Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 66 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best litter I have ever used! So far, so great! I just recently bought this litter, and I am just ecstatic so far by how great it is. I cannot tell you how many different types of litter I have tried and how much money I have spent in the last year, finding something I can trully enjoy. I used to use traditional clumping clay litters, but they always made so much dust in the air, even the ones that claim to be 99% dust free. I have bad allergies, and I just could not stand the dust smell every time the cats used the litter. I also tried crystallized litters, and they were okay, but did not clump, making it difficult to clean the litter. I really wanted something natural, but that clumped, had no dust, and kept the odors down. Arm and Hammer has done it! I tried a few other corn based natural litters before this one, but they just don't compare. When I first opened this bag, I was immediately happy with the wonderful scent. Some people say it smells gross and earthy. NOT AT ALL! Some people must have sensitive noses. Well I do too, but to me it smells really fresh, almost like after putting freshener in the air. It is due to the baking soda that is added to this litter. I don't think it smells earthy at all, just lovely and fresh. This litter clumps really well, and I haven't smelled anything bad at all. I am so happy with this purchase and I think I will be using it for a long time to come. The litter is so light and much cheaper than the big buckets of clay litter. It does seem to get tracked around more than some, but I have a little handheld vacuum to clean it up quickly. Please try this product! You won't be unhappy. I love it, love it, love it!!!!! 01/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loving being a cat owner again I have 4 cats, who are indoor cats. The clay based litter made my house smell. On a whim I bought a bag and put into one litter box. It took a few days before they begain to use the box. Now both litter boxes have Arm & Hammer in it and got my sister to switch also. I keep a small dust pan and brush in litter box room and I use that to sweep it off the carpet. Comes up easy. As an extra bonus, friends can't smell the cats anymore. A relief!! I use a bag a month for both litter boxes, so I am saving money in the long run. 01/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly Recommended I highly recommend this product to anyone with cats. Pros: -Very light bag in comparison to other cat litters. You don't have to worry about killing your back while changing the cat litter. -Nice clean scent and you don't have to worry about dust when you pour it. -Clumps well. It doesn't clump like cement. -Easy clean up. -It's also cheaper than the other clumping cat litters. Cons: -The only issue I have is that it seems to track outside of the litter box easily. However, as mentioned in the pros, it's not hard to clean. If it's on hard flooring you just need a dust pan. If it's on carpeting, it comes up easily when you vacuum. 10/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best cat litter I have ever used!!! I have had cats all my life of close to 50 years and have dealt with cat boxes many of those years. I have used Arm & Hammer cat litter for a long time. I first saw this new litter about 2 months ago and decided to try it. It is great. It absorbs odor better than any other litter, it doesn't get embedded in the carpetting, and it clumps, but doesn't clump up like cement like other litters do. Try it... you'll like it. 09/25/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice litter except the fragance! I've probably tried every natural litter out there and finally tried this one. It's cheaper than most litter, natural [no unhealthy environment destroying clay] and works great! I have a 2 tier box, so about twice a week i lift the first part up and shake out the clumps. This is one of the few litters that actually makes my clay-designed box work perfectly. It clumps great. Those who said it doesn't clump, probably are scooping too soon. If they just urinated, it's not gonna be a clump for a bit. My only issue is the fragrance! I HIGHLY doubt the fragrance is NATURAL! This is so unfortunate. It smells like a very sweet fruity lavender type fragrance. The plus part is, it covers the smell because it's SO strong. Bad news is it irritates my sinuses and my cat dreads using the box because of it. This really stinks [pun intended] because other than the smell, this is my favorite litter to use. I hope A&H decide to make a natural or less strong fragrance, even a fragrance free version, baking soda only! would be amazing. Until then I'm going to try to dilute it with another litter to see if it lessens the smell. The smell goes down over time but every time i clean and add more, it turns my nose into a faucet! If that doesn't work.. I will just bye bye to A&H. Back to pine! 10/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not great I decided to try this litter because one of my cat was having allergy problems due to all the dust from the conventional clay litter I had been using. First, I do like that it is a natural litter, and it is less dusty than clay. My cats seem to like the softer texture as well. However, it doesn't clump any better than clay litter. The main problem I have with it is the scent -- it is an overwhelmingly sweet citrus smell. I am sensitive to strong scents, and this one nearly bowled me over. I had to run the exhaust fan in the half-bath where the litter box is located for a full day to prevent the scent from taking over my entire apartment. 01/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommended Working with the local humane society, I have 12-15 cats in one area. It's a relief to use a lighter litter, both hauling it from the store and carrying out the scoopings. Also, it doesn't adhere to the litter box like clay does, keeping the boxes cleaner in the long run. I was pleasantly surprised at how many litter boxes it fills - It really is the same as twice the weight of clay litter, so it ends up being the same price. The cats had no problem changing to this litter. It does have it's own peculiar "corn" smell when it's time to dump the whole litter box. It's not better or worse than clay, just different. Overall, I think it controls the smell really well. especially when new. 03/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Yucky Stuff At first i thought this was going to be a nice product because of the arm and hammer in it, but boy was i wrong. It smelled HORRIBLE, everyone that came over commented on the funny smell it was giving off. I clean my litter box everyday and it was stomach turning. It also tracks EVERYWHERE!!! I've switched to Tidy Cats 24/7 Multi-cat and it is awesome. Low dust and no bad smells. 03/10/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stomach turning This litter is HORRIBLE! I have a very large litter box that took the entire bag to pour 3-4 inches. I was having a problem with a heavily perfumed clumping litter that I bought. It was making me sneeze and making my eyes itch all day after cleaning the litter box. I bought this after reading the "good" reviews saying no dust. When the cat makes a solid deposit it smells horrible! My husband walked in the house and said what's that disgusting smell? Smells like citrus-corn cat poo. I dumped the entire box in the trash and soaked it in bleach, then I went BACK to the store and bought tidy cats small spaces, and it works fantastic! Can't even tell we have 2 cats. I had to light several candles and put our air purifier in our utility room to remove the smell from this awful stuff. Please don't waste your money like I did. 12/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very effective I mix the Essential cat litter with the Arm & Hammer regular clumping litter and I smell no order at all. The corn is very effective. 03/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Light weight and clumps! I just bought the litter yesterday and gave it a try by placing a one-half inch layer on the regular Arm and Hammer unscented clumping litter. The cats used it and it really did clump without breaking up. Since I have three indoor cats, I most likely will continue to combine the two products, though using much more of the Ultra. My only dissatisfaction was the scent. I buy unscented litter so that when I come home, I don’t smell the litter product. The sent is too strong, though the orange scent is better than other scented litters. All in all – I give it a 3.5 out of 4. 12/29/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Cat Litter Ever I bought this cat litter as a stand by until I could find the breeze pellets because every store was out of them. I used this litter in my old regular cat boxes not the breeze cat box. I have 3 litter boxes and 3 cats. I would scoop the litter boxes every single day and sometimes 2 times a day and the odor was out of control. I may be spoiled by the breeze because it's such a good product but I will never ever use this litter again. The litter is so fine and it scatters everywhere outside the box, I would have to vacuum the area outside the box every day. The litter does clump but it still does nothing for odor. I'm a smoker and I could smell the urine in the box from across the room even after I scooped it out. 11/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not Just For Cats!!!! I bought this litter because I have an indoor bunny. She did not like using the traditional litters because she has a very sensitive nose and the odor of traditional litters seemed to discourage her from going into her pan. Also, the other litters seem to be much harder on her paws. This litter is much more gentle on her paws and it is all natural so I know she will not be harmed if she ingests some of it (unlike clay litters that are harmful to your pets.) The smell of this litter is pleasant even after a few days of not changing the litter pan! (I even found putting a tiny amount in the bottom of my trash can liners helps cut down garbage odor!) I will never buy another litter. 04/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Product I have 3 cats, they have shared 2 litter boxes while using a name brand litter. My third cat just turned 2 yrs old and decided he didn't want to share the litter boxes anymore. So he has been going right in front of them. Of course I thought he was just doing the number 2, and that he was just missing the container. But after we cleaned the back room we found where he had been going number 1 also.:( I tried different things to get him back in the old litter boxes, like cleaning them 3 times a day, spreading the deoderant all through the fresh litter...Nothing. So I decided to get a new litter box and change his litter, I found the essentils litter and purchased it...I am so glad that I did. He now goes every time into his new litter box and yes, he also does both number 1 and 2 there. I do agree with the other reviews as to the tracking, but so do the other litters. Plus I do have my vacuum cleaner right there. And I have noticed that this litter being so light, that it falls off right by the litter box. No more litter in my bed. The other thing I have noticed is that now all three of our cats are using this litterbox...But there is something missing...The smell!!! I tell you, even though with three cats it gets pretty full after dinner time, there is NO amonia smell at all. I love this stuff.:) Now we can have someone over with out getting the "You have cats don't you" question. 01/22/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Gross. HATED this litter. Didnt control odors, it clumped but as you took it out it seemed to crumble in a wet mess. My cats also tracked it ALLLL through my house! it stuck to their wet feet and was just gross. Hated this litter. 09/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Litter for Multiple Cat Families With 7 indoor cats, getting the right litter is crucial. It has to not only fit into my budget, but it needs to work well, too. I really like the fact that this stuff is lightweight (so much easier on my sciatica than the heavy clay litters) and that the bits the cats tend to track out of the boxes are soft instead of gritty. The cats all made the change with no problem, and the odor-controlling quality is as good, if not better, than any other that I've used. Only reason it didn't get an "excellent" rating is that it doesn't clump as well as I would like. Tends to fall apart when scooped. Clay litters do create more solid clumps, but they also can get quite large and can feel like shoveling out wet concrete. I'd rather have to scoop a bit more to get everything with the corn litter than deal with the "cinder blocks" of clay litter. 08/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great litter! I like this litter better than any I've used and I've tried many different brands and formulations over the years. It's lightweight, which is one of my favorite things about it--no more lugging heavy bags around. It's really easy to scoop, it's light, soft and stays together when scooping soiled clumps and doesn't turn into a clump of concrete when wet like many litters do. It has a clean, fresh scent when filling pans, no dust, and doesn't smell, even after a couple of days of several cats using the pans. The cats track some out after using, but it sure doesn't leave those cat paw tracks which then dry and leave a "path" like clay litters do. I keep a little broom and dust pan next to the pans and sweep it right up. It isn't heavy, even when soiled, therefore, no more trying to handle a heavy pan when changing litter. It almost slides out of the pan when changing, so makes pans easy to clean. It lasts longer than ordinary litters, which is great when you have several cats. Best of all, the cats like it! Big PLUS for this litter!! 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The 3 cats like this better than other litter. No smell. Seems to require less to clump. 05/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Controls odor very well, I like this litter because it clumps around the waste so that you don't scoop out more than you need to. 05/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by best litter I've ever used! I have used this litter for several years with great success. We have 7 cats now, previously had 8, and people would tell me they couldn't tell we had cats. I have a strong sense of smell, and except for one particular cat, I can't smell it, either. I have enough boxes, clean the boxes carefully one or two times a day, am careful to get all the little crumbs out, and rarely have to dump the litter from the box - just adding more works great. Saves me LOTS of money! It does track (although not as bad as clay litter), so I sweep the catbox area after cleaning boxes - maybe 30-45 seconds? Keeps it from tracking into the rest of the house. It doesn't clump as well as clay litter so you have to be careful getting the clumps and crumbs out. But NO DUST - NONE! Litter dust is very bad for kitty lungs. I don't care for the scent on the multi-cat product, but the regular one is not offensive. My cats and I love this stuff! 04/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dump your "clay" clumping litter for this! Originally having 5 cats we used Tidy Cat multi cat clumping litter. The DUST WAS HORRIBLE and just covered everything in the room. If you use clumping clay litter you know what I mean. Decided to try the Tidy Cat Breeze system, purchased 2 of them and all was great until 1 cat would not use it for her #2 and used the carpet instead. Ok what to do now, so saw this Arm & Hammer Essentials online and thought - why not. BEST DECISION yet! This really is basically "dust free", has a great scent to it, ALL the cats love it and use it, very light weight and when they say that one bag is equivalent to 21 pounds they mean it, really fills up the box. Ok the only downside if you want to call it that is that it dose clump - BUT - if you are not careful and shake the scoop hard you can break them apart sometimes but does not seem to be a big problem. I would tell anyone to try this litter just once and you will be sold - by the way its natural also which makes me feel alot better since I always wondered what they put in the "clay" type litter to make it clump. 02/28/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by too perfumey I have been looking for a natual clay free litter and found this one for a good price and I had high expectations being that its arm and hammer but this litter did not meet them. the smell is to strong soon as I open the bag I felt like I had walked into a department store and all the perfume sprayers had attacked me so if I felt like that I didn't even want to think about how my cat would feel. I bought two bags and opened one so I sent the other back. despite the perfume smell I didn't want to waste and big bag of litter. I had some of my old litter left so I've been gradually adding a scoop or two of the arm and hammer to the old litter. this has diminished the smell tremedously and my cat is willing to use it now. as far as the clumping action goes I believe it is pretty good even though it's mixed with another litter that clumps very well this litter seems to do a good job too. overall if this litter did not smell like a perfume factory I would use it. 01/18/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Gets everywhere and doesn't clump well. Please don't waste your money or sanity on this stuff. The Arm & Hammer Essentials is pretty good at masking odors, but the clumps it forms are very delicate and usually break apart when you scoop them out. It's almost impossible to keep the box clean after even one use. Worst of all, the tiny, light weight pieces stick to my cat's feet and make a horrible mess! I'm all for going green, but the pieces of corn that they use are almost impossible to clean up once they get out of the litter box. It's been weeks and I'm still finding bits of disgusting, used kitty litter all over my house! I tried laying down a mat by the litter box to contain the problem, but it didn't help at all. My cat was going crazy trying to get his paws clean after every trip, and I'm going crazy trying to sanitize my house! 01/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This stuff rocks!!! Switching to this litter has made the BIGGEST difference in the smell in the room where the litter box is kept. I was going insane with how bad the litter box smelled, I decided to give this a try, and I am so glad I did! It is also all natural! Try it, you will not regret it. 10/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gerat litter! I have 3 cats and have tried every litter on the market. I tried this one because my usual litter was out of stock and Im glad it was! This is the best kitty litter I have ever tried. My cats go through a lot of litter and with this litter we use less and less! Works great, clumps great, no odor. All around great product, would like a little lower price but still good for the money! 09/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE BEST CAT LETTER EVER! PERIOD!! I have 3 cats, and I always splurge and buy the all crystal cat litter, which is costing me a fortune because i cannot stand the smell of the clay. Now, i can definitely say, i will never waste my money on the crystals again! This car litter is so unbelievable! The urine clumps are smaller and more easier to scoop than with clay. They do NOT EVER break apart when scooping, i cant even believe some people on here are saying it does. I NEVER ever smell urine, and i even smelt urine with the pure crystals. With 3 cats, and daily scooping, using 1/2 the bag, I can get 8 days in my booda igloo litterbox before i clean the whole thing out and refill. TRUST me, when i say it doesnt smell AT ALL because my cats litterbox is in my diningroom/kitchen, which is right at my livingroom too... guests comment that they cannot believe i have 3 cats... and i show them the litterbox and they cant believe they practically sit right next to it (about 6 1/2 feet away) and have no idea its even there... 5 days into the litter! BUY THIS CAT LITTER! 01/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing I have three cats, one weighs 28lbs and is huge. I spend less using one 10.5lb bag of Arm & Hammer Essentials than ANY cat litter I have ever used, and I have tried them all. This product is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Walmart sells it for less and when I say it lasts a month, (one 10.5lb bag) I mean it. 01/01/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Has its pros and cons Pros: lightweight, clumps really well, reasonably priced compared to clay litter, better for environment Cons: doesn't cover up stink very well at all, the litter itself has an odd scent, tracks the same as regular clay litter I'm not sure if I'm going to continue using it. While I really like that it's lightweight, easy to scoop, and better for the environment, I am having a hard time with the smell. It just doesn't smell "fresh" the way clay can. 12/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best litter ever made! I fell in love with this cat litter after the first time that I used it. My cat took to it right away as well. The litter is easy to keep clean and smells like a sanitized bathroom. It actually makes the litter pan area smell good instead of bad! It is easy to find a place that sells it including Walmart. I can get it at the grocery store as well. Try it, you might like it! 10/24/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by This stuff is awful. This stuff tracks all over the house. When the cat urinates on the cat litter it stinks like bad rotten corn. Doesn't cover the smell of the feces either. I will never, ever use this stuff again. 11/30/2009
1-30 of 65 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.