Rated 4 out of 5 by 862 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly surprised! We ordered this desk for my daughter to do her school work on. I shopped around everywhere looking for a good deal on a nice desk that would meet all our expectations. But, it was very hard. We found this one and we thought that it might be a bit too small but actually it was perfect. It is very sturdy and the wood is very thick. For the price that we paid I figured for sure that it would be flimsy and break easy. This was by far the best deal I have seen in a while. We love it! I definitely love the price! 06/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great desk This desk is better than I expected! It is completely sturdy great size it looks like it would be small from the pictures but its great! I have a desktop monitor with speakers and my laptop on it with little things here and there ( pen jar lamp ect..)and still have plenty of space. Usually products look better online so I was a little skeptical but this actually looks ten times better in person! My mom is going to buy the same one for her computer! I have other pieces from the south shore collection and this (in chocolate) matches them perfectly !! You wont regret buying this desk you wont beat the price! No cons about it from me! P.s. It says this is for a child's room but don't let that stop you I am not a child and I love love love this desk. I am sure its also great for a child but it is also sophisticated as well! 08/30/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent build, quality and value for money Pros: 1. Good build quality, doesn't feel or look cheap. 2. Decent instructions. Not the best since all the individual pieces are not labelled and you refer to the manual, but I completed in about 90 minutes. 3. Came with all tools and pieces and had little trouble assembling. 4. Perfect size for my area. Cons: 1. Does not have wheels but I knew that going into the purchase. 2. All pieces are not labelled (on the piece itself) so you have to refer to the picture in the manual. Definately recommend. 12/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Little Black Desk I bought this desk for my son's room. He is very happy with it. The desk is sturdy, nice looking and was easy to assemble. I think this is a decent desk for any child to teen's room. 07/05/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Desk for a College Student I bought this desk for my daughter who's in college and is sharing a small bedroom with a roommate. The desk seems sturdy, it fits nicely into her limited space, has plenty of storage for her school supplies and she's able to keep her printer, laptop, and study book side by side comfortably. She says the desk is working great for her. 11/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised I bought this with the typical expectation that I usually have with this type of furnishing. The desk is quite heavy (81 pounds shipping weight). The pre-drilled holes all matched well. It utilizes a locking pin and cam system to join the pieces. This is an improved design over the previous version I have used in the past. The pin just pushes in and when the cam engages it, it flares out the bottom, locking it in. Very nice. Fit and finish were as expected. Some areas the gaps were larger than others and minor flaws in the paint were visible. No deal breakers there. The instructions were well laid out except for one diagram showing a piece larger than it actually was. This caused some confusion but logic prevailed. I would recommend this for student desk or basic workstation. Not attractive but not ugly. Utilitarian all the way. When describing this desk the key word is "value". 11/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We were looking for a desk for our daughter and found this one. I must admit I was a little hesitant on purchasing this because of the price. I am a believer of you get what you pay for and the cheaper the product the less quality. We went ahead and got it and I am VERY pleased. My daughter loves it and goes nicely in her new decorated room. Took us three hours to assemble but worth it! 04/02/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK desk, but some caution is advised I got this desk for my 7 yr-old child. She loves it and that is OK by me. Otherwise, the desk comes in a long flat HEAVY box. Have someone help you if you plan on lifting it. It was packed well and was not damaged. I am fairly handy with tools and have assembled many items similar to this one. Assembly took about 1.5 hours by myself. The instructions are not real clear since it is probably a translation so it takes some thinking and looking at the illustrations to figure out exactly what goes where. Some steps calls for small nails to be put it places. This is not a very good method for fastening since many of the places the nails have to go are edge on into VERY thin particle board and if the nails don't go in straight, they will break out of the sides. It looks bad and doesn't hold anything. After assembly, the desk is OK, but I can guess that sliding the desk side to side (or sliding it sideways across carpet) will probably start breaking some of the joints. I would make sure you lift it off the floor to move it or leave it where it is when you assemble it. 01/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for a little room I got this desk for my 8 year old daughter. She loved. Is very steady and have a lot the space for her books and draws. Fits nice under her loft bed and still extra space. 04/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Computer Desk for the Space. I always wanted a computer desk. This met my expectation - not to mention the way it looks. It matches my furniture - just the way I need it to. I only had a little space to work with and this does was more than plenty for me. Perfect storage space and book space. 01/29/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised Purchased this desk for my teen son's room, which is quite small. I did not have high expectations for quality given the price was less than $100. The desk is made of MDF board and was actually quite sturdy once we put it together. The instructions are not the best, but after about 2 hours my husband and I completed the assembly. All of the pieces fit together nicely and the desk looks like we paid a lot more for it then we did. We are quite pleased with it. 06/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautifukl Piece in a very beautiful price! I got this desk for my 10 yr old son who just loves it frm the day he got it. The assembly was really very easy. It took me less than 3 hrs & I am a pretty petite woman. So if I could do it alone anybody can. 12/11/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice for the price i was surprised at how nice this product is. The assembly was not difficult and the desk is the perfect size for my teen daughters room. really looks nice and was a good price. 05/13/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great desk for the price This desk is a little lower to the ground than the one on my armoir--bought it for our 9 yr old--the drawer has some resistance when opening but it's not that bad--it's a pretty roomy drawer--It would have been nice if the hutch was flush with the wall so anything stored under the hutch or on top of it would not fall--but you just have to be careful not to push anything too far back towards the wall--if you get a chair with arms you will need to lower it all the way to the ground-otherwise they will not fit under the desk since it seems to be made for a student--the assembly wasn't too bad--it took almost two hours to put it together b/c the assembly for the drawer was a little hazy--but my husband figured it out--my daughter loves her new desk and the price is so affordable--we ended up putting a corkboard above the desk as well as a dry erase board to the wall we have on the left of the desk--now it looks like a real tween desk area-- 08/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! The desk is of a great quality for the price. I use it to watch class online lectures off of one laptop and type the notes onto another laptop, so the space is perfect. Having the little self on top allows you to stack some extra light books or a pencil holder. I put it together on my own (with the exception of the first 5 steps where my boyfriend helped). It would probably be a lot easier with 2 people though. Over all amazing product for such a good price. Perfect for college apartment. 02/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great student desk! The desk arrived very promptly and was in good shape. One small ding on the top but hardly noticeable. The desk is sturdy and very easy to assemble. We opted to not install the pull out drawer since it wouldn't be needed. We used that piece of wood to create a hanging chalkboard. The top shelf of the desk is not secured to the desk. It sits on top and is held in place by wood dowels. Just as a precaution I used straight metal brackets to attach it to the main body of the desk. Just remember to watch the size screws you use. The desk is made of compressed MDF and can crack. We also used a couple of wall shelf supports that I attached to the top desk shelf to create bookends. All in all the desks look great and provided more than ample room for homework, crafts, etc. I am very happy with them both. 02/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful for kids I purchased 2 of these desks for my children to have their own space for their computers. These are worth the money. The only downside that I saw was in the CPU storage area. That area on the right bottom has a shelf but it doesn't go high enough to fit an average tower, so we had to just take the shelf out. Otherwise, my kids will have a wonderful place to do schoolwork for years to come. 06/21/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great desk! I just got this desk and I really like it. I had trouble deciding whether to order it or not because of the negative reviews, but I'm glad I ordered it. Overall, the quality of the desk is good. Sure, it does not look as expensive as a huge office desk would, but it does the trick. I also saw reviews stating that the desk fell apart and that it's not sturdy at all, which is not true. The desk seems pretty sturdy, that is of course if you actually took the time to assemble it appropriately. The instructions are not the greatest, and the desk does have a million pieces, but it took my husband around 45 minutes to finish assembling. I don't understand why people say that it is not worth the price. A desk for around $100 is a pretty good price I would say, noting the fact that desks are very expensive. This is supposedly a kids' desk, but don't let that fool you. It's the right size for an adult to use (petite or not) and it has enough space for a computer, printer, books, pens, etc. The finish is not the greatest, but you won't find any flaws unless you really try to look for them. Don't hesitate to buy the desk. The desk is worth the money, unless you're very picky and expect miracles for a $100. 02/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The top shelf needs to be firmly attached to the desk, rather than held on with four pegs. 06/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent desk! Great desk/great value. We purchased this desk for our daughter for her arts & crafts, as it has the pull out keyboard section that expands the desk so she can have more room. When she is a little older and has her own pc/laptop, she will grow into its use in that regard. It took my husband 3 hours to assemble- directions somewhat confusing, but ok. 08/13/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's ok; not totally satisfied So, maybe my expectations were too high but the quality of this is not what I had hoped for when I saw this online. It's ok. Just needs to last a few years while child is in HS. There were two small areas that were damaged despite being packed well. One was in the back so it's not a big deal but there was also a small crush on the finish near right front edge area of the desk top. I didn't want to return and deal with that hassle. Directions are pretty good. Took me about an hour while watching college football. I think I might have gone w/ something else now that I see it in-person. 10/22/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value if you need a small desk Let me start by saying that I have bought my first piece of furniture from this manufacturer about two years ago and liked it so much that most of my furniture at home is now from the same brand. For the price, this desk is a really good deal. It is not huge, but if you are ok with a smaller desk, this might work for you. I use this desk as my home work station. I would prefer a larger desk but my space is limited at home so this one works best for me. I currently have a 22" screen plus my laptop opened on the desk and I still have a little room for a notepad to write on. As far as looks, this desk looks very sharp (I have the chocolate one) and looks more expensive than it actually is. I particularly like the built in "shelf" that's great for a lamp, picture frame or what ever you want to put up. Assembly was easier than expected and took about one hour. Best things about this desk are looks and price. 07/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just what I was looking for. Nice compact desk. Did a lot of research to find a compact desk to fit my needs that had storage space. The drawer and shelf space fit the bill. Was not too difficult to build (although the drawer rails instruction could have been a bit clearer). Over all it took me about 4 hours to assemble by myself. My only complaint is that a couple pieces came with little nics on the edges but I took advice from other reviewers and used a sharpie pen to color it in...did the job! Was concerned that top surface would eventually become scratched and chipped so I went to the office supply store and purchased a Krystal View clear desk pad to protect the surface. Overall this is a very sturdy desk at a great price. Very pleased with purchase and would definitely recommend it. 02/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Small and Durable I bought this desk for myself for grad school. I needed something small and compact for my apartment living room. The box is super heavy so you may need someone else to carry it up stairs etc. Me and my 5 yr old daughter put this together. It took us awhile but you just have to make sure you go step by step with the directions! Good buy! 08/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for my high school daughter! This piece is exactly as advertised and is just what we needed. I was very pleased to see that all pieces were in perfect condition when they arrived to my door...no damage. My 15 year old daughter and I put it together ourselves (about 3 hours) and had it fully functioning that same evening. It is large enough for her to do homework, keep books and supplies stored, and looks great in her room. As expected, it is made of press-board, but the pieces are sturdy and cut perfectly to size. This is the kind of piece she may even take with her to college. Great piece for the price! 12/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for a small person or teenager The desk is exactly as pictured and very sturdy. Perfect size for me because I wanted all the functionality bu didn't want the desk to dominate the room. 08/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect Desk for Low Budget and First Apartment I was initially attracted to this product because of the low cost. It was relatively simple to put together (rather time consuming for a first time assembler!) but I was very impressed with the desk. It is the perfect amount of space for my laptop and other desk accessories. The shelf and drawer are helpful in keeping everything tidy. The product is made out of particle board, but is sturdy enough for what I will use it for. 11/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far, so good Assembly wasn't exactly a snap, but then I didn't expect to be. The parts were well labeled, and the instructions were sufficient for me - with no claim to even average mechanical skill - to put it together by myself in a couple of hours. The only improvement I can think of would be to show the ideal *orientation* of the major pieces during the final assembly. I had to think a bit about when to flip it over so that the as-yet-unsecured pieces didn't put undue strain on their initial connections and rip things apart; ideally, the instructions should be very explicit about this. Now that it's together, there's not much to say about functionality. It's a desk. It seems stable and solid. The drawers slide in and out. It looks about as good as I expect a desk to look, and I won't know about durability for months if not years. So far I'm completely satisfied with what I was able to get for such a low price. 03/10/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice desk,easily assembled, happy with the purchase.... 08/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good study desk I've bought this desk for my home office. It was relatively easy to construct following the instructions. It looks good and is matching well with the rest of the furniture. The edges are a bit sharp, but this is to be expected since it is not a solid wood object. All in all I am pretty happy with the product 05/05/2011
  • 2016-03-24 T07:46:16.544-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_862, tr_862
  • loc_en_US, sid_20563929, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 793 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew476
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp