See All Reviews
Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym
Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym
$209.00
List Price: $299.00
You Save: $90.00 (30%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 100 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by home gym very eazy to install if you own a couple of socket sets ( the instuctions say chanel locks i believe) it took my wife and I 3 1/2 hour to assemble, however I work in a factory where I am a machine tech. so im used to taking machines apart and puting things back to getter. The instuctions where very good and nuts and bolts where laid out on cardboard then heat shrik was laid over them with the numbers of the nuts and bolts. Then instructions and these cards went together very well. We have had the device for about three weeks now, Im 37 my wife 36 we have already started noticing the results and certainly fell beter all ready. I would recomend this product to any one wanting to loose a litte weight and tone up there body but not for those whom are looking for serious body building results. 12/23/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good 4 $$ Spent The product is very good. I like the colors, the whole structure is very reasonable. Not too heavy not too light either. Just be ready to spend a good 5 to 6 hours to assemble it if you are not a handyman person. The cables could be a little bit confusing. Just follow the diagram shown in the book and you will be safe. I think is a great product for the money spent. I wish It would have brought more weights. You have about 214 pounds on leg resistance force but for your arms and chest is just about 120 pounds. At least with this product I won't have to be paying monthly membership fees on a gym neither wasting gas on my trip to the gym. I recommend this product. Leslie A-G Tampa, FL 06/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice gym...Schedule a day to get it together This took a few hours to get together, but after that it is really great. Works well. -Make time to get it together, it will take about 4-6 hours. -Do not overtighten any parts with plastic, they will snap! -Do not let your husband try to put it together without instructions, it won't work. 07/13/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by CAREFUL The product was fine and it works great. The problem was with the handling of my item. The box had broken open and there was one part missing. It is expensive to order a replacement part but now that i have it its fine. 11/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exercise equipment for regular people I bought this for my husband for Christmas. It took him a couple of months to put it together, which took 4 or 5 hours and two days, he uses it everyday. Our 15 year old son uses it too. I copied the exercise sheets so we could tack the copies up on the wall on the patio, where the machine is, and not have to worry about having to get more copies. It is good quality for the price and I would recommend it to both friends and family. I have uploaded the copies of the exercise pictures that came with the machine. I'll add 2 in this post and answer another post and put the other two pictures there. 04/27/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weider 2980 Home Gym The product had several negative aspects. 1) The locking mechanism for the leg lift had holes that had to be re-drilled because they were too small for the locking bolt. 2) The exercise chart that came with the device was designed for another home gym and nearly half of the exercises described could not be performed on this machine. 3) The exercises that used the lower pulley when you are not on the bench can cause the entire device to tilt backwards and become unstable. The pluses are that everything else works well and the assembly is not difficult. However, if you are spatially challenged and can't perceive things in three dimensions you may have some difficulty because some of the blow ups do not accurately describe the position of some of the pulleys. The machine performs as advertised and I would recommend it to anyone who needs to add tone and definition but not to someone who wants to bulk up. 01/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weight machine I had a Weider weight machine 15 years ago that I got rid of when I moved. When looking to replace it I naturally went with another Weider since I had such good luck with the last one. I'm not disappointed! This thing is solid and is exactly what I was looking for. Took a full day and a half to assemble by myself but the instructions were easy to follow and all the nuts and bolts were packaged and labeled correctly. Also, everything fit! I'm thrilled with this product. My only complaint is that the pin that you use to change the weights is difficult to get in and out because there's a ridge on it that seems unnecessary. I may try to buy a plain pin as a replacement. Overall -- two thumbs up! I highly recommend this weight machine! 11/27/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by I purchased this home gym in December 2010 for $199.00 and put it together by myself with no problems. I am very mechanically inclined. I liked the equipment until things started to break and I had to get replacement parts. One plastic pulley is $60.00 which I have already replaced after 4 months and now I need to replace the cable and it is $102.00. These two replacement parts cost almost as much as what I paid for the entire gym set. I am well under weight for this equipment (female - 115 lbs). I am not replacing the cable. I can not recommend this equipment. 09/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good Workout I've had this about a week, and am quite pleased. It provides all the basic workouts I could want, and more than I will probably use. All I miss is a leg press. I'll note here what someone else did, the exercise chart that comes with it is very generic, and includes diagrams of routines for several different machines. The seat/back/pad are only stapled, not stitched, so longevity with those may be questionable, but I assume repairable. On another product, someone mentioned that the weight guides were in two pieces, and made a rough spot as the weights rode over it; this one, the guides are single piece, and smooth as silk. Only downside there is that that makes the box nearly as tall as the finished product! Assembly was challenging, but not a disaster. I did most of it solo, and it does recommend it as a job for two. I needed a hand attaching the weight guides to the base, to make sure they didn't bend or anything, and so I could attach both at the same time, rather than lifting the whole thing up and down to do one at a time. Also where two of the pulleys sit side by side in the frame and the order of assembly is kinda critical with those and the cable. I (we) did it in an unrushed afternoon/evening, about 5 or 6 hours. That time included a lot of of careful ID ing and sorting of parts, and making sure I knew exactly what needed to be done at each step. Included 2 packets of grease, something else missing and complained about of one of the other machines. Only complaint here is that the parts could be identified a bit better. The nuts & bolts etc. were very nicely packed on cardboard blister sheets and clearly labelled, and included an Allen wrench. A few spares included too. No, really, not bits I forgot, a pack clearly marked "Spares." The bigger frame parts were pretty obvious. Some of the stuff in the middle took some time to sort out. Had to backtrack just once, when I discovered that there were 2 "narrow pulleys" and I had used one out-of-place so had to go back and swap it out. Also there are 3 cables not labelled; the shortest one is obvious, but with a difference of only a few inches between the other two, I had to run them out side-by-side to be certain. Hmm..someone here complained about a tendency for this to tip doing the standing exercises, there *is* a foot plate you are supposed to stand on to help keep it steady; not sure if there are routines where you can't stand on it or not. Only other downside is that with this cabling system, you don't readily know how much weight you are moving (I guess you can figure it out). Bottom line: great home gym, great value. I can't imagine another hundred bucks will buy anything materially better. Beyond this, you'll be wanting pro-quality equipment pushing four figures, or a serious gym membership. 04/16/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall a nice bench. The weights aren't marked so you don't know how much each one is and the hand and leg pulley are much too hard to use. The butterfly and overhead work well. 03/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by shipping issue When picked up box was ripped open and then taped up. Naturally we had great concern that parts would be missing. This proven to be the case. One critical part was missing . We ordered from the manufactor and received in a few days. The set up took us almost 5 hours. The most confusing part was telling which cable was which. The directions said "identify arm cable". The three cables were all in a package together with no hints to tell which was which. It does matter since they are different lengths. The directions should give more information like length or color code the cables. The screws and bolts on the other hand were are labeled and shrink wrappped which was great. The unit in self works very well and meets expections. We would recommend it for an at home medium workout. 02/05/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Price Ive had this machine since last Spring, havn't had any issues with it , have gained muscle weight now can bench 300 lbs because of the effectiveness. 09/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good value for a home gym We bought this gym, so the wife, who takes karate could tone and build power in her arms and legs. It took the two of us about 3 1/2 hours to put it together. I recomend you lay everything out, before you begin and read thru each step as you go. Its a lot easier with a helper, even is he or she just holds things as you tighten them. For us, we both put the items together and she tightend the bolts as I got the next piece ready. This seemed to work well for us and things went fast and smooth. I had no problems understanding the directions and was able to get all the pulleys and cables in the right place the first time. Its a good buy for the money, used properly, you can tone and build fast. 01/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent machine i bought this home gym and i have gain lots muscle i believe if you use it and stick to it you will get great results its up to you. 08/26/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice! Box was smaller than expected. All items came in one box. It takes a few hours to finish assembly. Follow instructions very carefully (don't try going just by the pictures, read the instructions - really!). Have the right tools, good tools will really help and accelerate screwing bolts and nuts. The product itself works fine for now (had it for 1 week). Very smooth, nice colors. The only con I would say is that the seating heights are not adjustable. I use big pillows to adjust height (I'm 5 11) 01/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excelent i bought this home gym , and its all that you need for good shape 12/29/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by My excitement quickly turned to disappointment... I am actually the wife of "bigdaddybob". He bought this gym for me because I wanted to strengthen my arms and legs. After several unsuccessful attempts to actually find a home gym on display at a wal-mart store, we decided to take a chance and buy this one online and have it sent to our local store. It seemed to have the most (and best) reviews at a reasonable price, and it looked like a nice piece of equipment, based on the pictures. Looks can be deceiving. When we got it home, it took my husband about 6 hours to assemble this. The items were not marked as to what part they were in relation to the assembly instructions. The hardest part was figuring out which cable was which, since they were unmarked. We also noticed a crack in the "butterfly arm" (sorry, lack of better word), but it was covered by the foam pad, so we decided it was not a big deal because the crack did not seem to go all the way through. However, after only 3 days, another crack appeared on the same part, just in a different area, and we never used more than 40 pounds for any of the exercises. The reason I quickly realized that this was not the right equipment for me is because the weights did not go up in intervals of 10. For certain exercises, the easiest weight would be 11 pounds, and the next step up would be 27 pounds! It was like going from too easy to too hard, with no in between. Keep in mind I am just a beginner, so this might be fine for someone with more strength. But, if you are just getting started, you may feel like me and wonder how you are supposed to go from easy to hard, with no middle ground. In the pictures, the equipment looks very nice and sturdy, but the pulleys are PLASTIC and the cables reminded me of a thicker version of clothesline wire. It made a lot of noise when being used, and it was frustrating trying to switch from one exercise to another because there were pins that had to be pulled out, so I had to get up and do that (the pin was very hard to remove and insert through the weights, I might add. I had to keep a hammer closeby), and if you wanted to take the pull-down bar off, there was nowhere to store it. So I was always removing it and laying it on the floor. It attached with a chain and it hung down so low that you had to take it off before doing any other kind of exercise, otherwise it would be hitting you in the face. In short, you could not really have a smooth transition between doing the different exercises. Not worth the hassle of assembling, only to be disappointed by realizing how cheap it actually is. 03/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weider 2980 Home Gym For the money this is an excellent value! I was quite impressed with the packaging and enclosed assembly instructions - over the years I have assembled many different products and this was by far the best - the assembly process is broken down into logical steps, the parts are separately packaged according to each step, the instructions and corresponding images are very easy to follow, and there is also a separate index in the back of the manual listing all the parts by name (and how many of each) if one has any doubts as to which parts are which... The assembled gym is sturdy, and very easy to operate with regard to changing the weight setup to accommodate a variety of exercises - this particular home gym is more than enough for our needs of staying in shape, without an extreme financial expenditure! Definitely a Good Buy. 03/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best gym you can find for under 500$. chest press bar goes up and in, pull bar can be used while standing or sitting, strap at the bottom can be used for ankle strap or for arms, you can do much more with this gym than ya think. I would defently get this one unless ya have a couple thousand to spend on one of the huge gyms with everything 02/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A well-made home gym for a beginner. The item arrived less than a week after ordering it. The box was beat up pretty bad and held together with a lot of clear packing tape, but everything was there and in perfect condition when opened and inspected. Take a few minutes to read the instructions once or twice and to identify each part before assembly. It took me about 6 hours over 2 days to assemble the gym by myself, and that was without rushing. Have someone help if you can, though. And don't skimp on the grease, there's plenty provided to grease all the areas that require it. Fit and finish is good, all parts went together well and the gym looks great when fully assembled. I use this gym every other day and I really like it, right now it has enough weight for me to get the results I'm looking for. I use it for about an hour, along with some free weights I use while doing my routine. My wife and son also use the gym and they like it a lot, so it gets used every single day. You have to be careful and remember to place your foot on the front of the gym when doing some leg exercises otherwise the whole machine can tip over, and the cable seems a bit too hard to pull when doing curls on the preacher attachment, but these are minor quibbles. I use free weights when doing curls on the preacher attachment now, that works better for me. Otherwise you'll notice results very quickly when using this gym. After 5 months it still works and looks great. This home gym is great for beginners or for people who are interested in getting into good shape without massively bulking up, there are a lot of exercises you can do to develop all the major muscle groups. Highly recommended. 02/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality piece of equipment at a wonderful price I ordered this for the home gym I am setting up and after weeks of research I decided to take the plunge and purchase this weight set. I have to say so far I am very happy with it. We did site to store pickup to avoid having to pay shipping. The box fit in our mid-size Suv just fine it was rather large and heavy as to be expected so make sure to have someone with you to help. The box was in great shape everything was individually wrapped and I loved that all the little screws, bolts, etc were all packaged neatly and shrink wrapped together. All of the pieces were there and the assembly was pretty pain free. It took about 3 1/2 hrs to assemble with 2 people working on it. It is pretty clear on how to do it and for the cables it has the length listed so just use common sense on that one. I love the gym set so far and it seems really durable and sturdy. I like that there are so many muscles you can work on it, it works even more than I expected. I would definitely recommend this to anyone and for the price you just can't get any better than this. I normally don't write reviews but I am just so happy with this purchase. The only thing that I was kinda meh about was the fact that the chrome on the back two poles that the weights slide down onto were pretty scuffed up and some parts were flaking off probably from them rattling around in shipment. It's not to big of a deal because I imagine over time they will take some abuse with the weights moving up and down all the time. Just thought I should mention it in case someone is picky about that. It could have just been a one time thing. I look forward to saving a ton of money by not having to pay for a gym membership :) 01/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by a great value for the money This machine offers so many exercises--both my husband and I use it every day. It is very easy to put together and comes with a poster of all the exercises you can do. Absolutely love it, better than we expected. :) It is very heavy if you are picking it up--you will need two people or take it out of the box 01/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for someone who hasn't worked out for awhile I bought this gym so I can lift and have some cardio from my treadmill. So far so good! It works better than what I thought it would. The design looks nice and the weights plus the resistance is definitely enough for what I can lift. As for a beginner and someone who is out of shape, I'd say this is worth it. Like everyone else, it did take us to set it up and put together for about 5 hours and all the screws, nuts, bolts, etc, are labeled and all parts weren't hard to identify. I'm not a handy man but my husband is and I was able to do it. I'd say have someone there to help also just because one can hold and one screws in or one screws in while the other gets the next step ready. :) 10/15/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Do Not Over-tighten The gym is great and the whole thing is very smooth. It took me around 4 hours to assemble by myself. However, be very careful when tightening some of the bolts. It will not feel like they are getting tight but they are. I ended up almost crushing a piece of the frame because of that. Overall, I am pretty satisfied with the product. 08/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy ! Easy Assembly ! Absolutely love the gym ! Works great and assembly was a snap ! Only took 1 hour and a half ! Very good and easy to follow directions and all parts were clearly numbered and marked. Would definitely recommend this gym to anyone . Also includes a lot of information and a chart to educate the beginner on recommended exercises and muscles they target. Great Buy ! 09/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This workstation gives me everything I need now for my home gym. With my 600 pounds of free weights and my powertec power rack this gives me all the other features I was looking for. I just wish the instructions were better written when it came to the cables and pulleys. Expect to take atleast 4-6 hours in the installation of the workstation. But it is worth it once it's complete. 08/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT!!! it took 8 hours to put together, do NOT know why they say you need a rubber mallet, did NOT need or use one. I have not used it yet, but my son does. he said the first time he was sore but he's on it for 15 mins. a day. I am really glad I went for this one. there is 5 different exercises you can do on it, it does take up space so make sure you have the room for it. well worth the money. oh and you will need two people to put it together. 03/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I put it together by myself in about 3 hours, the pullies are a little trickey and the directions in some areas could of been better but with a little brain power it can be figured out. Overall I am pleased with the gym, there are some exercises I wish you could do but for the price and how well it is made you cannot go wrong. You may want to purchase a couple of dumbbells for the few exercises you won't be able to do on the gym. 02/01/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need two people for some of the assembly, the cable and wheel can be difficult at times but other than that one person can handle most of it. I'm in my middle 60's and this machine lets me work out without a spotter. 01/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Total Home Gym The Weider 2980 Home Gym has everything I was looking for and at reasonable price. This item met all my expectations and more! 04/25/2011
1-30 of 89 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew473
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp