See All Reviews
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 97 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Like Pictionary, Except Uses Legos My 8 year old son, a Lego-maniac, purchased this game with birthday money. Pros: It enourages creativity, and is fun to play as a family. My son loves the Lego die, which is a cube that allows you to change what goes on each side. He has also designed his own games and game board out of the included Legos, to be played with his different dice designs. Cons: We are disappointed that it doesn't come with more pieces. We are often limited as to what designs we can make. Especially challenging are building/portraying objects that have rounded sides (like the moon or a clamshell). For the price of the game, I think there should be a lot more Legos included. 04/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very fun game and easy for all ages. Like pictionary, but with building legos to make creations for people to guess the object. 08/29/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by pretty fun A good family game, but I agree it needs more pieces....it's a bit pricey for what you get. I wouldn't recommend it for younger kids, unless you make up your own rules and build what ever you want for a person to guess, which you could do at home w/ legos you already have. Then you wouldn't have to spend $30-$40 on the game. Not too many young kids will know the Eiffel Tower and other famous monuments/buildings. Buy it on sale. 11/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun for the family My grandson managed to get the entire family (older sister, younger sister, Mom, Dad, and Bubby (grandmother)) to play the game. We had a lot of laughs and so much fun. I am so glad my daughter gave me the tip to buy the game for my grandson's birthday. 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by creative This product is a gift for Grandsons, they have many other LEGO products they enjoy as well.I'm sure this will be a hit on Christmas morning as they love to BUILD & CREATE! 11/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great family game I BOUGHT THIS GAME FOR MY SON (13 ) THREE YEARS AGO... HE /WE STILL PLAY IT, I JUST BOUGHT IT FOR MY NEICE SHE LOVES IT ...SO DOES HER FAMILY. 12/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great pricing on this item. Amazon.com was offering it at twice your price (scarcity?) and Toys R Us had none available for shipping. I do my grandchildren's Christmas shopping online and have all shipped directly to them in Mass. One of my grandsons is a huge Lego fan, so I am sure he will enjoy it! Thanks for your good service - just wish you would offer gift wrapping!!!! 12/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome family product My son and I play almost everyday. Really creative product, keeps family engaged. Thanks 05/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Creationary This game is so fun. Even my 5 year old had fun playing with us. I think it's a bit over priced since it is plastic Lego pieces but I would buy it again. It is fun to watch the kids use their imaginations and build things from colors/blocks/pieces that I would never have thought of. 01/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I got this item for my grandson's birthday and he loved it. 04/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charlestongirl1011 Best Game ever, so much fun! 01/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the game, challenging for adults, fun for kids. Everytime you play you can make a different game from it. We will never get tired playing this game. 12/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great came - great for imagination and creativity! I purchased this item at Christmas from Walmart - great price - had 2 of them waiting for me at the store ready to be picked up when it was not available at other stores or some online places raised the price to over $70.00 !!!! (34.97 at Walmart) VERY pleased with not only the game itself, but for the online to store pickup service from Walmart!! 12/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was able to get my daughter the game and have her pick it up In Gretna. She'd been hunting for it forever. She now thinks I am a good grandma. 12/19/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs to have more legos included. Not worth the price. 11/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous family game. Unlocks the creative side in my opinion. 08/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly Recommended Researched top toys for the age group and this popped up as number one. Our nine year old grandson loves Legos, board games and is very creative. This is a true fit for him. 11/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's a Blast! This game is a blast! Not your normal board game! Gives you tons of things to build! 08/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lot of fun for Lego fans This is a great game. Easy to play. You can vary it to meet your abilities. We've had fun playing it as a family. 05/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun game for all ages We regularly play Creationary at our house with family and friends. My only suggestion would be to make an expansion pack with more building cards. Unfortunately we have played so often that we can guess what anyone is building almost right away. 10/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! Such good fun! Love It!! I recommend everyone plays this. When you manage to produce a build that looks exactly like the picture on the card it is such a great feeling. Even my 6 year old has produced a lot of recognizable builds. I often wish there were more pieces in the pack to choose from - but then it is part of the challenge of the game to use what is available isn't it! 10/10/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Party Game - more pieces = more fun This is a very fun party game. Can be fun for the lego novice and the lego expert. Some of the creation ideas are just silly and impossible but it is challenging in a good way to think outside of the box in a rectangular world. Games go quickly and rules are very specific (does not even have a game board) so it is open to your different gaming needs. I would recommend but the more difficult ideas require additional legos. 07/26/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Game I was given this as a gift from my nephews who are 7 and 5 for my birthday. Once we got it all set up it was a blast. We played with 4 adults and 3 kids. My 7 year old nephew got a picture of a graveyard and knew exactly what he wanted to build and it was very close to the picture. If you are not familiar with free building with Legos this is not for you. You need to have imagination in order to play and an understanding of building with Legos. I don't think this game is for everyone, but it is extremely fun with the right players. I hope they come out with more cards and pieces to make it even more fun. 04/15/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Fun! Even though it has some drawbacks, it's still a very fun and challenging game. There are thousands of different models you can build! The only thing I don't like is that some card have things that are nearly impossible to build. But I guess it's okay. 03/23/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by why does everyone hate it? I think that this set comes with a load of pieces, and has enough to build every single model shown on the cards. You need imagination! that's all! 02/10/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Create your own The difficulty depends on what you build. you can build whatever you want, and it can be hard or easy. The rules are pretty simple, and your parents would like to play this with you because it is like a board game. It is a great family game, for people of all ages. You can play how you want, but there are rules. The peices are sorted by color, and you get some wheels and glass looking peices. I think it should have more base plates, but it is still pretty good. You also get one microfigure and one minifigure. They are both bad, and the minifigures hair always falls off. It is a bland looking thing, so maybe you could add some of your own other peices to it. And while you play, try to add in a rule or 2. Try to spice things up a bit with it. Maybe play it in 10 minute segments throughtout the week or day. Also, they have cards that give building ideas, sometimes you could make your own cards or something up. These are just some suggestions to get the game more fun. Conclusion- Overall, I only recommend it to certain lego fans. This would be for people who don't like a specific theme. Or maybe you just want more spare peices. Maybe you want a base for your clone troopers. Maybe you like board games. This would be for those people. Not people who have to get hero factory and only build that. I think it is an OK price, but don't buy it because you think it is in a certain theme, think of it like spare peices, but with rules. 01/17/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Somewhat challenging! played with 2 adults and 4 kids!! there is no way you can build whats on those cards with only what was given to you,,, even with an experienced builder!!! I think it would be easier if the pictures were in Lego format so you can kinda see what pieces are necessary.. seemed to be harder for the younger kids 6-8 personally i will probably buy more pieces to make it a little easier for the younger kids!!! IT INDEFINABLY WAS NOT AS EASY AS ADVERTISED!!! 01/08/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Creationary-Best Building game so far This set was good because it came with lots of pieces and two characters. There are cards that have pictures on them that you can choose from by rolling the lego die. There are so many creations and a wide range of pieces. You have time to build your object and finish it in that time. As much as this set is fun and interesting the pieces get lost very easily but I keep them all together in the box. This set may not have many fancy things but I think it is useful and people could get allot of use out of this game. So until next time get building and have fun. 01/07/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun game, needs tweeking I received Creationary for Christmas and have played it twice. Once with an eight-year old. and once with a group of adults (I was the youngest at 33!) Both times we had fun playing but there are few challenges with this game. One is packaging. It needs a lid for the inner tray or maybe a deeper tray. I found that I had to use Press N Seal wrap to keep the bricks in their spots between uses, otherwise transporting or storing this game caused all the bricks to jumble together. Not a huge problem, but if you want to quickly sit down and play, having the pieces mixed together is harder to start with. The pictures on the cards are hard to build. The 8 year old had fun building but didn't know what a lot of the pictures were meant to be-she had no idea what the Eiffel Tower was. The adults, admittedly not Lego fans, had no idea where to start building with even the "easy" pictures. They knew what the object was, but didn't know where to even start. Perhaps a beginning set of cards where the object is shown already built with bricks so people get more of an idea of where to start and are not as overwhelmed? The bricks themselves seem, at first, to be plentiful. And, to be honest, the number is fine. However, the basic building blocks are lacking. You might be given 2 yellow 2X2, but need 8. You can mix colors, yes, but overall, I found that the basic ones are lacking. I may be adding more over time as I figure out the ones we need the most (such as more roof tiles!). That being said, we all had a lot of fun playing and trying to guess what someone was building. It will be a game I pull out often in the future. I doubt a non-Lego lover would end up with this game as it seems to be geared towards those who already build and have an idea on how the bricks work together. 01/05/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A challenging game This game is defintiley one of the hardest games I have ever played. When I first played this game with my family we found it hard to make the objects on the cards, and getting all the right lego bricks. It is defintley not for someone who does not like legos. I still like this game even if it is hard to play, and I do recommend it to a friend. 01/05/2013
  • 2016-03-24 T07:44:15.610-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_97, tr_97
  • loc_en_US, sid_13430205, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 90 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew487
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp