See All Reviews
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 36 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty good installment into the series I haven't gotten through the entire game yet, but from what I've played of the game thus far, I am very impressed. The game-play is easy to get used to as well as the controls. The story-line is also good. I really appreciate how they incorporated the 3-d aspect with the side-scrolling feeling. It's very smooth. Sometimes when you are permanently stuck in 1st person to look around the environment to look for clues I've found that it can be a bit puzzling to lock onto the object that I need to in order to progress. Oh, and I LOVE that TeamNinja helped on this one. I like the special ways to kill enemies that, obviously, were taken from TeamNinja. Good job overall! 09/15/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Other M review from BIG Samus fan this game has horrible controls, horrible gameplay very very dissapointed 09/19/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by ITS DUAL LAYERED!!! I pre-ordered this game at first, and it didn't work on my Wii. So I returned it and got another one. Also didn't work. Wii couldn't read it. Found out that it's because this is a DUAL LAYERED DISK! Only Brawl and Metroid: Trilogy are also dual layered, and they are a LOT harder for the Wii to read. The laser needs to be aligned perfectly to play it. I have yet to play it, and I really want to, but to repair my Wii it will take $65. So if you had your Wii for a while or you can't play Brawl on it, WAIT! Get the Wii checked out first. 09/29/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Total Disappointment I have played most of the Metroid's since Super Nintendo, and have enjoyed them all, especially with advancements in technology and detail. I just bought this one because all the others were great. I was wrong. It was short. My wife completed it with all acquired items in less than 20 hrs, with lots of pause times for kids. Usually with other games it takes her much longer to complete a game relative to mine, so 20 hours is very short for her. The 3D-ness was poor and limited in movement, especially when pointing the remote at the screen (no movement). With the maps, you could not tell what room you were in, and the orientation was not in line with the quick map on the play screen, so directionality is thrown out the window. You also could not move the map around to see it better, no matter how hard you tried. You could not shoot and move at the same time, especially when moving away from targets. And the idea of, technically, having the equipment you will use and merely were given permission to use it from the Commander, instead of acquiring them, was ridiculous. Very not in line with the other games. I refused to finish the game, and in a week and a half traded it in. The game manufacturer changed which is why I think it was so different, but the quality and design are two or three steps backwards. This should have been the N-64 variant, which never had a Metroid, though I waited patiently at the time for there to be one. But with actual 3D from Gamecube and Wii, this was a failure. Not Recommended. It mad me very sad. 09/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome installment to the series. I bought this game, being a fan of the series. I was not disappointed! This is a very fun game, has beautiful cut-scenes, and has very nice graphics. However, this game is a little more violent and more intense than the other games such as Prime 1, 2 & 3. Blood is shown in some scenes, however, it is shown green, yellow, and in one case, black. There are a few disturbing looking enemies, and a couple half decayed, and frozen bodies. That said, this is a very fun game for most hardcore gamers, 12+. I would recommend this in a heartbeat! 07/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Game Bought this game my son. He loves it. It's a great addition to the metriod family. Some of the parts of the game reminds me of the older versions of side scrolling Metriod games. 12/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT GAME This game is great !!! Good graphics for Wii, engaging story great voice acting, easy to use controls, stunning animation. 10/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my favorite of the series I have loved Metroid from the first game on NES and have played most of them including on gameboy and gamecube. This game gets back to the basics and takes the best of all of them into an interesting and unique combo mode of play. I had trouble playing any of the Metroid: Prime games for long. After a while they'd give me a headache, get frustrating, lose interest, and the "saves" were too far apart that you had to commit at least an hour of play to move forward. "The other M", still uses the first person perspective in a fun way, but for the most part you play the game as a third-person, yet 3D, platformer. This lets you really see and feel the great action Samus has in her movement while still being able to switch back to first person view at anytime you want to search an area and/or blast some baddies. The game control is also VERY intuitive and simple. This allows for almost anyone to pick it up at anytime and jump right in. The game also moves along at a good pace with good storytelling, missions being clear and save points being frequent so you can play for only 20 min if you want, or more time if you have it. There is also a story recap when the game loads so you can remember where you're at if you haven't played in a while making it easy to jump back into. The only complaint I have is that when you destroy enemies, there are no missile or energy to collect as every other Metroid game, so the only reason you really have to kill any is if they are in your way. However, there is a new "concentrate" method that let's you replenish your missiles at any time and your energy when extremely low...it's not bad, just different and a new strategy to play from other Metroids. I know there's a lot of critics out there thinking that the franchise was ruined, but I honestly feel this is one of the most enjoyable Metroid's in a long time for both the casual and fanatic gamer. The graphics are beautiful, the gameplay is engaging, and everything moves along at a great pace with a lot of fun action and puzzle solving. 09/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I freaking love this game really really great installment to the series team ninja rocks great graphics even for wii amazing cut scenes only complaint is I wish it used the wii classic controller pro just because the first person view isn't all that great... other than that great game 09/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by It has a new way to use the controller. I just have to get used to it. I'm getting there. 09/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome as anticipated. Finally, and worth the wait. Like the feel of the classics only 100 times better graphics and play. 09/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Game I got this game two days after it came out, so that is one good thing. I played it and thought it was amazing so in my opinion get this game. 09/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Worthy Addition to the Series While some of the game's aspects might be considered off-putting, such as Samus's dialogue and obvious femininity, the game itself is to the franchise what New! Super Mario Bros. Wii was to its franchise. If you appreciated games like Super Metroid and Metroid Fusion, you'll enjoy this. If you're expecting another 'Metroid Prime', look elsewhere. 09/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Game Yet another excellent Nintendo game. Other than some minor hiccoughs with the controls. Using the wiimote isn't the most intuitive. Joysticks would have been better. Using the wiimote was hard at first. Soon I got used to it. Truely the story was excellent. Largely in part due to Team Ninja, it's the best story out of any Metroid game. Original style gameplay when compared to other Metroid titles. Still, this is solid enough to stand on it's own. Tons of exploration. The graphics are excellent too! Hours of gameplay. Exciting boss battles. Great storyline. Although it wasn't developed by Nintendo directly, it's still holding true to their quality standards. Metroid: Other M is a awesome game. Everyone should play it, and make note of the first letter of every sentence. 09/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great new game continues in Metroid traditon. This game is fun. If you've liked any Metroid games before, this has a little bit of all of those combined to create a really perfect new experience. The story is a little boring, but the gameplay is top notch. While the controls take a little time to get used to, the switch between 1st and 3rd person views is not as annoying as everyone has said. Lots of exploration, here, too, and not just killing things, which was a concern since Team Ninja made it. Definitely buy this if you own a Wii. 09/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Metroid Game Yet I've played Metroid, all 3 console Metroid Primes, and Metroid Prime Hunters for DS, and I can honestly say that Metroid Other M is the best one I've played. It goes back to the classic 3rd person overhead, but has a first person mode for examining and firing missiles. It's perfect; Team Ninja perfected this game, and it's worth every penny. 09/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Constant Gamer Loved this game! 09/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome This Metroid is a perfect balance of the prime series and classic Metroid. Absolutely stunning and loads of fun to play. 09/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short but sweet Love the new play mechanics (after a short learning curve) Like the CG movies. Story could be a little more thought out. TOO SHORT! I beat this in 2 days, without really trying. Once you beat the game, you unlock the theater mode, which lets you watch all the cut-scenes with in game videos pieced in between, so its like watching a full movie, so that makes it more worth buying. Still working on hard mode, :S 09/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Very Different Metroid Game If you've played other Metroid games, you will quickly realize that this game is pretty different from previous games in the franchise. This game begins with a retelling (in 3D) of the events at the end of Super Metroid (the classic SNES platformer, IMO the best game of the series). The game goes on to reveal many more experiences from Samus' past, more so than any previous game. This game simply has more story telling (mostly in the way of cutscenes) than any previous Metroid game. Metroid: Other M is basically a 3rd person 3D platformer, with the ability to switch to 1st person mode by aiming the Wiimote at the screen (reminiscent of Super Paper Mario), although you can't move in 1st person mode. It feels a bit "2D" due to the locked camera angle in each room, although you can always move in 3 dimensions. There is heavy auto-aiming to allow 2D-like shooting, which means that combat focuses on dodging and timing skills. One odd/interesting/frustrating choice is that missiles must be targeted using the 1st person mode, so you must time their use carefully as you are left open to attack. Gone are the many beams and visors to choose, leaving a fairly minimal HUD. The sophisticated map system is available under the pause menu, as well as a weapons/suit screen similar to Super Metroid. Overall, the gameplay style feels unique among Metroid games. My biggest complaint about the game is that it is extremely linear. Unlike most games in the Metroid series, Other M does not develop an atmosphere of exploration. Progress through the game triggers waypoint after destination waypoint, progress toward which is usually room after room in obvious linear succession. (Metroid Fusion is the other game to do this) To me, this ruins the fun of exploring and figuring out which new abilities unlock which areas of the map. To me this was the elegant design which was Super Metroid. Overall, a fun game, an interesting new take in the Metroid franchise. 09/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Fun! This was a great game! I didn't think I would like the controls but I really did. The story and game play were awesome! I just wish it was a little longer or had some replay value. If you are quick with games I would suggest just renting this one before you drop $50. But either way it's good. 09/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome addition to the series! I thought this was a fabulous game. Possibly the best Metroid game ever. The only negative that I can say is that it is pretty short for a Metroid game. They usually take days to finish and this one was a matter of hours. It is still fun to play the epilogue of the game though! 09/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A modern throw back to what defined the series Metroid Other M brings back all of the aspects of the Metroid series that makes it work. From the moment you pick up your Wii remote you'll be given a nostalgic thrill ride that will leave you begging for more. A thrilling game for series veterens or new comers alike. 09/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by A MUST For Metroid Fans If you want a completed view of the Metroid timeline thus far, you need to get this game. The setting is early in the Metroid series, immediately following Metroid 1 I believe. More than other Metroid games, this one focuses mostly on Samus and gives a lot of depth to her character, which is rare for a Nintendo series (not hating just stating) but it also follows that this means the game, at times, basically feels like a bunch of cinematics strung together by short gameplay sequences. However, the controls are seamless once you learn them, and what gameplay there is is fantastic. 09/11/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Metroid This Metroid is geared more toward the casual gamer than the die-hard Metroid fan. Its controls are very straight forward. Rotation of the controller becomes second nature after a few minutes of gameplay. As an inexperienced gamer, I anticipate 15-20 hours of actual game play to beat the game. 09/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Game This is an excellent addition to the Metroid universe. If your first exposure to Metroid was on the NES, GameBoy, or SNES you'll instantly love this title. The controls are based on the classic 2D set with a first person mode that is reminiscent of the Metroid Prime series. The story will keep you involved until the end. 09/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great game Fantastic graphics for wii and a good story as well this game will not disappoint! 09/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Wii game Next to Mario Galaxy, the coolest game for the Wii ever. 09/07/2010
1-29 of 29 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw292
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp