Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 75 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Probably the best kitchen can I've ever owned! At first I thought it was silly to review a kitchen trash can, but my new Hefty Touch-Lid Wastebasket is probably the best kitchen can I've ever owned. A standard 13-gallon bag fits perfectly inside, snug all the way around, and the lid snaps on top and keeps the bag completely secure. Even better, this can is so well-shaped and large that I'm emptying it 60% less often than my old can, which was a fancy-shmancy stainless steel oval contraption that barely held anything at all. I love this product! 08/03/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by The perfect kitchen trash can I would have given it 5 stars, but the trash can came with so many huge stickers all over it that do not just come off. Packing stickers, advertisement stickers and the list goes on. So, it looks kind of messy. Just letting you know before hand. Might be worth going and picking up one that does not have a bunch of stickers all over it. 09/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for those with pets! This trash can is great for those who have pets because the lid is on a spring & stays closed unless you push the button to open it. No more dogs getting into the trash. Color is very neutral & size is perfect for a large kitchen trash bag. I would recommend this product. 06/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by YIPPEE! For a number of years I have looked and looked for the perfect kitchen trash can.........THIS IS IT! The swing touch lid works like a charm, closes easily with a snap. No pesky foot pedals anymore. SO happy I found this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 08/03/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great, but doesn't last. I purchased this can because I recently had adopted two kittens, and because they got into everything in the house I wanted a trash can that could limit their access to my kitchen garbage. This can works very well for that, is a good size, and it's appearance is good. I was quite satisfied until I had used it approximately 5 months, at which point a small plastic piece broke off the lid. This small cylinder serves as both a pivot point on one side and a spring retainer. It's failure renders the spring loaded lid useless, and now I have to manually raise the lid with one hand while unlatching it with the other. I emailed Hefty Products and received no response. I'm completely dissatisfied with this products short lifespan, and won't purchase another Hefty can. Save your money and buy products that will last. 01/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product! Just when you thought a basket was just a basket! I chose this one because of all the positive reviews and found it to be exactly as most people said- well made and designed; easy open, easyclose; bag fits perfect and stays in place so you can fill it to the max; and it slides out easily even then! I guess a basket is not just a basket afterall! 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy I got this trashcan to use outside of my dog kennel to dispose of dog waste until trash pick up. It works great, cuts down on the odor and keeps the rain out of the bags. I use the 13 gal bag to line the can and smaller bags for the waste. I love the pop up lid. The only thing I don't like about it is the color, I have never been fond of beige, but what the heck, it's a trash can and not a decorative item. BTW it's not what I would call tan, but rather a light beige. 08/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Kitchen Trash Can A review on a trash can seems silly...but I couldn't find a nice trash can with a practical lid to keep my 2 dogs out of...well, I found it....very economical, nice looking --- but my dogs hate it...Great product and can't beat the price 01/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Doesn't do what it's supposed to. The touch lid does not work, i.e., when one taps/touches the release mechanism, it does not open the lid, which it's supposed to do. In other words, the lid does not spring open upon touching the release button on it. 05/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the only trash can that has been able to keep my dog out of my trash. It's easy to open, closes without hassle. The bag comes out without a fuss because the sides aren't bending in near the top like I see with other cans. Love this can - it was a great value for my money. 08/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have been shopping and buying trash cans from all over...finally I found the perfect trash can! Perfect lid, well built, nice and plain looking...even better price! Lid pops open when you need it to and clicks shut when you don't. The best! 02/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by very pleased i decided to go with this trash can after reading all the positive remarks i am happy i did 05/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very satisfied. Excellent quality for the price. Very satisfied. 05/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have a monogamous relationship with this can I looked for two years for the perfect trash can to meet my needs before finding this one. I bought my first about 5 years ago. The lids lost their springs and so I have needed to replace them ( but thats because I do three point shots from across the room). A competitor sells the same one, but not in this color and this color is half of why I love this can (and a very hard color to find I might add). It blends perfectly with my cabinetry. Onto functionality: I love this can because of the lid. I need a lid because I have toddlers and because my garbage can is not in a cabinet. I cook like a wild woman and I need the lid to remain in the open position while I actively cook and to close it when I'm no longer working in there. There is no other trash can I have found that allows you to do this (sensor lids, step lids, and swinging lids create extra work and aren't good for crazy cooks such as myself). When it came time to replace them, I looked high and low finally finding the exact one here at Walmart. I would pay $50 for this can. But its sooo much cheaper. Worth every penny. But skip the three point shots from across the room or your springs will pop off, you'll loose them and then you'll be sad. To add, I have converted a few to my trash can and they also are in a committed relationship with it. 02/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am very happy with this purchase, though I've only had for a short time (about a month.) The touch top lid works very well so far. I am pleased with the color and shape of the can. It looks much nicer than the other plastic trash cans. Just wish I more more colors to choose from. 01/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best trash can ever. I love this trash can. I had one and a friend came over and instead of pushing the little latch to open the can he some how forced it up and broke it. The lid would not stay shut after that so I went on the search for a new can. I found it at WalMart.com. This is the only trash can I will buy. I hope they keep it around forever! The only thing is, even though I could get it through WalMart.com, I wish they would carry in the store. 12/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product, esp for the price! I have had this trash can for about 17 years. The lid is at a point where it will not stay shut anymore. I'm amazed that I was able to find this still available for sale AND at a good price!! I'm buying several as we now have our 1 yr old labs and one of them loves to swallow ANY type of paper. So I need covered trash cans everywhere. This will do the trick. I'm just hoping that the quality is still the same! 11/28/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by I got this one to replace the one my man broke. It's exactly the same colour and size which is what I wanted. The last one I bought lasted about 8 years. Hopefully this one will too. 06/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A helpful product One touch opening feature. Trash bags stay in place and never fall to the bottom of the trash can. 05/22/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by This is a great big waste basket I ordered this online and did not pay much attention to how many quarts it was, it just looked like a kitchen basket. When it was delivered it was huge! This is a big round basket and one would need a big kitchen to put it in. I really would not want a basket this big anyway because by the time I filled it up the garbage would be moldy. I returned it to the store and got a smaller one. 08/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cheap and Functional I bought this wastebasket because it was inexpensive and ships for free. It's everything I was expecting. The color isn't the best, but for the price that didn't matter. Also the hinges on the lid are pretty tightly wound, so it flies open with some force. I assume after use it will relax a little. 09/30/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great but won't keep a persistent pup out I bought this trash can to hopefully keep my trash loving pooch out of it. I had hoped that a touch-lid would keep our dog from getting into the trash everyday. Unfortunately, I was unsuccessful. Though the touch-lid works great the whole top piece doesn't really snap on or anything so a simple nudge of the nose and it's an all-access pass to last night's chicken bones. (I also have a newfoundland/chow chow/lab mix so he has a considerable height/size advantage over many four-legged friends). However, I did like the touch-lid as it does keep the smell contained and looks much better than an open trash can in your kitchen. Overall, I am satisfied with this product despite its inability to keep our dog out of the trash. For those with smaller pets or just a need for a new trashcan, I would definitely recommend this product. 07/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We specifically wanted a beige garbage can which is very difficult to find. Walmart had exactly what we wanted. The spring loaded lid opens with ease and closes securely. No complaints. 10/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps the cats out of the garbage can. Works nicel Looks good, utilizes 13 gallon bags perfectly, and keep the cats out. :-) We love it. 10/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good size, sturdy, & a good value This trash can is a good replacement for a larger can I discarded. It fits better into my kitchen, but provides plenty of space for trash without allowing (smelly) garbage to pile up too long. The touch open lid is convenient to use. I have not had the can long enough to assess its durability. I ordered FREE ship to store. Pick up was very convenient. Although the item did take a little longer to arrive than I expected, it met the delivery schedule stated at time of purchase. 10/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean and and affordable for kitchen Bought this for my kitchen and it definitely saves a lot of time taking the trash out. It is large and holds tall kitchen bags well. The lid lip holds the bag in easily and because the lid is fitted inside the frame of the lip, the lid doesn't get full of trash. The lid extends and is easy to take off, making it easy to throw trash into from the side of the counter or the kitchen table. I am impressed with the product and its size. Glad I didn't spend a fortune on a step/motion-sensor trashcan. 07/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hefty Kitchen Trash Can I found this to be a great upgrade from my old trash can. The touch-lid is easy to use, and keeps everything tidy! 07/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great small trash can. It is exactly what we needed for our small kitchen. It is difficult to find off white trash cans. It is listed as tan, but I see it as off white or ivory. Good color. Love the touch lid and well worth the money compared to others that I had looked at online and in stores. Looks very durable and good quality. 07/19/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I was under the assumption that the lid locked in place. it does not. If the can falls over the lid will come off and your trash will go everywhere. But the touch open lid option works good. 07/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WHAT A DREAM This is the best trash can in the market. The bag fits perfectly in this trash can, it is amzing how much trash it holds, I am very happy with this trash can. 06/10/2012
1-30 of 54 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew301
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp