Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 29 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just like the one Dad used I remember Dad used a dual filament Coleman when we camped as kids. His was a liquid gas pump lantern, but this is the same thing only with propane which is cleaner and more convenient. I remember the night woods seemed pretty spooky until Dad fired up the old Coleman lantern. Then, it was bright as day. You can do anything with this much light including cleaning fish, reading comic books, or writing postcards to your friends. This is a time-tested, reliable, excellent quality lantern. I am just delighted that they are so affordable. I bet Dad paid about this much when he bought his in 1959. A canister of propane lasts forever and you can even keep the lantern burning all night if you have to (although if you are in a public campground, you won't be popular burning this torch all night long! No need for batteries and the brilliance is consistent and predictable. In my opinion, this dual filament Coleman lantern beats battery powered lights hands down. 05/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good lantern I just got this lantern and have not used camping yet, but tried it out first, i had it connected to a tree that comes off a 20lb propane tank. It lit up great on the porch, and i have no worries it will work great camping, The package rated its lumens at 810, which is different than the ad, and the plastic cover that came with it looks better than the one pictured, also the base looks different with the instastart! I knew nothing about lanterns prior to this and learned the hard way that you have to burn the mantles before using, had one rip, got replacements, and burned a pack of those as well, when u connect mantles, you then have to take a match and wave it under the mantles, and it does give off odor so do out doors, it will actually seem like they are burning up, but that is what is meant to happen, and they are very brittle once burned, they will crumble to dust when touched, once you do that this thing is good to go, when i replaced mantles it was in daytime, and made sure they worked outside, and even in daylight this thing had me seeing spots for awhile, also this gets extremely hot, and needs cooldown before putting away. 08/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's that great, we bought another! We are avid campers, so all our stuff getting constantly shifted around has caused the glass to break on several occassions. Now we don't worry about that happening any longer. The case keeps the glass safe and secure. We love this product! 03/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great item, great buy Its coleman and its great! Walmart, as usual, has the best price on this. We have found the exact item for 5-10 dollars higher at competitors stores and retail stores. Thank you Walmart for your price saving buys!!!!! 06/13/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by coleman lantern not very well made, my older single mantel is brighter, the handle and bace where the propane tank sits are junk. 03/19/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This lanterns glass is loose and has a great possibility of breaking easily, because it is not secure enough in the brackets used to hold in place. 08/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just used this lantern on an 8 day trip in the mountains, worked great. Comes with its own storage case, and has an electric starter, no matches needed. If your looking for a very good lantern this is the one! 10/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great! Purchased this lantern to replace my older style gas coleman lantern as i was having trouble finding a replacement glass globe which was broken. This lantern stores itself in a case that is provided which protects the glass globe and it works great. Also love the push button lighter as opposed to using a match with my old one. I would highly recommend this lantern to everytone. 09/30/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent Price for a Decent Latern Took this lantern home and set it up right away. Pre-Burnt the Mantles as instructed. Lantern fired on the first attempt. Good Bright Light and Good Heat. The only problem I had with it was the Bail (The Handle). It doesn't stay in properly. After a little bit of wiggling and pushing I finally got the bail to stay in. It's still a little lose making transport a bit difficult. Makes the glass a bit shaky as well. Overall It was a good price to play for a decent quality lantern. 05/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent! Two tips: 1) Don't try to unscrew the nut on the top of the lantern while the case is attached. The nut is permantly attached to the cover and you will strip it out if the case is wrapped around it. 2) I buy Worthington 1 lb propane bottles from Walmart and they are not snug in the base; hence, when you lift the lantern to walk with it, the base stays where it sat. I'm not sure if Coleman bottles stay snug and "attach" to the base. Overall, it'll meet my needs. It'll be on a propane tree mostly anyways. This model does have the InstaStart...the picture is wrong on this page and Coleman's webpage. 04/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worked really well after the pre-burning the mantles at instructions say. First there was a yellowist light then went to more of a white light with time. Good Product. 11/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camp light I just love the auto light feature. Gone are the days of searching for matches or lighting with a stick from the fire. I am going to keep this lantern close during the winter in case of power failure also. Sturdy base and large bail really increase the safety level of this lantern. Best purchase I've made in quite awhile. 08/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by BRIGHT, BRIGHT, BRIGHT! Glad I threw this one in the cart instead of the American Camper, knock-off brand that I almost put in! This thing has an auto start like a BBQ, and it's super, super bright! Uses clip on mantles (always burn them FIRST, before igniting), and the case is easy to figure out and store. Great product, even better price. Love it! 01/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really Bright and Easy to Use I never used a propane lantern before. This is the first one for me. It says you should burn the mantle first. I didn't know what a mantle was. But afte reading the manual that came with it and visiting www.coleman.com, I was able to figure out what they were. I pre-burn the mantle and waited 5 minutes to ignite it. and it works. It is bright. Love it. http://neteraat.blogspot.com/2011/11/how-to-use-coleman-propane-lantern.html 11/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lantern is Awesome!!! I have been waiting a long time for this type of lantern with electric start!! It is awesome. The price was definitely worth it. It is a 2 mantle lantern and is very bright. I used it in my back yard and it lit up the whole area. The case is great too for traveling with it to protect the glass cover. This is definitely a great lantern for the price and its 2 mantle lights up a large area!! 10/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by met expectations This lantern lit up the entire camp on medium...very satisfied...came with it's own case, a nice bonus 09/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like it, very bright I like it this because it is so easy to turn it on and able to adjust the brightness so easily. It is very bright... very happy with it 09/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! If you need bright light and don't want to spend the money on some of the high quality lanterns this will work great. I like my Coleman led best but this is great if you need more light. 06/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice light great for camping easy to light,compact. 06/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic Amazingly bright with long battery life! Best lantern we have ever owned! 05/08/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Plastic bottom of the lantern was broken. The bottom of the lantern base was broken . This would affect the stability of the lantern. It was returned to the store. 07/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy use lantern This is a great little lantern. Stores easily, fast lighting and gives off a great amount of light that is needed. I would buy this again. 08/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Coleman Lantern Great COMPACT Lantern - and Priced great when you look at the Original Full size Coleman Lantern 09/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice piece for a nice price! Very well meet my expectation in terms of it's usefulness. Very bright. Will get another one or two! 08/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good lantern for family camping Good lantern for family camping. No frills but reliable and easy to use. The hard case is excellent and protects the glass and mantle very well. 11/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another fine Coleman product. I've been wanting to upgrade from my old white gas lantern for some time. I spotted this model while shopping various stores and sites. It works just fine, comes in a pretty decent carrying case, and the price was right. This model does not come with electronic start (you still need matches), but that is fine with me. 05/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by lantern This lantern fit the bill because it is bright, affordable, and comes with its own case. 04/18/2010
1-28 of 28 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew463
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp