Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 252 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice rack! Good value. Sturdier than you'd expect for 50 dollars. Not everyone wants a hitch mount, this fits the bill. Works on a variety of vehicle types. Easy to set up. 04/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by It works, it really works (I did have my doubts!). Well, what can I say, I ordered this bike carrier not being entirely sure how the thing could possibly work or how secure it would be. I was pleasantly surprised. I have to say I had to read the instructions a few times and turn the diagram three ways before I figured it out, but once you get it, it's simple. The metal hooks slide in between your trunk door and the car frame, you settle the rubber base on the car and then attach the hooks under the car (make sure you find something metal, not the fibreglass body of your car, it's not strong enough). Tighten the straps, attach the bikes, biggest one first, gears facing outwards. Nothing to it. We have had this thing on an Escape / Mariner and a PT Cruiser. Honestly, it's easier to attach to the Cruiser for me, but that could be a height thing or lack of it on my part, and I did struggle to find something to attach it to underneath the Escape. Holds 2 full size bikes easily, rides well and if the straps are tight and you reverse your handlebar / wheel (turn it 180 so it's opposite to normal) nothing bangs around on the car frame either. Well worth the money, since a tow bar was going to cost me $300 without even buying the bike part too! 06/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Works right out of the box. In the two weeks I have had this product, I have used it on a 06 Civic coupe, 97 Civic coupe, and a 4door 97 Camry. Its harder to use because we have two 24" youth mountain bikes with the 3" or 4" frame and they don't extand accross the arms so they must be slid onto the arms via a small gap between the seat and the frame, tight fit but the straps rap great around the frame. Sometimes it takes a few minutes other times up to 20 or so minutes to place all three bikes. 03/16/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by I used this rack to carry three bikes for a trip totaling about 12 hours. Twice, the straps slipped resulting in the bikes dragging on the road. The first time, one of the bikes actually popped off one side of the rack when the frame tie down strap came off. The second time, the rack mounting straps loosened up far enough that a jolt resulted in the bottom piece folding up The only thing that kept that one from being much more destructive was that I had looped a bike lock through the bikes and locked it to the roof rack. In neither case was there any way to tell from inside the car that it was loose enough to fail. Maybe there's some magic to these straps? If so, I couldn't figure it out. My previous rack (from a different manufacturer) did not have this problem. If you want to use this rack - especially fully loaded - my suggestion would be to make sure that you have some secondary fastening to make sure this doesn't happen to you. 09/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Must Buy I am new to biking and I was not wanting to spend a lot of money on a bike carrier since I will only be riding recreationally and probably not as often as I would like. I am very pleased with this product. It was already assembled and very easy to mount on the back of my car. I put my bike on it and away I went. Guess what? The bike didn't fall off. If your looking for a great inexpensive reliable bike carrier, this is the one to get. 02/27/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Do NOT buy if you have a spoiler It would have been nice if there was a warning telling people that this will not work with any car that has a rear spoiler. I have a 1998 Mustang and this thing doesn't fit at all. It doesn't tell you that until you have the product in hand. 06/09/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't buy!!!!! Bought this trying to save a little money....Ended up taking it back and getting the $60 2 bike carrier which is a much better product. With this one, I only used it one time and that was one time too many. Got about 1/4 mile down the road and the little arms that hold the rack together popped out. Ended up dragging my bike down the road until I could get pulled over. It was on a smooth road and I was only doing about 30 or 35 mph. Had 2 bikes on it that were well below the 100lb weight limit on this. 04/10/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by I don't recommend this on nice new cars I've used this rack on my 1994 toyota camry and 2013 honda civic. If you don't really put anything in your trunk, this is perfect for you. I want to give you guys as much information as possible before you drop $50 on this bike rack. So here it is... It's more secure if you can hook the bottom hooks underneath your car and not on your trunk. The only problem is that you can't open your trunk. It's quite difficult to keep the rack on and open your trunk. But it's hard to keep the rack secured to the trunk when it's hooked to the trunk and not underneath the car. (At least, for my 94 camry that is. The bottom of the trunk door was square so it didn't stay on good.) The hooks can damage your trunk, most people like to put cloth between the car and the hooks so it doesn't get damaged. But it's a bit of a chore to do it every time you use it. So I got old inner tubes, cut them up right and glued them to the hooks. I'm pretty sure I don't have to worry about my trunk getting scratched up now. The weight of the bikes causes the rack to not be as secure as it is when there are no bikes. The straps can get loose and the hooks can come off which is what nobody wants. So I suggest that after you place the top hooks on the trunk, and as you hook on the the bottom hooks to the bottom of your car... pull on the 15" arms (that hold the bikes) downward with alot of force. Putting your body weight on it (maybe not a lot for stronger people, since I'm 130lbs) and tighten the bottom straps as much as possible so that you can have maximum tension in the system. This assumes the weight of the bikes and so when you put the bikes on, you'll know you have nothing to worry about. I'm just not sure I want to do this with my new car though, cause I think all that force will mess up the body. If you have drop bars with side pull brake levers, BE CAREFUL! The brake levers will SCRATCH your car. There are ways around this, I turn the front wheel so that it's facing 8 o'clock and the wheel is secured by the carrier itself so it won't move and scratch my car. I have yet to think of a better way. I don't see a way where you can put 3 bikes on there. The spacing between the bikes need to be longer. I've had difficulty putting 2 road bikes on it, but it's doable within 5-10minutes. Maybe if all the bikes were radically different sizes it'd be easy. But the handle bars and the seats get in the way of each other, as well as the pedals, but the pedals aren't too hard to find a sweet spot. Also, get a yakima security strap, it'll give you a sense of security regarding thieves trying to steal the rack itself. Since it's really easy to take off a car. I've put my 54cm steel frame bianchi bike (22lbs) on it and there aren't any problems. You have turn the plastic cups inward so you can get it through them though. Putting a 20" mountain bike is relatively difficult for me. The frame is small so there isn't alot of space and it's hard to push through, I don't feel like buying a crossbar, so idk how that'll work out. I've probably used it at least 12 times and the rack and bikes are fine. It works, it's just a hassle. I'm thinking about getting the hitch, but that involves cutting the heat shield and dirt cover at the bottom of my car. I'm not sure if I want to do that. If you still decide to buy this rack, stop. I suggest you get the other 3-bike carrier with side hooks too. These have 4 hooks, there's another one with 6. I'd get that one so I don't have to worry about lateral play. 07/17/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by *****Beware - it will destroy your frame ****** The rack isn't all the bad, but I have a horrible gouge in the frame on a new stumpjumper FSR. The first bike to go on, rubs against the rubber capped vertical tube of the rack. It quickly is cut by the sharp edges of the tube underneath, then tube then eats in to the bike frame. I'm going to take a hammer to the tube to bend it away from the bike, and glue the rubber cap back on. Hopefully that will help! Otherwise it's not that bad, but I rated it low to hopefully save someones bike from being chewed up! 04/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good bike rack for the money I have used this several times in the last few weeks to transport 2 and 3 bikes on the back of my mid-sized sedan. It folds flat with no assembly required and since it is flat I just store it in the trunk. It is a little tight with three bikes on it but one of the bikes is a child's bike so it works. I would get the 3-bike carrier even if you plan on carrying 2 bikes. It performs as advertised and I had no trouble with it. Be sure to follow instructions and clean the pads well where it contacts the trunk. I use small pieces of cloth under the clips that go on the seam of the trunk. Use bungee cords with metal hooks on the end to secure your bike tires to the carrier and bike frame to keep the wheels from spinning. Best to turn your front wheel in a reverse position backward then secure it with a bungee cord through the wheel around the carrier and through the frame of the bike. 07/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value for Your Money! New to endurance sports, I needed a pretty decent bike rack to put on my Corolla, since i'd invested a pretty penny into a new bike -- This rack is perfect -has carried my bike 100 miles plus on freeways and securely holds my bike! I would definitely recommend it for your money! Very sturdy and gets the job done! Why would you pay more money?! 09/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rock SOLID Came out of the box fully assembled. Super easy to set up and install, and fits my family's mountain bikes. I'm really impressed with the simple design and the quality. So far I have used it for a bunch of short and two long (200+ mile) road trips. Overall I am extremely happy with this product. 06/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Bike Carrier This carrier went from southern Florida to northern Illinois with no adjustments needed and no problems. We had it on a Nissan SUV. 01/21/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!! "STAY AWAY FROM THIS BRAND" Its a 3 bike carrier and I had 3 bikes on it. A- 26" a- 20" and an 18" bike. The thing collapsed while I was on the highway a very smooth ride no bumps or bangs the thing messed up my bikes and damaged my car needless to say it was returned and a different brand was purchased 06/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cheap and Functional Pros: this rack attaches easily to a wide variety of vehicles (Wal-Mart should put the list of supported vehicles on the product page) and can support 2 bikes quite easily. Seems to have solid construction and it was very affordable. Cons: don't expect to hold 3 bikes on this thing. also there is little to help you keep the bike's wheels/pedals from flying around and banging. You'll have to make your own accommodations. 12/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bike Rack Awesome product. It is very user-friendly. It is so versatile for just about any kind of vehicle. I'm using it on my SUV Equinox. Love it!!! 04/02/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good for price I used it yesterday. I only put two bikes on the rack. I didn't loose my bikes :-) 01/28/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by very disappointed I bought this bike rack because it was recommended for our vehicle (Hyndai 2010 Tuson), I have used it three times now and everytime the bikes and the rack have almost fallen off each time. Luckily our bike trail is only 10 miles from home. I hooked everything up like the directions said (which by the way were not in the box i had to go to the website and they were very vague) I even tied the ends extra so i was sure they were tight. The problem was the straps loosening and also the bottom bar does NOT have any type of locking mechanism so it buckles under the weight of the bikes, and rolls up the car, which puts the bikes very close to the ground, not to mention could have scratched the car! I am bring it back to walmart this weekend! 07/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good value Very simple to install on both my vehicles. Tie downs are solid and fit my mens and my wifes womens bike. 09/02/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Doesn't the hold 3 bikes well. the medals bars hold it all together kept snapping out. 05/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor product scratched my car badly I purchased this bike rack to avoid purchasing the hitch set up. I used the rack twice--once for a day trip and once for a short trip. The rack carried 2 adult bikes. The rubber rolls on the rack cracked under the weight and now my trunk has a large scratch on the hatch. The rubber rolls are too soft to sustain any weight. I also was worried about safety on the road. So I am returning this rack and am going the hitch route. Paying more but it is worth the peace of mind. 06/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly designed product Bought this bike mount recently to take our 3 bikes on vacation. Carrier was mounted on car properly and even placed extra foam padding under the attachments to ensure no damage to the car. After only 100 miles, the carrier had begun to buckle under the weight of the 3 bikes and barely got us to our destination. We had to stop 4-5 times, completely disassemble and realign carrier, and then reassemble bikes. We only completed our trip by using duck tape to hold the thing together. Had to purchase a new bike carrier to make the trip back home. Needless to say, the carrier damaged our car and we ended up spending way more money than expected. 08/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good - just make sure it fits your car I bought this to transport my, my boyfriend's and his daughter's bikes. We only need to get them to the park and back and didn't want a whole system for transport. When we received this I realized that my car ( a Ford Edge) was one of the few that weren't compatible. Nonetheless, we strapped it on and took the bikes from wal mart home. It only accomodated 2 bikes- but they are pretty heavy bikes and as it isn't officially approved for my car I can't complain. It is certainly worth the price but don't plan on taking 3 heavy bikes. It is really suited to two. 10/10/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Can't support more than one bike This carrier installs easily and was inexpensive. The first time I used the carrier, I carried only one bike (an adult mountain bike) and had no problems. The second time I used it, I carried a mountain bike and a 20" kids bike. During the second trip, after traveling just a couple miles, the support rods popped out and the bikes fell from their upright position. Luckily they were still attached the the carrier and the carrier was still attached to the car. I fixed the carrier and it happened again. This carrier was fine for hauling one bike but could not support the weight of two bikes. It's not a very good product. 04/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fell apart with two bikes 05/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price, easy install, well worth it. I read the reviews before buying. One review was that it did not support the bikes and caused damage. Another review said the rack is already set up. So I check the set up and tightened up every connection. It's true that the rack is assembled but the bolts should be tightened. I was careful to tighten the belts well and noticed after tightening the top belts then the bottom that the top belts needed re-tightening. I did so and then placed a heavy bike in the middle place holder. I drove for 40 minutes up a bumpy local highway. Then back when done riding down a smooth faster highway. No problems but one could use extra bungee cords to make certain the bike(s) is(are) secure. I have and will probably do that with the three bikes I have the next time. I glanced at the bike as I drove and it was very secure. Just make sure you fasten the belts, knotting them to prevent unravelling(check the installation directions). If you are careful about how you set-up and secure, you should find as I did the rack is well worth the price and effort. The second set-up went very quickly. Taking the rack down was fast as well. Solid bars and covering, well constructed. The pads did not in any way damage my car. I hope this review helps you and saves you problems. 09/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice rack! I have never owned or used a bike rack before. My kids recently got bikes and love to ride, so I got one for myself. Setup was easy, and the instructions were clear. First use was a 115 mile ride to Grandma's to show off. I was glued to the rearview mirror nearly the whole trip but all was perfectly fine. My bike has a larger frame but it didn't seem to be a problem. Put a girls 20' bike on first, then my 26' bike, then my son's 20' bike (alternating direction of bikes per instruction), all was well and secure during both trips. Short trips to biking paths nearby shouldn't be a problem. Oh - I put a gardening work glove on the pedal closest to the car...not a scratch anywhere. As long as you aren't driving like a maniac everything should be fine- even at 80 miles per hour on a highway. 03/16/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by worked but the pad ripped after the second use It worked but it didn't prevent my bike from hitting against the car as I drove and it left bad gouges on the car. Also, after using it only twice, the pads that cushion the rack against the car ripped! I'm going to keep it because its too much a hassle to return it and look for another. I will try to put towels down first. 06/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well built, great value We have large cruiser-type bikes and they wouldn't fit on the 2-bike carriers we tried, without risking scratches and dings. The Allen 103DB 3-Bike Carrier was the perfect solution. Our bikes fit beautifully and do not rub against one another. The rack is sturdy and vinyl tubes over the steel frame protect our bikes from scratches. I read some of the negative reviews about this product. My opinion, after using the rack for a while, is that some of these folks may not have followed the instructions carefully. For example, if you can't hook the bottom straps to steel under the bumper, you MOVE the bottom straps to the top and hook them to the bottom of the trunk lid. If you leave the straps on the bottom and hook to the bottom of the trunk lid you risk failure. When we take it off the car, we leave the top straps alone and loosen only the bottom straps. This makes it really easy to put back onto the car. Low priced, strong and easy to use...I don't know what more I could ask for. 05/30/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Such a let down... I will be returning this product immediately. I bought it because of the description that it fits hatchbacks, sedans, minivans, and SUVs. I have a Scion tc - well that's not one of the vehicles it fits. Luckily according to the BOX the product came in it would fit my husband's truck. Just after a few test drives down the street the bottom part folds up and causes our bikes to touch the ground. Since the bottom part doesn't lock in place we can't determine how to secure it without it folding. I then go to the manufacturer's website and guess what? It DOESN'T fit my husband's truck even though the box said it did. What a waste of time and money! If you purchase this I urge you to check the website to see if your vehicle is one it fits. 05/05/2012
  • 2015-11-24 T08:37:43.815-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_252, tr_252
  • loc_en_US, sid_13070208, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 213 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.