See All Reviews
Mr. Coffee Espresso Maker, Stainless Steel and Black
Mr. Coffee Espresso Maker, Stainless Steel and Black
List Price: $39.92
You Save: $7.93 (20%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 67 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Little Machine This little expresso machine is suprisingly effective. I recently closed my coffee shop and missed making my own lattes. I was reluctant to try a personal sized machine after using a large commercial espresso machine. I have been very pleasantly suprised by the lattes this machine produces. Even foams the milk very well. Slower than the commercial machine (duh) but makes tasty lattes every morning for me! Read the instructions! 05/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible Value My husband and I almost spent $300 on a "good" espresso machine until my sister-in-law swore up and down that the cheap machine she bought at Walmart was worth every penny. I was skeptical but we figured for $40 it was worth trying it out and it's awesome!! It works perfectly! I run to Starbucks three times a day and I am so excited by this machine and how good the drinks are that I can make myself for a fraction of the cost. The reviewer named Cabugs who gave it one star and said it was nothing more than a one cup coffee maker--I can only assume she is using regular ground coffee for her brew. You can't use a regular grind, you have to use an espresso grind or it will of course not taste like espresso. I buy Espresso Roast beans at Starbucks and ask them to grind it for me and it makes perfect lattes every time!! 11/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I absolutely love this machine! It's one of the best purchases I have bought in years. It produces great tasting coffee and I no longer have to spend my hard earned money at Starbucks. Although, I do have a couple complaints. The frother aid that attaches to the metal frother doesn't really work. I just removed it and only use the metal part and it works fine. I purchased this in a walmart store for $68 and change and then I saw it online for under $40. That was pretty upsetting for me. I don't understand why walmart would make such a big price difference online to instore and it is frustrating! But nevertheless I recommend this product. It's not the cream of the crop, but it get's the job done and I am very happy with it. 08/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great first espresso maker! I just got this espresso maker yesterday and had my first cup today. It took me a little bit to realize you need to add enough water in the reservoir to froth your milk, it made a ton of froth once I added a little more water. Its a great maker and it looks great on my counter doesnt take a lot of space. 08/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for a beginner I work at Starbucks so Im used to a faster machine. But this is gonna be great for my dorm. The frothing is annoying but like i said. Im used to the commercial speed. I put some creamer in the cup then espresso and milk/foam and top with cinnamon. Its fabulous! Great purchase. For those looking to save cash its a yes. Just clean ur wand often. Aka every use. That's what we do so its second nature for me. Once I've warmed up to it Im sure ill love it! makes u look cooler automatically to have it out for ppl to see. :) 06/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Love it!!! The very first time i used it it was chaotic because i didn't know any thing about it and the pressure build up blew off the espresso every where lol (my tip is to read the instructions). But any way, i would recommend this product to any one and every one because it is easy to clean, its steam wand makes the perfect steamed milk, and it makes great espresso. so, ummm 5 thumbs up!!!! 09/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I was leery after reading the bad review but my husband made me that first latte and ZOMG it is the best 40.00 I've ever spent. I highly recommend this machine make sure not to forget to pick up your favorite coffee a grinder and flavors and whipped cream! I am obsessed and keep going back to the store for more goodies for my new toy. 11/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little machine! I bought this three days ago and I've been using it twice a day. The steam doesn't come out right away, but what I do to re mediate that issue is to turn the knob just right pass the on position so the light turns on and let it heat up while I put the coffee in the little filter and do all that stuff, then purge it and start the brewing. Also, I fill it up with water all the way regardless if I'm making 1 or 4 cups, I rather empty the left over water than run out of steam for the milk. It has its quirks, but for 36 bucks and the fact that you don't have to buy pods or cartridges, I think its a great value. 08/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent steam espresso maker An excellent steam powered espresso maker. With the correct grind, tamping, and pre-heating this produces a very nice cup of espresso. Making about 2 “cups” at a time using the carafe is about the right amount; more comes out bitter. 2 "cups" is probably 2-3 ounces. The steam wand will work well if you take off the rubber gadget. 10/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable I've had several espresso makers, both expensive and not so expensive. This little Mr Coffee is unbelievable. Amazing it is, fast, easier to use than any I"ve ever had. I've had Capresso, Saeco, etc. This is right up there with the best. 08/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for the money This is a great product for the money. Makes wonderful Latte's and Cappuccino's without spending alot of money on a fancy machine. Highly recommended 11/21/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not all that great It doesn't froth very well at all and takes forever for all the steam to come out of the frother.I'm taking it back tomorrow and saving up for a Keurig instead. 05/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME MACHINE! This is my first machine. I have had this for one week using it 1- 2 times a day and so far I am really impressed, it works great! I am able to get good froth for my lattes and crema on my espresso (I have been using Starbucks espresso). I agree with one of the reviews you get better froth without the rubber attachment on the steamwand. I have been reading several reviews for epresso machines to replace my expensive Starbucks routine, many of which had me convinced I had to spend at least $300 for a quality machine. I was about to pay $300 for one until my husband mentioned trying Walmart. I read the reviews for this machine and figured why not give it a shot. This week I had my sister try one of my lattes, she is very particular with hers from Starbucks, but was impressed and said it was 99.9% there. I also use almond or soy milk and it froths very well. Bottom line: Great First Machine Pros- good crema, good froth without the rubber attachment, lightweight, great value for money, good size Cons- none so far 10/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great espresso Bought the last one in my store, it looks so cool. It's very easy to use including the steamer. Made some very delicious espressos with it. Beware it does not automatically turn off. Didn't take me long at all to learn how to use the steamer, you just need to turn it right when its finished brewing. Takes about half a minute. 07/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic-- as good or better than those pricy other brands !! 11/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little espresso machine! My husband works as a Barista at Starbucks, and he settled on this little guy for me so we could make lattes at home. He has been so impressed with it! He said compared to the super expensive machines, this one is much louder and has a couple more steps to get it ready, but other than that, it gets the job done! You can't beat the price! We've have it over a year now...still working just fine. I took the little rubber cover off the steamer...for some reason I thought it helped it steam faster. 05/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my espresso maker! I received my espresso maker for Christmas and it is my favorite gift! It works like a charm but it does take a few times to get the hang of it. I use bottled water rather than tap water so I don't have to delime it as often. I would recommend getting a metal frothing pitcher because it seems to work better. Also, you might want to get a coffee grinder so you can grind your coffee when you need it and it will stay fresh longer. I bought flavored syrup and make a latte almost everyday, so it pays for itself almost immediately. 02/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth of your money The only thing that need enhancement is that heating system is not quick enough, and you may need to run the machine one time first to make sure it's hot enough, then only you can put in the espresso powder. Overall, it's great, and worth of your money. 06/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the money! I'm glad I waited awhile to review this product. At first I was very unhappy because I just COULD NOT figure out how to make froth! Well, it took me 5 attempts, but I have finally mastered it and now I can enjoy fantastic cappuccinos. So here is the trick--------you can thank me later! (= Brew your coffee first. Set it aside or pour it into a coffee cup (I like to use a ginormous cup so I can put lots of froth on top.) Now, if you don't have a steel frothing cup (I don't), use a regular sized coffee mug to make your froth. Fill it about half full of milk (I use 2%) so there will be room for the froth to build up. Place the cup under the frothing arm and into the milk BEFORE TURNING THE MACHINE TO THE STEAM SETTING. Otherwise you're going to get burned! Seriously. I speak from experience. The tip of the frothing arm should only go into the milk about 1/2" deep or so. I was having trouble because I thought it had to be near the bottom of the milk. I just ended up with boiling, bubbling milk that was threatening to burn the skin off my arms! When the steam starts, move the cup around slowly and you should see froth almost immediately. I keep one hand on the on/off knob because the froth can quickly get out of control and you will want to be able to make it stop quickly. The milk that doesn't froth should be hot by the time your froth forms, hold the froth back with a spoon, pour the milk into your ginormous cup of espresso, and then spoon the froth on top. ENJOY! 07/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional product for an exceptional price!!!!! I was originally going to buy the Tassimo or Keurig systems but I didn't like the idea of only being tied to the coffees that they offered-- especially since I got 6 large bottles of coffee syrups for my birthday!!!!! So, after much soul searching, I determined that really all I wanted was an espresso machine with a frothing arm. I got this product via Walmart's one day service (I had it in my home within 45 minutes of ordering it online). It brews my espresso and after some practice, I was able to successfully froth my milk for a cappuccino. I am not tied down to any specific coffees. I'll buy whatever brand or flavor or color coffee that I choose, grind it further in my Bullet, and voila, I have espresso :D It takes about 3 minutes to brew my espresso and maybe 1.5-2 minutes to froth my milk :) If your wants are similar to my own, then I definitely recommend you get this machine!!!!!! 12/03/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great For a Short Time I loved loved loved being able to froth my own milk so easily and used this baby every day! HOWEVER, after about 60 days, the frothing mechanism just quit. It would not produce any steam. I guess I should have returned it, but no longer had the box, so I ended up just throwing it out. What a waste. My only other complaint would be that the frothing "arm" was fairly difficult to clean--you basically have to froth yourself some hot water in order to clean it. I'm going to invent a machine that does nothing but froth your milk for about $10. THAT would be a deal! 08/24/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Quit What I expected Overall the machine works great. The Frothing arm is short so it is hard to froth the milk. It also does not seem to get the milk that hot. I have not decided yet, but I might be taking it back. 08/17/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by It looks nice, Too bad it leaks After owning this machine for 3 months it leaks like crazy, it is unusable !!! 08/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My old espresso maker had an unfortunate accident with the garbage disposal. When I found that I could not replace the mangled up part, I went shopping on-line for a new machine. I didn't want to spend a lot of $$, but I wanted it to look sleek in my new kitchen. What I get out of this machine is far better than I could have ever imagined! I wake up EVERY morning, prepare the espresso, froth a bit of skim milk (which froths up to a full head of foam:yummy), put in a dash of flavor & sit down to a quiet, peaceful indulgence before I start a chaotic day. 90% of the time I even finish my day with a second one!!! I is THE MOST enjoyable part of my day! 03/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST VALUE FOR THE MONEY I work at the coffee shop at my church. There I have slowly become a regular drinker of my mocha latte every Sunday morning. Today I decided to get a steamer and espresso maker of my own. I just used it and IT IS AMAZING! Oh how I love that taste. The key is with the steam wand. It's kind of hard to use and didn't start out right but I think I have it figured out. Other than that it is amazing. Totally worth it. 03/04/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too small and annoying knobs While this is functional and has a great price, I cannot recommend it because it has two irritating features. 1) The tank is extremely small 0.6 quart. Not a problem if you use the stock cup, but you cannot run with a larger cup. My similar-quality KRUPS unit was able to hold almost a quart, so I could fill a whole mug at a time. With this unit I have to run two cycles every morning. 2) The knob design is terrible! Guarantee you will waste time every morning trying to grip the weird shape. 01/14/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quality not consistent with this model I had one of these before, the same make and model, and loved it. It was very good and very reliable, looked sharp, made great coffee and espresso. I just bought another of this make and model because I loved the first one so much. This new one, while it looks the same as the earlier one (except it has some warning printing on the lid which may have worn off my first one's lid if it was ever there to begin with), does NOT make a yummy coffee. I don't know what the problem is. The one I used to have was great and I had no complaints with it, but this one does NOT make yummy coffee. I did everything the same, but the results were weak or bad tasting coffee using the same ingredients and procedures as before. I have the box and the receipt and I am taking this one back tomorrow and getting a different make and model for my coffee and espresso needs. 08/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works and Looks Nice This Espresso/Cappuccino Maker works and looks nice, it's small and cute. It makes the coffee relatively fast and the steamer works good. Took me a while to get the steamer working right, after making the coffee you have to add a little water back into the canister so the steamer will work properly. Only problem I've had is that my Cappuccinos don't taste like Cappuccinos, I basically bought this item to stop spending money on Cappuccinos since I was spending $80-100 a month at my local coffee shop and, I just can't get that nice Cappuccino taste to it. I think I still need practice, hopefully I'll get better. 01/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought this to save money from going to that expensive coffee house. man has it paid off I have my mocha every day sometimes 2x day at $4 a pop machines already paid for it self. and mine taste s just like theirs. 01/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 The first one I picked up had a frothing wand that didn't work, but I returned it for another one that works just fine. You can't beat the price on this unit, and I would challenge somebody to find another espresso machine under $100 that even comes close to the quality of it. 01/09/2012
1-30 of 60 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.