Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 44 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by TOTALLY AWESOME CANOPY This is an excellent canopy for both sunshine or heavy rain. Water drains very well. The vent at the top center allows airflow on very hot days. I love the huge 13' x 13' size. It provides shelter at the biggest picnic tables. It takes one very strong person or two people to set it up, but one person can easily take it down and pack it away in its awesome wheeled storage bag. I had a more expensive Quest brand canopy earlier this year, but it broke during the very first rain we had. This one is excellent in even very heavy rain. 08/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very well made and easy to put up canopy. Product comes with a nice bag with wheels to drag around if needed. I had a party recently with close to 7 different tents, sizes and manufactures. I bought two of these and were the easiest to put up and received the most comments on how nice they were. The vent opening at the top definitely made these canopies a bit cooler. The others I had that did not have that feature were a little bit hotter to sit under. 90' plus day. The coleman website has a product video which was also helpful for installation. Bottom line for me was price and high quality, which was great comparetively and shipping was free. I didn't find a better deal. 07/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Up and Super Quality We purchased this for Washington camping, as it seems to always rain. I was very happy with the quality of the fabric and frame. It is a super simple, one person operation to put up and take down. It takes about 5 mins total. Repels water easily. This shelter is very solid when put up, especially when compared to previous shelters I have owned. My son likes to put his cot up and sleep underneath of it. The only thing that I can say negative is it amazes me that something so simple (and with very little material) can cost so much. Although I purchased mine thru this website and saved $85.00 compared to other places. 10/09/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by 13 X 13 tent top This item is a bit difficult for 1 person to set up but very easy for 2 people. When it's set up it is well worth the extra effort, it has 169 sq. ft. of shelter compared to about 100 sq. ft. on most in-store shelters. Plenty of height at the edges for tall people. The top is fairly thin (about like tent material) but as far as I can tell is waterproof. I always worry about fitting it back in the bag but it always seems to fit with a little extra room. It's a little more expensive than the run-of-the-mill EZ-up canopies but has alot more coverage. 11/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great I was a little apprehensive about the product in the rain, but after two torrential downpours it held up with no puddleing. Spraied the seams with silicone spray and it made the seam waterproof. 05/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great shelter We lost a shelter in a rain storm this summer, and this was to replace it. We like it sooooo much better! It went up in a snap, and we had wind and rain, but it stayed in place. The design of the roof makes the water drain efficiently, and the vented top allows the wind to escape, rather than billow and pull. 10/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by very well made shelter 06/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy set up Yes this was a great buy easy set up lite and keeps off the rain... 06/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good investment After reading reviews and searching for the best price, we decided to purchase the Coleman Canopy. It held up very well during some moderate windy evenings. It was easy to put up, we made some simple mistakes but were easily remedied. My advise; set it up first at home. Then set up at site will be a breeze. The storage bag has plenty of space to store the fabric. The wheels on bag makes carrying easy for most anyone. I'm glad we went with 13x13. 03/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It had a few leaks at the seams It is a great size and good looking canopy BUT it did leak at the seams. It's our first one so it could just be that they all do that. The leaks are minos a drop here and there. 06/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great canopy Great canopy..nice and roomy. Don't count on the bag. It broke the very first time we tried to put the canopy away. Totally too small, zipper broke on first time. Have some bungee cords on hand to tie the bag together. 08/16/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not made for the beach I bought this shelter for use at the beach. It lasted three days. On the fourth day, part of the metal frame sheared while I was putting the shelter up. It was a breezy morning, however the metal shouldn't have sheared the way it did. I went to Walmart and purchased a First-Up shelter after this one broke and put it up the same morning in the same breezy conditions with no problem at all. Over the three days of use I got out of this shelter, I had issues with the frame rubbing against the canopy and damaging it and one of the catch pins broke on the third day we used it. The shelter was put up correctly, so there is no excuse for it only lasting three days. I could have built a shelter out of tree limbs and bed sheets that would've lasted longer than this shelter did. I would absolutely NOT recommend this shelter for use at the beach. It may be ok for use in your backyard as long as you don't use it in breezy conditions. 06/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for family camping. Light weight but sturdy, goes up easy and packs away with ease. I like it! 01/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy with Product - needs clearer instructions The Coleman 13' x 13' Instant Shelter is a great product and serves my needs well. It provides ample shade and has a top vent which is very helpful. It can be put up by one person, but it is difficult. It is much easier for two people. If there are any drawbacks, I would have to say that the instructions on how to put on the vent could have been clearer. The shelter needs to be partially collapsed to get the vent installed. 08/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Shelter Nice size. Legs are hight adjustable. Over all a good buy! Be Aware, Once you set up the Shelter, Be sure to tie down the corners! The way it is constructed, the only way of being sure the Bar that holds the corner will not bend or break is securing them. Once tied down the Shelter is REALLY STURDY. 08/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Quality Awning Had a less expensive Coleman canopy and it folded in a rain storm. This one has withheld more than one major rainstorm. Very happy with it! 07/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This tent met all my expectations Was fairly easy to put up (still easier with two people) even on a windy day at the beach. Plenty of shade. I used larger spikes at the sandy beach, it came with 4" small metal ones. It comes with a transport bag with wheels (thank goodness) becaus it's heavy. I suggest setting it up once before you plan to use it. I hated to take mine down after a week in the backyard. So far its a great product and held up in high winds. 06/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Built-Good Buy We purchased the Coleman Shelter a few weeks back and finally had the opportunity to use it. It didn't take 3 minutes like the video shows but it took less than 10 minutes; nothing I am worried about. We only had to glance at the directions a couple of times. For the most part it was very common sense. I would rate the construction as heavy duty. All the metal is fairly high gauge and the fitting seem to be comparable. This is a nice size, well designed and well built shelter. 10/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Real Deal I put the tent up by myself. It would have been very helpful with two people. Although, it can be done with one person. I would recommend it to others. 10/13/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Roof rod broke instantly We were so disappointed with this shelter. We paid a little extra to get a really nice one to take on our beach vacation. However, it was more aggravating than it was worth. As soon as we started expanding it, the first time, one of the roof extension rods broke in two! Thus, all week at the beach, we had a tilted tent shelter that was difficult to put up. The lower buttons were hard to push to extend or withdraw. It certainly took longer than any 3 minutes to put up. The directions were way too limited. My husband never wants to see "IT" again. However, I plan to return it! On a positive note, The size was super and it would have been perfect if it hadn't broken one of its rods or it had not been so aggravating to assembly every morning on the beach! 07/02/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the money! Broke first time put up, one of the trusses is cracked now. It does not seem to be to sturdy either. Would not make the purchase again. Even looked on their site for a replacement truss and they do not have any for this model. 06/15/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Thunderstorms took these out Now ibought three of these, two inmarylandandone on peaks island. A fast movingthunderstorm in maryland broke the ropes holding these into the ground and destroyed the frame on one and bought covers The maine one survived the winds as they are constant, and the ropes are okay 10/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice 1 person can put it up. Carrying case makes it easy to transport. Looks nice. Works well. Gives you shade & keeps you dry. Use for camping & is excellent. 10/19/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible--do not buy This canopy is worthless. Do not buy. Coleman does not stand behind their products; they do not even sell parts for their products. Frame is very weak. Please try something else instead of this product. 10/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by large and sturdy Good product. Held up well to heavy Florida rains. Provides a lot of shelter and is a comfortable height even out toward perimeter of canopy. Pretty easy up after one or two practice runs but not really a one person job. It is quite heavy however. which is partly why it is sturdy, but makes it a canopy that you probably won't want to haul to the beach. It has wheels on storage case, but I can't see dragging it over sand. We use it for additional shade/shelter camping. 09/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Great canopy shelter I purchased this for a week at the beach with our large extended family. It is very large compared to other shelters on the market, and I like the way the sides extend beyond the frame. Do a trial run setting it up at home before you take it on a trip. It takes a few minutes to figure out the first time as the directions are sparse. But then it was a snap to use. Two people can set it up, but it is best if you have four, one on each corner, for the final step of expanding it. I used cloth reuseable grocery bags as anchors for the 4 corner ropes. Fill them with sand and, fasten the cord to them, partially bury them and they are very secure. I used tree marking plastic tape (a couple bucks at Lowe's) to mark the 4 cords so ourkids didn't get clotheslined! Make sure you get the end of the corner poles into the nylon mesh piece; if it misses it can poke through the corner, but that is only cosmetic if you get it back where it belongs. It held up well in strong breezes but I took it down when violent thundestorms approached. I didn't want to test it to failure. 08/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it Have been looking for a Conopy bought two from academy and they both were poorly made when I got this shipped to my house I was very pleased and wished I found this product earlier would definitely recommend getting this product!!! :) 08/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I expect a great product from Coleman. Canopy arrived in a few days. It was easy to put up with two people. I didn't leave it up for more that the one day but the canopy was very sturdy, well built. I plan on using it again this weekend for a large BBQ so I'm sure that the 165sq feet will be great to shade a large table. It was worth the money. I have a smaller canopy by another company and the Coleman is so much sturdier. I'm sure it will hold up to wind and rain if you secure it properly. 07/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fits our needs We bought this for our deck. Really needed two to set up. I remembered a reviewer who said to put the very top piece up before raising and it helped. We screwed it to the deck and secured three of the legs to the railings and it's nice and sturdy. When it rained, there were a few small leaks at the seams but we're not going to sit out in the rain, so it's no problem for us. We're pleased with the way it is made and it was a good price. 07/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great tent for a party It is easy to set up and covers a large area for sun and rain. Some suggestions: 1. It would be nice to replace the plastic arms with iron ones. 2. Make the cables more "visible", to prevent kids run into them. 05/08/2012
1-30 of 39 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw468
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp