Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 177 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Replaces Comcast's Modem This modem works just fine with Comcast internet. So it saves me $5 a month from the Comcast modem rental. Great price and shipped fast. 06/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by a modem built to last I purchased this in a local walmart about 5 years ago. And I finally decided to write a review. All I can say is that this is one of the best modems ever built due to it's low price tag and reliablility. I used this modem by itself along with my local internet provider and it performed flawlessly 24 hours a day/7 days a week. So I finally connected it to a wireless G router and I got the same flawless performance too. Iv'e never had a single problem in the 5 years I've owned it.. This modem may be the last one I ever need.... 10/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy! Once I found out Comcast was once again raising the rental rate for their modem from $5 to $7 that was pretty much it for me. This modem is a great buy. Very simple to install, 1 quick phone call to Comcast to finalize the set up and that is it. Took about 5 minutes or so. Modem works great, no problems at all. FYI - don't forget to return your modem to Comcast as they will continue to charge you for it until it is returned to them. 05/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well worth it! I bought this modem so I didn't have to pay every month to rent one from comcast. It works great. Set up was fast and easy. 12/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works like a charm Took a while for the Charter cable company to tell me that my Linksys modem is no longer compatible with the auto updates each night, resulting in no connections at night. Once this modem is in place, internet is working like a charm and faster too. I love it. 07/07/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by out-of-date Don't buy these DOCSIS 2.0 modems as they are severely out-of-date!! The current standard is DOCSIS 3.0 for cable modems. 06/12/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Call your service provider first! OK, this modem knows ONLY DOCSIS 1.1 & 2.0. In my area (MD) Comcast requires a DOCSIS 3.0 modem. We could not get this to work. I will have to return this and buy something else what "speaks" the same DOCSIS 3.0 "language". This was in november 2011 :( I hope this saves you from an extra trip. 11/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Save cable box cost It was very easy to set up the modem, save $7.00 a month from cable bill. Then the old router was disconnecting so replaced that as well with a Linkeys E1000wireless and that was just as easy. Other than chasing down the wires for all the computers and equipment, it was easy, did not requirer and phone calls to customer service!!! 03/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by super product at good price If you plan to turn on your internet with comcast, I strongly suggest you to purchase this surfboard, first you don't have to pay rental fee with comcast, second it is so easy to set up, just plug the cable to one port and the other to computer and give comcast a call to activate your modem, you save money to do it yourself without technician comes to your house to set it up for you, and you save a bundle for set up fee. 09/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by PERFECT PRODUCT I REPLACED MY CHARTER MODEM WITH THIS MODEM WHICH IS IDENTICAL. I SAVE $7 PER MONTH. AFTER I REGISTERED IT WITH CHARTER IT WORKED PERFECTLY. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND ANYONE HAVING CHARTER INTERNET TO PURCHASE THIS MODEM. 06/21/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not for the new High Speeds provided This modem is a doxsys? 2 I had to return it because it was too slow to run a 50 mbps speed from comcast's new XFINITY services..So I guess if you have a slow speed on internet this will do, but not if you truly have high speed internet! 10/24/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good deal very very good investment 10/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Though I did not set up this modem, my husband did very easily. Save time and realize if you have Comcast that you will need to call to get them to reset your system to recognize the modem. Saves a lot off your monthly bill since Comcast continues to increase their monthly fee for their rental modem. 05/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wal-mart is Second to None! A few weeks ago I purchased this Motorola computer modem through Walmart online, and the product arrived shortly after in pristine condition. Walmart only carries quality, such as this Motorola brand, which by the way, is super easy to set up, as the enclosed instructional booklet is self-explanatory. I purchase all my electronics via Walmart online because they always exceed my expectations, and their product lines are simply the best. 08/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Goodbye Cable Modem Rental Fee Works great for Comcast Internet Service. Took only 5 minutes to call and give Comcast the MAC Address, and a restart of the modem and voila!!! 12/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very good cable modem that does it's job. The modem is very easy to setup. Follow the quick set-up steps and that's it. If you are replacing another modem with this one, be sure to call your Provider and give them the S/N and the MAC numbers. These numbers are used to tell the cable company what your modem address is. It's like the Post Office, without an address on your house/mail box the Post Office doesn't know where to drop your mail. Without the S/N and MAC numbers the data stream from the Provider doesn't know where to drop your data. These numbers are located on the bottom of the modem on the white tag with the bar codes and are very small. Make sure you are certain of the letters and numbers or your modem will not work properly. The modem is a very simple piece of hardware. It either works or it doesn't. There are no option or replaceable pieces. I rated the value with four (4) stars because in today's world these things should be sold for no more than $25.00. This is not new technology and there isn't a lot of upgrading to do. Just like computers, the price for modems should be low. The modem comes with all the cords/cables you'll need to connect it to your computer/router. 10/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Meets Expectations Meets expectations. No issues after first month of use with Comcast cable internet. Good product. 06/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Same model as Mediacom This cable modem is exactly the same as the one I was renting from Mediacom withour the monthly fees. Mediacom customer service was very accomodating in setting up the new cable modem. It was online in 2 minutes. 06/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Has the OLD Industry specs DOCSIS 2.0!! Thanks to another old post I checked with Charter, both on the phone and at their web site. All the new modems are now with the new Industry standard DOCSIS 3.0 and that is what they recommend, "otherwise your speed may be slower and it won't work the best with Charter's other features". I was on my way in to buy this, but fortunately checked the web to make sure I was buying current specs. GLAD I CHECKED! 05/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Price for what I need - Beats paying comcast 7$ every month should pay itself off in less than a year. 07/14/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by **COMCAST CUSTOMERS READ ME** Standard Cable modem. Just like all the rest. If you want one, buy one. DO NOT RENT FROM COMCAST! Their rental rates are redic. Just buy from HERE! You'll have the same results, trust me. 04/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by pretty mad Love the product, have used one before and loved it. But I'm not sure who's to fault when it comes to buying one that came with no power cord... I can't return it because my wife tossed out the receipt and we didn't open it until 4 or 5 days after we bought it. So all i need to know now, is where do I go to buy a 12VAC power cord that fits??? 09/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used for 2 years On advice from our Charter guy, I bought this modem. It's worked perfectly and has saved us $7 a month for the past two years over renting a modem from Charter. 09/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works just great !! Used this product in the past month and didn't see any issues so far. Configured seamlessly with my Cisco Router. I don't advice this though if your internet speed is greater than 12Mbps because this modem is DOCSIS 2.0 and you will be compromising upload/download efficiency if you go beyond the threshold. Just something to think about. 08/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great modem! I bought this modem so I didn't have to rent one from Comcast. It has been working great so far...no complaints! 08/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great modem to save money its comes with built in firmware and activate quickly 06/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by MOTOROLA SB510U MODEM THIS IS A GREAT MODEM I WAS TOLD BY A COMCAST SERVICE TECH TO GET THIS MODEL. IT REALLY WORKS GREAT WITH NO CUT OFFS!!!!!!BUY IT YOU WILL NOT GO WRONG!!! 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the price Easy to set up and use. Saves the monthly lease fee charged by cable internet providers. 04/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why did I wait so long When I moved to this house I am in now I actually thought I bought this unit for myself since it is not stated on the bill. I had bought so many items when setting up my new home alone, time passed and I lost track. I just called the cable for another reason and we talked and found that my modem is being rented by me for $7.00 per month. "Well why can't I buy one" I asked and she told me I could. this motem here is the exact one I have been using for 7 years and it is amzing it works perfectly and has never given me a problem. Afte 7 years of paying I just realized I could have saved over $670.00 by buying this myself. I will be buying one tomorrow. I can't believe I let this slip by me. Get one and hook it up yourself and save $7.00 a month, over time it does add up and why give them more money than they deserve. 01/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works fine with Comcast In their eternal quest to alienate customers, Comcast recently forced me to replace my modem. Voicemails warned that my current modem was about to become unsupported on their network. The choices were: rent one from Comca$t, or purchase a new one from the supported list. The SB5101U was one of the cheaper supported models so I bought it online with ship-to-store. It works fine: no better but no worse than the Linksys it replaced. Unexpectedly, Wal-Mart took some of the sting out the experience: when I picked the item up, I was given a $15 credit reflecting the lower in-store price at the time. Nice touch. 12/18/2011
1-30 of 137 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew293
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp