Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 156 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for me Bought this when the engine light went on in my 97 Mountaineer. Was able to pull the codes that caused it, fix the problem, and reset the engine light. Spend the extra money to get this instead of the cheapest one because it gives you a code and a description of the problem and the cheaper model just gives the codes. The manual was very informative so read it before you even use the unit. Didn't try to hook it up to any computer so I don't know what that is all about. Now when I shop for my next used vehicle I can hook this up to it before I buy so I can see if there is any thing going on that I should know about. Good Luck and get this item. 04/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great features at the price OBD2 scanners are very useful tools for anyone owning a 1996 or later car, whether you are a home mechanic, or just someone who wants to maintain their vehicle after the warranty is up. What I like about this model is that for the price, the feature set is very strong. Not only do you get the error (DTC) codes, but also the basic explanation of what is indicated. An added bonus, is that you can upload the data to your computer, and get an enhanced explanation, and if needed, you can (for a fee), get a very in-depth explanation including expected parts and repair costs. I would not use that feature often, but for a potential major needed repair, that may well save najor costs, and give the owner a better idea how to proceed. 05/01/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reveals your vehicle's mysteries Although some auto parts stores will scan your trouble codes for free, they often won't erase them due to laws. This tool accurately diagnosed problems and cleared the codes after I made the repairs. Remember the phrase "trust, but verify"? Well, this tool helps keep mechanics honest when you can prove you know what the problem is. Wish it didn't cost quite as much extra to get an online detailed print-out of a problem, but the scan tool itself often gives you enough to go on anyway. Works easily as long as you follow the simple instructions. 01/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Tool For The Shade Tree Mechanic This was kind of a last ditch effort, to attempt to troubleshoot my car, before having to put it in the shop. After a car that I own, began running rough, I bought this code scanner, in the hopes of figuring out the problem, myself. After plugging it in, several codes were shown. It indicated that a specific cylinder was misfiring, so I pulled the plug and replaced it. Problem solved. For a little over $80.00 I was able to fix my own problem, and instead of paying somebody else to do it, I probably saved money, as well as added a new tool to my garage, which I am sure will be used again. Wal Mart had the best price, bar none. Make sure that you pay for it through Walmart.com and pick it up at the store you choose. They have this item in stock, but it is almost $20.00 more, if you do not go through the website. Don't ask me why, but play the game, and you save a bunch of money. 10/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by very awesome 'toy' I bought this because I plan to do all my own work for my vehicles and its already paid for itself in just a matter of weeks... My check engine light came on and so did the check engine lights in my neighbors two vechicles. Its already worked perfectly and accurately on a '03 chevy, a dodge and a porsche! It even comes with some software too. 02/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great diagnostic tool for saving time and money The Check Engine light came on in our 2006 Tahoe. I felt sure it was the fuel sensor in the gas filler tube, since it caused the light to come on about 2 years ago. I took it to the local Chevrolet dealer and they wanted $85 to hook up their small diagnostic tool to it just to get a read out. I felt that was robbery so I went to an auto parts store and asked them to turn off the light with their diagnostic tool and theirs wouldn't or couldn't. I ordered this CanOBD2 from WalMart and it arrived promptly. I plugged it in, got the detailed readout and turned the light off. Now my remote start will work again and the problem is corrected as well. I have since used it on our son's vehicles and feel it was money well spent. It would also be wise to have it if one was going to purchase a used vehicle. 07/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by not bad A good product if you have access to pinpoint exactly what the problem is, ex.- you receive a dtc code and there could be multiple reasons that code was triggered .Otherwise you will be paying $9.99 everytime you want a precise answer from Repair Solutions 03/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product and Value Innova 3100e has all features the home mechanic needs. USB cord included in price. It paid for itself the first time I used it. My daughters 1999 vehicle's "Check Engine Light " came on and car running "rough" with less power. Hooked up the Innova 3100 as instructed and "#4 cylinder misfire" came up on screen. #4 Spark plug tip was black and the cause was the plug wire was cracked and shorting. Simple fix. And then with the Innova 3100 I could erase the trouble code and the "check engine light" goes away. I feel like a real auto mechanic!! 04/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Equus 3100 Innova Diag tool This is an awesome product I been in the maintenance field for many many years and have millions of dollars in tools and test equipment under my control but I have not seen such a high quality full featured code reader like this one, finally I can depend on a test tool that do more than what I had expected and the best part at a fraction of the cost. Thanks Walmart for providing us the customers with high quality products at a very very economical price, I really appreciate you folks. Thanks again. 11/06/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Diagnostic Code Reader Great code reader, handy and looks nice and durable, I think is reasonably price. It just it turned out when digging more info or specifications about this particular model, it does not read engine and transmission fault codes, that there are other more models of the same brand that does. 06/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good product This has the extras that you need. The cheaper models are a waist of money. In one month I have been able to answer many questions and trouble shoot a problem that saved me 10 times the cost of this unit. If this ends up being something that you cannot use, you should not be working on your own vehicle. 02/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does exactly what is needed for DIY repairs This fixed two issues the day it was bought. A bad plug wire and a bad gas cap without going to the dealer. Don't expect the device to give you all the answers as it may very well not but the direction and understanding with a small idea of where to look for someone fairly well aware of current technology can use this thing quickly and make things work. Think of it as a test set for your car that used to cost tens of thousands back in the day. The directions are clear enough and the display is fairly clear as to what errors there are. If you need help the enclosed software (Win XP, 7 or Vista) should send you in the right direction. 07/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value for the price Product met and surpassed my expectations. A great value for the price. Not only does the diagnostic tool scan auto sensors for cars built after 1996 but it allows one to erase the 'check engine' light without going to a dealer shop (not flashing 'check engine' lights however). You can also connect to the internet for more advanced feed back on related problems More advanced models are available which measure ABS brake systems, etc..but they can cost up to $400 and more. So it depends what your needs are. 09/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved BIG I had a long term problem that was buggging me for almost 1 year - it was an intermittant problem with one of the ignition coils. This product solved the problem of: what, where and why, almost instantly. 11/11/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible instructions and poor phone support I purchased this product online at Walmart.com. After reading the instructions I retrieved the diagnostic code from my vehicle without any problems. Then I tried for and hour to download the codes to my computer and use the internet service. I never was able to get the information to download. The Customer support center answered my call but was unable to help. I ended up using Google to get the problem identified and parts needed to repair the vehicle. The instructions for using the software is terrible. Don't waste your money on this product. 01/16/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointing Bought this as a more advanced diagnostic tool based on the packaging which turned out to be very misleading. There is no software included with this. It needs to be downloaded from the website. Without the software this does not 'automatically open a browser and connect' when plugged into a laptop or PC and limits it's information. The software is also Windows only so I couldn't load it on a Macbook. And as reported by other buyers there is a charge per report from the website to analyse the data from the scanner for the RepairSolutions feature. You can't upload a report without a Windows PC anyway so I couldn't check that. The scanner doesn't do reports on it's own. It also doesn't print without the PC software. Customer service is poor and hard to contact. In the end this is no more useful than an under $20 code reader that does no more than show a code number and let you turn off the MIL If you don't already have a Windows PC or don't want to set up a charge account with them to pay over $10 per report stay away from this brand. 04/08/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good buy for the more advanced technician This diagnostic tool is great for the technician who will use all of the features that are in the Innova 3100e. The printout features and Repair Solutions is great 11/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Diagnostic Tool I was unsure of which review to believe on this product. Nevertheless I went ahead and purchased this product. I am so glad I did.. this is an excellent product for the do it your self mechanic. It provides everything you need to determine what is wrong with your vehicle OBD2 system. It has already paid for itself in less than a month. You will not be disappointed with this device. Oh! and I don't like complicated electronics...so rest assured. This device is extremely simple to use so don't be intimidated. In addition, I highly recommend taking a look at the You Tube video on how to use this product it walks you through it in case you need a brief tutorial. I don't why I was so hesitant to buy it fantastic product the dealers really don't want you buying this. 10/31/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not work for me I've used several different code scanners before. This one is so far the most complicated. The device screen reads and erases codes, but it would not link to either of my computers, which is the way to determine what the repair solutions are. The repair solutions are NOT free. It will cost 19.95 per month or 59.95 per year I registered my info, but there is nowhere to register my device. Another problem FOR ME is that the device is bulky and made of a hard plastic that can very easily break if you drop it. 09/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bang for your Buck! I have used the $300 version of this device, and except for a few differences (only a pro at a garage would notice) this scanner is just like it. It is easy to use and understand. I had it out of the package, scanning, and clearing the check engine light on my car in 5 minutes. Best of all, the check engine light was on for a silly reason and I was able to find out and clear it myself instead of paying a shop $100 to do it for me (they would have also probably tried to sell me on some service I did not need too). For the "Do It Yourself" auto mechanic, this is great! 11/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Product Great value for the money. Does what it's supposed to do. Brings up codes and descriptions. 03/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Avoided expensive service bill After driving around with the Check Engine Soon light on for 2 months and dreading taking it to be serviced, I bought the Equus Innova for my husband. He quickly and easily found that we had a .040 inch leak in our fuel evaporative control system. Using the included repair solution reference CD that came with the Equus Innova (and conectiong to the internet) he discovered that our problem was in the gas cap. Sure enough, the seals around it had small cracks. $19 + tax later, our problem was solved. This device was easy to use and saved big on a service call. 12/01/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs backlighting Nice product, but backlighting the lcd would have been a good idea. 01/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is well worht the money. It saves you the hassle of constantly going to the repair shop when your check engine light comes. You just plug it in, turn the key to the on position and get the codes and a breif discription of the problem. I would definitely recommmend this product to anyone who wants to search for the problem thierselves. 04/24/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 Did not work on 2004 Ram 1500 My 2004 Ram 1500 as the check engine light on, so I thought I would try this tool. Advertise on walmart.com for $83, drove to local store and it was $98, I was already there so I picked it up. Got home read the manual, plugged it into the truck and turned on the key. it connected and started doing its thing. But the unit display no stored codes in the trucks computer. I tried this a few times, called the tech support line, the guy on the other end said there tool is correct and there are no codes your truck check engine light must be at fault. So I have take this back for a refund tonight and out the $98 toward the garage bill. Others reviews seems to like it, it did not work on my truck hope it works for you. 07/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Indispensible Tool for a beginning DYI'er. I used my Equus 3100 on my Toyota 4runner and using the ABS function specific to Toyota was able to spot the rear left wheel speed sensor was bad. Several shops had looked at this, but had not been able to trouble shoot to this sensor. Just FYI....the quick start paper guide that comes with the packaged product is a little confusing as to what buttons do what. I strongly recommend you download the full manual from the Innova Website before you start to use it. 07/14/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good to scan before spending money @ dealership. I found the scan to be non conclusive as to the real problem. I cleared the codes and waited for a new code to appear to confirm and target the problem. Your dealer will just sell you a tune up to fix a problem when other issues may be the cause. Was hoping the 3100 would have more detail. But it is well worth the investment to have control of the service your engine may need. 12/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great The reason for buying this product was to reset MIL (check engine light) error code and to make sure my vehicle was ready to pass emissions. After struggling with a P0420 error code for almost a week, I decided to buy this product. I could not afford the $1000 + dollars to replace my vehicle catalytic converter, so I resorted to resetting code and beating the On Board Computer at its game. The 3100 not only saved me money, but also time. It was so easy to reset the code (just the push of a button; no more removing the battery terminal), and to test the emissions-readiness of the vehicle. After a couple of resets, and constantly checking the emissions, I was able to get the green light on the 3100 before the code came back. This enabled me to pass the emissions. 02/20/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Little tool! Nice tool to have, does do the basic job of identifying trouble in your car. Also can give you a print of it as well. Also has freeze frame which is the info locked in your autos data base which is nice as well. It does test all components in the vehicle. Down side is if you want detailed information you have to sign up with Innova for 30 days, then you can have unlimited for that time frame. It gives you a detailed report. Overall its nice to have, and the basic identification of your problem is free, the detailed report will cost, but you can access all you want for 30 days, even on different vehicles. 10/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Unit !! My Wife and I purchased this unit because it would actually tell you the info required on the screen. There were reviews on here that said this unit was not back lit. It is backlit there is an option in the tools menu that allows you to turn it on and off. maybe the older firmware told it to start off. I have used this and already saved myself at least 200 dollars and it took about 15 minutes to remove the old part clean the spot it went and put it back together.. super good price for this unit. I used a free site to get the info to repair it as Innova charge money for repair instructions. 09/23/2012
  • 2015-11-26 T05:20:33.145-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_156, tr_156
  • loc_en_US, sid_13029624, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 136 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.