See All Reviews
Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope
Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope
$109.99
List Price: $199.00
You Save: $89.01 (45%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 58 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Pellet rifle My family currently owns 3 Gamo brand rifles now. Of those 3 we have had 2 for several years now. The only issue has been replacing 1 scope. Inadvertently it had been stored next to one of the A/C vents in the house causing temperature changes within the scope and causing issue with moisture. Now on to the review of the Silent cat: Please understand this is not a toy nor is it a variable pump up type that most of us grew up with that shoots BB's or pellets at around 760 feet per second. It is a very powerful spring powered pellet (only) single shot rifle capable of speeds over 1200 feet per second. to put that in perspective it shoots a pellet fast enough to cover 10 full length football fields in 1 second. Can it actually reach a distance that far with enough velocity to do damage? No. However, with-in 100 yards it definitely can. There are 2 types of .177 pellets that can be used in it. One is the old fashioned lead pellets that have been around for years and years and now come in so many styles it would be impossible to list them all. The other is a lead-free alloy which is the newer variety. The lead-free ones are significantly lighter and thus are the ones capable of breaking the sound barrier causing the "crack". The rifle comes with a pack of Gamo lead-free ammo. Normal lead pellets will not be anywhere close to being as loud. It is quieter then the other Gamo rifles I already have without noise reducer. As for the rifle itself, it is well built, full size and has some weight to it making it hard to handle for some. The trigger has a bit of resistance to it as well which can be both a good thing or a bad thing depending on what your looking for. It helps to prevent accidental or premature firing when placing a shot or makes it difficult for some to actually make the shot because of the strength required to pull the trigger. The safety location directly in front of the trigger is a perfect place to put it in my opinion. When fired it will produce a slight kickback called recoil but it is not strong enough to present a problem to anyone. It has fully adjustable sights and a variable scope. Once mounted though the scope makes it so the sights can not be used. Would be much better if the rifle came with high rise scope mounts to eliminate that issue, but they can be bought at Walmart. Both the sights and the scope are consistently accurate and secure once properly adjusted and the screws fastened. If you do have an issue with the screws loosening over time just place a drop of lock-tite on them and re-install. I have taken many pests with mine. ranging from chipmunks, squirrels, opossums, foxes, and coyotes. The furthest being a 60 yard instant kill shot to the coyote. (I am in a subdivision and was granted permission from the local fish and wildlife office to harvest the animal) Since it is NOT powered by air or compressed gas(es) it does not fall under the definition of a firearm and therefore can be fired within city limits without violating firearms laws. More information and videos can be found on the manufacturers website www.Gamousa.com As for my background and experience in the field I am retired from the US Marines as which I served as a weapons instructor and also have a background in Law enforcement. 12/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product Dissapointed in the packinging it arrived all beat up but lucky the contents was OK. Assembled the scope and put a target, within 15 shots I had the Gamo sighted in. Four bulls and one just touching the centre ring at 75 Yards. Best pettet rifel I've ever had, love it 05/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good pellet rifle and very accurate i have fired a few hundred rounds through this gun in just the past couple of weeks. Sighting it in is a breeze. The only complaint, for this model, it needs to come with a taller scope mount. I removed the front sights on the barrel, and it still picks up the tip of the barrel due to the silencer on the end. Other than that, a great gun for the price. A great gun for small game, would not suggest for a child though. It has the same capabilities as a .22 rifle, just not the repeating capability. 04/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great!!! This is a amazing gun! when i first tryed it one of my friends just got it in the mail and it only took like 5 mins to sight but after that, we droped some coke cans and a couple birds from about 100 yrds. although i dont recomend trying to on a cow =) but over all its a good gun and i would recomend it to anyone 01/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Bang For The Buck, But Beware!!! This is an awesome rifle for the money. I read lots of reviews before purchasing this gun and I can honestly say that all the positive reviews were right - this is a great gun all round. Build quality, accuracy, ease of use, power, value, none of these vital features can be faulted. I did ready some negative reviews about things such as the scope not being better (no mil dots) and the trigger no being smooth, but IMHO I think those reviews were unwarranted. Firstly, at $150, or there abouts, how can you expect a gun to come with a $500 scope? Secondly, the scope provided is more than adequate for anything you should be expecting to use a gun in this price range for. Thirdly, as of mid-2014, Gamo addressed the issue of the poor trigger and started to ship the Silent Cat with their awesome SAT (Smooth Action Trigger) at NO extra cost. This, IMO, made this rifle perfect. However, BUYER BEWARE!!!!!! If you intend to purchase this rifle from a Walmart store, or from an on-line retailer then you need to make 100% sure that you will receive the NEW spec. rifle. The new spec. rifle comes with the SAT trigger and a newly printed box, but those are the ONLY differences. The model number is exactly the same on the old and new spec. models, and there are still lots of the old spec. models out there. Especially on the shelves of Walmart stores. A few days ago I ordered one of these from Walmart.com for same day store pick-up. BIG MISTAKE! When I got to the store to collect the rifle I was not only given an old spec. rifle, but one which had CLEARLY been used and returned. The store had one more in stock, but that too was an old spec. model. After doing lots more research I found that most of my local stores had the old spec. models in stock. All is not lost. Still wanting to purchase from Walmart, I learned that by ordering on-line and selecting "ship to home" the rifle would be shipped directly from Gamo and shipping is/was free. So, in conclusion. Awesome rifle, but if you end-up with an old spec. model return it and find the new spec. version (if the box has a picture of a squirrel then it's and old one, if it has a picture of a cat and says SAT, it's a new one). 05/12/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gamo Silent Cat The name says it all "Silent Cat" and will kill any other small animal you choose. It is a ton of fun to shoot and even though it has a sound supressor it is pretty loud but worth it. 08/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice addition-would recommend Its was heavy for my 14 yr old and lanky or long at first. He did need a gun tripod or a rest to sight it in. The "sighting in" was easy and quick . He is very satisfied with the power or velocity it has. It seemed a little loud at first but after a few rounds it quitted down or so it seemed. The scope he says is pretty decent. He has other pellet guns and always comes back to this one even over the CO2's. 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very accurate air rifle!!` After searching online I decided to buy a Silent Cat at my local walmart. I figured if the rifle didn't meet my expectations I could take it back, you can't really try out a rifle if you buy online without having to pay for return shipping. I wasn't sure if I could trust online reviews. I was really surprised how accurate this rifle was. Accuracy out of the box was OK. Accuracy was noticeably better after a couple hundred pellets. I mounted and sighted in scope after break in. Accuracy is affected by pellet selection. I tried three different pellets; Gamo Tomahawk, Crosman Premium and Crosman Destroyer EX. The most accurate was the Crosman Premium. The least accurate was the Gamo Tomahawk. My Favorite are the Destroyer EX. The Gamo Silent Cat paired with the Destroyer EX are AWESOMELY DEVASTATING on birds! Most of my shots are at around 30 yards with great success. The gun really performs well and I have to say I really like it. Great Rifle!! 05/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Great Gun, very very very powerful" #I own the big cat version of this but there are the same rifle internally, just different stock and this one is a bit quieter considering the suppresor# I spent alot of time trying to find the perfect Springer Air Rifle. I debated back and forth from Nitro Piston Bejamin/Crosman to Gamo and RWS Magnum rifles. There are alot to chose from in the Air Rifle world. I think I read almost every blog or review for moderatly priced rifles. I finally chose this after seeing that all the reviews seemed to be very consistent. I like the sleek look, hence it really looks more like a 22lr or mag. I took this beast home and that same day I painted it digital camo . It looks pretty cool but shoots even better than it looks. It took 7 rounds to zero at 25 meters. I also tested it on 50 meters and it shoots great. I can hit quarter size groupings with no probelm. This rifle is easily capable of shooting through 3/4 to 1 inch plywood, so ensure you have a proper backstop. Again this rifle is extremly accurate! I truly believe people who get bad groups are because they have not mastered proper grip. The best type of hold is Artillery. Look it up on google or youtube. Also guys and gals I would suggest you upgrade the scope if you plan to use this beyond 30 yards. Although the scope they give you is okay #what do you expect for less than $150# there are much better optics out there for less than 50 bucks. I bought the tasco 3-9x40 30/30 and it works like a dream. You can find them from 27.99 to 38.99 at most dicks,walmarts or bass pro. Lastly do not entertain the negative remarks about this rifle. Not every rifle made will be perfect no matter what the company says. If you get a lemon, just box it up and exchange it for a new one. I attached some pics for you as well. Here is a link where a guy shoots a decent grouping with this rifle http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PXN-bgqiyM 02/17/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by loud I returned rifle because irt was deemed to loud for the neiborhood I live in. There was a whole lot of power coming out of this gun. but it was a little to noisy......... 09/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by accurate, powerful, relatively quite Just got the gun; put about 30 pellets down range. Got a quarter inch group at 40 feet with the fiber optic sights. After sighting the scope, also got a quarter inch group. Only flaw so far is the grip of the gun ... usually there are grooves or diamond patterns on the gun to keep your hands from slipping... this one has a smooth finish, but it is not a huge problem. All in all, it is an accurate and powerful gun. 07/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very accurate rifle the scope is very precise once you get it adjusted right pretty powerful rifle i would recommend it . 12/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by fine gun for price This is not a firearm, it's an airgun. If you're looking for pinpoint accuracy at 50 to 100 yards this is not going to do it. Right out of the box I was able to produce quarter size groups at 15 yards with open sights. Put aprox. 100 rounds through it. Then mounted the scope. It was easy. Yes you can see a little of the open sights in the bottom of the scope but it does not affect accuracy. I shot 10 round volleys. With-in 20 rounds the scope was sighted in for 15 yards. Another 20 rounds it was right on at 20 yards. It can easily hold a nickel at 20. At 25 yards a quarter will cover them. Best pellets were crosman premium hollow points from Walmart. If I have to shoot little critters out to 50 or 100 yards I would use something else. Overall I am impressed with the accuracy. It serves my purpose. So far I've put aprox. 500 rounds through it. The scope has not moved and still holds zero. The 4x scope is fine for 25+ yards. It is what it is, a fine airgun for reasonable distance. I would certainly recommend this to a friend, and have. 10/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I read some of the early reviews and they helped.One said that it was loud and it is if you use the original pellets,but if you use the red fire pellets,what a differance in the sound of the gun.This gun is great,I also got a different scope the squirles don't like it so much though. 03/26/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! I have owned this gun for about 5 months now and recorded over 50 kills with it. I shoot it atleast once a day dropping some sort of pest around my house. It is deadly accurate with both the scope and iron sights. It isn't too bad with weight or trigger pull. I can drop a squirrel at over 80 yards with it no problem. Very good for pesting and just hunting small game. It is cheaper than its friend the bone collector, and it has 750 fps less than it, but in the end it still is just as deadly from 10 to 100 yards. I would recomend this for anyone over the age of 14. 06/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT GUN!!!!!!!!!!! I just got this gun, and it is awesome! I would highly recomend this gun to anyone. For the price it is great. Ive studied on this gun for a week, and the MSRP. on it at the GAMO store is $270. SO BUY IT!!!!!! 05/18/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mechanically Unsound I'm 45 Y/O and love to plink-hunt small game. Given the recent 22 shortage I purchased this rifle as a replacement for our (22 powder) rifles. I have shot several different types of .177 ammo through this rifle and have owned it for several months. Love the speed and power of the rifle but accuracy is it's downfall. We target practice and sight in with targets before hunting small game, the silent cat (Break Barrel) seems to have problems with correctly locking into its same position each time. When looking at its grouping at 30 yards through the scope (+) one will see that with the best of ammo (10 Cents a shot pellets) the holes will be aligned Up & Down the vertical line of your scope. I believe this to be from the barrel drooping as we have cleaned the barrel between every shot trying to find a fix to its problem. Also have tried adding a By-pod as a fix for accuracy which worsened the problem raising the projectiles high above the scope vertical line. Open the rifle before purchase and notice the cheap mechanism that holds the barrel up after cocking, I wish I had paid more attention before purchasing. Looks Great, Sounds Great, Powerful, But not worth a flip at shooting small game past 15 yards (50-50 chance) of hitting whats in the cross hairs. (Back to the 22 Powder!) 04/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gamo Silent Cat Bought this for my husband to kill squirrels that are stripping our 6 pecan trees bare before we get any. I took it home put the scope on and had it ready for him to fire when he got home. The Gamo Scope is not great (double imaging badly) but it was well enough to get the gun zeroed in after a dozen lead cone head pellets at 75 feet. Had a very tight grouping of .5 inch the last 5 shoots. ( Wish I could upload the target image to show you. ) It is easy for him to break/pump in his hands but I have to use the table for an assist. The suppressed sound was very surprising for the amount of power. We traded the Gamo scope for a Bushnell and now it is a perfect marriage of rifle and scope to help put down those pesky critters inside the city limits without breaking any firearm laws. We highly recommend this weapon for small critter kills, target shooting and plinking. 02/02/2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by very quick and powerful I bought my first Gamo about 5 years ago. We sat up a firing range in our basement. My friends and I shot targets all winter. We fired at least 5000 rounds at these targets. The game never jammed or failed to fire. I gave my old Gamo to my son-in-law and I bought this new one. I love it like the original. You will not be disappointed. One thing about it though is that it does make noise. It is not as loud as a 22 rifle but it is close. 08/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great rifle for small game with great range, This silent cat had more power then i had expected, and it was able to penatrate a 1inch pc of solid wood behinde my target. great gun for the mony...... 12/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than Expected!!! Bought it just for fun and was very impressed with the accuracy. Very strong. The only downside to it is that it is a single shot. The Gamo platinum pellets, included, make a great difference with accuracy. 08/30/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool Very easy to sight in and has more than enough power to dispatch of any bird or field gopher yet quiet enough that it will not scare ever other animal away when you take you shot very well balanced if used for varmint control or even just plinking 08/18/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by After buying a cheap B-1 that didn't shoot well at all I bought a silent cat. I fired 300 pellets of dirrerent types with it and never got better than a 4" group, so I traded it in. With the second 1 after 25 rounds I am getting 1" pattern. I really like this gun, glad I stuck with it 06/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lou Sal When I purchase this, rifle I was getting very frustrated because I was unable to sight the rifle, and after spending some time reading thru ought different, reviews and blogs, and finally, I came across, the key remedy, rise the scope so I Order a set 11 mm. tail dove high profile double screw rings for the scope and, but mean while I received the order, I improvise by putting electrical tape and little pieces of plastic to rise the scope and that was it, from the point it was so relieved, because I really like, that rifle the design the mechanics, the fluted concept and it is .177 so it works, the skeleton structure and plenty power and mainly I bought it because I have several squirrels tin the back yard and they are becoming very territorial, but I have neighbors very close by, so that is way I bought the .177 smaller round. and not the 22. so I hope this helps. 07/19/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good gun but spring powered guns jump The Gamo Silent Cat can be an accurate pellet gun. I have fired off about 300 rounds with about 150 from a fixed bench at a target at 20 yards. Most of the initial shots the gun were with the gun held down on the bench for stability. To sight in the scope a lot of the 5 shot groups were with in a 1 inch diameter. I was pleased with the results at the range. As for power the pellets were going half way through a telephone book. After taking it out free standing and shooting the accuracy was quite a bit less than what I saw at the range. This gun is spring powered and jumps a lot more than my 22 rifle when the trigger is pulled. When I go out in the woods I try to look for a tree I can stabilize the barrel with to keep thing from jumping too much. Unfortunately I don’t have a tree every time I take a shot. 12/07/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a nice deal After checking on line for an air rifle I decided to go to walmart to see if they had one in stock at the nearest store and it was. I purchased the silent cat and I was amazed how well it shot. It only took about 50 shots for it to settle in and stay zeroed. The scope that came with the rifle is clear and has also stayed zeroed. I've had no problems with the sights coming loose as other people have had. I did give it a good cleaning before using it and the bore was pretty dirty, but this was to be expected. Now I'm able to practice a lot more at a reasonable price and without bothering anyone. 11/02/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by good gun, bad scope When I sighted in this gun, I got groups all over the target at 20yd. I thought the problem was the barrel not locking into position correctly, but I did a little research and figured out the scope is parallax-free at 100 yd, not 20. At 20 yd the crosshairs dance all over the target if you move your head just slightly. I replaced the factory scope with an AO (adjustable objective) scope which allows me to dial in the distance to the target. Problem solved, tiny groups all day long. 100 yd is a good range for a high powered rifle scope, but its crazy to put one on a pellet rifle. The replacement scope cost about $100 at airgundepot. Only complaint about the gun is the funky stock design makes it a little uncomfortable to carry. I have big hands. 01/29/2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Accuracy degrades over time... First few months of owning this gun I experienced reasonable accuracy. Then the accuracy began to degrade to over 4" groups at approx. 23-25 yards. I suspect the barrel has minor warping due to the required cocking pressure. Guess it's time to replace this rifle with a Crossman Nitro gas piston model. 08/23/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great pellet rifle I purchased this online and picked it up in the store. Got home assembled it after 5 minutes it was dead on target. The only thing is it will get off 0 if the barrel gets dirty. It shoots the best with the gamo tomahawks. I tryed crosmans led free SSP hollow points and they just fly all over the place. When cleaning just use a piece of weedeater string, bend one end over and melt together to make a hole for a cleaning patch. Use a drinking straw in the silencer so you dont loose cleaning patches in the silencer as you will have to shoot it until it blows out. 07/05/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great gun good buy i bought this to get into shooting again .i put a center point 3x9 scope that i bought for 60 dollars on it and sighted it in no problems at 25 yards shooting good groups of quarter im gona sight it in aat 50 yards yet.i can hit coke cans already at almost 50.i have got three small game that range in range for 20 to 60 yards .the guns power is great.the scope that comes wth it is no good throw it away and get a good scope.i read alot of reiews on this gun and thats why i got it they r right the power is great but the scope is no good...great gun for the mooney i would tell everybody to buy one 06/30/2013
  • 2016-03-24 T08:22:16.313-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_58, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_12537971, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 58 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw362
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp