See All Reviews
Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 41 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it enough to marry it Words cannot describe how happy this pan makes me. Four years ago it looked like a monster and I wondered if I should have bought such a huge pan. I burned several things in it due to the learning curve of cast iron - it's not as sensitive to your adjustments of the flame on the stove, so once it's hot, it can get rip-roaring hot on any temp above medium. But once you find the sweet spot, boy, oh boy. The non-stickiness only gets better as time goes on. If it looks "dry" after using/cleaning, rub some oil on it and leave it on a medium low burner or moderate oven until oil loses it's glossiness. Don't soak for more than an hour or two, don't use soap - baking soda for worst-case scenario, and if you need to scrub it, use a flat-edged metal spatula instead of steel wool or other abrasive tools. This pan doesn't look enormous to me any more, in fact, it's the only thing that comfortably cooks for my family of five. It's a great size for searing off meat and roasts, making quesadillas, 3 or 4 pancakes or small sandwiches at a time, 4-5 hamburgers, a dozen or more scrambled eggs, or maybe 6-8 fried eggs. This pan never leaves my stove-top and is used several times a day. Most of the time I can just wipe it clean, the rest of the time a quick rinse will usually do. Scrambled eggs are the exception and still necessitate a bit of soaking and scraping, although even those are doing better and better and as my pan gets more seasoned and I hone my technique, I find I can keep them from sticking for most of the cooking process. Fried eggs now slide around in the pan better than they EVER did in a non-stick. Even burnt cheese no longer sticks to this pan. Amazing! I can't believe I ever wasted my time with anything other than the classics. I do agree that the handle is too short to properly support the weight of the pan with one hand, but realistically, I'm not sure ANY handle could practically do that for a 12-pound pan. This is no problem for me since this pan has its very own dedicated burner, and I only move it when it's cool. I grab a potholder when I need to pour something from it hot. Pouring will be awkward no matter how you do it - it's a TWELVE POUND pan. Try a ladle :) 04/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by a skillet as you've not seen before! This is a huge skillet and can cook almost anything in the stove or over the campfire. The handle is a bit short for the size of the skillet yet performs its job. The cost is ridiculously affordable and I love this skillet. 04/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A really great deal! This 15" cast iron skillet was actually way bigger than I imagined but perfect for searing larger cuts of meat and making meals for a larger group all in one pan. The best feature ( besides the great price) is that I can not only cook on the stop top, range or camp fire, but that I can go straight from the stove top to right into the oven! You can't beat cast iron and you can't do that with toxic teflon! 06/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Cast Iron I am new to cooking with cast iron, and I really love the Lodge products I've been getting. This skillet helps me cook great pancakes and stir fry's. Also I love to brown chicken breasts in it, then pop the whole pan straight into the oven to finish cooking them. This skillet will last a lifetime (unlike many of the more expensive skillets I've owned). Curing and cleaning is easy, and there is so much cast iron cooking information right on the internet. I am looking forward to adding more cast iron to my kitchen! 11/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cast Iron Skillet I saw a recipe for fried chicken using a cast iron skillet. This skillet was perfect. 09/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product - Uniquely capable Big in this instance is definitely better. I bought this product for use with an induction range top that has a 13" center "burner" which is capable of 4.6 KW of power. No other pan I have used comes close to gracefully handling this level of power with no localized hot spots. Easy to clean as has been noted. Recommended for all cooktops, but especially well suited for induction cooking. 11/09/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by 15" Lodge cast Iron skillet Other than being heavy, (because it has to be because of its size) this is a really nice skillet! 06/25/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice skillet I ordered this and a Better Homes skillet which is also cast iron, but has ceramic coating on the bottom. I got tired of eating Teflon and decided to try cast iron for a change. I really like them both, but the Better Homes is my favorite because it sticks less. Yes, they've both been cared for in the same manner and as directions stated. The Better Homes pan (texture) even looks a little different. I know it's a 15", but I wasn't expecting it to look so huge. This thing is heavy. I think it would be great over a campfire and I also like that I can cook a meal for my large family in it without overflow. Great quality pan that should last my lifetime. If I had to do it over, I would have bought it again. Both skillets work great on my glass top stove. 09/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by good old cast iron This very heavy skillet is perfect for nearly everything! And, preseasoned too! Perfect. 05/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Cookware ever! This is our fourth skillet from Lodge. Upon purchasing our first piece of Lodge cookware, we were hooked. We use our Lodge cookware exclusively on a daily basis. Everything cooks better and tastes better. Food is healthier since you do not need to load up on fats and oils to cook. It is no wonder that this cookware has been selling for over 100 years. Our forefathers and mothers knew alot more about cooking than we gave them credit for! 05/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The price was great, the Lodge 15" skillet is killer, and shipping for a 12 1/2 pound item was under $2.oo I would recommend this to anyone wanting to cook great one skillet meals. Just last night I browned 4 large chicken breasts, added almost a half gallon of stock, a whole onion, a cut up bell pepper, a large handful of carrots and about a dozen cut up mushrooms. I put the skillet in a 400 degree oven for an hour and when the timer went off, took out a whole cooked meal. I put the skillet on a burner and turned it to medium heat. I took everything out of the skillet but the broth, added a slurry of water and corn starch, some salt and pepper and brought it to a boil. A few minutes later, I had an amazing gravy. Hard to beat! 01/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best pan ever~ Believe it or not I bought this pan for my wife on our 10th wedding anniversary. (It was a supplemental gift, I got her a Florida vacation too)... Anyway, she did not hit over the head with it because I bought it as an anniversary gift. She LOVES it. She fried a whole pound of bacon in it on the first use and it was outstanding ...even heat distribution, excellent capacity. The only down side was that the pan in the picture has pouring spouts and ours does not. So she was not able to easily pour the bacon fat into a jar for future use. She said she could do it, but it made a slight mess because of no pouring spouts. Because the pan was slightly different from the pictured pan, i.e. no pour spouts, I marked "meets expectations" rating as good rather than excellent. I also would caution that the pan is (obviously) very, very heavy...so be careful when pouring and lifting. The pan is so good that my parents actually had me order another pan for them as well. It is truly a necessary pan in you kitchen. You won't be sorry you ordered it. Fast shipping too...very reasonable shipping cost, especially for the weight of the pan. Walmart is the best! 10/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy with the pan This is a very large pan that will work for large families 08/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best Lodge 15" Cast Iron Skillet I ever bought. Great quality. Lodge brand is the best. Great for camping. I just love it. Thanks. 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A workhorse Recently began to increase my use of cast iron and very happy with the results. It is hard to find this size skillet and was able to buy it here for less than half of what I found it retail locally. Nice to be able to cook in one batch what usually has to be cooked in two. But it is a lot (heavy) of pan to handle, so be prepared. 04/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by very nice it is a really big pan but worth every dollar it has no problem frying a whole chicken maybe even two i would,nt trade mine for any other pan 04/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by just what i wanted works great, just took some time to season it for myself and it has been a great addition to the kitchen 12/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lodge Cookware Own several Lodge products. All pieces exceptional and affordable pieces of cookware. Will continue to buy Lodge products. 11/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great camping skillet I haven't used this skillet yet, but it is a very well made, large surface area and deep sides. We bought this skillet for camping and will be using it this month. 09/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect size I went on a camping trip with a large group this pan cooks it all,the price and free shipping cant be beat lodge makes killer cast iron products and wally gets to you free every body should have one of these period. 07/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Fry Pan Ever This large cast iron fry pan will cook anything and make it taste good.. 06/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT SKILLET THIS SKILLET IS GREAT. EVEN TEMPERATURE THROUGHOUT THE COOKING SURFACE. EASY CLEAN UP--A LITTLE WARM WATER & SOAP AND RINSE. WIPE DRY. IS HEAVY WHEN LIFTING. I GAVE IT 4 STARS ON "MEETS EXPECTATIONS" BECAUSE THE PICTURE SHOWS A POUR SPOUT BUT THE SKILLET DIDN'T COME WITH ONE. GOOD BUY. 11/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it, will last forever shipping was quick, and pan is a perfect size for cooking a large prime rib roast. Use it all the time for cooking large meals for my family. 04/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Skillet I love my new skillet! The best part is that it's already seasoned and food did not stick to the pan on it's first cooking experience. It's big and heavy but fits inside my grill perfectly. Definitely worth the money as it will last forever. 04/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most Used Pan Pan does not have a pouring spout as pictured but it is already seasoned for use. The over-sized feature makes cooking for 4-5 easy. Best price! 03/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I used this skillet in a church kitchen, and I knew then I had to have one. Could not be more pleased.... 03/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this pan,cast iron is the way to go,food taste so good also,its like cooking steak on the grill.Iam pleased,will buy my children several different cast iron pans. 01/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! As long as you keep these cast iron skillits treated and NEVER put them in water, they will last forever. 10/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my skillet, I have been looking for this for a whole year found it elsewhere but was over priced, walmart had the best price. They are the one and only that even carries this size of pan for the price. Berjazzy61 10/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and BIG for cooking LOTS of food for LOTS of people! 08/18/2011
1-30 of 31 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew369
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp