See All Reviews
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 145 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good value I will try to answer a few questions either I had or others have posted. This is a full size (Dreadnaught), steel-stringed, acoustic guitar suitable for beginners or (like me) someone who is returning to the guitar. It is not a classical guitar with gut/nylon strings. It is too big for a child but fine for a small teen. Its sound is very good for the price. Remember, you are not buying an Ovation or high priced Gibson. The case is soft and unpadded but adequate. It is pre-strung, although the high E string on mine was improperly wrapped and promptly broke on initial tuning. Good news - they give you a spare set of strings. Top, fret board and tuning knobs are acceptable quality. Digital tuner is very rudimentary. I have an electronic keyboard from which I could tune much more accurately. Good in a pinch I suppose, but not a high grade digital tuner. Fact is, once you have any one string tuned, the others are easiest to tune from that one, as most guitar students quickly learn. Strap is 'hidden' in the side pocket of the case, which may be why a few people said they didn't get a strap. Likewise, the strap ties to the head. There is not supposed to be a strap attachment knob on that end; only on the body. The included CD and chord chart are good for a beginner but unnecessary for anyone who already knows the basics. The bridge, frets and clearance from the soundboard are all good. Expected sore fingers that go away as callouses develop. The strings set a proper distance from the frets so there is no vibration if fingering is done properly. The workmanship is great for the price. I anticipate it will be some time before I abandon this bargain for an upgrade. 02/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for a beginner Bought this for my 7 year old granddaughter who informed me she want's to be an American Idol when she is 16. It's great for all beginners. She won't put it down . Very easy to tune and stays in tune very well considering its being played by a 7 year old. If your looking for a starter guitar I would recommend this guitar for anyone age 5 to 95. 01/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Starter Guitar I purchased this guitar for my 15 year-old daughter. It sounds as good as a more expensive Ovation guitar I own. The guitar is well built, and the strings have good action. Contrary to the picture, there was no shoulder strap, and the left side peg was not mounted on the guitar. The tuner is made cheaply but works well. I have not loaded or used the software. 01/11/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by The excitement on my son's face when he received this gift was PRICELESS...unfortunately, it arrived w/o the anchor on top that attaches the strap...otherwise...it's worth it. 01/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product and Great Price In searching for a beginner guitar, I was so afraid I might buy a piece of junk. Well, I am pleased to say that this is a wonderfull product, although it has yet to be tested over time. It is well made, beautiful and sounds great. The item was exactly as described and included all listed accessories. For someone who does not hvae the best ear for tuning an instrament, the electronic tuner is wonderfull (note: The best way to use it, is to allow it to lie on the guitar rather than to try and hold it above the guitar). I have not tried to use the tuner in a noisy environment but I heard that it does not work well if there is much noise and I would guess that is true. ANyway, if you are looking for a beginner guitar, you can purchase this product without fear. 12/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A real bargain and quality product I bought this guitar for my 13 year old daughter as her 1st guitar. It has a carrying case, extra strings, tools to tune it, several picks to play with, a strap to carry it, a CD to learn with, an electronic device for sound check. We were pleasantly surprised at how much was included for the price and it sounds beautiful and soulful when she strums her guitar. What a quality product for the money ! 01/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good guitar, great price This is a great deal for a beginner I can tell you that. I wanted to learn how to play and I have an electric but I have kids and didn't want them tripping over the amp so I saw this listed on the Walmart website. I ordered it to be shipped to the store and arrived safely. Be careful when you take it out of the box though as they don't pack the picks and other items in bags so everything just fell out (and I had to tip the box upside once the guitar was out to get all the picks.). Other than that it sounds great. I used the software's tuner for the guitar which I think is easier. The guitar has no scratches or other problems. The guitar strap attaches on the bottom then ties up on the neck under the strings (I am not using my strap currently.) If your looking for a beginner guitar or something on the low side this is a good start. I might have to buy another if my kids pick up wanting to play!! 03/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by a valuable product This product has been very valuable: financially as well as sentimentally. You get all products shown for the low price, and this is a very big guitar. My daughter absolutely loves this and has played it dutifully. It gives her pleasure, which makes my day a little brighter. I thank you for the option of site to store shopping. You can not find some things in the store. This is a great opportunity and will be repeated by my household. 01/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice one!! this is my first guitar.. im only a beginner but i like it, i love it...it meets all my expectAtions.. really for a beginner guitar... 02/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice little kit! I bought this guitar kit for my 16 y.o. daughter to learn on. I was quite pleased with the guitar. I had one of my friends that is an accomplished guitar/piano players as well as a musical instrument repairman take a look at it before giving it to her. He figured he would have to adjust the bow out of the neck (you get a wrench with the kit) and maybe adjust the level of the strings but it needed nothing done. He tuned it up and said it played pretty nice. It had a good tone for the money. He said the strings are pretty light and would suggest getting a little heavier string later. My daughter loves it and has begun lessons. 03/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Too Shabby The guitar itself is nice. The tuner is a bit sensative but pretty good. The only thing I would recommend is not relying on the software that comes with the guitar. It's not that great and my son was disappointed with it. 01/07/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Killer deal for the quality! I was very impressed with the quality of sound and the complete appearance of the guitar. This will be my daughters second guitar. Her first was a junior size and I believe this size will be perfect for her. It will be her 10th birthday gift. I believe it will be a great starter guitar and upgrade from her first. I tested it and got it all tuned..it sounds awesome! However, the strap was missing from the package and the guitar only had one peg to attach only one side of the strap to?? A bit bummed about that. Which will definitely make it a bit difficult to rock out on the guitar standing! Otherwise, its a great deal for the quality of the guitar. She'll be stoked! 03/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Value I bought this guitar to have something to drag around and play wherever, much to my suprise, this is an awesome deal for a guitar! I've bought many a gitbox in my life and this rates right up there. The sound is rich and deep, the tuning is spot on and maintains, make no mistake, this is a full size guitar, you are not left for want with this deal. I'm looking into what else the Silvertone people have to offer after this purchase. If you are looking to just get into guitar or to have one for every occasion this is it, go for it, you will not be dissappointed. Great Deal! 05/29/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Missing items Upon inspection of the package, I found it was missing several items that were indicated in the package. The guitar itself was a good looking guitar, however, it only arrived with the bag and a computer disc. Every other item indicated in the package was missing. I would say if you are looking for a good beginning guitar just purchase the guitar. You can purchase the other items (i.e. picks, chord charts, tuner) at a music store and get some invaluable advise a well. 04/04/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by MISSING PIECES/DISADVANTAGE BUYING ONLINE Item arrived in time for Christmas, when opened pics and training materials were missing but I didn't want to take gift away from grandchild and send back so I had to go to music store after Christmas and purchase items. Now I see item price has been lowered $20.00 from what I paid. This is the disadvantage of buying online rather than in store because I can't get the refund of the difference of what I paid and I couldn't check that everything was in the box before purchasing. 01/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Guitar! My little boy was so happy when he recived this guitar..but I did not know there was an cheaper version. 03/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A nice starter guitar for students I've always wanted to learn to play guitar and I found this is a good starter set for learning to play guitar. The guitar is very nice looking, the case is very handy because you can carry it on your back like a backpack...which is nice when you need to run down to music store with your guitar. My teenage son lit up like a christmas tree when he saw the guitar, and now he wants to use it to learn to play too! The extra set of strings is and the training materials are a very nice touch, as are the extra picks! We love this product! 03/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING! this guitar is perfect for me and my fiance'e! Her and i use the adia disk in our computer for lessons and they are very easy and really help alot. This is the best guitar pack ive seen! GET IT! 03/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I wish the package would have came with a DVD instead of a CD-ROM. However, the Guitar is just what my son wanted and is absolutely beautiful and good quality. 12/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2nd Review, GREAT BUY This is one of the nicest guitars that I have played, better than the two epiphones that I have owned that cost much more. The action on the neck is just about perfect. No fret buzz but still plenty fast. The accessories that come with the guitar are decent quality and are enough to get a beginner off to a great start without costing major bucks.. The guitar strap is serviceable, just woven nylon but still is pretty comfy. The tuner works just fine but needs to be close to the guitar's sound hole when in use. The guitar bag is of good quality but has no padding. Buy a new bag when possible for better protection. Picks are OK, medium stiffness. 01/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for learners Purchased this for my husband online and had it shipped site to store. Received it right on time, and was thrilled to learn that the guitar came in its own box that was also boxed up, so it was in very good condition when he opened it up on Christmas. The guitar itself is nice, and sounds wonderful. It came with 4 different picks, the tuning machine, the cd, an alan wrench and the case. Everything was in good shape, and he has had no problems with any of it. The guitar was a little hard to tune at first, but I think that is more inexperience than the guitar itself. For those learning, we found www.howtotuneaguitar.org a great site for tuning. 12/31/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great guitar for a beginner. I don't know much about guitars but my son LOVES it. The only thing we weren't impressed with was the computer disk that is called Instructional Software. But there's always you tube! 11/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great beginner guitar got it for my son in law who wants to learn to play... inexpensive but sturdy.....great package deal!!! 12/31/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I bought this for my girl who wanted a guitar. She with the instructions within the first day she learned several chords. So it is good for a beginner. 12/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Great price and a great value for what comes with the guitar. The only thing we cant figuar out is the cd that goes into your computer? Other than that we love it!! 02/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It was good I loved it exept the fact that the strap had only one spot instead of two so the strap didnt work but overall it was a really good guitar pack:) 01/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Guitar for Son Great gift for my 8 year old son. Guitar was a full size and came with everything needed to play. Extra strings and picks were included. Also an electronic tuner accompanied the set. Nice set. 07/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to learn and use The entire package is complementary...each fits the pattern of learning the guitar...very sequential 02/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product! This is a great deal! A beautiful guitar and all the necessary pieces for a beginner or player who hasn't played in a while! The tuner is a great addition! Loved it! Very satisfied with product, great value for the money! 12/21/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by good deal! This is a great guitar for someone who wants to learn to play. It sounds good and the accessories it comes with are helpful. My stepdaughter is very happy with it. It is suitable for adults. 10/26/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T07:12:09.572-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_145, tr_145
  • loc_en_US, sid_13021058, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 119 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew278
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp