Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 69 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Betta Fish no longer shivering I was not aware that a Betta fish prefers a warm environment. When he stopped moving or eating I researched the symptoms on the net. Sure enough, they like it 78 -82 degrees. Without a heater it was about 68 degrees. Burrrr. The Tetra heater is the perfect size and has made all the difference in his quality of life. So far it is a steady 78 degrees and he loves it. The heater is under the rocks out of sight. It was so simple to find it, pay for it on Walmart.com and have it shipped to a nearby store. :-)'s 02/17/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Works for a 10 Gallon Tank The same product in store cost $20 bucks... works okay, but I have noticed that it doesn't hold at 78. It goes back and forth from 78 to 76. It does enough to keep the fish happy! 11/22/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Use for Turtles, very excellent Turtles will not eat if it's cold but they will not go into hibernation if it's not cold enough. My two turtles stopped eating around winter. They became skinnier and retreated to their hide-y cave. It worried me a bit because they used to be excited eaters, rushing to the side of their tanks and waving at me so I could come over and feed them. And no matter how much I fed them, they wanted more food. So I did some research and I found that piece of information in my first sentence. So I went to the store and bought this, washed it and plugged it in. Just a few hours later, they returned to their old begging-dog self. It works great, keeping the temp at a constant 65-75 degrees that the turtles need. Only thing is that my turtles don't like a lot of water for some reason so the heater is half in the water, half out, even if I stick it at the bottom of the tank. But no worries. The turtles lay on it to keep even warmer. It doesn't burn their shells... 07/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Heater Must Be Used Correctly If water does not circulate in the area around the heater, the heater's internal thermostat will quickly reach it's design point for cutting off power to the heater and it (properly) quits heating. Also, the volume of water and the room's ambient temperature will affect the ability of the heater to do it's job of maintaining a stable temperature in the aquarium. The more the room temperature is below the heater's setpoint, the harder the heater will try and will possibly fail to maintain a stable temperature. My heater is used correctly and it has served me well. 12/02/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts I would really not spending money on this. It says it keeps it up 78 F, in reality it doesn't. This is suppose to be for 2-15 gallons. I use it for a 1.5 and still cant get past 72 during day and 70 at night. Don't waste your money on this. 12/12/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by USELESS - STAY AWAY PLEASE! I purchased this heater less than 2 months ago and it already STOPPED working. It definitely doesn't keep the water at the 78-80 temperature. Currently it only goes on when I unplug it and plug it back in, but afterward it will not turn on again until I unplug and plug it back in. It is a TERRIBLE TERRIBLE product. It says it has a 2 year warranty, but you need to have kept the receipt and pay them $3 extra for shipping. Which means you pay money to ship it back to them, and then you provide money for them to ship it back after they "fix" it. They won't provide you with a new one, but only PARTS. PLEASE DO NOT PURCHASE THIS TERRIBLE PRODUCT. 01/17/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Heater stopped working I purchased this heater about 9 months ago as part of a 5 gallon aquarium kit. It worked great for the first 8 months but has sinced stopped working. The tank temp now is around 70 degrees and I noticed that the heater never seems to turn on. As there are not many choices for heaters for a 5 gallon tank I'm not sure what to do. 12/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great heater for small tank. I bought this heater for my daughters new betta fish 2 gallon tank. I love the fact that it suctioned on the side of the tank & also has an auto shut off when it reaches correct temp. He dif. seems to like it being warm. 02/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works well Being used in a four gallon tank. Water temperature stays at around 75 degrees in a room with an ambient temperature of 64-68 degress. 03/25/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not reliable in the long run I bought this heater about a month ago. For about three weeks this heater was doing exactly as it is suppose to do. However, it randomly started losing it's heating power. Instead of heating it to 76 degrees, it is now at 71 degrees. A 5 degree difference really affects a fish's health. Do not buy this heater because you'll have to buy another heater in the near future. 03/21/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tetra Care tank heater I purchased this item for a small tank we have for a Turtle. It's working just fine to keep the water at a even temp. Very happy with the item. We had it delivered to a local store (saved us $7.00 in shipping) and pick up was easy. 10/15/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perect Fit-For small Tanks! Has a light on it so you can see if it got un plugged or stopped working. very thin. pliable cords. Nice. My betta loves it! 07/25/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fish Tested and Approved I have a tropical fish. I had a heater that was just too long so i ordered this. My poor Finny was so cold he barely moved. As soon as i got this in and his tank warmed up my fish perked up so much. He began zooming around his tank instead of acting lethargic. He is very happy now and im so glad i got this for my small tank. Im one happy fish owner because he is comfortable and i am able to adjust yhe temperature in the room to what is comfortable for me or leave the heater off when im not home without worrying about him. Very pleased. 01/25/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aquarium Heater The heater is small and does actually what the package says. It maintains the temperature at a steady 78 degrees. It has a red light to let you know when the heater is heating and a green light to let you know that it is pulgged in and in stand by. I highly recommend this heater for use in the proper size aquarium. 11/15/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Aquarium Heater I love this heater. I used to have problems keeping fish because of the tank's inaccurate temperature. All I have to do is simply place the heater in the aquarium and plug in. It automatically keeps the temperature the same all day every day. I no longer to have worry about my fish. Great product and strongly recommend for beginners and/or amateurs. 08/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works well for guppies. Hi, I raise Guppies and have been using this heater to do so and have never had any proublems out of them and I use them in my 5-gal, and 10-gal, tanks the 5-gal, tanks stay between 78%-80% witch I find to be good for the fry and the 10-gal, tanks stay around 77%-79% witch aint bad if you ask me I like them and will keep using them as long as they still work the temp in my house is around 70%-72% all the time so for the heaters are working great and to be working this good I will always buy and us them I would tell anyone looking to get one to get this one and one othe thing if the flow of the water aint that great it won't work right and if you use a air stone put the heater on the other side of the tank where it will not be near the air the air will mess with the heater and never pull the heater out of the water with it still pluged in it will never work right again if you do. 08/13/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by 72 degrees is NOT a tropical temperature I bought this heater a week ago and since then my 5-gallon aquarium has not reached more than 72 degrees. Tropical fish ideally should be kept in water between 76 and 82 degrees and this heater doesn't even come close. I guess you get what you pay for, but I will definitely be returning this product and spending the money on a good quality heater. 08/04/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by junk stopped working after a few hours we bought it a few days ago, put it in a new 10 gal aquarium. For the first few hours, it seemed to work ok (red light), raising the temp from 68 to 78 in a few hours. But once it reached the target temperature and the light turned green, it stayed green forever and never heated again, as the water gradually went back to 68 over the next couple of days. I even took it out, unplugged it a few times, put it under a faucet with cold water coming out, in hopes of waking up the thermostat, but the heater light permanently stayed green and never heated again... What a piece of junk. Returning back to Walmart. 11/03/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fish Thriving I like not feeling like I might electrify myself as I had with other heaters that aren't submersible . I also received a 5.00$ rebate with it. I was so happy to receive it. The company honored it's word. 05/12/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fish Demon It works great in my 2.5 gallon Betta tank.He's happy so I'm happy. 01/19/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great heater for a 1.5 Gallon tank. It's a bit big for the 1.5 gallon tank but it doesn't over heat it at all. It stays exactly in the green area of the thermometer for tropical fish which is great because we use this little tank for our swordtail fry. Our last heater by someone else, kept going above the green area well into the 90 degree area and we weren't taking a chance on losing our babies. So if you have a small tank this is excellent. 10/14/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by heater is alright for a small tank I have a 10 gallon tank and the heater did not warm the tank to temperature to what it advertise. 78 or whatever Temperature it advertise. I had to use two heaters water was too cold for fish 01/03/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mine died too. I have a 30 gallon long aquarium and managed to break my 300 watt non-submersible heater that was 8 years old (I think it was a Tetra too) by letting the water level get too low. It was still working fine prior to the incident. I purchased this 50 to go along with another submersible 50 watt (adjustable) that I had thinking that 100 total would be fine, and it was. The heater cycled on and off and maintained temp normally. After a couple weeks I noticed that the water was getting too cool and the red LED was off so I unplugged and plugged it back in and it came on. Now it will not come on at all even with the water temp at 64° so I took it apart to see how it worked. It is based on an LM324 quad op-amp and 2 temp sensors that appear to be thermal diodes but are labeled NTC on the board. These 2 sensors drive 2 of the 4 op-amps and the output of the 2 drive the third which controls the triac that switches the power to the element. The fourth op-amp is unused. The red indicator LED and its dropping resistors are hooked directly across the element. I think moisture may have gotten in and ruined the electronics. It is not serviceable as it is glued together with CA (super glue) and I broke the glass tube trying to take it apart. 01/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by didn't keep the temp at 78 only to 70 was hoping it would do the job for my 10 gal tank but it wouldn't keep the temp above 70 even when I added hot water to raise it to 78 it would drop back to 70 worthless I took it back to the store and got the same one only 100 watts and it work just as bad and failed is the same way 11/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by hate it ok ik wat your thinking after you read these bad reviews......yyou think ooo it will work for me but thats the same thing i thought before i bought it! trust me it really doesnt work i plugged it in a bunch of times while it was in my freezing cold aquarium water and the light never came on saying it was heating. please just save your money and get one of the 100 r 200 watts because thats wat im getting when i return this piece of garbage!!!!!!!!!!! 06/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product! Works great! I bought this heater for my 5 gallon aquarium and my Betta loves it. 01/10/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product for the money It has been working fine so far. My fish are happy and it keeps them warm and healthy. 06/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable well made does the job. Nice arrangement having this shipped to the store. Worked out well. good price /value. 12/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect The heater works great I love it :D 08/02/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by aquarium heater Good quality, works great 06/21/2015
  • 2016-03-24 T07:45:00.361-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_69, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_12177656, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 63 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew305
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp