See All Reviews
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 10 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by To Boldly Go... Right into a game Star Trek fans have been waiting for. From the ship designs, the lore involved, the guest voice-overs, and nearly limitless character creation tools, this game is very good. Cryptic also runs Champions Online, and this game exceeds that one. The combat is fun, and you might even have o use some strategy to win battles now and then, luckily you have your away team to help you. The space battles are where this game shines, mange your shields and weapon output, and try and blow them away before your brand new starship becomes space junk. This game is worth your time to try it, especially if you are a Star Trek fan. 02/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST STAR TREK GAME....EVER! After playing WOW for many years, I have decided to give Star Trek and try, and WOW! This is everything i've ever wanted out of and MMORPG and more. Everything WOW could'nt give me Star Trek can and then some. I have already purchased my Lifetime subscription and I don't plan on ever getting back on that other MMORPG, everrrrr again. I think it was called World of War....something. To be Continued..... 02/07/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's fun, but not great Okay these other reviews have to of been written by the developers of the game themselves cause this game is not the greatest game ever and not even close to as good as World of Warcraft. Yes it is fun to play, but as you play you will soon discover its basically a space shooter cause all you do 95% of the time is fight other ships in space, the other 5% is away missions which is almost always more constant ground battles. The game is fun, but do not expect to see much seek out and explore missions cause they just do not exist for the most part. This game is set in the furture of all the movies and at a time when the Federation is at war with nearly everyone else. The Gorn, Romulens, Klingons, Nausicans and more are all out to destroy the Federation so as you can see this is all about Battle after battle and if thats your kind of thing then come and have some fun. There are a lot of PvE missions and seems to be a good bit of PvP areas. So if you want to try something different then the standard MMO this might be good for you. 02/11/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cost over Content I preordered this game from Walmart about a month ago. The deliveries were timely and the cost even cheaper than now. It came with a handy gift certificate and code for the open beta. Unfortunately, I have yet to receive my 500 skill points and can only sit with an open ticket to the game company (9 days now) hoping they give them to me. So far that inconvenience I cannot recommend this if you are after the points over some other retail exlusives offered elsewhere. As for the game, well you can read a real review somewhere else, its not as bad as others say and not as good also. 02/13/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wrong product sent I have a lifetime membership to Star Trek Online. I bought this second game to get the 500 extra skill points. After buying the game ($9 was a very good price) I loaded the game and could not activate the skill points. After calling The STO support team (2.5 hours of my life I will never get back, it was found that is game did not have the right number to give me the skill points I wanted, It was just a regular game with no special bonus. I was very sad and disapointed. I guess this is one reason to go to a brick and morter store and make sure you get the exect product you desire. The game is great. since this is suppost to be a review of the product, but I did not get my bonus skill points as advertised per Walmart's web link. So, the bonus points game was a bust. 01/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Deep Space Experience If you're an old time Trekie, or would like to be, this game comes so close to hitting that mark, you'll not believe it until you've been there. 02/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A pass time game I enjoyed the game and is still trying to figure it all out. But not recommend for low quality computers. 01/02/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Free to PAY With Star Trek Online[STO] haveing been taken over by another company; as well as going Free to Play; the new owners have disregarded all previous agreements made to the clients [you] and have set up the new system of paying for your ships [real money via C-Store]. Not all ships are purchased in this meathod, but as you advance in rank the better ships are always Paid for [C-Store]. When you finnally make it to top rank [Vice Admiral (feds), Lt.General (Klingons)] all the ships in the Klingon faction you must Pay for [C-Store]. All the best ships for the Vice Admirals are aslo Purchased [C-Store]. Since the game is a rapid progression thru the ranks [and limited story line] you will be discarding ships repeatedly. You can compleat the basic missions useing only the free ships offered at lower ranks, but if you engage in Player vs Player [PvP] you will be at a disavantage useing the basic ships. With the introduction of Duty Officer Missions the need to Purchase additional Duty Officers,and Duty officer slots. The visits to the C-Store will radically increase. The once Free to Play is now a Pay and Pay. Just keeping up can cost 100$/month. Since the story line takes aproxamately 1 month to compleat the only options you have are repeating past missions, or starting a new character. The origonal agreement with buying a special ship in the C-Store was 1 purchase applies to all characters on the account. The new owners have tossed that out [retroactively] ,and now you buy the nice ship per character. All in all a BAD investment for a short lived game exsperience. 12/24/2011
1-9 of 9 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw355
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp