See All Reviews
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 90 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall very satisfied! Just be aware.. 1. Measure your tower PC carefully! The space to hold the computer is only 17 3/4" tall by 8 3/8" wide. Do not forget to include the feet on the botttom of your computer in your measurement! My Dell XPS tower did not fit by 1/8 inch. You may have to place your computer in the space and then mount the door. 2. Consider having to leave the computer door off because it will impede adequate air flow when closed. 3. This unit is not designed to be taken back apart. It will be tedious and you will scuff it up a bit. Think carefully where you will put it. It is very heavy! 4. You will have to use a razor blade to enlarge the access holes in the back panel for the video cable. They are not large enough for a DVI-I video connection. It really is a very good unit... buy it. I'm a computer engineer so I get a little picky! 02/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy, solid, very nice I bought this desk because I needed more desktop space to do homework and then also be able to store my books and school supplies in and around it. I love this desk! Granted, it did take 4 hours to build but the instructions were so easy to follow. And in the end, it was all worth it. We also did site to store which was a piece of cake. No problems at all, just the waiting was hard...it took about a couple weeks. All in all, worth the money...love the look...lots of space..(but very heavy) 02/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice desk We are very happy with this desk. It is a very solid piece of furniture. But it did take 2 people and about 4 hours to put it together. 12/14/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very happy with this desk! As others have said this desk is darker that the photo but it is really nice. It is more like a walnut color that an oak. I ordered this and had it shipped to the store. It arrived in a little over a week. The box is heavy but not that large so it fit perfectly in the back of my dads mini truck. The Walmart employees wheeled it out and loaded it for me. It took my husband and I about 5 hours to assemble but that included the time it took to sort all the pieces. I highly recommend that you do sort all the pieces. There are about 12 types of screws so I used muffin pans to sort. We followed the instructions carefully and took our time and it went pretty smoothly. We did have trouble with adjusting the computer tower door. It was hitting the file drawer when opening and closing and a piece of the door in the front chipped off. I called Sauder, gave them my product number and told them the door was damaged and they sent me a new door right away at NO cost. Very pleased with this purchase. Be aware that the tower compartment is not that wide (8.5 inches). My tower is only 7.5 inches wide but it won't fit once the hinges and the door are on. We had to remove the door first to get the tower in. This is a beautiful desk and surprisingly the granite looks pretty real. 12/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Desk! Very nice and awesome desk, very sturdy for the money and will highly recommend it. Site to store was great as well!!!1 01/16/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by The plastic screw fasteners that hold most of this desk together are not adequate for the weight of the desk. After I got all of it assembled on a carpet floor, I started to pull one side to move it into place, and the plastic fasteners were ripped right out of the particle board crevices that they were mounted and holding together for. This desk is basically not fastened together to accommodate the weight of the desk to move it without picking up both ends (two people). It weighs 204 pounds. I am going to have to get some angle brackets at a hardware store to mount along side the existing pathetic plastic fasteners to keep the desk together. This is a shame, because the desk is very attractive and sturdy, but cannot be moved on a carpet floor without things getting ripped apart on the left leg, etc. 06/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THIS DESK!! This is an excellent desk, and has exceeded my expectations. Everyone who sees it, comments on how beautiful it is. It looks more expensive than it is. I especially like the "faux granite" writing surface. It is scratch resistant, and easy to keep clean! It holds all my components easily, plus CD's and knick knacks. Only draw-back was how long it took to assemble; but, fortunately, you only do that once. I would highly recommend this product. 09/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Disapointed When I purchased this desk I was very excited due to the fact that I had been looking for a desk like this for some time. I waited 3 weeks (site to store) for the product. When we went to put the desktop on we noticed that the vaneer was cracked! Obviously not a sturdy product. I checked the vaneer before we even started putting the desk together so my guess is that it was between the vaneer and the wood and when we lifted it went the rest of the way through. The only other way a crack that large would show up is if we hit it with a hammer or something which of course didn't happen. I was ready to just contact the maker for a replacement because this desk has a lot of parts and I really thought it was beautiful. I could understand one thing being messed up due to its size and handling during shipping BUT! After getting most of it put together we were about to finish and realized that the holes for the drawers were drilled in the wrong places making them unuseable. No way of knowing this until you are almost done putting it together. The door where your tower goes was too narrow for a normal tower to fit mainly because of the drawers not working. No way to know for sure due to that fact. This is a large desk with a ton of parts. Taking it apart and boxing it back up to return to the store is beyond a major headache. I will NOT! be purchasing this brand of products again of any type. This was not the first item purchased of that brand that I have had problems with. Instead of going through all of the headache again I will be spending my money at a furniture store for something of better quality. 09/04/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks Like Someone Dropped The Box... Over 10 pieces including the main Marble looking part of the desk were chipped noticeably. I am by no means a picky person, but I must say the product looks nice even with the flaws and a few metal pieces that were slightly bent (we had to unbend a little). We assembled the whole product in 4-5 hours. If you find broken pieces contact Sauder BEFORE you assemble so they can send the replacement parts. We did not have the luxury of time in this case, but all in all it looks great and the flawed parts are thankfully not on any of the front pieces. Great desk, Poor handling! 08/02/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very heavy but nice once done. This is a nice desk once you get it together. I've put together lots of stuff like this so the task took about 4 hours. Most of the directions were easy to follow. I was not impressed that you had to finish drilling some holes in the desktop piece. Not everyone has a drill and a 1/4 inch bit. Also when you drill them the top rips more than makes a nice hole so you have to be very careful. A couple spots on mine the top tore bigger than what the upright would cover. The slim cabinate on the side is going to be almost useless. To skinny for anything and too deep that small stuff will be gone forever. This desk is very heavy so plan for help. Also I tried to move it just a couple of inches on my own and the one panel that stabalizes the "lone" leg tore out. Need to get a couple of corner brackets to reinforce the problem. That lone leg is kinda flimsy anyway. The only other complaint that I have is the spot on the desktop above the lower cabinate is not tall enough to put my printer in. It is within a couple of inches. I have a long cord so I just put it on the very top. 07/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice for the price This is a nice piece of furniture if you are not looking to spend alot of money. It is darker than the picture appears. I like the color. It gives a good variety of punch out options for cords and such. 03/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Desk! I love my new desk. It is absolutely beautiful and a very solid piece of furniture. I searched high and low for a new desk before settling on this one. I chose this one not only because it is beautiful but the main selling point for me was the scratch resistant coating on the desk top. With that and the desk being solid I look forward to this desk lasting a long time. After reading the other reviews about the difficulty of putting it together I decided to have Wal-Mart put it together. They did terrific job! Cons: There are only a couple of cons I can think of. The shelves across the top could have been done better. The long shelves are pretty useless unless you are storing thick text books there. Notebooks won't stand up there instead they fall down. The other con is the open shelf just below the desktop. It would have been much nicer if there would have been a pull down door or if they had made it a large drawer you could pull out. 02/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super desk!!! We LOVE this desk. We bought the computer desk along with the printer stand, t.v. stand, media center & 6 bookcases & we love them all. They are very handsome & sturdy. They didn't take that long to put together. My husband put everything together in about 5 hours ~ ALL 10 pieces!! The only complaint I have about the computer desk is that the cubby for the harddrive is really tight. We ended up leaving the door off so that the computer could "breathe". Other than that, we absolutely LOVE it. The top makes the desk really sophisticated (and heavy!). We are VERY pleased with it!!!! 09/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It was everything I expected, it is a nice looking pice of furniture you would not know it was a kit unless told. It is very sturdy once assembled. My printer fits nice on top of the desk. It does take quite a long time to put together but the more time you take the better the finish product looks. It fell right in to the price range I was comfortable spending. My only negative is darker than shown in the photo. I had hoped it would be a little more golden but it is a little more on the Walnut side. 09/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product for your Money I recently moved and was going to be working from home. I needed a work space but didn't want to spend a ot of money - this product is definitly worth every penny. Though took a while to put together - the finished product was exactly what i needed - great quality and looks way more expenisve then it was. Definitly would recommend to anyone looking for a solid desk but doesn't want to spend a fortune. 04/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice desk We bought this desk a few months ago and have been quite pleased with it. It is a very nice desk once it is put together, which takes a little while. I was a little concerned with some of the other reviews I had read saying it was difficult with little or no instructions with it, even from people who consider themselves mechanically inclined. I had no problems whatsoever putting it together, but I was a carpenter for 15 years which may have had something to do with it. Overall I think it's a very nice desk with only a couple of very minor faults to it. Ours was missing one screw but it was functional without it. Which reminds me, I need to contact the company about getting one sent to me. lol 04/20/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Why not to buy a Sauder Computer Desk Received desk in aligned time and all Wal-mart employees were excellent in checking out and in loading help. Packaging excellent. Desk had no injuries in shipment. Desk took total 6 hrs, with my adult son helping me to assemble. Difficult instructions, unlabeled pieces, and not enough screws for assembly complicated entite procedure. I wrote to Sauder and they replied would send missing screws. Honestly believe product was priced right with assembly, without assembly it was way over priced. Final product is enjoyed and admired by all. 02/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Computer Desk! After doing an extensive research on computer desks, I came across this one and fell in love with it! I was ready to purchase until I saw the dimensions for the computer screen area... My iMac would not fit by less than an inch.. I started looking for other options, but none of the other ones beat this Sauder desk. I decided to purchase it and just go with it! The only downside to this item is the weight of the box, it's extremely heavy! It took 3 people and 4 hours to assemble. Once assembled it looked beautiful! The granite on the desk gives it an elegant look and overall it's a sturdy desk. My iMac didn't fit in the hutch area, but regardless of that, it worked for me- the desktop work area is big and it was not a reason to return or exchange this desk. I am very satisfied with this purchase and would highly reccomend to others.. See photo attached. :) 09/03/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Would not buy again Upon completion, this desk looks fairly nice. The color is MUCH darker than it appears in pic listed here. For a more accurate look, go to Sauder's website and look for this item. Other than being disappointed in color, my husband had an awful time putting desk together - the instructions are horrible! Several pieces were scratched and knicked upon removal from box as well. We both agreed it would have been worth the extra money to buy from a furniture store, if we had it to do over. 12/23/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by It was hard to put together, the bottem drewer broke, the left side was all scratched up from the box and when I moved it in place the left side buckled. Not happy at all with it. 11/22/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by for the cost this desk is gorgeous, lots of space. Beware the section that holds the computer tower is very small, made for a mid tower size. Also the directions have you assembling the desk in its entirety before lifting it upright. This is not a safe way as the desktop and hutch are connected securely but the bottom half of the desk is not. When my husband and I lifted it up the fasteners broke free of the drawer section, stripping out the lock nuts. The desk as a whole, once upright is heavy enough to be very sturdy so once placed it is solid. Overall I did a lot of research and for the price this is the best, and it does look very nice once assembled and placed. 03/25/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by not what i thought it was the color of the wood grain was way darker than what it appeared to be in the picture. also when i applpied for a walmart card to get the $20.00 off and no interest for 6 months it would not let me do this( i have excelent credit) this was very dissappointing 09/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Desk Looks nice please be aware that its not actual granite. Otherwise its huge and looks good. A lot of parts to put together. 08/18/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by AVOID THIS ITEM All together after 6 hours assembly, except for one drawer that disintegrated on assembly. Sent for replacement, guess what.... It fell into saw dust also. Finish is MUCH darker than represented in photos. Very dissappointed in product and am seriously considering return to wal mart for full retribution, including time wasted. 05/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful piece of furniture We purchased this desk and put it together a few days ago. The actual desk (and matching bookcase) are darker than the on-line picture shows. However, we LOVE this desk. It is very solid (and heavy) with quality components and it is beautiful. Putting the desk together was quite a process....my husband is a general contractor and he was surprised how long it took to put it together, but there are a lot of pieces (hence the solidness of the finished desk). Luckily, the bookcase was MUCH easier to put together (which I did by myself). I would definitely recommend this desk. 10/23/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed Over the years I have bought about 10-12 new computer desk and I was always very pleased with them. This one was disappointing and I am sorry about it. I have difficulty opening and closing the drawers, it seems to easily peal on the edges, scratches easily and I had to make the holes for wiring bigger just to get the computer plug through. These problems may not bother anyone else but I had high expectations for my new desk. 10/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by TERRIBLE Product! I bought this online and read all the reviews prior. On a scale from 1-10, I'm about an 8 as far as furniture assembly goes...thought this would be a piece of cake. The directions were fairly clear, but the majority of the holes were pre-drilled at an angle, making it impossible to build a level structure. It took completion of the entire system to realize that none of the drawers/door/computer tray line up. I called Sauder for direction and they offered to send replacement parts, but the entire desk is defective and needs to be replaced, which they would not do. I called Wal-Mart and explained the situation and they said they would issue a complete refund if I bring it back to the store. Now comes the fun part of returning a completely built, defective unit. Don't make the same mistake as I did - THIS IS NOT A GOOD PRODUCT!!! 08/30/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by not worth the money !!!! The sliding drawer for the key board fell in the floor the second time i tryed to pull it out. also i thought for 349.00 it would be real wood not press wood !! I should not have had to drill holes in the desk top to assemble. one of the wheels on the slide broke off. This desk looks great on line but is very cheaply made. I would not recommend this desk to anyone. 05/23/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK for what it is The one thing that I hate with this press-wood furniture is the cardboard back that you nail 100's of little bitty nails in with. For the price of this thing, would it really cost much more for the manufacturer to give the buyer a 1/8" luan plywood stained back which (1) would more durable and (2) look a heck of alot better. If you aren't using the pre-scored wire knock outs pass throughs it really is quite noticeable considering two of those knock-outs are at eye level. If you plan on putting your CPU in the drawer designed for this be aware that with the door closed, heat will build up as there will be very little air circulation. I ended up taking the door off and now I've got to find some dark finish to apply to the particle board holes left from removing the hinges. This thing does take a long time to put together, in my case about 5 hours. The color of the desk is much darker than what is pictured - a dark walnut type finish. It looks fine but was much darker than what I thought I was buying. One last thing is to be very carefull putting this thing together as the finish easily scratches. I found that out after assemblying the drawers and needed to adjust the height of the drawer guides and when closing the door for fit the door front hit the frame and rubbed the finish right off. All in all it's a typical presswood put together cheaply made piece of furniture. If your like me and plan to change out your computer desk every 5 years or so then it should be OK. If your expecting this thing to be used day in and day out and last longer than that then your wasting your money. 05/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very happy... but it's NOT Autumn Maple The desk looks great,it's exactly what I was looking for. It took me about 4 hours to put together and the directions were good. My laptop fits perfectly in the small shelf above the drawers just like a was hoping. I would have given it 5 stars except the color is a lot darker. It's not close to a Maple it's a dark brown. It being darker still works for me, but if you want a Maple color, this desk might not be for you. 05/11/2012
1-30 of 87 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew80
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp