Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 60 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by versitle dutch oven this is the most versitle dutch oven lodge logic makes as the lid doubles as a skillet . the lid also fits as a cover to the 10.5 in skilllet i have from lodge logic. workmanship is perfect---made in america so i dont have to worry about the heavy metals used to cast asian competitors. lodge logic is the best cast iorn cookware out there---wal mart price cant be beat. grand kids love to help me cook on the fire pit. great food --great fun. 12/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Iron is the way to go Dutch! My daughter watches the cooking shows on TV and asked for a Dutch Oven for Christmas. I knew exactly which one I would buy her but could not find what I wanted anywhere in any store. I checked online and found exactly what I wanted! Walmart, you win the prize! Not only did I find the dutch oven I thought would fit her needs, but was able to buy exactly what I knew would be the healthiest; IRON. It was shipped to the store and ready for pickup two days later! It was wrapped and under the tree in time for Christmas. She loves it! I have already heard about the delicious Venison Chili she and her boyfriend cooked! She agreed it was super easy to cook in and even easier to clean. Where else can you buy online and have the purchase in two days! WOW! Thanks Walmart and to all of you out there looking for a Dutch Oven; this one is priced right, it's less expensive than any other I found, and it's far better quality. And, don't let the IRON bother you, it was already trued for use. It also doubles as a skillet! Lodge Logic stands behind it's products and for that reason alone, it's the one you can be sure will stand the test of time! 01/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by cast iron pot This pot is great. Not too heavy, and definately not lightweight. Would recommend this to friends. 08/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Exactly what I wanted. Perfect for camping, scouts, soup. 01/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lodge Double Dutch -- Love It! I've had my cast iron dutch for a few years now. Two pans in one -- love it! I use the lid ALL the time for just about everything; browning meats, cooking bacon, burgers, chicken, frying, it even fits a chicken pot pie using pre-made pie crusts perfectly. Though this comes pre-seasoned, I would still recommend re-seasoning the pot a few times or at least cooking some naturally greasy meats in it at first, such as hamburger or bacon. I made the mistake of preparing a pork tenderloin in a red wine sauce in my new dutch, first use. Bad idea! I wasn't thinking.... the acid from the wine stripped that pre-seasoned coating and my meal was ruined. I then had to re-season the pot a few times to repair it. So be careful with acids at first (wine, tomatoes, etc). Once you build up a better seasoned coating, those food items should no longer be a problem, however I now choose to cook acidic meals in an enameled pot instead. Same prep plan for the lid, do some burgers and bacon in it at first. After some uses, the surface smooths out and becomes non-stick (develops a patina). It is then that it performs beautifully. Make sure you know how to care for your cast iron, VERY important: hand wash, hot water, scrubby sponge is fine (or nylon scraper if necessary), no soaking, hand dry, place on the stove to thoroughly dry it (low-med heat), then oiled paper towel to rub on a new thin coat to the inside, leave on heat a few more mins, then turn off and leave it to cool. I do the oil step probably every third use, you'll notice it looking dry when it needs this. Overall, this product is a great price, an exceptional value, provides outstanding performance, and... it's made in the USA! 09/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Main Pot This dutch oven has easily become the cooking utensil I use about every day. I use it to fry chicken, french fries, onion rings and mozzarella sticks. I also use it to cook beans and rice dishes. The lid makes a fine pan for eggs and pancakes. It has some weight so be prepared to use some strength. Arriving pre-seasoned made it possible to use right away. Maintenance is minimal; no soap, towel dry, heat on stove to evaporate any moisture and rub all surfaces with an oil damped paper towel giving it a handsome sheen. Its made me go on line to look up recipes for cast iron dutch ovens. Great deal for the price. 02/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice for those of us who are looking for a traditional "dutch oven" with all the value and durability of cast iron. Not only will I be able to pass this down to my grandchildren, it will help keep me strong enough to lift them well into old age--think bicep curls! I have used this multiple times since purchase; it continues to be non-stick and clean up well. A very light gloss of canola oil and it waits patiently for my next recipe. 11/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dutch oven Great item and great price. The only way to cook! 02/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great addition to my set! I LOVE this 5 quart Double Dutch Oven! It is the perfect size for me, a single woman. Perfect for chili, soups, stews and the occasional pot of greens. I love that the lid is also a skillet, the 10 1/4 inch diameter make this set perfectly interchangeable with my other pieces. Having grown up with cast iron all my life, maintenance is a breeze. I would reccomend this to anyone looking for a good, durable, multipurpose pot. I ordered the 7 quart dutch oven for my son and his family of six. 01/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Big Hunk of Iron does the job I bought this to make the No Knead recipe and decided that this was the best deal out of all because it has a top you can cook in making it a 2 for 1 bargin. So far it does the job. I do believe that Lodge could do a better job deburring the sharp spots on the handles. Yes, you will be using pot holders most of the time but the sharp spots chew up the pot holders. 08/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slight Iron taste Even though it was brand new and pre-seasoned, there was a definite iron taste after I cooked some Italian Herb Chicken with tomatoes right out of the box. They say that it's "ready for use" right "out of the box" but that is not a good recommendation. It may be ready, but your food will taste bad. I would recommend that you cook some other foods in it - leftover veggies, inedible plant parts like the tops of onions or something to soak up the iron smell...THEN use it. 06/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lodge Cookware is to Die for! The dutch oven arrived before it's expected date, which was a real plus! The oven itself is a perfect size for two-person meals. It is sturdy & even all the way around, so there are no 'thin' spots as seen in lesser quality cast iron. It comes fully seasoned...and a quick wash & more 'seasoning' probably wasn't necessary, but I did it. I made chicken paprakash and it was fabulous. I used the lid to brown the chicken, while browning the other ingredients in the bottom. The only 'downside' is the weight of it, 13 pounds. However...that is what cast iron is. And this one is F A B U L O U S!!!!! 06/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great addition to your kitchen This is a great piece of cookware and so easy to maintain. I love the way the lid can be used as a fry pan. The first thing I cooked was pot roast. It was wonderful! 08/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by None Better! Perfect in every way! Cast Iron cooks everything much better, Period! and this Dutch Oven is no exception. I use it for everything. I deep fry in it, make stew and chili in it, boil potatoes and make rice in it, and to top it off, I use the lid as a fantastic no stick frying pan. I make pancakes, eggs, bacon, fried potatoes, and even steamed broccoli in it. You name it, you can cook it in this sweet Double Dutch Oven and Lid. It heats perfectly and makes food taste so much better. So even if your new to cast iron, you will love it. Keep it seasoned, use no soap, and you will have a set that will last forever. PS Use very little oil when re-seasoning your cast iron, it's the reason so many new users have problems. Put on, wipe off, heat 1 hr in oven at 350 degrees. Easy. 07/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Dutch Oven for the price! I cook all my Mexican cuisine dishes to perfection in this baby. I use the lid as a skillet to cook eggs from fried to omelets, and I also use it to bake cornbread, nothing sticks it! 07/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I was looking for! With bonus lid I was looking for a pot to multi task as a dutch oven and fryer. Found this and the lid also is a pan. What a great idea. Works great with my old fryer basket, and when I want to clean it, the whole thing can be immersed in water, unlike most deep fryers. 04/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bread Baking Magic Perfect size for baking large, round, crusty country loaves. You preheat in the oven with the frying pan top on the bottom, and the dutch oven on the top. Carefully remove top, drop in the shaped loaf, score, and put the dutch oven bottom back on as a top. The steam from the loaf inside the pot creates a great oven spring. After 20 minutes, remove top to let the crust brown until loaf is done. 02/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my dutch oven from Lodge. They give you easy instructions for maintaining cast iron. It does come seasoned but for me it was not truly non stick until I had used it several times and seasoned it myself. I am so happy that I never use non stick aluminum any more! No need to with cast iron cookware. 09/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made in Tennessee! Lodge is the best cast iron cookware and it's made right here in the USA. I've married this dutch oven! Yes, in love I tell you! Seriously, this is one of the best dutch ovens Lodge makes. All their cast iron is wonderful but what I particularly like about this one is the lid can be used as a skillet. Also, the lid will fit some other cast iron skillets as well. 08/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lodge Logic 5-Quart Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven This dutch oven is fantastic. I was worried it would not be high quality but it absolutely is. And the cover doubles as a skillet. It was exactly as described and the price couldn't be beat. This is durable and will enhance food flavor as I use it for cooking in years to come. I highly recommend this product. It is the perfect size and cooks exactly as my mother's cast iron dutch oven does. GREAT VALUE!!! 07/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Double Duty Im the type of person that researches every thing I buy. After searching prices walmart was the cheapest and has a no hassle return Policy. This set is well worth the money its like getting a pan for free. I can make chili in the pot and corn bread in the pan. What a time saver it has been. 05/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by durable cookware Strong, Solid, cookware. After much research Lodge Logic has proven to be one of the best retail Cast Iron cookware for the buck. If PROPERLY taken care of, the Lodge Logic is easy to cook with and easy to clean. Just remember that it takes an extra few minutes to clean, due to cool down time, or boiling water in the pot to get off stuck foods. If properly seasoned after use, the stuck food will be very limited. Well worth the money, time, and effort. Food really does taste better with cast Iron. 03/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by good value for durable cookware durable cookware because it is made of cast iron. learn to take care of cast iron, and cast iron will take care of you. lid doubles as griddle, so this dutch oven is multi-use. 5 qt size is useful for most cooking purposes such as casseroles, stews, slow roasting. 02/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lodge Logic 5-Quart Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven The Lodge Logic 5-Quart Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven is a must for anyone who bakes bread, camps, grills and likes a good roast. 08/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lodge Double Dutch Oven Cooker We have purchased Lodge products many times over the years due to high quality and this item is no exception. As always very well crafted in the states, this product offers the dual utility of the top lid as an added feature. A valuable asset when camping in the field. This will also be a most welcome quality for general cooking by my mother in law in the Philippines. Bottom line evaluation, good quality, made here in the states by a company that cares and tough enough to outlast you and your children (even when abused). 08/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Logic Double Dutch Oven Product was priced well and was shipped quickly store to store. We have used it three or four times since purchasing and we find that it cooks with an even heat. My husband used it in his Weber Smokey Joe Charcoal grill and cooked jambolaya. It cooked evenly and through and through. Held the heat, nothing stuck. Clean up was easy. We lightly oil the oven when we are done washing and cleaning it to keep it seasoned. A very happy customer. 07/28/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Arrived Broken Unfortunately, this cast iron double dutch oven box arrived at the store in terrible condition. The box was not within another box packed with paper around like everything else we order site-to-store. The box the dutch oven was in looked like it was in a war. So the girl opened it for us and one of the cast iron handles was broken in three pieces. She apologized and credited our account. We ordered a different Lodge Dutch Oven and this one came in perfect condition with a larger outer box that had a lot of paper surrounding it to cushion the inner box during shipping. The rating I gave it does not reflect the dutch oven itself--it's on the packaging! It is a gift, so I'm sure they will like this one. They specifically wanted cast iron and the new one we choose was even less expensive than the double dutch oven and it is in perfect condition. We would recommend this product if the packaging would have been adequate and the handle wouldn't have been broken in three pieces. It's very sturdy and heavy. 12/13/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by arrived broken :/ I got all the way home and opened the box to find the handle was broken into a few pieces. I returned this item and will order another brand instead. 08/04/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed The dutch oven came in with a crack in it. When I told Walmart, they gave a compensatory offer- free shipping to my home with $10 coupon. When I tried to re-order, product not available. 08/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made in the USA excellence I knew what I wanted before I bought it so it suits me perfectly. The seasoning on it was perfect, but of course I applied my own before using it. It's the perfect tool for baking hearth bread without a stone. I've cooked in the lid a few times, nothing, so far, has managed to stick. The only piece of Lodge I still need is their Hibachi grill.... Thanks Lodge! 10/27/2012
1-30 of 55 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw467
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp