Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 100 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stop looking! You've found your gate!` I did a TON of research on baby gates to find the perfect one. Most of the swing gates that I found had the lip at the bottom and with it going at the top of the stairs I was afraid someone (my not-so-graceful 3 yr old) would catch their foot on it and trip. This gate was SUPER easy to install (I did it all by myself!) One side of the wall didn't have a stud so I just used two anchors to keep it in place. So far my 9 month old has been shaking it and 3 yr old has been standing on the bottom and I've not feared either of them being hurt at all. It's really easy to open and close.. Really is the best gate!! Also, it swings either way but has a stopper you can put on there to keep it from swinging over the stairs if that's where you're putting it. 04/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works very well My staircase is exactly like it is in this picture. I did get the converter kit to protect the banister, and drilled the latch into that, though it wasn't think enough to prevent me from still having to drill a little to secure the bottom. The gate is very heavy and well made. We got this to keep our 1 year old safe, and my 4 year old can't open it either, which is perfect. We did not have a stud in the correct place to anchor this, so we drilled a board into our wall and installed the gate in the board, which worked perfectly. 06/15/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by swing gate easy to install and easy to use. very happy with product. Great for babies and for dogs! i chose this product because there are no bars or barriers at the bottom to trip up the person walking through the gate. I LOVE IT! 03/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by worth the money! We just purchased these baby gates for the stairs in our new home. We have a four year old and a one year old, and these gates keep them both off the stairs! They are pretty easy to install once you find the studs, and as far as the reviews about them being hard to open, they are wrong... I figured it out and could open them with one hand on the first day. You just have to pay attention to the directions. The price on these gates seemed a little high to me, but knowing my kids are safe is worth the money! I would definately recommend these gates to anyone who has small children in a home with stairs. 03/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Daycare User This product is used in my wife's daycare. It gets a lot more use than standard home use. We have had only two of these over the last few years and we used go through many gates a year. The weskness is the latch mechamism from our perspective. The build-durabiliity-safety balance is pretty good. You csn find stronger but so far those have had sharps or other safety issues. 04/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great top of stairs gate Sturdy gate perfect for the top of stairs. We were even able to install this gate at a slight angle so that we could avoid the stair rail and connect to the post. 02/28/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by This gate works well. I have it at the top and bottom of the stairs. The only thing I do not like about it is that it makes a loud clicking noise when you open it and it wakes my toddler up when she's sleeping. 09/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sturdy and Secure We got this for our open stairwell to the basement. I am pleased with the look, and quality so far. Complaints: -I thought the door swung closed on it's own, but you actually have to shut it by hand. -The gate makes a really loud click when closing, so we don't close it when the baby is sleeping since noises like that would wake him up. -It is a little tricky to open with one hand. I can open it one handed with my right hand, but not my left hand. -We had to put a piece of wood on the wall to mount it to, since there wasn't a stud. -It took us around an hour and a half to install. We installed it 4" up from the floor, so our cat can sneak underneath, since they don't seem to make hardware mounted baby gates (top of stair) with a pet door. 01/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this I looked at every gate on all websites, I came back to this one, because there is no bottom bar to trip over. We have an open stair way to downstairs where I need to go to do laundry everyday and was concerned about tripping and falling with laundry baskets. This is nice and heavy, makes me feel so secure, attached to the wall studs perfect, and i can carry a laundry basket up and down and open the gate with one hand. Its a a great sturdy metal, and the whole door opens for more room to move thru. I am so glad I went with this one, as we will have it in place for years. It took my husband 5 mins. to install it. And I didnt hate the color like I thought I would, It blends nice with beige. 09/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for high traffic areas! We have a large family, and our gate puts up with lots of use and abuse. We've had this gate for over a year now and it still is like new! The gate is easy to open once you know how. I was able to teach my children 4.5 and up to open the gate. Although when I have older nieces and nephews come over it takes them a few times to get it. I chose to teach my older toddler to use the gate because he can go up and downstairs unassisted. The gate opens both ways, which is a bonus, and there is no bar at the base to trip over. We mounted the gate to the wall into studs and have had absolutely no issues with the install of the gate. We use the gate at the top of our stairs. Our home has an open floor plan and the stairs and right in the middle of the living area.. hardly a good place when you have a baby and toddler. We are getting ready to buy another gate for another door way in our home (to keep the babies in). After looking at other gates we have found it very hard to find a gate that doesn't have the bottom bar. We are coming back to our tried and true gate! We are glad we happened to find this gate! 06/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a great quality gate. Just make sure that you do not install it too high. It would not clear our molding at the doorway and so my husband had to screw a 2 X 4 to it to prevent my daughter from sliding underneath it. I really like that there is nothing to step over. It makes it a lot easier for my grandmother and aunt to come into the room. 03/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gate for the money. Bought this gate for my twin greatgrandaughters. It is awsome! It shows when properly locked and is reasonably for 2 greatgrandmothers to use with ease. Their grandfather installed it in about 10 minutes. They stand and shake it while upstairs and it is safe! I recommend this to anyone who needs a baby gate. On one side it installs to the stair rail and the other side to the wall at their home. NO SHIPPING CHARGES WITH SITE- TO- STORE! Ordered on Christmas eve and was at the store within a week. 01/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a decent gate. It does what it was intended to do. If you don't have a stud to mount the swing side to it will pull out of the wall. A good set of drywall anchors is needed if this is the case. The latch seems a little cheap but works fine after some getting used to. The latch is a little noisy also. Overall it is a good gate that I trust my toddler around. 01/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice gate. We've had this installed about 2-3 weeks now. We don't go upstairs every day b/c it's just a playroom and guest room up there, so I personally haven't even used it very much. My kids (5 & 6) have learned to open it, which is great b/c it is only meant to keep my 18-month-old from falling down the stairs. It wasn't wide enough to fit at the top of the stairs, so I put it in the doorway of the playroom, which is right next to the stair doorway. It seems very sturdy. IT was challenging to install evenly. I think my mom and hubby drilled holes 3 different times to finally get it right. 10/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by sturdy gate. I just recieved the gate a few weeks ago. It was very easy to install,but the screws that came with it were already bent on arrival. I tried to use them anyway but I stripped them right away. The gate itself is very strong and really easy to install.They should just ship them without screws instead of providing what they tried to pass off as screws.After spending a while trying to remove the bent stripped excuses for screws they sent,I used wood screws and put the gate up in about ten minutes. I strongly recommend not even using the screws they send,just throw them out and use real screws instead. The gate itself is great I would have given it a 5 out of 5 except for being insulted by them sending me those things they called screws.Use real screws and you will be very happy with this gate. It swings shut and locks easily. It was a breeze to install,and seems really strong. I am very happy with it. 10/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this gate...... We bought this gate to keep our puppy from the carpeted part of our home. Easy to install and sturdy. We should have had this gate long ago!! 10/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine Gate The gate was a bit hard to install due to the hardness of the bannister rail. However this should not affect anyone else unless you have 120 year old pine beams. No problems operating the handle and the gate seems very secure. 10/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best gate for the price! I looked around for weeks for a gate. Once I came across this one, I bought it that minute. I am using it on top of our basement stairs to keep our dog from going downstairs. All other gates I looked at had a bar on the bottom that you would have to step over, which was a safety concern for us. This gate is great! It took us 1 try to figure out how to open it, now it's a breeze to get open and close. I would definately recommend this gate to others. 08/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great gate. I actually got it to keep my blind dog from going down the steps but it is so sturdy that I would feel very confident with toddlers around. It swings both directions so you don't have to back around it which ever direction you're going. You can just "slam" it closed like a latch gate and look for the green circle to be sure it's latched. Who ever said it was difficult to open needs to practice a little....just squeeze both sides and push down with the heel of your hand. Buy it! 02/05/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Evenflo secure step gate It works for what I needed it for but it is very difficult to open....maybe I got a lemon but all the adults have a difficult time opening it and then it makes you want to not close it which defeats the purpose. 01/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product Easy to install. Just 2 screws on each side. I recommend installing the side with the hinge first, then installing the other side. DRY fit everything first to ensure the gate will fit where you want it. If you do NOT install the cap on the hinge pin you can remove just the gate when grandchildren are not visiting, then reinstall the gate when they return. Gate is very strong and secure. 09/05/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by There are better gates out there... Door locking mechanism is poor design and difficult to operate. The gate arrived and was missing installation parts and instructions. Had to contact company to send me the parts to install. I have used other gates from other brands before, Evenflo is the worst from my experience. 02/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to Install - a little tricky to open My husband was really happy with how easy this was to install. It adjusts easily to the width of the stairwell without using washers or making tons of adjustments. It went is really quickly and is very sturdy. It looks good, too. My husband has no problems opening the gate, but I sometimes struggle. The latch requires that you squeeze a button on either side while pushing down, which sounds easy, but you really need to squeeze and push with a bit of force to get it to open. Ours is set up to open to the left and I have to use my left hand to open it. It would be really hard to twist my right arm to grip both the buttons and push the lever at the same time. If it opened to the right on our stairwell I think it would be better (I'm right handed) but it works on the stairs better to the left. It's a minor concern. We're probably going to buy another one beacuse it's so sturdy, has a nice finish, and is a good price. 12/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way more than I expected!! We used to have a pressurized gate at the bottom of our steps and it would work itself loose, we had to step over it and I never really felt it was 100% safe. I wanted to purchase 2 gates, one for the top and one for the bottom of the stairs, so my sons would be safe and I wouldn't have to worry as much. The Evenflo - Secure Step Metal Top of Stairs Gate is very sturdy, locks quickly and the neutral color blends in nicely. I am very pleased with the gate it is way more than we expected I only wish we would have gotten them sooner! 08/28/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed The gates didnt securely install into the walls and needed to be tightened many times over again. They stayed pretty loose and often came out of the wall. We were very disappointed by the quality. 01/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT PRODUCT I Absolutely love the baby safe gate. I actually purchased two of them to put at each end of my wooden deck so that the daycare children would not be able to fall down the steps or get off the deck without me opening the gate. It makes it nice for unwanted guest too because they don't know how to unlock the gate. I would HIGHLY recommend!!! 10/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gate!! I was researching the different types of top of stairs gates from different stores and this one grabbed my attention because it didn't have the lip at the bottom and it was a solid metal gate. The price is great. The shipping was extremely fast, I received the gate in under 3 days and I am extremely happy with it. It's a little tough to get used to opening it at first but once you do it a few times your golden. Love the product!! 10/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT PRODUCT!!! I BOUGHT THIS GATE TO KEEP MY PETS IN THE DEN...I HAVE A STANDARD POODLE AND A ENGLISH BULLDOG AND THIS GATE WAS STRONG ENOUGH TO KEEP HIM OUT OF THE KITCHEN AND LIVING ROOM...THE GATE IS GOOD LOOKING... NOT CONFINING...I WISH I HAD BOUGHT THIS YEARS AGO... 10/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by After having several baby gates, this is the best top of stairs baby gate there is! I feel like my baby is safe and yet it is easy to walk through. I would recommend this to anyone 09/26/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by JUNK. Sadly disappointed I was pleased with the price, and I thought it would be just what I wanted. It was wall-mounted (for top of stairs), it had a wide opening, and there was no bar to trip on. But since installing it yesterday it has been nothing but a hassle and a danger. First, the safety clip (that keeps the gate from swing over the stairs) wouldn't go on right because the little button to attach it broke. And I can hardly get the gate open, much less my older kids. Who wants to let everyone in all the time? I'm sad it doesn't work. 09/25/2012
1-30 of 85 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew327
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp