See All Reviews
Uniflame 184 sq. inch Portable Charcoal Grill, Black
Uniflame 184 sq. inch Portable Charcoal Grill, Black
$19.93
List Price: $39.00
You Save: $19.07 (49%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4 out of 5 by 57 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by A small wonder: Uniflame Tabletop Charcoal Grill ## OVERALL ## For $20, the Uniflame Tabletop Charcoal Grill is one of the best choices out there, in terms of size, cost, and portability. You have to build it, however, before you can enjoy it. This one won't arrive ready-to-cook, but it fits 6-8 burgers on it at a time, easily. plus has a warming rack which pivots with the lid. This unit has a charcoal-grid-rack on the bottom, which raises the coals just above the bottom of the BBQ, promoting some airflow at the base. Assembly takes about 30 minutes. It's design and construction are decent, it's not warped or bent, but it is also made of the bare essentials, in terms of parts and materials. This Uniflame Tabletop Charcoal Grill does everything I need it to, for the lowest comparable price of similar models. ## PROS ## Once it is built, it works like a charm, and this BBQ has a good layout of vent holes. There are vents in the back, bottom of the unit, and there is a round vent in the lid -- both slide open manually, and are easy to adjust. (The manual recommends using primarily wood-based charcoals, not lighter fluid, and also mentions you should burn off any factory oils by heating up the grill for 15 minutes with the lid closed, before first laying food on it.) We bought the Uniflame Tabletop Charcoal Grill online with standard shipping, and it arrived within 2 weekdays (packaging was minimal, but nothing was damaged on arrival). ## CONS ## Not much to complain about for a $20 BBQ. The Uniflame Tabletop Charcoal Grill The warming rack, which pivots with the lid, tends to slip out if you open the lid too many times, so I just get around that issue by pushing it left or right with my BBQ tongs, when I check on my cooking food. ## BUILDING IT ## Assembly should take about 30 minutes. There are about 6 large pieces and around 50 tiny wing-nuts and bolts to install and fasten. (We built this BBQ with my 3 and 6 year old helping us, so it took us about 45 minutes, being careful with it.) It arrives in a box, parts are wrapped in separate bags, with a blister-pack of letter-identified kits, of nut-washer-and-bolt combinations. For example, "C,N,J" may be one pre-sorted kit of 4x [bolts, washers, and wing-nuts], and "J" may be a pack of 8x washers. You read the schematic instructions for putting it together -- simply follow the dotted lines and match the letters, in the schematics, to the letters on the back of the blister-pack, and that is how you assemble the small BBQ. While I had to focus for 45 minutes on building it, it really is easy to build if you can follow the schematics. And almost all of the bolts are wing-nuts so the only tool you need is one screw-driver. ## CONCLUSION ## I am very glad I bought this exact grill, and not the other ones for $40 or $60 at other stores or other models of table-top grills, for several reasons. Those other grills would not make more delicious burgers (although they may require less assembly). Although it may not a fancy full-size grill, it is perfect for us -- it is light, stores easily with folding legs, is built fast with minimal tools, works well as expected, and fits enough food for a group of people, and it costs very little. This grill looks nice, and is the perfect grill for our day-camping needs. In a few years, I think I will order another one of these Uniflame Tabletop Charcoal Grill , after we have put this grill to maximum use. This grill is helping us make it another wonderful summer. 05/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great apartment BBQ This lilttle BBQ is an excellent buy! If you need a small portable BBQ or you live in an apartment this is the buy for you. Very easy set up, does require a screwdriver but I got it together in about 10-15 mins. My husband and I use it usually every weekend. We've had it about 3 months and it's as strong as the first time we used it. And you cant beat the price. 02/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleasant suprise I laughed at my husband brought this home from the store. We finally got around to putting it together, and it totally surprised me! It was the perfect size for our family of four. I don't dread grilling anymore. When the grease off the meat starts causing the coal to flame, just close the lid and smoke the food for a little while. Hot dogs cook very well on the warming rack. Folded up the legs and took it camping. While there, decided to try to cook breakfast on it, and it worked well. Fried sausage and eggs on a griddle on the grill. Was able to heat water for coffee. Excellent buy!!! Hubby is looking pretty smart now! 05/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for the money This grill may not hold 11 burgers as the description says, but it's close! Chicken breasts from a frozen package, holds about 6-7 on main grilling rack. The warming rack can hold about 3 long metal skewers of food. I use this as my home grill, as I don't need a big grill- creates a nice temperature and perfect when grilling for 4-6 people. It would also be perfect for tailgating. 04/20/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by portable grill I liked the size and the fact that the legs fold up. The only thing I didn't like was when you try and flip your burger, steak or whatever, the grill moves and sometimes falls down on the grate where the coals are. 07/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my Uniflame Tabletop Grill. I've used it twice and plan to use it through the summer. I would recommend it to anyone, especially if they go to the beach or on a picnic. 06/27/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not too bad for the price. This grill was the perfect size I was looking for and it looked fairly nice. I figured for the price I couldn't go wrong. I liked the fact that not much charcoal is required to cook. It heats pretty well and cooks the food quickly. On the downside it is a little flimsy and the screws didn't hold up long. I had it for about a year and used it only about a few times a month. Now it's ready to go in the trash as it's all coming apart. I guess for the price, a years worth isn't bad. But I'm going to try one that's a little bigger and more sturdy. 07/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by low quality It broke even before I finish assembling. Parts of it are made from a cheap plastic. The handle broke when I was trying to bend the legs. I am really disappointed and would not recommend this product to anyone. 05/12/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by the handle for the vent melted off 05/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for an apartment! I am a college student living in an apartment. After about 1.5 hours of assembling it (it's easy), I had my grill fired up and ready to go. It's very satisfying to serve food that you've cooked with ribs you've marinated over several days on a fire that you started with the grill that you assembled and serving it to your husband. It is small, compact, high quality, has two smoke vents (top and one at the bottom), and perfect for the apartment! I take it outside (it's lightweight) in the community backyard and use it. After it's done, cleaning up is a cinch. It's big enough to hold about 8-10 Korean BBQ Ribs. There's also a second story rack where you can hold your smoker chips or beef patties. Yum...! 06/23/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by When I received the BBQ both side handles were broken in half. I contacted the company and they said they would send replacements. I haven't received them yet. This BBQ is small and the right size for what I wanted. It is however, a bit flimsy and would probably be good for only one season, then would need to be replaced. I like that it has the small upper grill, that's a nice feature for such a small BBQ 04/30/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 I thought I'd be grilling in minutes after bringing this grill home. WRONG...I was suprise to see the amount of screws, washers and bolts necessary to assemble this lil guy. Directions can be a lil tricky but eventually becomes repetitive. After about 30 min of assembling, I was ready to grill. It served its purpose and was easy to use. 11 hamburgers definitely aren't fitting anywhere on this grill. More like 6 and that's still pretty good. $20 well spent. Would recommend to a friend 07/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great grill for the price Its a perfect grill to compactly fit anywhere, love that the legs fold in, making damages less likely to happen and for the price and shipping, I could not have done better, Great Buy 07/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by PERFECT FOR ME FUNCTIONAL, PORTABLE, YET SPACIOUS. I CAN FILL UP MY CHARCOAL CHIMNEY STARTER, AND HAVE A GREAT HOT FIRE FOR SEARING, WITH PLENTY OF ROOM TO COOK ALOT OF FOOD. I'VE USED MY CAST IRON SKILLET AND BLACKENED. I CAN'T BELIEVE I PAID SOOO LITTLE, AND GOT ALL I WANTED. GREAT TABLE TOP GRILL FOR THE BALCONY. I'M PLANNING TO TAKE IT ON A ROAD TRIP NEXT MONTH. 06/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Grill This grill is very nice. I grill regularly and own a total of 5 different types of grills; yet I use this one most. It’s the perfect size to prepare foods for a small group. That being said its size is a bit deceptive, it holds a lot of meat. As one review said it’ll easily hold 6 large burgers at a time. I use it for everything from making jerked chicken, to country style ribs, to burgers, to……. Ands its portability / folding legs make it a sure winner when going to area beaches and parks. I have had mine for about a year and its still holding up (I keep it covered). A MUST HAVE!!! 04/26/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Broken grill The value and size of this grill is great. The only thing that bothered me was when I was trying to screw in the pieces of the legs I had pieces breaking off..... 04/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way better than expected! The grill stays burning for hours so even though it is small you can cook a variety of foods! Cools very fast once charcoal removed too! May take longer to set up. 08/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2 year disposable grill/GREAT Folks DO NOT HESITATE. Great grill! I buy a new one every 2 years. I hook mine to a full size LP tank and use it year round. I store mine outdoors exposed to the elements so after about 2 years the burner rusts out. Priced buying a new burner and between replacing and shipping it is cheaper to buy a new grill !--cooks great-we even do schish-Kebob on it. I Recomend 04/11/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Assembly instructions all wrong The grill itself is just fine, but its the assembly that was such a bear. The instructions did not match the available hardware, so I had to figure it out myself. I'm good at that sort of thing, but at one point I almost shoved it back in the box to return. 06/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This grill was a waste of money. Two pieces broke while we were putting it together. The air vent won't tighten and leaves a gap between the slide and the grill wall. It doesn't heat evenly so we have to keep re-arranging the meat. Pay a few more dollars and get a better grill. This one won't last us thru the summer. We've used it twice and are already looking for a better grill. Three summers ago we bought a nice charcoal grill that cost over $150. We kept it covered and took good care of it but the bottom fell out. We didn't want to put that kind of money into another but a $21 grill isn't the answer. 06/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for small grilling! Really like the site to store option! 08/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horribly designed grill After 45 minutes working with 91 fasteners (yes that is correct 91) the grill was finally assembled. They even want you to assemble their logo to the grill! 07/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The grill made our camping experience a joy! The grill was easy to put together, didn't take up too much space in the car trunk and made scrambled eggs to steak heavenly! Love it! We will use it at home too! 08/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought this grill as a gift for someone. Easy to assemble for the most part. Handle broke when I was putting it together but nothing a little super glue couldnt fix. 07/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I just spent 2 very long hours of my life trying to get this thing assembled. It's an amazing mumble/jumble of nuts,bolts, and other assorted hardware. I get to the end and there are several missing pieces. It is now on it's way to the recycling center because IMHO it does not merit one more minute of my time and energy. I would rate this as a big mistake. It is also quite flimsy. Not good quality materials. 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice little grill for a small family. 07/18/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by ok, not great It was easy to put together, lots of parts. Hand tighten carefully, I broke a piece of plastic off right away on a leg. Was a little lopsidded and couldn't even it out. Lost a cotter pin 1st use but company sent replacement part rght away. Compact for easy storage. It was ok in a pinch and very inexpensive. It's a case of getting exactly what you pay for. 07/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great small grill the warming tray is also nice Well made table top grill exactly what I was looking for 06/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not an Improvement This is definitely not an improvement over the previous model. The bottom is angled and there's much less room for charcoal. The grate does not fit well. All of the paint on the bottom flaked off during the first use. Poor quality. 06/19/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good cheap grill-Would recommend conditionally... I was excited to get our Uniflame portable charcoal grill as a first grill for our little family of three. Assembly was pretty straightforward based on the schematics provided. It took me quite a bit longer to put it together than the 30 minutes the product manual estimates, but I'm not very handy and I still managed to get it done. During assembly, the plastic handle on one of the legs cracked- very frustrating. When attached to the grill, the crack expanded and two pieces of the plastic came flying off. We opted not to use the grill right away and to give customer service a try under the one-year warranty. As the manual states, "Do not return product to the store," I called their toll-free customer service department today. Service was quick- a big plus with a toddler running around as a distraction- and we are now looking forward to getting our replacement leg in the mail. As other reviews have stated, it's a cheap grill. The main cooking rack doesn't fit perfectly in the bottom tray and could shift into the coals fairly easily, so care will be needed while cooking. The handles aren't made to carry the object with anything in it, including coals, which I believe is stated in the instructions. But for the price, you are getting a decent product and I think it was worth our $20. Looking forward to grilling this summer.... probably will get a new grill next summer or the summer after. Customer service on the Uniflame end gets 5 stars. Design of the product gets 4 stars- that slipping grill may be annoying, but it will get the job done. The vents all work properly, and though the bottom air vent is looser than other grills I've used, it should still do what it needs to do. Product materials and durability gets 2 stars- my husband is an engineer and says they used the cheapest materials possible, which is probably why it was only $20. We don't expect it to last forever, and will be pleasantly surprised if we are still using it in five years. 06/18/2012
1-30 of 53 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew499
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp