See All Reviews
NEXT Avalon 26" Men's Cruiser Bike
NEXT Avalon 26" Men's Cruiser Bike
Price varies by store.
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 147 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by best bike for the money I have had this bike for 5 weeks now and could not be more pleased. I had not ridden a bike for over 35 years and needed one for exercise and enjoyment. I thourghly research everything I buy and this was no different. I concluded that two bicycles from Wal Mart met my criteria, the Schwinn Link and the Next Avalon. I chose the Next Avalon because I like the looks better that the Schwinn, it had great reviews, and was $70.00 cheaper. I was not sure how long I would stay motivated and didn't want to waste a lot of money. This way I can ride it for a while and if I decide not to ride anymore I can sell it for $50.00 or more and not lose much. The Next Avalon was the perfect bike for me and if you are looking for a bike to ride around town and for exercise it will be for you too. I am going to buy my wife the ladies Avalon in a couple of more weeks. Seven gears are plenty and I might add, I purchased this bike from Wal Mart fully assembled and it was perfect, only needed to adjust the seat and handlebars which took about 2 minutes. I am really pleased with my Avalon but in all fairness would like to ride the Schwinn Link for a month and really compare the two. A lot of people have run down buying a bike from Wal Mart or the box stores, but if you are looking for just a bike to ride around town or for exercise than you need to look no further. If however you plan to ride 40, 50, or more miles a day and really get into bike riding, than by all means go to a bike store and pay the $500, $1000, or more and get a real road bike. Remember you get what you pay for, most of the time. I hope that I continue to ride and will eventually purchase a better bike from a bike shop. Even they have mechanical problems. If you are ever in a bike shop, look in the back and what do you see? A lot of expensive bikes getting repaired. In conclusion, for my purpose, this bike and Wal Mart is all I needed. Maybe it will be for you too. If not go to a bike store and spend the money. I don't mind spending money as I bought my 12 year old granddaughter a Trek for $400 which she rode maybe a dozen times. I was afraid this would happen to me, that is why I went the $100 route. 01/24/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by NEXT AVALON I bought this bike to replace my ageing schwinn.Its a smart looking bike,lightweight,yet feels rock solid underneath you.I added a few travel bags and accessories,now I dont care for my schwinn anymore.I think I will purchase the new series avalon as long as there are no bad reviews. 05/29/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Choice for Beginners I haven't ride a bike for ages, but decided to get one this year, although I went to see a Schwinn bike i saw online in store, I fell in love with the design of this bike. I was offered free assembly numerous times by Walmart employees for free. However, I chose to put it together myself. A bit tricky if you don't have the right tools. Suspension is great, design is very catchy. I love this bike over so many other ones i saw, very sturdy, and lightweight. Best part of the bike are the rear suspension, and the seat cushion. Seat is made of soft foam type material and very comfortable. Those looking for great speed may not enjoy 7 speed but for beginners it is highly recommended. 06/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Avalon just setup I purchased the Avalon yesterday in the carton. I assembled it within 2 hours(rum and coke included) The hardest time I had was getting a hold of the 5mm and 6mm allen wrenches. I had to go by ACE HW and pick a set up for $5. The only real issue I had was centering the front wheel between the forks this was not due to the product but my lack of knowledge. After my short test drive I found that I set the seat to high and the handle bar too low. (I am 6' 215lbs)The derailer is off a bit, it does not change well in the higher 2 gears. I will adjust these items today after work. All I need now is a headlight and water bottle. The instructions were a little off base as others have indicated. For the novice I would recommend taking the bike to a bike shop. At this stage I would give the bike 5stars since I am very please with it so far.KOW If that changes I will write back. gonoles 06/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow! Very nice Cruiser! I bought a Huffy Black Widow online. It's a full suspension Mountain Bike, and very very nice. It had all the features I was looking for except one.....comfort. It didn't fit me, and was very uncomfortable. I have another Mountain Bike that isn't full suspension, and just decided to keep it and exchange the Black Widow for this Avalon. I went to 7 different Wal-Mart stores until I found one with a single Avalon in stock. I returned the Huffy, and left with the Avalon. I rode it in the parking lot, and found the handlebars were slightly out of alignment with the frame, the brakes were assembled too loosely with too much play, the seat post quick disconnect was loose, and the gears were completely out of adjustment. The front tire was improperly installed in the fork and was leaning a bit. After 45 minutes of adjusting and test riding in the parking lot, the bike was ready! I took it home and rode along with a friend for 45 minutes or so. Her bike is a very nice name brand Hybrid with 21 speeds and she was unable to keep up during a little sprint. I might add, she is very athletic and competitive. At any rate, the bike performs well. It rides well, with great handling and braking and the comfy suspension takes out the hard bumps. I was skeptical about ONLY 7 speeds, but some thought was put into the ratios, and they are more than adequate. The Aluminum frame makes the bike very light weight and manageable. I see other reviewers complaining about failures and non-working features. This is a production item, hastily assembled and shipped. The Wal-Mart bike builder is merely an associate who takes the parts out of the box and assembles them at no extra charge. Some other stores charge a fee. The bike builder does not tune and align the bike! It's the purchaser's responsibility to fine tune the mechanics. One of the reasons bike stores charge so much more than Wal-Mart for bicycles is the time they spend setting up each and every bike. If you're incapable of setting up a bike, then please do yourself a favor and spend the extra money to have someone do it for you, or buy it from a competitor that offers this service. To set up the bike you only need a couple of metric box wrenches, a few Allen wrenches and a phillips screwdriver. This is an attractive bicycle (the paint scheme is really nice, but this is subjective) with good features and performance, and in my opinion....a great value! 08/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm Impressed... I'm writing this review now, after owning my avalon comfort bike for one month, and I am impressed, I have owned other bikes over the years that cost much more then my avalon but not one of those ever road as good or was as comfortable as my new bike. This 7 speed shifts easy up or down in any gear, I put an average 8 miles a day on my bike, 7 days a week, the handle bar stem adjustment and quick release seat clamp make it very easy to adjust both. The only thing I changed on my bike was the tires, only because I like a wide tire feel on the street, and I put on a noseless comfort seat, it was the tires and the seat off my old bike. I have rode this bike in the dirt and on the street and with the duel suspension it rides good on both and I'm 6' 1'' 250 pounds, If I could give it 6 or 7 stars I would, as for the people that are saying negative things about this bike, Hmmmm! I scratch my head... 01/25/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by decent had this bike for 3 days now..been 25miles with no problem..you will not get dirty riding this bike(chain guard)...suspension is awesome you could drink coffee while riding this bike:) looks nice...the only thing I dont like is that it doesnt seem very fast but it goes steady ...gears shift mint on this bike...overall you will never beat this price for a new bike and it is very chill:) 06/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great quality for the money, 290 lbs and it handles me just fine 07/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Bike for the Buck I'm a very large man 6ft. 320 pounds. The pounds and lack of stamina are the reasons I bought the bike. The seat that comes with the bike seems to be okay except as with other seats of this style it did cause pain in the "in between area". I bought a noseless saddle sold by Walmart at that took care of that problem. Because of my weight the seat post would slowly move down as I rode. I had to really crank down on the clamp that holds the seat in place. Adjusting the clamp took care of that problem. The bike is very good looking. The decals on mine had some bubbles in them but that's no big deal. I can tell by looking at the chain and gear sprockets that they aren't the best quality. However, the bike only cost $108.00 with tax delivered to the store and put together. All in all I'm completely satisfied. 09/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Perfect bike for comfortable cruising. A highly reccomended bike. My wife and i purchased the Next Avalon cruiser bikes (mens and womens) to use for days out with our children which we also purchased the Schwinn double trailer with stroller capability. I would highly recomend these bikes and the trailer if that's what you looking for. The bikes came disasembled and putting them together was SO easy. The frame, back wheels, gears and brakes where already assembled in the factory all that was needed on both bikes was to put the front wheel on, attach the handle bars and adjust to your comfort, put the saddle on and tighten. The only tricky part was assembling the front brakes. If you have never assembled the V brakes go onto you tube and watch a demo you'll have it done in minutes. You'll need a 5mm and a 6mm allen key and also a 15mm wrench for tightening the front wheels for assembly. The ride is very comfortable with the 3 points of suspension ( front, back and under the sadle). It only comes with 7 gears but that's all you need. Gear one is easy and gear 7 provides plenty of resistance for speed. If you didn't know how much this bike cost and you took a ride on it you would think it was a high end cruising bike. It also fits perfect on bike racks also. Excellent quality, value and a very comfortable ride. 03/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by more than I exepected Had the avalon for a few days, and wow what a great bike for the money, I had it shipped to my home and after reading the reviews bought some metric allen wrenches, and it was nothing to put together. watched on you tube how to do simple adjustments and off on a ride I went. I havent rode a bike in several years and when the seat , handlebars , gears are adjusted right, you will have a enjoyable experience 07/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike! I am 83 3/4 and decided I wanted an inexpensive, easy bike to ride. This is it; it comes pre-assembled with an excellent guarantee plus bike has shocks, nice "broad" seat, wide tires, and name brand parts, and a great guarantee...you can't wrong at $99.00!! I have been riding it every day and I recommend it for all "mature" beginners as well as for Seniors who want a comfortable ride at an excellent price. 10/13/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not bad for the price I bought this bike as a commuter, 2 miles on city streets each way, 5 days a week. I figured if I liked commuting by bicycle I would spend the money on a real road bike later. The bike arrived in the mail mostly assembled, I only had to install the peddles, handlebar, seat and front wheel. With basic tools, you are looking at less than an hour from opening the package to a functioning bike. In the context of this being a $100 bike, the product is a good value. The construction is sturdy and simple, and the chain guard adds a nice touch for anyone who wears pants and is worried about oil stains. None of the features have failed after 3 weeks of daily riding, nor are there any problems like loose bolts or leaky tires. However the bike from perfect. The brakes are poorly designed and manufactured and required a lot of time and effort in order for them to work properly. I took my bike to a bike mechanic to have the brakes adjusted and it took her 30 minutes to align them, and they still whine a little. The worst part of the bike is, by far, the drive train. The previously mentioned mechanic spent another 30 minutes on the shifter and derailer to align them. Out of the box the bike would not engage the highest or lowest gear, and the shifter was not aligned with the gears (3 was not 3, it was somewhere between 3 and 4). Despite the Shimono brand name, the hardware is poor. I can get to all the gears now, and the shifter is mostly aligned, but I cannot put a lot of torque on the bike in high gear without throwing the chain (for example, if you stand up to peddle in high gear). If the bike mechanic wasn't a friend of mine all the adjustments probably would have cost me $50+ instead of a 6 pack of beer. But keep in mind this is a $100 bike. While the quality is less than ideal, the product is still functional and a good value for the money. Just don't think you are getting a high quality bike, you are getting what you pay for. As a final note, because this was important to me, I'm 6'3" 190lbs and the bike is a reasonably good fit, albeit with adjustments to seat and handlebar height. 08/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dont wast $400 in a bike store ...Get a Avalon 26" This bike is great!!! great price!! First lets get it straight.. no I'm not going to go downhill dirt trails flying over jumps at 40 + mph with this bike. YES i understand (you get what you pay for) and this bike is exactly what i wanted comfort,smooth ride,low price. I added a bell computer, and most of all a cloud 9 seat WITH spring post. 7 gears is perfect for street-canal paths-mild dirt trails. YES the chain fell off once,yes the handlebars could be a little wider,yes the peddles are cheap, even with my upgrades or if i have to get new rims/gears i'm still way below your bike store prices. I'm also way more comfortable on this bike then my 1980's 1990's full steel no suspension Huffy bikes. nuf said ... spend the $100 bucks. 06/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my bike. This bike is an everyday commuter bike for me. I have added cargo bags, a bottle cage, simple computer, and lights. It is very comfortable. I get to the job with a backpack from 5 to 15 miles one way. This bike has not let me down. Of course if you are a more advanced cyclist you may want to upgrade the dérailleur. But for the money, you can't beat this bike. Walmart Customer Service was outstanding and I will be notifying the management. 10/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Love This Bike I have owned a number of bikes over the years and am happier with this one then others I have purchased for much more. I purchased the bike fully assembled and was very pleased with the quality of assembly, all I had to do is adjust the handle bars and raise the seat. I am 6ft. 230 and find the 7 speeds more then enough for the local bike trails and streets. 07/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 good value for the money I was more than pleased with this bike. I was not sure what to expect for the low price. The bike was easy to assemble - took less than 30 minutes with the correct tools (get yourself a set of metric hex wrenches). I'm 50 years old, 215 lbs and haven't ridden a bike in years. I took the bike on its maiden voyage for a 14 mile round trip ride on Long Beach Island, NJ. The 7 gears was plenty of range for the trip and the seat was reasonably comfortable. Its not a speedster but has enough gearing for the casual riding I do. (And yes, I was pretty tired after my trip) 07/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Exceptional Bike Value I have been riding the new bike for three weeks and it only gets better. Walmart assembled the bike perfectly ... and it was ready very fast at the local store. The frame is perfect for me as I am heavy set; the double tube upper section coupled with the shock / spring suspension is very effective. I only wish I should have got more gears as the hills present a challenge on occassion. Great value and product! 01/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by quality exceeds price I was looking for a bike that I could use mostly around town for exercise, not for all day rides. So I knew I wanted something from the hybrid/comfort category of bikes. I’ve had this bike a couple of weeks now, and ride every morning as soon as the sun comes up for 3 to 4 miles before getting ready for work. I’m anticipating putting it to the test on a longer ride one of these weekends, but for 15 to 20 minutes every day, I have no complaints at all. The bike is comfortable which was important to me and why I choose this type of bike. It feels very stable and absorbs the bumps well on less than perfect roads, and can really move on those long straightaways. I did need to adjust the derailer as it wouldn’t go to 1st, and the actual gear and the shifter would sometimes get 1 off which wasn’t affecting the performance. (Shifter said 3rd, chain in 4th; shifter said 4th, chain in 5th, etc) The roads I’m riding so far have been generally flat, so 1st gear isn’t needed, but I feel better knowing that everything is working as it should now, and working very smoothly. Since it had been years since I’ve ridden a bike, I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on something I might not continue to use. I figured that if I got into a regular routine, I could always upgrade in the future. I did add the $10 replacement plan for 1 year in case inexpensive translated into “cheap”. I’m extremely happy with this bike so far and I’m not sure what else I would get from a bike that cost 3 or 4 times more. Installing a monitor to track speed/distance/time was very simple, next will be a water bottle holder and with daylight coming later, probably a light so I can continue to ride in the early morning instead of after work. 08/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great starter comfort/fitness bike I purchased this bike to see if I could get into cycling as a fitness activity without spending a bunch of money. There is a lot of bike here for the price. I ride approximately 10 miles per day five days a week. The saddle is moderately comfortable and the handlebars can be raised enough for you to be in an upright position. The gears are entry level but are just fine for this bike. Assembly is fairly easy as long as you have the right tools and tighten everything even if tightened in the factory. This bicycle is fun to ride and I recommend it highly. 07/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than thought For $99 it was a great deal. Most of it came already put together in a huge box. I took to bike shop after I put together to adjust, tighten brakes and doublecheck my non-handy work for $20. I got this in the men's and women's version and our first ride was a 12 mile round trip in Queens. Pot holes terrain and all the bike withheld and did great. No problems at all. Nothing fell apart It's not light but not super heavy (we carry down flight of stairs). For the money great bike to start out or replace. Want something to last forever then spend the $700 on a real roadmaster or mountain bike. Great for street or park riding NOT Mountain trails! 04/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value and Good Look'n E-Z build and a great ride. After reading other reviews I was a bit concerned about the quality. The bike was a home shipment so I got to see it come out of the box. Yes there was a little paint rub, easy to fix, but all else was good. A little over an hour to build and then hit the road. Good casual rider although the seat's a bit small for me. I'm 6'3" and weigh 21 stone (stone=14lbs). For the money I don't think you could find a better deal. 12/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mens bike This was a great value for the money. Most important feature was the ability to move the adjustable handle bars to a comfortable position. That was the reason for purchasing this model. It is light weight and easy to pedal. Had to order on line as all info on line for product in stores was incorrect. One store was supposed to have two but did not have any in inventory at all. Bought the women's model too. 02/23/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great bike for riding I bought two of these bikes for myself and husband for exercise. We take them to the boardwalk but it is rough riding there, however, it is excellent for street riding. It is an attractive bike. We received many complements. Due to its constructions, it can pass as a unisex bike. Anyone wanting to ride for fitness and cruising, this is the bike for you. 07/19/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good bike, poor quality control This bike was received with a cross-threaded adjustment bolt that would not loosen and eventually was stripped out due to its being aluminum and the Allen key being steel. The supplier is Kent, and they responded promptly through customer service but initially sent the wrong part. On the second try, the correct part was shipped. 11/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good buy! Bought this for me so I could exercise. Not too much trouble putting it together, only fine tuning the shifter. I just couldn't get it right. I didn't understand the instructions. Then I went to YouTube, and found the answer. I enjoy this bike daily. Good looking too! I haven't ridden a bike in quite some time. I'm 75 and spend about 30 minutes riding in the morning. That's all I can do as the temperature reaches 110-115 degrees after 9am or so. Can't wait for the temp to go down. 08/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice bike great price I purchased two of the Avalon mens bike looks great easy assembly and free shipping. Kmart wanted a extra $100 to ship. Thats were the difference in savings is. Can ask for more then that. 09/19/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Broke In a Day First time riding it at home, the smaller gears that are supposed to be attached to rear tire broke and were moving independently of tire. So the chain would slip off constantly, or the gears would spin and the tire would not move at all. I weigh 200 lbs so this is ridiculous. The bike became a completely worthless piece of scrap within the first day. I'm not sure if this is due to poor construction at wal-mart or if the bike is just an extremely cheap piece of garbage. I also spend the better half of a day trying to repair it. 09/12/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent starter bike but not as good as Schwinn The bike is pretty nice, it is cheap, and it is reasonably comfortable. I bought a this bike and a matching women's 26" NEXT bike. We took them on a couple of trail rides, 5-7 miles each ride. Initially we loved the bikes, very comfortable and easy to ride. After a few miles we noticed they are fairly wobbly and don't seem to 'roll' all that well. I decided to return them and purchase the Schwinn City Series bikes from Walmart. A few more dollars, but well worth it. Initial comfort is almost identical, but the Schwinn bikes take a lot less effort to ride, we can ride 15 miles and feel like we have just begun. Not the case with the NEXT bikes, a good workout, but if you're looking for a comfortable 10 mile stroll, go with the Schwinn City Series. I'm so glad I switched them out. 08/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 What do you expect for $100 I probably looked at bikes for a month before I finally gave up and pulled the trigger on this one. Initially, I wanted something a little nicer, and was prepared to spend a lot more money, but it seems like every other bike I liked was out of stock or otherwise unavailable. This bike is, honestly, a $100 bike. I love the style, it's pretty sharp. As far as bikes go, though, It's pretty OK. Assembly was fairly simple. The handle bars are kind of weird. My wife had to point out that they were on backwards, initially. I guess that explains why I thought the brake levers and gear selector were on the wrong side!!! The seat is average, not necessarily what one might expect from a 'comfort' bike, but I have sat on worse. The ride is good. Smooth. Comfortable. The brakes and shifting are quite adequate. This bike doesn't quite blow me away, but for $100, I would be surprised if you could find something better. For the casual rider who doesn't see the point in spending $200+ on a bicycle - you could do a lot worse than this. 04/08/2011
1-30 of 134 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw362
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp