See All Reviews
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 19 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Performs as expected I started taking this product after I quit smoking to help boost my energy and enhance my mood. Worked immediately. I can tell when I forget to take it in the morning, but I have been extremely happy with it. I have recommended this product to friends who are looking for that little boost for the winter blah's. It does just that. Glad I found it! 02/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great i take it every day twice a day and it improved my mood and helped my body not tobe so sore and im not ever hungry. i love this pill. 12/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by it does work I tried this product because the winter months leave me very sleepy and after a week of this product I noticed I had a lot more energy and after 2 weeks I also noticed I wasn't eating as much as I use to. When mid march came around I stopped taking this pill and started to feel tired again and hungry and gained a few pounds and so I started taking it again and i'm back on track with things and in total since january have lost around 32 pounds. 04/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by worked for me cuts out appetite, seemed not to work at first but as soon as i stopped taking it i was eating all day. now it doesnt totally remove my appetite, but im not "grazing and snacking all day" and at times i cannot finsih my whole meal. (which i always do :) hope it keeps working this way, no weight loss yet, have been on this for 2months. 02/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great This helps with my depression without harmful effects or lack of emotion. This was also helped with my overeating, I'm just not so hungry anymore, I haven't had a migraine sense I started taking this. Everything just seems to be a whole lot better. 01/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helps control hunger! A friend was using this supplement to help with her diet and gain energy. I have not seen an increase in energy. But it did help curb my appetite. I find myself less hungry and eating less. So I plan to continue to take this supplement. 09/29/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tired I tried this for 6 days (1 a day). The first two days I felt good...a bit happier I suppose, but then on days 3-6 I would get so exhausted after I took it I would have to go lay down for a few hour nap or just go to bed early. I left for vacation after that so I stopped taking it b/c I didn't want to sleep my whole vacation. I may start taking it before bed, b/c I think it is somewhat helpful with mood. No other side effects noticed besides very tired after taking it. 05/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by works but... like other says it works but this really doesn't help control appetite for some and it does for some people.... remember, people are different that's why the appetite part will not work for most people like myself. 01/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I have used this product for 2 months now. It works as promised. I take this half hour before lunch and again, half hour before supper. It does take away the cravings and relieves some anxiety. The 50mg dose before each meal was recommended by Dr Oz. I use the 100mg twice a day. Very satisfied. 05/31/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Read Just wanted to post my review out there hoping to at least make one person more informative...Keep in mind that 5-htp increases your serotonin levels. It doesn't maintain a higher level of serotonin in you, just boosts it temporarily. I first started taking it in hopes to make me laugh and smile a bit more than normal, relieving a bit of stress, make myself sleep better at night, be a bit more outgoing due to the increased levels of serotonin. Overall, I am on the way to where I want to be in life, I just wanted something to enhance my mood at where I am currently at now. So I began taking only 100mg (one pill) a day in the mornings because I am a lightweight and prefer to start light. At first, it kicked in almost immediately and I felt euphorically good!! After a few days after taking it in the morning, I began to feel awesome for a few hours after taking it (read somewhere the half-life of this is ONLY 90 MINS!!!) and then it wore off in mid afternoon and I just felt fatigued, emotionless, and a cloudy feeling. I didn't want to continue that so instead of taking a second one in the afternoon, I decided to take it at night before bed. Excellent!!! I did have quite vivid dreams that were intense and great dreams, plus when I woke up in the morning I had an extreme feeling of inner harmony and would seem to always have a good song stuck in my head lol. But once again, that feeling would only last in the morning............ So I decided to get the 200mg time released capsules thinking this is a wonder drug and everyone should have it. I started taking that in the morning which NEVER ONCE WORKED. It just made me tired all day and somewhat cloudy minded. So I just figured maybe it was the timing of the day I took it and it didn't release as much as quick (the label on the 200mg one says promotes better sleep). I tried taking it at night which gave me the dreams I previously got, however I felt restless every night I took these so that ended. At this point of my experimentation, two weeks have passed. I stopped taking the 200mg ones, and now I was just taking the 100mg every now and then......it seems like now when I take them, I temporarily feel good but for the rest of the day I feel cloudy and emotionless. BOTTOM LINE: If you want to put a band aid on your issue ONLY FOR A FEW DAYS, this stuff will bring up your mood and will work. Beyond that, you're going to experience fluctuations of your serotonin (part good, mostly side effects). If you do it, I recommend 100mg (non-time released) for the short periods. I am going to try St. John's Wort next...it seems like that is the one for me.... P.S. Picture 5-htp being like pouring water in a bucket with a hole in it always trying to keep the water level at the precise length (with your mood/serotonin fluctuating). Too much, things go wrong, too little things to wrong...not worth it for the long run. Reason I mention that is 5-htp will fill up your tank but from what I hear St John's Wort is the type that doesn't increase the levels, but instead acts like a SSRI and keeps your serotonin at or below normal but allows what you got to be utilized more efficiently. **Not a doctor, just my personal experience You want a full tank or better utilization of what you got? 02/13/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Could not tell a difference Its ok but one needs to take it for along time before noticing a difference. 02/20/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by did not do anything this product is advertised as helping control appetite. maybe it does for some people but for me it had zero effect. and, it's realatively expensive. 09/05/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does not work Hasn't done anything for me. Still hungry... 09/16/2010
  • 2016-03-24 T08:32:32.980-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_11997316, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-14 of 14 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw308
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp