Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 93 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine Product, GREAT Value, but... We've got 4 kids at home, including a 2-year old and a 10-month old, so Xmas is an exciting time of year. We didn't want to spend a lot of money, and we didn't really care if we weren't getting all the "bells and whistles". We aren't planning on doing anything fancy with the videos we take. If you're looking for a camcorder that's compact and easy to use, then this is the one for you. The battery that's included with the product has a max life of about 1 hour when it's fully charged....which is not necessarily optimal, especially when you're trying to capture snip-its of Christmas morning or anything else that might drag on for a while. The internal memory is similarly limited. It's handy that the 4GB internal memory fills up in about the same amount of time that the included battery lasts when it is fully charged. You can purchase a larger battery, and of course, you can also purchase memory cards that hold a lot more data than 4GB worth. The editing software that comes with the camera is easy to use...and includes options to upload videos directly to all of the major social networking sites (i.e. Facebook, YouTube, etc.). If this thing would have come with a carrying case, it would be an even better deal. Oh well, beggers can't be choosers! The video I posted for this review was shot by this camcorder and then cut from my little girl's Xmas show at school. The editing only took a few minutes. 12/29/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Effective & Tiny This video camera is much smaller than I expected but certainly gets the job done. I have not used the still images feature so I cannot rate that; however, the video quality and ease of use is fantastic. I have previously used mini-DVD cameras and found them to be bulky and sometimes difficult to download & edit. This new camera is small and light and I can simply remove the memory card, stick it into my PC and it automatically uploads to wherever I want the footage. I definitely recommend getting one or two memory cards if you plan to use the camera alot; the internal memory hold only about one hour to 1.5 hours. I would also get a second battery as it last only about the same length, less if its hot and sunny. 06/01/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 handy So far I have found this camera to be pretty handy. I use it in the woods for wildlife, and bought it primarily for the 60x zoom. The sony records in mpeg format and I find that much easier to work with than the proprietary format the comparable JVC uses. The zoom is great, the picture quality is decent. It is a SMALL camera. To small for my hands. The photo quality is not near as good as the video quality. 04/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camcorder, small, compact and very easy to use. Has a very clear picture and captures sound beautifully. Am very satisfied with the purchase of this camcorder. 04/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camcorder if you acutally know what it is! First of all, this camcorder isn't HD people! Its only standard definition, also when you edit/convert/save videos, the quality is always reduced. So with that in mind, don't go hoping for HD quality out of a $200, STANDARD DEFINITION CAMCORDER! I had a digital camera before this that shot HD video in 720P. The only reason why I bought this was because it had a LED light, optical zoom, and auto focus, something my digital camera did not have or do when recording. I am a pretty picky person and I can not be happier with the price and video quality. This camcorder is really quite small and should easily fit in a coat pocket or something like that. Its also very light weight. Both of these were nice because the last camcorder I had was from 2006, things changed a lot since then. The 60X zoom is insane, but when you are getting far out there it becomes shaky as expected. Auto focus seems to work great, and I manage to do about 120 minutes on the included battery. The touch screen works fine and is VERY responsive, you don't have to hit it spot on, so that is nice seeing as its smaller and people with large fingers may use that. The LED light is fairly bright surprisingly, no, its not stadium lamp bright, but very nice for what it is. This camcorder also has 4GB of memory built in and can take SD cards for extra. The Sony PMB is what I use to transfer the videos to my computer AND play them. Overall I am happy with this camcorder, and definitely feel I got a good deal for what I paid, which was a bit less than the price advertised here. 08/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product!!! My hubby & I bought this primarily to take along to our honeymoon but we played with it for quite some time. The pic quality is good & the video quality is better. You definitely need to be in good lighting to get the best results. Overall we love the compact size and ease of use. Get it folks!!! 04/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by We needed a video camera to take to Las Vegas and the grand canyon. I read alot of reviews on this camera and read that still pictures were not very good on this camera. Since I was taking a digital camera with me also I was not too concerned with how the still pictures would look on the video camera. We took alot of video and still pictures. when we got home we transferred the pictures to our computer. the videos turned out very good and I was pleasantly surprised at how the still pictures turned out. Very crisp and clear, although as with any camera, night pictures are difficult to take. I am so happy with the pictures I no longer need to take my still camera with me on vacation. This camera is a very good value and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to take everyday photos and video. 04/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little camera this camera is great for hard to tape areas, the zoom is great and the picture is crystal clear. Have yet install it on the computer but not worried. 07/14/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor video quality I was not happy with this camera's video quality. Our test shots were grainy and poorly focused. The led light did not improve the video, and was too bright for the video subjects to look towards the camera. We decided to return this camera, and for an extra $100, upgraded to a high-def camcorder, which provided a remarkably better video. 12/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product very happy with it, great in lighting very good in dim lighting with the video camera light on , would highly recommend it. 12/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent I was surprise at all it delivers. The pictures and videos are very clear. Smaller than expected, but ok. I love it. It has both internal memory, and memory card (separate purchase) Overall, it's worth the price. 06/16/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product / Good Value We wanted a small but usable video camera for vacation and home use ... nothing too expensive, versitile and easy to use. This camera filled that need almost perfectly. The on screen menu and touch screen operation make it a breeze to use. 07/03/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Quality Do Not Buy!!! The video recording quality of it is ridiculous. I bought this for my daughters 1st birthday and I am not impressed. This seriously has the quality of a 15$ webcam. Sure it looks nice and pretty on the viewscreen and during playback on the device itself. However, when you get your media to the computer it is terrible. I'm so ashamed of the video quality that I wouldn't put it on dvd's for my family.. Seriously, it is that bad. Like other posts, I have tried several different scenarios to try and improve the quality but it is a no go. Such as switching the device to 'HQ' or toggling contrast, image stabilization etc... However, if you are making video's for youtube or for playback on smaller video devices then go for it! 06/12/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed by Sony! I have an older handycam that has better video quality than this one does. I am VERY disappointed in Sony for making such a poor quality camcorder. The still pics are HORRIBLE! My cell phone takes better pics than this thing. My advise is DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! 02/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best buy!!!!! I love this camera. If you are looking for an easy to use camera for the every day kind of family pictures and movies this is it! It is sooo easy to us and is priced right for the every day kind of family. I would not buy I different camera even if I had more money to spare or for a camera that offered more functions it's perfect the way it is! 08/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by needs more battery life just like it says it does need more battery life with it . everything works great good deal worth it so far . with the battery that comes with it you only get 1 1/2 if that out of it so i picked up one on line for $55 and its a 5 hr one . 04/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small and great price! I was surprised when I opened the box and saw how small it was. Great for fitting in a purse! Flash drive is what allows it to be so small. The value and the size are pros. The only con is that it does not look like HiDef. If you want HD with it's better clarity then you need to buy a HD. However, the camera is great as long as you aren't expecting that. 03/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome for price very good picture quality, very easy to use, ultra portable for a video camera. Quick start up to capture all baby's firsts! Love this camera. Love that you can expand the memory! 03/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good 4 tha price great camera for the price. nice and compact size makes it easy to carry. only draw back i see so far is with the sound very low on play back 02/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Tried another brand - it was no good - it had a slow start up and no light and no flash for the still shots even though it advertised it online. This camera does start recording right away, has a led light, flash for still shots and works great. It did not cost too much more either. In addition, this camera comes with built in memory and great optical zoom. 01/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Video Camera great for what i needed. I just had my 2nd baby in July and my video camera stopped working. I decided to take advantage of the Black friday Sales and searched high and low for a new video camera. I compared all stores and styles. This camera was the best deal for its price range. It is so tiny, it fits in the palm of my hand. It has a touch screen that is easy to use, along with some buttons on the actual camera. it has a slider to close the lens, so no losing the lens cap. The quality and clarity of the screen is amazing. Everyone I show comments on how clear the screen is and how crisp the video looks. The internal memory holds quite a bit, I have yet to add my memory card on it and have taped about an hour. Playback on the screen is easy and you can find each separate taping, its not all on a tape, so you can pick which one you want to watch. I have yet to upload and watch anything on the computer. I will need to install the program it came with and do that next. 12/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by handy camera this is a handy camera and it works great. the value is also good. i would recommend this to all. 06/28/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by This is my first camcorder. I tested it inside and outside of my home. It works bad inside: capturing of colors is bad. Movie that was captured outside in a winter period also was not good. I have a very simple and cheap camera. Pictures that I made in the same place and time by my cheap camera are much better than from this Sony Camcorder. I will return this camcorder 12/20/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would never recommend this product to a friend. I am totally dissatisfied. This product is so small that it reminds me of a toy. Christmas is less than 1 month away. I have 2 camcorder bundles that I am very satisfied with and this 3rd one that I am dissatisfied with and would like to swap this bundle for one like the other two but my only dilemma is that your website now shows that they are "out of stock!" 11/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice camera I love this camera, especially the price. I knew I wouldn't be disappointed with something made by Sony. 10/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Camera use Agood product is only as good as the person using it. As my skills increase I will produce better video. 05/11/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Okay I overall like this cam; however, I want WIDE ANGLE LENS to be able to work with this cam. Just my own experience. Even though it was a present. 01/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I send product back because I did not received it on time. I needed it for my vacation but it did not get here. I bought this product at Walmart. I do really like it. 09/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I purchased this camcorder for my mother for christmas an she loves it!!! 01/09/2012
1-30 of 80 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.