. It also fits perfect on bike racks also. Excellent quality, value and a very comfortable ride. 03/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike! I was trying to find a bike I could ride to get some exercise for weight loss. I'm a bigger gal and needed a cruiser type bike. This bike has a bigger seat than most, I like the shocks on the front and back. I feel completely safe with this bike. I have had it since Mother's Day 2010. At first I only rode a little bit around but have since started riding all the bike trails in the area four days a week. I am up to riding 9 miles on the days I ride and have plans to do a 35 mile bike ride. This bike is perfect for the cost. I don't have a single complaint about it and would surely recommend it to others, and have. 09/09/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by bike review Absolutely love this bike. A fantastic buy for the price. Great quality. The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars overall is that the kickstand is attached to the rear wheel of the bike. I didn't like this for a couple of reasons. For one it is difficult to reach when getting off the bike. Most of all though I could not attach my bike trailer to the back since that also needed to be fastened to the rear wheel. Ended up having to buy a new kickstand that was about $10 and mounts up near the pedals. In case you need to purchase a kickstand it is called a Greenfield universal kick stand. 08/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Riding around NYC This bike is great for beginners. I purchased for $89 on sale/online. I'm 5'2" and it fits me but i am on my tip toes when we stop at a red light. I received it in 3 days from purchase. Instructions was simple if you re-read it 2-3 times. After I put it together by myself (huge accomplishment for someone non-handy)... i took it to my nearby bike shop and for $10 he tightened everything and made sure i was bike ready. he said that the factory had put the handlebar on backwards, so he turned it around the right way (I had no idea -looked fine to me but he's the expert). Bike came 1/2 assembled in a HUGE/heavy box. I only had to assemble pedals, front brakes, front tire, seat and handlebars. The middle and back was pre-assembled (thank goodness!!!!). First ride was 12 miles roundtrip to Flushing, Queens. The bike took the NYC potholes very well and the bumps that makes NYC. Overall great bike for the $$, for a beginner and for something to ride around town with. Was advised against taking it on a mountain bike trail (duh-it's not a mountain bike). Don't FORGET to get an extra inner tube (size is marked on tires), bike tire repair kit and portable bike air pump for emergencies. It doesn't come with holes to mount on middle frame so I attached my water bottle to middle handle bar. Want a better bike.. then you should spend more $$ such as $300 and up. Even those need a bike tire repair kit because they're not invinceable. Not all helmets fit the same.. i'd advise you to go to store to try on. Thank goodness I had one.. crazy NYC driver almost hit me while I was riding bike. Enjoy! 06/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by solid low cost bike as a short caveat, I've only had this bike for 4 days, so I can't say much to it's longevity. I bought it so that I could bike to work, and didn't want to be out a lot of money when (not 'if' but 'when') it or a major component gets stolen. Overall, it's a solid, decent quality, but wal-mart class, bike which is great for someone who wants something cheap & easy. I would recommend it for people who need something for occasional recreation or short commutes. I had it shipped to my office (I planned to return with my car to pick it up). It came well before I expected it to--I ordered it on Tuesday and it came on Friday. (it was schedule to arrive the following Tuesday at the earliest). Only problem was the box was too big to fit in the car, so I had to unpack it in my office and put the components (frame w/ back wheel attached and w/ handlebar unmounted but attached by breaklines, plus the front wheel separated). The poster who said that 'the directions were as clear as mud' was correct. I got most of it put together okay, but had quite a bit of difficulty getting the handlebars and front break adjusted correctly, and I still keep having to make small adjustments to the breaks to get them perfect. I think it took about 2 hours and required a size 10 wrench and two different sized Allen wrenches. Now that its put together it rides pretty well. I haven't biked in about 10 years, so I'm not sure what issues are mine vs. the bike's. The gears seem a little stiff when I shift but they work. Obviously, this isn't a road bike and wasn't designed for speed. Add to that my inexperience in the past decade, and clearly I was going very slowly--I was passed by every single other bike commuter going my way this morning (at least 8 of them). I'm hoping that this will change after I get more practice. The riding position on this bike is great--slightly more upright than my old mountain bike and much more upright than a road bike, but not as upright/practically lounging as some other cruiser/comfort bikes--perfect for commuting. The tires are not high-pressure road tires--they are about the thickness of mountain bike tires, and while they do have grooves/tread they aren't knobby like a mountain bikes' tires. The chain guard is very helpful (clean pants!), though the chain occasionally rattles in the low gears. As I live uphill from work, I needed a bike with multiple gears, and the gears on this bike seem sufficient. My only complaint is that the frame size (thick bars placed close together) makes it impossible to mount my lock to the bike and makes it difficult to lock the bike up. I have the second largest kryptonite U-lock, which is too big to be mounted inside the frame, but barely fits around the frame, front tire, and a standard bike rack. (However, since the wheels are not quick release, they are more secure, but the seat is, so I got a cable to attache that to the lock). 09/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow, Impressed! After testing a few bikes in the store. I decided to bring this one home. Mostly because the seat was so comfy. Well, after riding it around my neighborhood a few times, which has a lot of big hills, I'm very happy with this purchase. It's smooth and sporty! 03/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this bike, i rode several other bikes at the walmart store , when i sat on this one and rode it, wow what a difference, very comfortable, loved it, love the handling, liked the brakes. great bike !!! 07/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Got this bike 2 weeks ago site to store for my wife. Walmart associates put it together and did a great job. Bike rides well, shifts smoothly between the 7 gears and has front and back shock absorbers for a smoother ride over bumps. For the price this bike can't be beat. My wife loves it. 03/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good bike for the price Used two years as recreational on paved and hard surfaces. Good value for a entry level rider. 08/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good bike for the price! This bike was purchased as a Christmas gift for an 11 year old girl who is 5' tall and growing fast. Since it snowed the next day we haven't had a lot of oppourtunity to ride it around. The chain did fall off once, but nothing a tweeking can't fix. The bike is a great value and has an aluminum frame making it a little easier to manage. I did alot of internet surfing to find just the right bike for a reasonable price and this was it!!!! Did site to store and at my request Walmart even put it together for me the same day. 01/04/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bike but kickstand issue I love the bike but I am towing a child carrier and had to remove the kickstand to attach the carrier. My only drawback for now is that I wish the kickstand was in the middle instead of the very back so I didn't have to lay the bike down while trailer is attached. The bike is so lightweight which is the upside to towing a child carrier behind it- I am not bicycling both a heavy bike and a carrier... 07/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic bike for the price! Easy to assemble, incredible value for the price. It is very comfortable to ride. Honestly I was expecting alot less.... I would recommend this bike for any casual rider or commuter. 07/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike I didn't want to spend a lot of money (mainly b/c I don't have it to spend) and this bike provides me with a great bike at a great price. I had Walmart put it together for me and everything is great. I've had it for about 2 months now, and ride it several times a week. I love it! 10/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by comfort bike Love it! Good Value! Comfy ride! 06/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable and rides well!!! The quality and style are very nice of the NEXT Avalon cruiser. Store had it put together by my request. We are very pleased with the bike! 08/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent bike for comfort and great value I put 2 of these bikes together and it was relatively easy to assemble. Only issue I had was that the wheel rims were a little out of round so I had to set the brakes up with a larger gap than I wanted to in order to prevent rubbing. Everything else has been fine 06/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent bike for the money Nice bike at a reasonable price. One word of warning, if you choose to have Walmart assemble the bike (ANY bike) check it over before you leave the store to make sure there is enough air in the tires and everything feels and looks OK. 06/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible I've gone through 2 of these bikes and had problems with both. The first, the chain would not stay on the gears, so I took it back and got another one. And now that one has a broken bearing on the rear wheel causing it to come loose, rub on the frame and brakes, and switch into lower gears when it feels like it. You definitely get what you pay for with these bikes. 09/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value Got this bike for my birthday & it hasn't failed me yet. I very suprised at how comfortable this bike is. I had it assembled at the store and it rides great. I think we are going to purchase the mens' version for my husband! 01/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Next Avalon 26" Women's Cruiser Bike Some confusion on whether the store will assemble the bike free of charge for orders that were placed on-line. (I have called in and walked in to the store prior to placing order on line) Resolved the situation after a few phone calls after email was received confirming the bike was delivered to the store ready for pick-up. The store assembled the bike very quickly and was ready for pick-up in just a few hours. The bike was not too heavy, good quality, seat okay for 130lbs, good value for money......minor problem, the front wheel was not aligned well, so it kept rubbing onto the brakes . Have to take it in to a bike shop for a $15 tuning, no big deal, after that, it was perfect. So, a little over $100 for the bike in total, plus a bit of inconvenience, I think it is tolerable. 10/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding value for money At $89 online ($99 purchased in store - with optional free assembly), this bike seemed just too good to be true. I was also a little hesitant after reading of assembly issues that other buyers had encountered. Need not have worried on either point. This bike is as good as it looks in the photos. On close inspection, the welds are maybe a little untidy, and who knows how long the bright-work will stay bright. But at a whisker under a hundred bucks, it's a steal. As for assembly, assuming you can rustle up a couple of metric wrenches, a set of metric allen (hex) wrenches and you follow the assembly instructions, it's not at all difficult and should take around one hour. The bike rides quietly and smoothly, the fat tires, front/rear springing and the soft, wide saddle giving a very comfortable ride. Gear change is easy with the handlebar-shifter. Handlebar and seat location makes for a fairly upright cycling posture - this is a bike for fun, not for racing. Only downside would be the lack of fenders. The front forks have a drilled hole that would take a fender bracket but there's no such opportunity at the rear. I doubt that you could fit a rear pannier. Otherwise, a really nice bike, at a bargain price. 07/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great "cruise around the neighborhood" bike My only complaint is that you cannot change gears too quickly or the chain will fall off, but it's really easy to put back on...this could have just been my particular bike too, not sure if all will have same problem. This is the only bike I didn't have to change the seat, all of my other bikes had extremely uncomfortable seats; I was pleasently surprised with how comfortable this seat was! 07/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 Good bike! I ordered this online from Walmart and had it shipped to my house. My dad assembled it for me and was the first to ride it (as I was away at college). He said it needed more tweaking and took it apart and reassembled it. When I came back home, I took it for a ride around the block on the sidewalk, as my street is cramped with too many cars. There were a lot of "lifted" blocks of concrete on the sidewalk, making lots of razor-cut raised land. I found that the bike is not suited for rough terrain and even little bumps can cause a jolt in your seat. This is a cruiser/comfort bike and I can understand why it should be different than a mountain bike, but I thought small bumps shouldn't cause such a rough ride. Overall, a good road bike. It goes kind of slow and is no good on rough terrain but on smooth land, it's pretty comfortable. The brakes are perfect, and the 7 speeds are good for going up small hills. Pros: comfortable, nice brakes Cons: bumpy ride, heavy bike 11/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rekindling my love of biking! Haven't ridden a bike in YEARS! Knew I wanted a comfort bike.... really love the upright stem and handlbar option. I did replace the seat w/ a larger one but really... I don't think the seat is better than the one that came with it. This bike is a great value. It looks nice and is very solid. With only seven speeds; don't plan on taking any huge hills but slight rolling hills are no problemo! I've had the bike less than a week and am riding 3 to 5 miles a day and loving every minute of it! WAY CHEAPER THAN A GYM MEMBERSHIP! 07/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Love this bike! Great bike - especially for the price! Great looking and very easy to ride! 08/10/2011
1-30 of 124 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw325
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp