Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 39 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by So hard to find this product anymore, been using it for about 5 years and love it. 05/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good product very good scent, easy to apply and good value 06/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small, goes quick with long hair I bought the 3-pack of this hairspray and all 3 were gone in under 2 months. I have long hair, so that's understandable. It smells good! It would be perfect for people with short hair and use spray gel. 03/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THIS STUFF! I have tried numerous hair gels but this is the only one that holds all day long no matter what the weather and my hair doesn't feel weighed down. 10/04/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Please stock this in stores So about every 6 months or so I find myself going from store to store trying to find this spray gel. I buy as many as I can get. Usually 4-6 because that is all they have. Well it is that time again and I am down to my last bottle. I have been to 2 Walmart's and at least 5 or more other stores. I give up. I will order them online this time 09/14/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Call me a control freak... ...but I need hair products only in my hair. This is not for anyone who prefers low-maintenance locks. My store no longer carries the squeezable tubes of gel, so I purchased this hoping it wouldn't be as bad as I imagined it. I was very surprised at what actually transpired after less than 15 seconds. My hands hurt from squirting this stuff not only on my hair, but also the floor, my back, face, ears, and shoulders. Now I remember why I stopped purchasing sprays. I'm not even sure if I got all of my hair covered. I plan to pour this into a different container and use my hands the way gel is meant to be applied. It says on the bottle "without being stiff [sic]". Well, my back is crunchy. So is my hair. 07/08/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Herbal essences Great 06/09/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE BEST SPRAY GEL! I've tried every spray gel under the sun, and this one is the best at keeping my curls defined with no frizz. I live in fear that Clairol will stop making this product someday, as this is literally the only product out there that does the job...I stockpile it! Love it! 12/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great This is a great product! It's very hard to find this stocked in the store...found it online only. 12/26/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why can't I find this in stores anymore??? I need this spray gel for my daughter's hair, it helps smooth and control those wispy hairs around her face whether I'm putting in a pony tail or combing back into a barrett. BUT...I can't find in stores anymore. I've been out for months, every time I go to Target or grocery store I search and search. I've been trying to remember to go online to see if I can buy. Took me forever to remember. Busy mom. Please bring back to stores like Target!!!! I'm relieved however that I can buy on-line, just kind of a pain. 05/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this product! It helps bring out the curls in my hair without weighing it down. 04/20/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but hard to find Every time I find a spray gel I like they stop making it. So I bought 7 bottles this time 11/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love your Curls.... Best hair product ever for curly locks girls....I love this spray gel...I am able to wash my curly locks and spray in some of this and air dry then scrunch a little and beautiful, non-frizzy curls all day. Everyone asks what I use on my curls...I even get asked because it smells so good. The best part is you can even re-wet your hair to freshen it up and it still works...no build up or flakes or goo. Best stuff ever!!!! Don't ever stop making this product. 03/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this spray gel! I have naturally curly hair and I don't like to use products that make my hair dry out or make it feel sticky when I touch it. It holds my curls so they don't frizz yet it feels like I don't have anything in it - but if didn't have the spray gel in it, my hair would just frizz out. I panicked when I went to the store and couldn't find it. I hadn't realized they changed the bottle- whew I'm releved! 03/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by THE BEST OF THE BEST!!!! I agree with most of the reviews, I have been a loyal customer since I'm like 16 years old, now I'm almost 30. So its been a loooong time. The old GEL SPRAY IN THE CLEAR BOTTLE was the best of the best. This new one and the purple bottle gel spray work ok. The only thing I am having a really haaaarrrrddd time its finding the spray gels in particular. Every where I go I look for them and when ever I see more than one bottle I buy them ALL. Because of that reason I am in this web site, to see if I could buy them directly from you. But unfortunately no, I hope the company takes into consideration all the reviews to either or both, to BRING THE OLD SPRAY GEL BACK &/or MAKE THE NEW ONE MORE ACCESSIBLE to the loyal customers like myself and many more... come on listen to us. 10/11/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 Another crunchy, crusty product I thought this spray might be a little different than normal hairsprays, because it wasn't super max hold, just a 2 on a 1-3 scale, and it's a spray gel. I was very wrong. While it smells great, this spray makes hair crusty, crunchy and stiff. Technically it 'holds' well, but it makes hair inflexible and stuck together in clumps, I can't get my fingers through it. I have to wash my hair to get the residue out. I would not recommend this for anyone. 09/21/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Want Old Product BACK! I understand improvements. BUT...the old Extra Hold Spray GEL in the clear bottle was the BEST! The new gel is adequate but not great. If the old stuff were available I would chose that in a minute. Perhaps when you had something good, you should have left it alone. I really miss the old spray gel and hope you would consider bringing it back to the shelves. And for those reading this....if you know of any place in the U,S, to buy a supply of the old spray gel, how about posting it here so we can all share in the good find. 08/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Set Me Up Extra Hold Spray Gel I agree w/all the others the SPRAY GEL is really hard to find any where. I use it in combination w/Set me Up Gel in a tube. But use lots of the Spray Gel ALL over, before, during and after and also when straightening. It makes my fine soft hair feel like hair. Also still looking for your Dangerously Straight Iron Me Flat and Shimmery Nights Spray Gel products that seems to of disappeared also. I used to use a Gel 2 Mousse but that also is off the market. It is costing me lots of money to find a product - only to have it disappear. Herbal Essence people - hope you have read these reviews - we need this SPRAY GEL - not that hair fixative hair spray one! 06/27/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good i use this for flyaways and it works good.i don't quite understand what this product is made for though,like what do i do?but its a great product i have to try the hairpsprays!:) 06/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best i have ever used-but miss sorely i love the Herbal Essences spray gel extra hold and cannot find it anywhere. It has been best product ever for my type of straight hair and i'm "hairly" desperate/devastated. What do you suggest or tell me where or when to find the spray gel extra hold again ? 05/24/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by What happened?? I have been using the spray gel for years and was extremely pleased with the product up until recently....As others have written many things have changed, and NOT for the better. First the bottles started to shrink while the prices increased. Ok, I will deal with that because I loved the product. But then the spray gel started to disapear from stores. Now I cannot find it anywhere including on this website which proclaims to offer it. The tousle me softly spray gel does not work as well and is so strong smelling I consider it almost offensive. PLEASE BRING THE OLD PRODUCT BACK OR TELL US WHERE WE CAN FIND IT!!!!!!!!!!! 05/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great!!! i LOVE the smell of the smell and how this works on my hair.whether im flat ironing it or having it natural however since my hiar is a smidge thick it should be MUCH bigger like 6.8 ounces like the mousse but totallly works!!!also try da mousse =) 03/01/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Used to be a wonderful product what changed? I have been a user of this product for 7 years. I have not liked the change in this over the past 6 months. I have very curley hair and this was the only product that controled the frizz. Now seems not only does it not control the frizz it also is drying out my hair. I also use the shampoo and cond. for dry hair. It does not smell the same nor function like it used to. Wish you would bring back the old stuff that was in the clear bottle. :( 02/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great it works i love this product it smells ggreat and works well however i wish it was cheaper or way bigger it is really small but its worth buying thank you it helps my style hold 01/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great for my waves! This spray gel works great for my type 2c waves! Unlike regular gels that usually leave my hair crunchy and stiff, this keeps my hair frizz-free all day, but it still has softness and movement. In the morning, I just spray this on, finger-comb, and go. The smell is amazing - almost like a floral garden! I recommend this for anyone who wants flexible, all-day hold for any hair style. Great product! 11/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING! This is a great product! It actually holds my hair in place! 10/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works!!! This spray gel actually works! After I am done styling my hair, I spray a light layer on my hair, and it holds my style well! When my hair is down, this spray gel tames some of the frizz, but, when my hair is up, it tames nearly all of the frizz. It doesn't make my hair sticky or crunchy, and it's the only spray that I've come across that doesn't dry out my hair. Thanks, Herbal Essences!!! 09/05/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by New formula is HORRIBLE I have used the Set Me Up spray gel for years, but recently the formula has changed, causing me to NOT buy this product ever again! It's main ingredient is now ALCOHOL...what rocket scientist thought this up? The alcohol causes my hair, as well as ANYONE'S hair I assume, to dry up and feel like straw. It's horrible, and I would not recommend this product to anyone. 08/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Underrated Product! I sprayed this gel on damp hair, and it is the only product that has actually helped me blow dry my thick hair straight. [I've been trying to avoid using a straightener]. The scent is good, but pretty faint, which I like because it doesn't interfere with the scent of my new fave [hydralicious reconditioning]. This product is really versatile, and I love that it can also hold a curly style all day without any crunchiness. I hope others can discover how amazing this stuff is. Please don't stop making it ever! 07/20/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING!!! I love the spray gel so much! it is not expensive and it lasts pretty long. i have really thick hair so it doesnt last as long as it may for some people but it works great! What i do is I shower every night before I go to bed and after i get out i towel dry it to get the excess water out. when my hair is damp I put some of the "none of your frizzness smoothing leave in cream" on the mid sections and tips (a small amount, if you put too much it will leave your hair looking greasy around the tips). Then every morning I flat iron my hair. (I use CHI heat protectant spray which works really well). after i am done I use this spray gel al over my head and it keeps my hair smooth, soft, non frizzy and straight all day! I would seriously suggest those two products to anyone who was thick hair and who likes to flat iron it in the morning! Hope this helped :) 07/13/2009
  • 2015-10-09T04:06:15.103-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_39, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_14150138, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 38 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.