Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 185 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good baby gates for stairs I just moved into a 2 story house and have two VERY active little boys (2 1/2 and 13 months). We installed these gates at the top and bottom of the stairs first thing and have been very pleased with them. My oldest has fallen down stairs before (not hurt, but Mommy was very scared!) and these gates are very secure, thus allowing me to sleep at night! They shake them and try to climb on them but so far my (extremely tall and gifted climber) boys haven't scaled them or caused any damage to them. They are pretty easy for my husband and I to use, also. I did alot of research before going with these, and have been very pleased with them -- I was willing to pay more to keep my kiddos safe, but was also VERY pleased with the price on these! 06/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Strong top of stair door This product was relatively simple to install and very easy to use. Since I don't have a child in the home full time, it is removed often and replaced easily. 11/22/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by A nice gate, works well I'm not sure I realized I was purchasing the extra tall gate when I got it, but the height is actually pretty nice. I have to have a hand free to open it, but I don't have to bend down to get to it if I'm holding the baby, or a bunch of other things, as it's right about at my hip level. My cats are trapped on one side of the gate or the other when it's closed, but I see that more as a defect of my cats than the gate. The installation was easy, although I did have to remove a piece of my baseboard trip to do it. That doesn't bother me since I didn't like the trim anyway, so it would eventually have been removed (new house, lots to do). I bought 2 and haven't installed the 2nd one, because we need to fashion something on my iron banister to be able to connect it. I've seen kits for this on the internet, but my husband decided just to get the parts and do it himself, which should be fine. That one is at the top of stairs. The other gate we just have to the doorway in our living room and it works very well there. The latch takes a few times to get used to, but now it's no big deal either. I haven't used it yet, but I very much like the feature where you can slide the gate out of the hinges if you want to put it away for a while, instead of having it in your way, or needing to remove it entirely. 07/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent gate This gate installs very easily and is a simple straight forward design. It is sturdy and attractive. We bought a Summer extra tall/wide metal gate and it was absolutely horrible trying to install it and it was almost twice as much as this one. 09/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent gate after reviewing ALL gates available and observing my neighbors expensive gates, i decided on this one. It swings in both directions and easily slides fully open. No bar at bottom to step over. No small opening to fit thru. Slides up for easily removal if company is over. when open it sits flush against wall out of the way. Easy VERY secure latch for opening and closing. I use these to keep dogs confined to kitchen and laundry room when at work. It is extra tall and escape proof! LOVE these gates. Most inexpensive as well. Sturdy and secure. easy installation. 06/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works when all others have failed I have a very spirited 2 yr old that has figured out how to yank pressure gates free, or climb over them, no matter how tight we thought we had it secured. We went through 3 or 4 brands of that type before we installed this one. It's too tall for him to figure out the handle, he cannot climb it, and no matter how much he shakes it, it does not come free. He was frustrated immediately and I like not having to chase him up the stairs every 5 seconds! It's affordable enough to have more than 1, too. Highly recommend. 03/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT GATE! This gate is awesome! yes, it is hard to open with one hand, but isnt that the point? that just means its IMPOSSIBLE for your kids to open!!! and it is! i have had a few adults say "are you sure its not adult proof?" ....overall i love it! 10/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect As soon as I saw this gate at my children's daycare center I knew it was exactly what I needed. My house is the upper level of a duplex and the staircase is open to the interior of the house. I bought another gate elsewhere, but it had a bottom rail that was very dangerous at the top of a staircase. This swings completely open & doesn't make the opening narrower, which comes in handy while carrying an infant carseat and a diaper bag while helping a three year old up & down the stairs. I like that this is wood with NO plastic parts. My staircase is over 48" wide & this gate works perfectly. The only thing about this gate I would change is to figure out a way to lock it in place. There are brackets that slide into holders you screw to the wall & I accidentally knocked it out on the way up once. But if you're careful I don't see it being a problem. This is a great gate & I plan on getting more for other areas of my house to keep my little ones contained in the main family room area. 11/30/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good gate, hardware below average This gate met our needs for height and safety at the bottom of our stairs, but the hardware kit is pitiful and the lowest quality. Spend a few dollars on decent hardware at your local hardware store for actual drywall and/or wood screws and you will be good to go. 06/12/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not very strong. I love this gate mainly because of the wall mounts. It will break easily. I have had 2 break and now am buying a 3rd. My husband fell over it the first time, second time my daughter broke a bar out of it, and could walk through it. Mountings are good and its easy to open. Just wish it was metal because the wood isn't very strong. I have had this for 3 years now. I have a 12 year old, 3 years old, and a 1 year old. 12/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Just what we needed! We actually purchased this gate for our new puppy. He is a larger breed and was chasing our 3 cats away from their food bowls on the kitchen floor. After purchasing this and its quick & easy install, we were quite pleased. It also makes it quite easy for us, as adults, to come and go without much effort (especially with an armful of laundry). 01/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for even stair cases. This gate is good for stair cases that are even but if you have any kind of differences with the top and bottom of your wall or the top and bottom of your banister this is probably not going to work without adding some wood to it. We bought this gate for the bottom of our steps to prevent our 11 month old from getting up the stairs and it works like a charm after a little fanigling. I had to add a peice of wood to both sides in order to get the gate to line up properly. My banister was a little pushed out on the top because of pressure gates that I tried to use before with my son and on the bottom of my steps by the wall there is some carpet that comes up so this was pretty tricky but we did get it installed and it works like a charm. It is much better than climbing over those pressure gates all the time. The latch works well, just make sure when your installing this gate that its installed evenly otherwise its not going to close correctly. 09/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! When we moved into our home, this gate was installed at the top of the stairs- which was perfect because we had a 2 year old at the time. We loved it so much that we bought 2 for our family vacation home for top & bottom of stairs so kids wouldn't fall down and dogs wouldn't come up! I am now buying another for the bottom of stairs at our home because we now have a 1 year old who gravitates to the stairs constantly. Easy to open and close with 1 hand while holding a child or laundry in the other! I taught my now 4 1/2 year old how to open and close it when she wants to go up and down. It seems very safe and sturdy, we have had one for 2 1/2 years (& it looks like it had been there for a year or 2 before we moved in). It was easy to install too. You will love it. 04/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great family gate I searched for a gate forever. Finally found this one and the price was right for what I was needing. Love this gate. Only thing is is if you are needing to put it in to drywall I suggest getting toggle bolts to put it in or it will tear holes in the wall. (Specially if you have a two. Year old) I have dogs too that this gate holds in. Gate is easy to remove if needing the whole doorway and brackets won't get in your way.Its place at top of my stair and is best gate for a great price! U won't regret it 11/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good gate! This gate is perfect for our house. As indicated, it is for the top of stairs. It was easy to install with only minor issues. It definitely keeps my 10 months old safe. He shakes the gate and it is sturdy enough to handle his roughness. It is easy for me to open with one had and that is important. However, it is tricky enough where my infant cannot open by himself. Overall, it is a good gate, nothing fancy, and it does what it was designed to do. 08/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best baby gate out there This gate is great. Aside from the fact it's a bit fiddley to install and to open and close/ it is great for these three reasons: 1- it can be taken completely off so when you're not using it the doorway doesn't have to be blocked by a gate and this literally takes seconds to do and one handed- you do however need to use two hands to put it back in the wall latches as the bits that fit in move about freely. 2- it is a full swing gate meaning not just part of the gate swings open but the WHOLE gate does- this is perfect as other gates more it so you need to be pretty skinny to get through the gate easily otherwise you need to go in sideways- not with this one. 3- other swing gates that partially swing open still have a floor barrier- so when it's open you need to step over it which is awkward and uncomfortable if you forget and step on. All in all this gate is soooo worth the cheap price- I also have one of those retractable gates I paid 160 for because of the fact the disappear when you don't need it- wish I would have just got these from the start as they also kind of disappear when you take em off- granted you need to them put it somewhere and it doesn't actually disappear into thin air lol- but them you're not paying 160 for it! Because they're so cheap i got 3 which I cousin do with the retractable as just couldn't afford to! 03/15/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Easy You might think those spring loaded gates are easier to install, not necessarily. Although you need to do some drilling to install this gate it is very easy to use. It is also designed to be completely removed in seconds when not in use. I highly recommend this gate for door areas. This gate feels very secure installed. 12/26/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! This gate has been great for us. It looks nice, it's sturdy and I like how tall it is. The only slight problem is that it doesn't slide real well to open and close the latch - it gets stuck just about every time, but it's not a huge nuisance. I'd recommend it. 11/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great gate for a great value! I originally bought a much more expensive gate from BabysRUs, but returned it because it just didn't fit right. I saw the Evenflo gates online, and decided to take a chance. I worried that it might not be sturdy enough, but I was wrong! This is a fabulous gate! The clasp is surprising stout, it is very tall, and the extra width is great for old houses like ours, where staircases are wider than the norm. I paid less for 2 of these gates than the first one I bought at the baby store. 08/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful! I bought this gate online. It was super easy to install. The quality of the gait is really good. I was able to stain it to match the rest of the wood in my home easily but it would have looked nice as is if that was my choice. It is easy to open and close, my six year old can do it himself. The height is wonderful as well. No more bending! It is in a high traffic are of our home and we are so pleased with it that we bought another one! 08/13/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 Broke I have had 3 of these gates they all break within 6 months. Buy metal 02/05/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cosmetic defects, mounting hardware too tall We had this item shipped to the store. After finally receiving the gate I noted there are some dark blue/black streaks along the to portion of the wood (that don't come off). When we went to install the gate, the hardware actually installs higher than the advertised height, so our banister ends up hitting right where the hardware should mount. 01/20/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by simple and a great value! We bought 2 of these gates for the top of 2 staircases. They are simple-easy to install and easy to use. We love that they have a wide opening to walk through. This was important to us because we have to go through a gate anytime we come inside from the garage, and our hands are often full of groceries, kids, etc. We painted ours to match our railings on the stairs, so it blends nicely when closed, and almost disappears when open. If you want a basic gate with a wide opening, this is by far the best value you will find! 01/02/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy install, meets need It only took 15-20 minutes to put this thing up (you'll need a power drill). The fact that it can be physically attached to the wall (instead of held there by simple pressure) makes me confident that no kids will be tumbling down our stairs. 12/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great gate for lil ones I really just use this gate in my daughter's doorway to keep her in her room when needed. Like at bedtime, since she has a toddler bed and can get in and out as she pleases she has a habit of doing so. great gate I must say easy peasy to install! 10/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product, no complaints! This gate is awesome! I have installed many baby gates, and have had some kind of problem with every single one. I have no complaints about this gate! It was super easy to install (I installed two gates in less than an hour by myself), and it is very easy to operate. It closes smoothly and quietly, and you can easily open and close the gate one-handed while holding a baby in your other arm. On top of all of these qualifications, it is super affordable! Like I said, I have no complaints about this baby gate. Every Evenflo product I've tried has been well-made, and this gate is no exception. I wish someone had recommended this gate to me so I didn't have to waste so much time and money on other gates. Moving forward, I am recommending this gate to all my friends and family! 08/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by fabulous gates we bought three of these a year ago: one for the kitchen doorway, one for the dining room doorway (all standard size doors) and one for the top of the stairs. let me just say that it was money well spent! my kids beat these gates up, slam them, shake them, you name it (and they've been decorated a bit too) they hold up FAR better than any plastic gate we've ever had! i will say, they are tricky to get back on the track after you take them off (takes patience and practice) and if you pull the panel out too far, they separate from each other (though, they slide back together fairly easily) easy to install and just all around great (even if you have climbing little monkeys like i do!). 04/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gate! I ordered this gate to replace a pressure mounted gate that had gotten damaged and subsequently, did not retain the 16 month old grandson. Eeek! This gate screws into the wall, and has what I call a 3 step process to open. I like that the gate slides into upper and lower brackets, requires releasing a latch, sliding the gate back and swinging it open. Plus it looks nice. My only complaint is that due to the half-wall adjacent to our stairs, the gate was too tall and had to be returned. I measured but the 32" refers to the height of the gate itself, but not the installation. The brackets extend about 1" each above and below the actual gate height, and this extension isn't mentioned in the features. This gate had to be returned, and I ordered an identical but shorter version of the same gate. It is working well. The return to the store was easy and simple. I didn't want to pay a big price for a gate that is only used when the grandchildren visit; this gate was ideal except for the fit. 04/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Gate Thus Far! First off I must say for those people who had trouble installing this gate, I am very confused to why? I don't think Evenflo could make this ANY easier to install! There is a paper cut out they provide you with and you tape to your wall to pre drill your holes. Then you screw the hinge mounts to the wall. Slide gate into mounts, put the gate latch on the gate mark the holes for that, pre drill those holes, screw that hardware onto other side and you are done. Took my husband and I 1/2 hour to install 2 of these gates. On another note, these gates are very very sturdy. Had no issues with the hardware. Evenflo recommends you not install this gate more then 3 inches above the ground. We installed it 4 inches above the ground so our cats could slide under it. You can install this gate above 3 inches if you would like to at YOUR OWN RISK. I tested it and there is NO WAY our child could slide under this gate at 4 inches above the ground. Also those people who said they didn't know you had to install this gate into studs, I am sorry but that should just be common since when mounting a gate or anything that bares weight especially child's weight. Also all doorways or end of walls should have studs. All that to say this gate and price are awesome! And if you want to make it a little more expensive looking a can of spray paint does wonders! 01/27/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Serves our purpose We bought this to keep our puppy contained. I really like the ease of installation and the 180 degree swing. I would have given five stars except for the hinges are hard to line up with one person and the latch would be difficult for a young person to negotiate. It serves our purpose wonderfully and the price was right! 03/20/2011
  • 2016-03-24 T07:14:27.305-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_185, tr_185
  • loc_en_US, sid_13264742, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 170 total reviews
2 3 4 5 6 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew334
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp