Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 122 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good for the money! Does multiple things in diagnosing check engine light problems. I don't use their software because you have to pay to get code meanings. Go online and find those for free. 02/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful Money Saver This product works quickly...just plug it in, turn the key to "On" (don't start engine!), and the Equus 3030 will have all your car computer's data. Then you just take it to your computer, plug it into your USB port, and it will open the software (you must install it from CD) that shows you what the numeric codes mean. For instant detailed instructions on how to fix it, it costs US$14.99 (a bit more than the videos and info available "before my purchase" had said). You can use the software for up to 3 cars you register into their system, and use it up to 6 times per month for free. You can use this device to clear your "Check Engine" light once the problem is fixed, and if the problem reappears, you'll know you still have the problem (sometimes it takes several days for the light to come back on). 09/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! Although you have to look up the code on the CD, this product is super helpful!! My husband loves it! 04/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everyone should have one You don't need to be a mechanic to save money with this. I'm no mechanic and I saved money. I had been thinking about getting one because I bought my kid an old chevy s10. Thought I might try to do some things myself to save some money (which remains to be seen). But... my 2006 Toyota automatic started shifting really hard. I thought I would have to have the transmission replaced. I order this online from Walmart, I think Sunday evening, and had it hand by Thursday. (The shipping must have been a mistake because it was almost nothing and shipped right to my house. But I digress.) I immediately stuck this scanner on my Toyota and got the code, which turned out to be some solenoid in the engine oil pan area, inside of course. I kept searching for the code and “hard shift” etc, on the internet until found an issue with the Toyota PCM/ECM module (whichever it is). It turns out that that the code from the scanner along with the hard shift issue was in a Toyota bulletin and they were replacing this module up to 96 months under warranty because it had to do with emissions and the gov’t was involved I believe (I don’t think they would do it for free otherwise. I saved myself several hundred dollars, I betting well over 500 bucks because the knock-offs online were going for $300, just for the part. This is why I say everyone should have one. Oh, not to mention that Toyota charges $89 just to “diagnose” the problem, which took all of 3 minutes to get the code. Any scanner tool would give me the code, but for the price and the features (which includes internet firmware upgrade via the supplied USB cable), you can’t go wrong with this model. I put it on my kid’s “new” s10 and it told me I have an issue with an air intake temperature thingy, which I have located. and will be replacing. It also lit the red LED saying this car will not pass emissions testing. Nice to know before going to get tested. There is a freeze frame feature that I am going to try on my kid’s truck and see what I can figure out. Seems to have a lot of features for the price. 11/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by OBDII code reader for the masses This OBDII code reader did everything it was promissing. Its very affordable and worked with no setup or modification. Plugging the unit into your computer the software will already know your vehicle make and model so the solution comes up automatically with no code input on the keyboard in fact I didnt have to type anything. The software also helped in narrowing the problem down to a specific part. Which if you take to your mechanic its a printout showing everything including voltages that the part is reporting, temperatures, status. One downside is it does try to upsell you more detailed information at a cost. The free information is enough though to help solve the problem and even when two parts make up the problem it was able to narrow it to the left side part which in this case saved me $40. It will not change any programs but will allow you to zero out trouble codes. It works and its very easy to use. 04/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic, great product No knowledge about cars, but I have a Lexus with a check engine light. Problem is diagnosed as a carbon filter for evaporative system (mainly used for emissions) that will set us back $650 + labor, diagnosis from garage. Car will work without a problem, but the check engine light will mask other diagnosed problems that could possibly be far worse. The code reader allows us to reset the light, and check from time to time if any problems will arise. It is a far cheaper and hassle free alternative than going to the garage on a weekly basis. Off note, code are easy to read and to find for your car on the internet. 05/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product Using the Equus 3030 Innova, I found PO440 code on my Jeep. It was nothing but a bad gas cap. Bought a new one for less than $20.00. Saved me the time and the cost of going to an auto shop to have my vehicle checked when the MIL light comes on. 01/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool for the money This is an excellent product. Very easy to use I paid $52 and it diagnosed the check engine light and also cleared the light. I went to the website to obtain the information for the code. It was very easy to naviagte the website. If you have access to a computer then this is a great device. 08/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great basic on-board-diagnostic (OBD) tool This tools just provides a simple error code via OBD (on-board-diagnostic) port (available on 1996 or newer cars). Once you have the error code, just go on the web and google the error code for your particular car. Auto repair shops charge anywhere between $20 - $70 for reading the error code so this tool pays for itself in no time. But, you must go the website (www.innova.com) to download an installation software on your computer to get the full explanation of the error code by plugging the device into a USB port on your computer. For now, the 1st month is free but you must pay for subscription after the 1st month. You can get around this by googling for the error code. The scan took about 1-2 minutes on my BMW (I've variable valve timing error as well as oil temperature / pressure errors). If you have the error code, a red light comes on. You can erase the error code by pressing one of the few buttons on the device (I've the 3030f model) - this takes just a few seconds. 02/24/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Full function product This code reader is fully functional for the average DIY mechanic. Instructions are clear and it performs exactly as indicated. The cost of this product is less than having one diagnostic hook-up at a dealer! The ability to diagnose and get information to fix issues is invaluable for newer computer controlled vehicles. 11/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product for the money The OBD2 code reader works very well. It's only shortcoming is that you have to connect it to your laptop computer with the provided software to get a complete description of the problem. But, a code reader that will give a complete readout will cost about twice as much so I believe this is well worth the money. 11/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just as advertised Owned a more expensive code reader previous to this purchase and am pleasantly surprised at how much this reader does. Remember, do not turn on the engine to test codes. The PC download is very useful as well. Light weight and very easy to use. Great handbook as well. 02/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent... outtadabox I'm a novice with cars.. this unit, right out of the box, read the codes with my 2k Volvo. The software/website diagnosed the problems and within 10 minutes, I had my car fixed, light reset, problem solved. Easily reads our Prius and Santa Fe, so one unit, at an incredibly low price, really does the job and does it well. Paid for itself with it's first diagnosis.. Highly recommended for novice and mid-users. Pros might prefer 'live' data, which this unit does not provide... 08/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Money Saving Product Works as adverdised and paid for itself already, I have used it and my son used it on his truck and a friends car. Saved a lot of money to have the dealer put the vehicle on their tester for $80 at a time to find out it's just a loose gas tank cover. 12/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works perfect have an 01 nissan pathfinder, had some little sensor going off putting on the check engine light so i could not pass my smog/emission tests here in Arizona. plugged it in, hit the reset and everything worked like a charm. Much cheaper than dropping the car off all day paying over $100 for them to "Think" they found the problem. well worth it! 10/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plug it in and it works Bought this because my "Service Engine Soon" light came on and checking shops to have them do it was well over $60 - far more than what this item costed. However the light went out prior to me getting the code reader. I still plugged it in and it went thru the diagnostic and no error came up. Still worth the money. 12/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is well worth the money. Very easy to use and you can get the fault code explanations on the internet at http://www.check-engine-light.com/trouble-codes 09/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tool This is a great tool for the do it your self guy.. easy to use and does it all 12/30/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worked good Worked like it's supposed to. You could also buy an online manual thru the company for $15 but I didn't it need to at the time. 09/20/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Have to Subscribe to get code data My old scanner stopped working so I bought this. It makes you have to pay for a subscription service to find out what the codes stand for. Easier to just google search the code to find out what is wrong with your car. 08/20/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quick and easy to use It quick and easy to use. But the picture and even the reviews mentioned it came with a CD. The one I purchased today did not have the CD or a User Manual with it.Good product does what I needed it for. Just not as pictured. 07/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product but still trying to learn software The product is easy to use. Plug in and read code. Now the software that is a different story but maybe its me Still working on software. This product is great at reading the code and clearing the code. that is exactly what i bought it to do. 08/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressive Code Reader Read the instructions, plugged it in, took the reading, put the Disc in my PC and what do you know? It told me exactlyl what my problem was and I fixed it. I also like the fact that with the push of a button you can get rid of your check engine light! Awesome!!!!!!!!!! 08/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Money Saver I bought the code reader to get an idea what I was going to have to pay for repairs. The code and report gave me the leg up I needed when I took the car in. I showed the report to the service writer and saved the fee for them to put the car on their code reader. Far and away paid for itself with the first use. Wish they told me about the fee to get the detailed report, but the summary was enough for the service tech. 02/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by what was expected I did the research and found this product would meet my needs. I t did exactly what it said. I didn't mind having to look up on the computer the codes meanings as I was able to also research what I needed to do to fix it. I think it was a great value. I'm not paying a mechanic $80 an hr. to do what I did in 15 mins. 09/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gizmo it is very easy to use. I followed the instructions on how to hook up and in about ten(10) seconds i got the code up. checked online what the code is all about, and that's it. the only bad is i thought the gizmo comes with the cd but its not. On the website, there is a picture of the gizmo with cd on it. so its very deceiving. 08/12/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I purchased this code reader from Wal mart with free shipping and it arrived on a timely manner. The reason for the code reader we have a 97 Astro van that is not running good, so we bought this Innova hoping to find the problem. One thing I didn't like about it is that once it reads the code it doesn't display the code again until you hook it up to your computer and download it. If it would keep the code on the screen longer it would be easier to look it up in your manual instead of waiting to download it onto your computer. I may be just to old fashion for all the computer stuff. It did find a possible problem that we are looking into. Otherwise it is a good tool for the newer computerized cars with all the sensors that cause big problems. 01/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good OBDII CAN compliant scanner for the mone I did my research and I don't think you'll find a better featured OBDII compliant code scanner for the money. Comes with complete instructions and a bonus CD with more information. It plugged right in and ran its diagnostics without any problems. This unit will probably pay for itself after one or two uses to check stored codes if your vehicle's MIL comes on. Even if you don't do the repairs yourself, you'll be in more of a position to know and understand what needs to be done when you take it in for service. Certainly less chance of being misled as well. Highly recommended. Obviously, before you buy, make sure you are buying it for use on OBDII compliant vehicle(s)-generally 1996 and later. Otherwise it won't do you any good. 09/18/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't buy it. Set up and use of the software for your computer is not simple to load or use. The directions are limited and don't really cover the use of the reader very well. The real kicker is that after I eventually was able to get it figured out, the software is not able to identify the two codes I got on my econoline van. Even at their home page they were unable to identify the codes. Don't buy it. 11/17/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hard to operate, worst warranty Very hard to retrieve codes after reading the first one. Does not show live engine data i.e. cylinder miss fire etc. It stopped erasing data little over a year after purchased. Warranty within a year covers parts only. We have to pay somebody to install them which is usually more than buying a new one. 10/26/2011
  • 2016-03-24 T08:38:01.253-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_122, tr_122
  • loc_en_US, sid_13029622, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 102 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw297
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp