See All Reviews
Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 107 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful fryer We bought this well over a year ago. I love it's sleek design and it also heats up quickly. For the money, this purchase was more than worth it. It's not too small, not too big. It's the perfect size and we are a family of 4. 12/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly surprised I have always fried in a Presto multi-cooker. It holds alot and has a basket, I've had 2 in 14 yrs, so I guess it was a good product. Finally, though, the magnetic plug stopped working, and I needed a fryer fast, we LOVE chicken wings! So this was the only thing WalMart had, besides the tiny Fry-Daddy, which doesn't even come close to meeting my needs. I brought it home, read the manual, prepared to wait half an hour for it to heat up, it heats up in less than 10 minutes. Also I prepared to cook my wings for 20-25 minutes, since that's what the manual says. It only took about 8 minutes. This thing cranks out the food very quickly, and cleans up easily, just a wipe down on the outside with 4-09 and it's shiny again. I don't know how long it will last, but I did save the receipt just in case. This is a really nice fryer for the price. It's easy to assemble, just slide the element onto the back of the fryer unit and go. It says it heats up to 375, but my old one said 400 and cooked way slower. Maybe it was just worn out? Nutshell-I like it, and I like the price. Will like it even more if it lasts me a few years! 04/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good I have had this item for two months now and used it three times. It meets my expectations and I would recommend it to anyone that does not cook that often. It meets my personal needs I cook for one. Just do not heat it to the recommended temperture try about 75 degrees lower or it will cook too quickly. Other than that it is fine. 09/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great little fryer I just love this fryer, it cook great and cleans up easy. I see some people are complaing that it stops working. Mine did it when I left it on highest setting for heat. After it cooled down I pushed the reset button, which is in a little hole on the control part. Now I keep it set for 360 and have had no problem. 08/16/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Short Life Span!! I really liked this little fryer. It fryed the food wonderfully. Then it just died on me after having it for only about five months!! I didn't have the receipt so that I could exchange it, so I was stuck with a dead fryer. I was not a happy camper. Hopefully the next model lasts a lot longer. 10/25/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for small foods Works wonderfully, heats up and cooks fast. long but narrow fits on my counter great. 09/03/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fryer Up I purchased this deep fryer a few days ago and I have to say that I mixed feelings about it. The cooking capacity if very nice and it does cook the food quickly and evenly. BUT, there are a few problems I noticed. First of all there is no place to rest the basket once you pull it up from the grease so you have to sit there and hold it over the oil for a few minutes for it to drain enough to move it over to a plate. And in the case of someone like me with bad carpal tunnel and bad shoulders it can be a challenge to do it when you have a large amount of food in the basket or a heavy piece of meat. Also the timer alarm is barely noticeable! It sounds like an old school Timex watch from the 70's and isn't very loud at all. I'm also concerned because when you are frying there is a lot of steem and condensation that come out from the lid, to the point where it turns to water and pools around the base of the fryer and even in the area where the power cord is. I think I'm going to take this one back and spend a few extra bucks on a fryer that more closely meets my needs. 01/10/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product This fryer is great. for a design research project, my team purchased two of these fryers to test oil that we were refining. We used them in a much more rustic environment than a kitchen and they held up great. Food cooks fast and tastes delicious. We used it for 5-6 hours straight each day. If you take care of the appliance, it lasts a while. Timer could be louder. Lots of steam (especially after putting fresh oil in), but you're frying food at 375F, so that is to be expected. Everything is dishwasher safe and there is a spot to hang the basket while the food drips. 06/06/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product I've had this product for two years, until this February, that it died. Don't know what happened it just stopped working. But overall it's good if you're planning on buying a better one in the future... Cooks foods very well... I was expecting it to last a little longer since I don't cook with it every day... I hope this will help you to make the decision. 02/27/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value After looking at many of the deep fryers, I decided to go cheap and ourchase this GE model. I have to say, it is a good value. Easy to assemble and disassemble, easy to clean. Plenty large and long enough for corn dogs and other kind of long foods. The only thing that was lower quality was the timer. Like it was taken off an 80's LED watch or something. Otherwise a great deal for the $39. 09/08/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Deep Fried Dreams!! This product is awesome and I use it all the time. I deep fry everything. Hello cardiac arrest :) 11/26/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Buy!!! It died within a year which is so not worth the price. I bought it when it was about 50 bucks. when we would cook in it, grease would come out the sides, and we only had the oil filled to the minimum line. I am now searching for a better fryer but I am very skeptical now since we had problems with this one. Don't waste your money on this! The lifespan is too short for this item. 12/01/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Its Junk dont by it These deep fryers are junk. I have had 2 so far and both of them have quit working in less than six months. The second one just quit tonight while I was trying to cook some fish. 04/21/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rusty Wire Basket After some less than 5 times used/cleaned, the wire basket got rusted and now I am looking for parts to replace it. The product worked great as expected. But I thought the wire basket is "stainless" unless "rust" is not a stain :). I always clean it after 2-3 times of using it but I noticed it gets rusted. I am not sure why it gets rusted (brown color) and I am scared to use it again - tetanus! So it is just sitting below my kitchen cabinet and if I cant find a replacement basket, might get a new one but definitely not this type. 10/31/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Keep looking Cooked food evenly. Heated up quickly. Easy to clean. Too bad it only worked for three months. This fryer doesn't stand up to GE's reputation of quality and dependability. 01/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 BEST DEEP FRYER EVER!!! I bought this deep fryer after having my Fry Daddy confiscated by my husband to fry fish in..... i loved the way this one looked and seemed to have updated features such as the different temperatures, the preheat light, and the immersed heating unit..... This only took 10 minutes to heat up to 375 degrees... then we fried a full basket of fries, chicken nuggets, and then sweet potato fries (all separately) in right about 10 minutes for all!! Fries kept warm for quite some time and were not greasy as they had been coming out of the older Fry Daddy we were using. I am definitely happy with this purchase and am thinking of buying another now just in case anything happens to this one..... 09/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this fryer We've had this fryer for a little over a year now and we use it weekly. It's easy to use, heats up quickly and I love how easy it is to clean and change the oil. This is a great product!! 04/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by GE 3-Liter Deep Fryer Works great have used it 6 or 7 times in 2 weeks and could not have found a better product for our needs. The basket fits on the top rack of dish washer and the oil pan was easy to hand clean. I'm going to get alot of bang for my bucks. Thanks Walmart. 10/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by This fryer is great! Having the temp control is nice. Being able to take the oil out and putting to save is nice. Like the lid with the steamer. Overall, it really is great!!! 07/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The fryer is the second one I bought. I was equally impressed with the first one which is why I got the second one.... I will probably buy a third. I really don't like the magnetic connection, however, I realize the value of the safety factor it provides and can live with it. I am very happy with it. 04/18/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Fryer Think Warranty! I really like this fryer, too bad it did not last, we used it a lot. I have had other skillet fryers before and timeline with using it consistently is normal to this fryer. Just want to remind everyone to keep a copy of their receipt. This fryer has a two year warranty. I had this fryer for a little over a year before it stopped working. This item is only sold by Walmart and they hold the warranty, not GE per the manual. Walmart replaced the fryer, no problem. 12/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT! I like this fryer sooooo much, it gets food done in a jiffy and its slender enough to fit on my counter top. 04/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used this model for over four years. Recently quit working. Liked it so much though I am buying the same model to replace it. Perfect capacity, easy to clean. 01/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great value I've owned my deep-fryer for almost two years and use it at least once a week. The only problem I've had is the plastic handle on the basket broke,but the metal handle under it doesn't get hot,so it's not a problem. 11/04/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by worked well, for awhile... Like others, we loved this product in the beginning and used it frequently. But then, oil or moisture got inside the timer and that stopped working, the green "ready" light stopped working, and then the fryer itself started shutting off at random. Sometimes we could jiggle it around and get it to light up, but it got harder and harder to find just the right spot. I got up this morning and my son had tied it in place with a shoelace! It's sitting in the trash now. What a disappointment. 01/22/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Got about a year out of it. As other reviews have stated, this product stopped working after about a year for me. While it worked it was great. It does take up quite a bit of space, so be warned about that. It is fairly easy to clean, and easy to operate. For the price, it is not bad, but spend a little more money and buy a Presto, because you will end up buying another one down the road anyway if you go with this one. 01/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Fryer! Best price for a quality fryer. This performs as well or better than fryers costing $100+ 02/21/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by not a good buy I bought this one over a year ago, had problems with it from day one, taking forever to get hot, shutting off, poping the reset button. Had it replaced under the manufacturer warranty at the local Walmart. Now the replacement is doing the same thing. Not a good buy and would not recommend this item. NO issues with Walmart they were helpful in the exchange, but the product is JUNK! 11/05/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth a Darn This product lasted about 6 months and it stopped working for no particular reason. I will never buy a GE fryer again. Buyer Beware!!! 05/12/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by P.O.J. Worked less than one year, it was a b-day present so I know exactly how long it worked. There's a fuse or heat switch inside that went, seems to be common with this GE product. It's not worth 10 bucks let alone 40. 11/28/2010
1-30 of 100 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew327
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp