See All Reviews
Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 47 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice appearance and easy to clean. I received this recently as a gift and, never having owned an electric skillet previously, was anxious to try it out. It is so deep which is a nice safety feature when little kids are around. I love the clear lid and the steam vent. It would take talent to burn food in this also. Super easy to clean since has teflon coating. Only thing I would change is to put digital temp setting on the dial. Low-Med-High is good, but sometimes you have to be more specific than that with 375 / 400 etc which is where a dial would be nice like on the griddles. Definitely would recommend. 11/21/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by I LIKE IT! LIKES: I've owned several electric skillets. This one is by far the largest in terms of capacity. I've owned this unit for nearly 2 months, and use it about four times a week. I often make goulash - and 5 pounds of hamburger fits with room left over, and cooks quickly, then is ready for freezing in smaller plastic containers. It's perfect for eggs and bacon/sausage, and I've yet to burn anything - so I believe the temperature is evenly applied. The legs and "feet" are truly non-slip, non-skid and what a blessing that is! DISLIKES: The temperature control needs "numbers" indicating approximate temperatures - not just a series of lights. This unit has come in VERY handy when cooking for medium size groups - such as band members on weekends - it's quick to setup, comes to temperature rapidly, and is a breeze to clean. 03/01/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 GE product 169216 This electic fryer has a woefully inadequate and miscalibrated electical control. It has no specific visual digital numerical readout on the temp control plug or anywhere else. To be specific: first, it has absolutely no digital electrical temperature visable numerical readout. Second the med hi setting most likely cannot reach 375 degrees F. At least it did not ever get the temp of veg cooking oil above 350 degrees F which is the logical and accepted temp required for frying flour- coated room temp chicken, not even when set above the med hi setting to the hi setting, either before or after the chicken was placed in the hot oil. Third, the quick temp boost heating setting, which should have gotten to temp up to the max 415 degrees F before dropping the temp down to the major temp setting of med hi per booklet info, never worked even after 16 minutes had lapsed. It should have succeeded after 8 minutes. The only sane method of properly and safely frying cut up chicken parts---3 boneless breasts and 11 drummettes--- with my particular GE model 169216 was to turn this particular newly purchased (today 7Oct09) to hi and fry 1/3 of the batch for 5 minutes on one side, change the temp setting on the plug to med hi, and fry the other sides for an additional 5-6 minutes. The entire operation of frying 3 boneless chicken breasts and 11 drummettes required doing three batches of about equal amounts of input chicken parts counted piece wise. This promising GE fryer did not solve the hassle of putting veg oil into a big frying pan and manipulating a top stove electic eye's dial control while watching a thoroughly proven dial thermometer's dial to ensure the required temp was reached before putting in the chicken parts and afterwards to insure that the temp didn't rise or fall based on comon sense of a medium intelligent chicken cook radically or effectually or marginally. I have no tolerance for poorly engineered equipment, nor should I. I have used this once. Only once. The options given for how often I used or use this product did not and does not include "have used this only once in my lifetime". Forms tee me off. This is an example. James M Hicks, Tucker, GA aged 67 and former and retired chemist and medical technologist. 10/07/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Worst The worst small appliance I have ever bought! I have had this skillet for a year now and will never buy a GE small appliance again if this is representative of their products . Just wiping the thermostat after use, and the letters/numbers disappeared in just a couple of months. The heat is not uniform at all frying pork chops or bacon or most anything and you are constantly turning it. Otherwise part would be raw and part burnt! 12/03/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk After having this product for less than 10 months the nonstick is coming off and we NEVER use metal in it. It was very disappointing and I would not recommend it to anyone. 02/18/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would not buy! I have had this product for less than 1 year and would not recommend at all. All the numbers have come off of the control. Also, everything is beginning to stick. I can not even cook bacon without it sticking. The whole inside where the heating unit is you can see that the coating is coming off. 04/23/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does not hold up!! When I bought this skillet, it was awesome. Looked great, cooked great, and I loved it. Now that Ive had for about 3 months, the nonstick surface on the inside of the skillet is peeling off. I have been VERY careful about what I use to cook and clean it with and am VERY upset that it didn't hold up longer. Spend the money and get a better one...or else you will be replacing this one anyways :( 05/03/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by quality not good I am a mom living in small apartment with husband and 2 teenagers. I use this skillet a few times a week and have had it for a year. within 6 months the nonstick started to scratch and peel, and no metal utensils were ever used in it. I had the previous GE model for a few years and it didn't peel. We ended up replacing the old model with this one because the temperature control ended up breaking. I was able to use that one a lot more frequently because it was much better quality than this one. the temperature control on this one is much more difficult to regulate to just the right temperature. because it is digital and you must use the preset temp. buttons instead of a dial to get the exact one you need for example, a simmer instead of a rolling boil. A year later this is still the same model GE skillet that walmart offers, so I will not be purchasing a new one. I liked the brand name in the past but obviously will be searching for other options. many other brands have removable pans now. 04/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cheap pan If I knew that this had a non-adjustable temperature control I would not have purchased it. The pan is the correct size but the inability to adjust the cooking temperature between 300 and 375 degrees is unacceptable. Why can't these companies make a good that has and accurate temp control and keep it adjustable. I would even pay a few dollars more if the product had a digital thermometer telling me what temperature it was at. I have used this once and will try to return it. 03/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love it but.... LOVE this product....but the non-stick is NOT holding up. I never, ever use metal utensils and do not put it in the dishwasher. The entire lining of non-stick is bubbling off. Very sad.....this is my favorite thing to cook in. 02/09/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do Not Buy Worst electric skillet I have ever had or used. Food sticks on the heating element and overcooks. The only way to cook is constantly stir and even then it will stick to the sides. Do not buy this product. Very disappointing product. 09/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by HIGHLY RECOMMEND! I have had this skillet for 2 years now, and I absolutely love it! It cooks the food evenly, and the cooking surface has not warped, unlike a previous electric skillet I owned. It it easy to clean up and the non-stick surface is also very durable. Yes, it does only have 5 heat settings, which at first I thought would be a problem, but it hasn't been an issue at all. I find I cook most things on the middle setting and it does a great job. The first setting is great for keeping foods warm after you are done cooking. I have not owned a skillet that I like better than this one. 12/18/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by A piece of junk from day one. I purchased my first one on sale several months ago because I needed it that night since my 10 year old one finally gave up. After cooking one meal the nonstick coating came off. I returned it and got a new one with no problem. The new one has been sitting in my kitchen cabnet since I got it and tonight I decided to use it for the first time, everything worked fine till I went to do dishes I found that the nonstick coating on this one is bubbled up in several large areas. This one I can not return since I have had it sitting around too long before I used it. I treat my cooking utensels with great care and this is not acceptable in a new unit. I could go to my local thrift store and buy a used ten year old one for 3 or 4 dollars and end up with better quality than this piece of junk. 12/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't buy it Could not get the digit control to work. Instructions said push control to selected degree of heat and WAIT 5 minutes. Waited 10 minutes and nothing happened. Used the quick start and it heated up fast but only stayed on a few minutes....Took it back! 01/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I use this almost every day and use it more than I do my stovetop for everything from fried rice to spaghetti sauce to burgers to scrambled eggs, and much more. It can be used like a large crock pot to slow cook or to saute onions or peppers. I love it! Because I use it usually daily I have to purchase a new one about every 18 months because the inside starts to cook hotter that is over the heating element underneath. I bought this one for my daughter in Texas so she can cook without heating up her kitchen as much with her gas stove since it is so hot where they live and the costs to run their AC is so expensive. 01/25/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Taking it back! Skillet lid handle gets way to hot. We've had elec. skillets for years, never had one get this hot. And as many people have noted, the temp isn't as controlable as I'd like it to be. Looks good, just isn't what I'd hoped it would be. 01/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by this is the best electric fry pan i have ever bought. i've several and this is definitly the best 10/08/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not very durable. I bought this for my camper. One of the legs broke (they are plastic), the 2nd time I used it. And because the legs and handle are made together, it wasn't repairable. The next one I purchase will have metal legs, at least. 08/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product for the price, if you pay a little you get a little but overall cooks well, don't no about the long run, time will tell. 01/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great product I purchased one of these skillet for my sister because she knew how helpful having this big skillet to cook for a big familywould be. I love cooking in mine. The thermostat stays at a constant temperature wherever I need it to be. It is so easy to use. 01/02/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice skillet! Have owned this skillet for about 8 months now and love it! Unfortunately, yesterday the thermostat controller started acting up. It would randomly switch which temp or mode it was cooking in. Then it just quit working. Today it worked for about 10 minutes before it messed up again. Trying to find a replacement power source for it, but no luck. On the plus side...we have not had any problems with the non-stick finish peeling or chipping. It's a very durable skillet. Just unfortunate that our controller stopped working. I an calling GE tomorrow to check for replacement. If not avail, I will just purchase another identical skillet at Wal-mart. 12/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Skillet by GE We had another make and it only lasted a couple of years and not with heavy use by any means...Rival...this new GE skillet is much nicer, slightly bigger and much nicer to look at and to use. 12/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Makes quick work of a lot of food I just bought this in a pinch because my old skillet died on me and my wife broke the glass cover for my regular pan. I had to cook 4 dozen sausages and peppers and this skillet made quick work of the meal. This was probably the quickest I've ever cooked that much food, and it came out perfect. The nicest thing is when it's done, just bring everything in the same skillet and put it on buffet mode. Nothing simpler than that. 12/24/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by do not waste your money This is a terrible product. From the very beginning, the temperature control was a problem. I would barely turn it to 300 degrees and the surface would be smoking and smell like it was overheating. I thought this problem would wear off after I used it a couple times. It didnt. If you cook @ 300 degrees, it chars the outside of your food, but leaves the inside raw. If you turn it just below 300 (simmer), it doesnt cook at all. What a peice of garbage! Please save your money for a better skillet. 03/06/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by GE Electric Skillet I finally had to replace an old GE Electric Sklllet that my mom had for years. One of the things that drew me to this one is that the entire thing is completely immersible (and I believe I read dishwasher safe) as long as the controls are not attached, That his really nice considering how "gunky" the bottom of the skillet can get after multiple uses. I'm looking forward to using it the first time this weekend. 10/23/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by wonderful product I had never used my old one, way too small but this is great. Made a batch of chili in no time. The only thing I had a problem with was low was really low and the next click up was a rolling boil. the quick heat feature works great! So glad I got this before the holidays 11/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Replace our old GE skillet. This one is so easy to use and clean. Excellent cooking results. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Skillet Absolutely terrific skillet! Keeps cooking temps steady as a rock. Very dependable. Has become my favorite utensil in the kitchen! 09/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was a wedding gift from the couples registry. I don't know if they received it or not so my rating is based on personal experience with the skillet--not this particular model but one similar. 07/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Electric Frying Pan I love that this frying pan is nice and deep. It can hold lots of stuff. It is non stick inside & out. I liked everything but there are some cooler spots in the pan when cooking. It does cook a little uneven. Nothing that is bothersome. I found it good when cooking a couple of things at the same time to be helpful. 07/06/2012
1-30 of 45 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew508
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp